entête

Sybil 1998

Gospel text

Matthew 14: 22-33

22 And immediately Jesus made them get into the boat and go ahead of him to the other side of the lake, while he we would take care of sending the people away. 23 And when the people were sent away, he went up the mountain to be apart to pray; and when evening came, he was there alone. 24 The boat was already several hundreds of yards from the shore when it came up against the waves which were moving with a headwind. 25 It was between three and six o'clock in the morning, when Jesus came to them walking on the water. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the water, they went into a panic, thinking they saw a shadow of the dead world, and they began to cry out for fear. 27 But immediately Jesus intervened and said to them, "Be confident! It is I! Do not be afraid!" 28 Replying to Jesus, Peter said, "Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water". 29 Then Jesus said to him, "Come!" When Peter got out of the boat, he began to walk on the water toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the power of the wind, he was afraid, and began to sink into the water, and he cried out, "Lord, help!" 31 Immediately Jesus took hold of him with an outstretched hand, saying, "You have so little faith, why did you doubt?" 32 When they both got into the boat, the wind died down. 33 The disciples recognized his authority, saying, "Truly, you are the Son of God."

Studies

Facing guns with bare hands


Gospel commentary - Homily

Where can I find the strength to keep going?

His name is John Lewis, and he just died. The movement in which he participated is beyond him: it began before him, and will continue after him.

On December 18, 1865, the U.S. Congress ratified the abolition of slavery with the 13th Amendment to the Constitution, and with the ratification on February 3, 1870, of the 15th and last amendment, it prohibited the federal government and any state from denying any citizen the right to vote, regardless of race, color, and previous slave status. That is the political intention of recognizing the equality of every citizen. But life was to take a very different course, especially with the so-called "Jim Crow laws" in the late 19th century, which succeeded in disenfranchising blacks from the vote by introducing requirements related to taxes, literacy, comprehension tests, residency, and record-keeping. As soon as public schools were established, people "naturally" came together by race. In 1890, Louisiana passed a law requiring segregated compartments for rail transportation.

It is in this context that John Lewis was born in 1940, a black man from Alabama. At the age of 16, he was denied a local library card, which prompted him to start a petition, because was it not true that the library was also paid for by black taxes. But it was in 1961 that his non-violent protest movement began with Freedom Rides, where he and a group of blacks and whites traveled by bus from Washington to Louisiana to enforce the 1960 Supreme Court ruling that made segregation on public transportation illegal. Before the departure, everyone makes a will knowing what awaits them, except Lewis, who has no property. On the way, of course, they used the "wrong" restrooms and water fountains. In Birmingham, Alabama, they will be beaten with baseball bats, chains, lead pipes and stones, and thrown in jail. In Montgomery, the attack was so violent that Lewis was left unconscious at the bus station. In 1965, John Lewis led the march from Selma, Alabama to Montgomery over the Edmund Pettus Bridge, and this time it was the Alabama Police Department that attacked peaceful, unarmed protesters, a day that would be called "Bloody Sunday. Lewis will publicly chastise the U.S. president for failing to protect them. Five months later, the President signed the Voting Rights Act. Throughout his life, John Lewis will be put in jail 45 times.

That's a life with a rough ride. And it is to a stormy journey that today's gospel invites us. Yet it all began so well with that memorable moment of intimacy with Jesus that nourishes a great crowd. But now he is forcing everyone to leave, and forcing his disciples to go on boat. For the disciples, it is a horrible moment: they experience the absence of the Master who is now far away in his mountain to pray, and the boat is overwhelmed by the waves. For Matthew, this boat that is attacked from all sides is his community in Syria around the 80's or 85's, attacked by their Jewish brothers who consider them heretics and are about to excommunicate them from the synagogue, attacked also inside by dissensions between the conservatives who want the full application of Jewish laws and customs, and the "liberals" who claim the Christian freedom that St. Paul spoke of, and therefore threw all the traditional laws overboard.

What is Jesus doing in prayer in his mountain? For Matthew, who writes his gospel many years after Easter, Jesus has returned to his Father, and therefore appears far from the boat that is his community. Yet he flies to the rescue of the boat by expressing his authority over the evil that are the waves: risen, he shares with God the privilege of being able to trample on the forces of evil. But the disciples are unable to see him because they want someone they can physically see, touch and feel: so all they can see, in the midst of their near sinking, are the shadows of the world of the dead, the prospect of their own death, and perhaps that of Jesus if he has not risen. But how can we "see" Jesus? It is only through his word: "I am", the word that associates him with the world of God; this word alone makes it possible to regain confidence and no longer be afraid. According to Matthew, if we have faith, it is enough.

