entête

Sybil 1997

Gospel text

Luke 15: 1-32

1 Now all the customs officers and the wicked had begun to frequent Jesus to listen to him. 2 But the Pharisees as well as the Bible scholars grumbled, complaining that he was opening his arms to the wanderers and eating with them.

3 Then Jesus told them this story from life: 4 "If any one of you had a hundred sheep and he lost one, would he not leave the ninety-nine in a desert place to go into walk towards the one who has lost itself as long as he has not found hit? 5 When he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders full of joy. 6 When he comes home, he calls friends and neighbors, saying, 'Come and rejoice with me, because I found the sheep that I lost'. 7 In the same way, I say to you, there will be more joy in God over a single wanderer who takes a new position in life, than over ninety-nine irreproachable people who do not need to take a new position.

8 Another story. "Which woman, having the equivalent of ten days' wages, and who lost the equivalent of a sum of a single day's wages, would not light a lamp and would not sweep the house to search carefully as long as she will not find anything? 9 And after finding, she calls friends and neighbors saying, 'Come rejoice with me, because I found the money I had lost'. 10 In the same way, I say to you, there is joy among people who love God for a single wanderer who is repositioning his life."

11 Jesus adds another story. "There was a man with two sons. 12 The youngest said to his father, 'Dad, give me the portion of inheritance that is due to me from what you have'. Then the father shares his property. 13 And without waiting a long time, his suitcases made, the younger went on a journey to a distant country. And it was there that he wasted what he possessed by leading a dissolute life. 14 After having exhausted everything, it happened that there was a great scarcity in the country where he was, so that he began to experience poverty. Reacting, he offered his services to a citizen of the region, who sent him to the fields to take care of the pigs. 16 Oh! As he would have liked to eat the carobs devoured by the pigs, but no one gave it to him. 17 After stepping back to reflect, he said to himself, 'How many of my father's employees have all the bread they want, while I'm starving'. 18 So I'll get up to go to my father, and I'll say, 'Dad, I have sinned against God and against you, 19 and I have no right to be your son, but hire me as one of your servants'. 20 Then he gets up to go to his father. But as he is still far away, his father sees him at a distance and is upset to the very heart. He immediately runs to him and throws himself on his neck to kiss him. 21 And the son said to him, 'Dad, I have sinned against God and against you, I have no right to be called your son'. 22 Immediately the father speaks to his servants to ask them, 'Quickly, bring the most beautiful coat to put on, put a ring on his finger and sandals on his foot. 23 Bring the calf also being fattened, cut it down, and party with a banquet: 24 For this son was dead, he is now alive, he was lost, he is now found'. And they started to celebrate.

25 But the eldest son was still in the field. As he approached the house, he heard the music and the dance steps. 26 So he calls one of the service boys to inquire about what was going on. 27 They told him that his brother had come home, and that the father had slaughtered the calf that was being fattened, because he had found it in good health. 28 At that moment he became angry and did not even want to enter. Then the father went out to pray to him. 29 The eldest said this to his father: 'It has been so long since I am at your service and I have never disobeyed your rules, and yet you have never bothered to give me even a worthless thing like a male goat to celebrate with my friends 30 On the other hand, when your son is here, who comes back from having devoured all your possessions with the whores, you have taken the trouble to slaughter the fattened calf'. 31 The father answered him, 'My child, you are still with me, and you know that what is mine is also yours. 32 But it was necessary to celebrate and rejoice that your brother, who was dead, had returned to life, who was lost, has been found.' "

Studies

A world of wounded survivors


Gospel commentary - Homily

Towards the celebration of the wounded survivors

The attack in Nice (France) in July 2016 became a symbol of terrorist barbarism: 86 dead, including children and teenagers, crushed under the wheels of a crazy truck engaged on the "Promenade des Anglais". And we need to add more than 300 wounded. A real butchery. The author was of Tunisian origin and seems to have become radicalized in recent months. He was shot dead by the police. One can only be retching in front of such a horror, such a mess. So many lives crushed. And we understand the gesture of a number of people to go to the scene where the terrorist was shot to spit and throw waste, expression of rage and contempt. How to live such an event, since we can not remove it from our memories? Could the parables at Luke 15 serve as a guide?