Matthew then features Peter, the spokesman for the disciples. Since his faith is not strong enough to really see Jesus, he asks him to command him to walk in his footsteps and in turn overcome the forces of evil, so that he can verify the presence of Jesus. Jesus' word is heard: 'Come'. Unfortunately, Peter does not go very far: with his eyes gazing the strength of the wind, and therefore the strength of evil, his faith does not hold out and he is swallowed up by the evil he intends to overcome, before Jesus rescues him. Matthew may have in mind his community leaders who call themselves "rabbi", "father", or "doctor" and, in their lack of faith, forget the spirit of service and compassion.

It is only the faith proclaimed at the end of the story in Jesus the Son of God, i.e. sharing God's privilege of being able to overcome evil, that the boat calms down. For Matthew, this boat was first of all his ecclesial community, it was the Church, but today he would agree to extend this boat to all human beings seeking justice and compassion, as John Lewis did. The struggle against evil in all its forms must be based on an unshakeable faith, for we cannot expect to see or touch the results of that struggle immediately, and too often we see only the spectre of death. Did Jesus himself see the result of his struggle, he who was beaten before he was executed? But it is he who says to us today: Have confidence, do not be afraid, for I am with Him who is victorious over all these evil forces. It is he who says to us: "Come", to continue this fight that is beyond us. So... where is our faith?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, January 2020

Themes

entête

Sybil 1998

Le texte évangélique

Matthieu 14, 22-33

22 Et immédiatement, Jésus les força à monter dans la barque et à le précéder sur l’autre rive du lac, pendant qu’il s’occuperait de renvoyer les foules. 23 Une fois les foules renvoyées, il gravit la montagne pour être à l’écart pour prier; il était là tout seul quand le soir arriva. 24 La barque était déjà éloignée de la rive de plusieurs centaines de mètres quand elle dut affronter des vagues mues par un vent de face. 25 Au cours de la période de trois à six heures du matin, Jésus s’avança vers eux en marchant sur l’eau. 26 Le voyant ainsi marcher sur l’eau, les disciples s’affolèrent en s’imaginant voir une ombre du monde des morts, et de peur ils se mirent à hurler. 27 Mais aussitôt Jésus intervint pour leur dire : « Ayez confiance! C’est moi! N’ayez pas peur! » 28 Répliquant à Jésus, Pierre dit : « Seigneur, si c’est bien toi, commande-moi de venir vers toi sur l’eau ». 29 Alors Jésus lui dit : « Viens! » Après être descendu de la barque, Pierre se mit à marcher sur l’eau en direction de Jésus. 30 Mais effrayé en observant la puissance du vent, il commença à s’enfoncer dans l’eau et se mit à hurler : « Seigneur, au secours! » 31 Jésus le saisit aussitôt avec la main tendue en lui disant : « Tu as si peu la foi, pourquoi avoir douté? » 32 Quand tous deux furent montés dans la barque, le vent tomba. 33 Dans la barque, les disciples reconnurent son autorité avec ces mots : « Vraiment, tu es fils de Dieu ».

Des études

Affronter les armes à main nue


Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Où trouver la force de continuer?

Il s’appelle John Lewis, et il vient de mourir. Le mouvement auquel il a participé le dépasse : il a commencé avant lui, et se poursuivra après lui.

Le 18 décembre 1865 le Congrès américain ratifiait l’abolition de l’esclavage avec le 13e amendement à la constitution, et avec la ratification le 3 février 1870 du quinzième et dernier amendement, il interdisait au gouvernement fédéral et à tout état de refuser à tout citoyen le droit de vote, peu importe sa race, sa couleur, et sa condition antérieure d’esclave. Voilà l’intention politique de reconnaître l’égalité de tout citoyen. Mais la vie allait prendre un cours bien différent, surtout avec ce qu’on appelle « les lois Jim Crow » dès la fin du 19e s. : on réussira à écarter les Noirs du droit de vote en introduisant des exigences liées aux impôts, à l’alphabétisation, à des tests de compréhension, à la résidence, à la tenue de dossiers. Dès la fondation des écoles publiques, on se rassemblera « naturellement » par race. En 1890, la Louisine passe une loi exigeant des compartiments ségrégés pour le transport par chemin de fer.

C’est dans ce contexte que nait John Lewis en 1940, un Noir de l’Alabama. À l’âge de 16 ans, il se voit refuser l’obtention d’une carte de la bibliothèque locale, ce qui le pousse à amorcer une pétition, car la bibliothèque n’est-elle pas aussi payée par l’impôt des Noirs? Mais c’est en 1961 que commence son mouvement de revendication non-violente avec le Freedom Rides, où avec un groupe de Noirs et de Blancs il part en autocar de Washington pour se rendre en Louisiane, afin de forcer l’application de l’arrêt de la cours suprême de 1960 rendant illégale la ségrégation dans les transports publics. Avant le départ, chacun fait son testament sachant ce qui les attend, sauf Lewis qui n’a aucun bien. En route, bien sûr, ils se « trompent » sur les lieux des toilettes et de la fontaine d’eau, utilisant ceux des Blancs. À Birmingham (Alabama), ils seront battus à coup de bâtons de baseball, de chaînes, de tuyaux d’étain et de pierres, et seront jetés en prison. À Montgomery, l’attaque fut si violente que Lewis fut laissé inconscient à la gare d’autocars. En 1965, John Lewis mène la marche de Selma (Alabama) à Montgomery en passant par le pont Edmund Pettus, et cette fois c’est la police de l’Alabama qui s’attaque à des manifestants pacifiques et non-armés, une journée qui sera appelée « le dimanche sanglant ». Lewis fera des reproches publics au président américain de ne pas les avoir protégés. Cinq mois plus tard, ce dernier signera la loi sur le droit de vote. Tout au long de sa vie, John Lewis sera mis 45 fois en prison.

Voilà une vie avec un parcours houleux. Et c’est à un parcours houleux que nous convie l’évangile de ce jour. Pourtant, tout avait si bien commencé avec ce moment mémorable d’intimité avec Jésus qui nourrit une grande foule. Mais voilà qu’il force tout le monde à partir, et force ses disciples à en prendre le large. Pour les disciples, c’est un moment horrible : ils vivent l’absence du maître qui est maintenant loin dans sa montagne à prier, et la barque subit l’assaut des vagues. Pour Matthieu, cette barque qui est attaquée de toutes parts, c’est sa communauté de Syrie vers les années 80 ou 85, attaquée par leurs frères juifs qui les considèrent comme des hérétiques et sont sur le point de les excommunier de la synagogue, attaquée aussi à l’intérieur par des dissensions entre les conservateurs qui veulent l’application intégrale des lois et des coutumes juives, et les « libéraux » qui se réclament de la liberté chrétienne dont a parlé saint Paul, et ont donc jeté par-dessus bord toutes les lois traditionnelles.

Que fait Jésus en prière dans sa montagne? Pour Matthieu qui écrit son évangile bien des années après Pâques, Jésus est retourné auprès de son Père, et donc apparaît loin de la barque qu’est sa communauté. Pourtant, il vole au secours de la barque en exprimant son autorité sur le mal que sont les vagues : ressuscité, il partage avec Dieu le privilège de pouvoir piétiner les forces du mal. Mais les disciples sont incapables de le voir parce qu’ils veulent quelqu’un qu’ils peuvent voir physiquement, toucher et palper : alors tout ce qu’ils peuvent voir, au cœur de leur quasi-naufrage, ce sont les ombres du monde des morts, la perspective de leur propre mort, et celle peut-être également de Jésus s’il n’est pas ressuscité. Mais comment peut-on « voir » Jésus? C’est seulement par sa parole : « Je suis », cette parole qui l’associe au monde de Dieu; cette parole seule permet de retrouver la confiance et de ne plus avoir peur. Selon Matthieu, si on a la foi, c’est suffisant.

Matthieu met alors en vedette Pierre, le porte-parole des disciples. Comme sa foi n’est pas assez forte pour vraiment voir Jésus, il lui demande de lui commander de marcher dans ses pas et être vainqueur à son tour des forces du mal; ainsi pourra-t-il vérifier la présence de Jésus. La parole de Jésus se fait entendre : « Viens ». Malheureusement, Pierre ne va pas très loin : le regard fixé sur la force du vent, et donc la force du mal, sa foi ne tient pas le coup et il se fait avaler par le mal qu’il entend vaincre, avant que Jésus ne le rescape. Matthieu a peut être en tête ses leaders communautaires qui se font appeler « rabbi », « père », ou « docteur » et, dans leur manque de foi, oublient l’esprit de service et de compassion.

C’est seulement la foi proclamée à la fin du récit en Jésus fils de Dieu, i.e. partageant le privilège de Dieu d’être capable de vaincre le mal, que la barque retrouve le calme. Pour Matthieu, cette barque c’était d’abord sa communauté ecclésiale, c’était l’Église, mais aujourd’hui il serait d’accord pour élargir cette barque à l’ensemble des humains qui recherchent la justice et la compassion, comme l’a fait John Lewis. La lutte contre le mal sous toutes ses formes doit s’appuyer sur une foi inébranlable, car on ne peut s’attendre à voir ou toucher immédiatement les résultats de cette lutte, et trop souvent, on ne voit que le spectre de la mort. Jésus lui-même a-t-il vu le résultat de son combat, lui qui a été battu avant d’être exécuté? Mais c’est lui qui nous dit aujourd’hui : Ayez confiance, n’ayez pas peur, car je suis avec Celui qui est vainqueur de toutes ces forces mauvaises. C’est lui qui nous dit : « Viens », pour continuer ce combat qui nous dépasse. Alors… où est notre foi?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, juillet 2020

Des thèmes