We know the three parables of the shepherd who has a 100 sheep and who loses one, that of the woman who has 10 coins (about a day's wages each) and loses one, and that of the father whose younger son squandered his inheritance and end up in destitution. These are three disasters, three losses of something that is dear. These parables probably go back to Jesus to explain his action with the people who were considered as erring: by restoring relations with them and restoring the great family of Abraham's children, he not only fulfilled his mission, but he also reflected God's love for everyone and his joy at seeing them recover their greatness.

But in taking up these parables, Luke updates them according to his environment and his problems of the year 80, in the land of Greek culture of which Corinth is a typical example. In this seaport filled with immigrants, the Christian community is experiencing tensions (see 1 Corinthians 11: 17-34). Paul, who founded this community, must intervene to warn them that their way of celebrating the Eucharist in their shared meal was not a Christian meal, since there were divisions between poor and rich, so that the poor were still hungry and the rich were already drunk. These tensions still existed at the end of the first century, since they are echoed in a letter addressed to the Corinthians by Clement of Rome (considered the 4th bishop of Rome). We can guess the challenge stemming from this community made up of people of different ethnic origins and different religious cultures. What does Luc do? Let's look closely.

He knows the tradition of Mark where Jesus shared the table with rogue people. He uses it as an introduction to all three parables that were originally quite independent. Now the emphasis is no longer on the meaning of the approach to the misguided, but on the significance of the celebration at home of what had been lost. To support this emphasis, he gives an extension to the parables of the sheep and coin lost with a scene of rejoicing at home where friends and neighbors are invited. On the other hand, to make sure that the link with the tensions is well established during this celebration, which includes people who sometimes have a lackluster career, he modifies Mark's tradition to add the mention that people were "grumbling", so they were shocked, in front of the sight of Jesus sharing the table of the deviants. He does even more. He gives an extension to the story of the father and his younger son (which could very well end with the feast, without the story of the eldest son) by adding a scene of rebukes by the eldest son addressed to the father, responsible for the celebration, rebukes that could be summed up as follows: why is it not me who is highlighted? Am I not a veteran of irreproachable past? Why would I be forced to live the communion and the party with rogue people? The answer of the father is a conclusion to all the parables and that could be translated as: understand my perspective as a father, you have the chance to live in my intimacy, you are my child and you are loved, it's your turn to love your brother as I love him; so you too will celebrate seeing him at home around the same table.

What impact did such a story have on a community like Corinth at the end of the 1st century? The answer seems disappointing according to pope Clement. What matters is us today, we who have lived events like Nice. We have our mistakes. We have our disasters. And it seems that the first thing to do is to accept this situation as an integral part of our life. Indeed, why did the shepherd with his flock of 100 sheeps not build a fence, or even a wall to avoid disaster? Why has not the woman established better control over her money? Why did the father agree to give his share of inheritance to the youngest, knowing full well that the worst could happen? Ultimately, we need to come before God, if one is a believer, and wonder why such a world exists where Nice is possible? Of course, there is no real answer. But the fact remains that a fundamental decision must be taken: to welcome this world as it is, or to refuse it, to look at it in the face, or isolate oneself as much as possible. Jesus made a choice, and so he found himself in the midst of the misguided; Luke proposed a choice to his colorful community marked by the tensions, and thus made us this staging of three parables received from the tradition.

Making such a choice has big consequences. For our world ceases to be the futile search for a paradise of like-minded people, where events and freedom have disappeared, to become the opening to a wounded world, and thus the opening to the celebration of the wounded survivors, to the celebration of the bonds, once broken, now restored, and thus the discovery of this mysterious love at work in the universe, which formerly in theology was called salvation. It's a difficult world. It is a world that demands a love that often exceeds our abilities. It is a world that demands acceptance of sickness and madness, mistakes and distractions, where failure and broken relationships are just stepping stones to work better and harder. The crazy act of Nice will be followed by other actions of rogue people. Each time the question arises: how to make the wanderers join our table? There will be failures, but also the promise of living the same experience as Jesus and of which Luke told us the story in his own way: yes, we are going to live an immense celebration of healed people. This is the meaning of the Christian life, according to Luke, this is how we are salt of the earth. Only if we continue to believe ...

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, September 2016

Themes

Sybil 1997

Le texte évangélique

Luc 15, 1-32

1 Or tous les douaniers et les dévoyés s’étaient mis à fréquenter Jésus pour l’écouter. 2 Mais les Pharisiens aussi bien que les spécialistes de la Bible grommelaient, se plaignant qu’il ouvrait les bras aux dévoyés et mangeait avec eux.

3 Alors Jésus leur raconta cette histoire tirée de la vie : 4 « Si quelqu’un parmi vous avait cent moutons et qu’il en perdait un, ne laisserait-il pas les quatre-vingts dix neuf dans un lieu désertique pour se mettre en marche vers celui qui s’est perdu aussi longtemps qu’il ne l’a pas trouvé? 5 Quand il l’a trouvé, il le met plein de joie sur ses épaules. 6 À son retour à la maison, il appelle les amis et les voisins en leur disant : "Venez vous réjouir avec moi, car j’ai retrouvé le mouton que j’avais perdu." 7 C’est de la même façon, je vous le dis, qu’il y aura de la joie chez Dieu pour un seul dévoyé qui réoriente sa vie, que pour quatre-vingt-dix-neuf personnes irréprochables qui n’ont pas besoin de réorienter leur vie.

8 Une autre histoire. Quelle femme, possédant l’équivalant de dix jours de salaire et qui perdait l’équivalant d’une somme d’un seul jour de salaire, n’allumerait pas une lampe et ne balaierait pas la maison pour chercher avec soin tant qu’elle n’aura rien trouvé? 9 Et après avoir trouvé, elle appelle les amies et voisins en disant : "Venez vous réjouir avec moi, car j’ai retrouvé l’argent équivalant à une journée de salaire que j’avais perdu." 10 C’est de la même façon, je vous le dis, qu’il y a de la joie chez les gens en relation avec Dieu pour un seul dévoyé qui réoriente sa vie. »

11 Jésus ajoute une autre histoire. « Il y avait un homme avec deux fils. 12 Le cadet dit à son père : "Papa, donne-moi la portion d’héritage qui me revient de ce que tu possèdes." Alors le père fait le partage de ses biens. 13 Et sans attendre bien longtemps, ses valises faites, le cadet partit en voyage pour un pays lointain. Et c’est là qu’il gaspilla ce qu’il possédait en menant une vie dissolue. 14 Après avoir tout épuisé, il arriva qu’une grande pénurie sévit dans le pays où il se trouvait, si bien qu’il commença à connaître l'indigence. 15 Réagissant, il alla offrir ses services à un citoyen de la région, qui l’envoya dans les champs s’occuper des cochons. 16 Oh! Comme il aurait voulu manger les caroubes que dévoraient les cochons, mais personne n’en lui donnait. 17 Faisant une réflexion personnelle, il se disait : "Combien d’employés de mon père ont tout le pain qu’ils veulent, alors que moi je crève ici de faim. 18 Je me lèverai donc pour aller vers mon père, et je lui dirai : Papa, j’ai commis une faute à l’égard de Dieu et à l’égard de toi, 19 et je n’ai plus le droit d’être ton fils. Mais engage-moi comme un de tes employés." 20 Alors il se lève pour aller vers son père. Mais comme il est encore loin, son père l’aperçoit à distance et est bouleversé jusqu’aux entrailles. Il court aussitôt vers lui et se jette à son cou pour l’embrasser. 21 Le fils lui dit donc : "Papa, j’ai commis une faute à l’égard de Dieu et à l’égard de toi, je n’ai plus le droit d’être appelé ton fils." 22 Aussitôt le père s’adresse à ses serviteurs pour leur demander : "Vite, apportez le plus bel habit pour le revêtir, mettez-lui une bague au doigt et des sandales au pied. 23 Apportez aussi le veau en train d’être engraissé, abattez-le, et faisons la fête par un banquet. 24 Car mon fils que voici était mort, il a maintenant repris vie, il s’était perdu, on l’a retrouvé." Et on commença à fêter.

25 Mais le fils ainé se trouvait encore aux champs. Alors qu’il s’était approché de la maison, il entendit la musique et les pas de danse. 26 Il appelle donc un des garçons de services pour s’enquérir de ce qui se passait. 27 On lui dit donc que son frère était revenu à la maison, et que le père avait fait égorger le veau qu’on engraissait, car il l’avait retrouvé en bonne santé. 28 À ce moment il piqua une grande colère et ne voulait même pas entrer. Alors le père sortit pour l’en prier. 29 L’aîné fit cette réponse à son père : "Ça fait si longtemps que je suis à ton service et jamais je n’ai désobéi à tes règles, et pourtant jamais tu as pris la peine de me donner même une chose sans valeur comme le mâle d’une chèvre pour fêter avec mes amis. 30 Par contre, quand ton fils que voilà, qui revient d’avoir dévoré tous tes biens avec les putains, tu t’es donné le mal d’égorger le veau qu’on engraissait." 31 Le père lui répondit : "Mon enfant, tu demeures toujours avec moi et tu sais que ce qui est à moi est aussi à toi. 32 Mais il fallait fêter et se réjouir que ton frère, qui était mort, qu’il soit revenu à la vie, qui s’était perdu, qu’il ait été retrouvé." »


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Un monde de blessés rescapés

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Vers la célébration des blessés rescapés

L’attaque de Nice en juillet 2016 est devenue un des symboles de la barbarie terroriste : 86 morts, incluant des enfants et des adolescents, écrasés sous les roues d’un camion fou engagé sur la promenade des Anglais. À cela s’ajoute plus de 300 blessés. Une véritable boucherie. L’auteur était d’origine tunisienne et semble s’être radicalisé au cours des derniers mois. Il a été abattu par la police. On ne peut qu’avoir un haut le cœur devant une telle horreur, un tel gâchis. Tant de vies fauchées. Et on comprend le geste d’un certain nombre gens d’être allés sur les lieux où on a abattu le terroriste pour y cracher et jeter des déchets, expression de rage et de mépris. Comment vivre un tel événement, puisqu’on ne peut plus l’effacer de nos mémoires? Est-ce que les paraboles chez Luc 15 pourraient nous servir de guide?

Nous connaissons les trois paraboles du berger qui a 100 moutons et qui en perd un, celle de la femme qui a 10 pièces de monnaie (environ une journée de salaire chacune) et en perd une, et celui du père dont le fils cadet dilapide son héritage et se retrouve dans l’indigence. Ce sont trois catastrophes, trois pertes d’une réalité qui était chère. Ces paraboles remontent probablement à Jésus pour expliquer son action auprès des gens qu’on considérait comme des dévoyés : en rétablissant les relations avec eux et en reconstituant la grande famille des enfants d’Abraham, il accomplissait non seulement sa mission, mais il reflétait l’amour de Dieu pour chacun et sa joie de les voir retrouver leur grandeur.

Mais en reprenant ces paraboles, Luc les actualise en fonction de son milieu et ses problèmes de l’an 80, en terre de culture grecque dont Corinthe est un exemple typique. Dans ce port de mer rempli d’immigrants, la communauté chrétienne connaît des tensions. Paul, qui a fondé cette communauté, doit intervenir pour les avertir que leur façon de célébrer l’eucharistie dans leur repas partage n’avait rien d’un repas chrétien, puisqu’il y avait des divisions entre pauvres et riches, si bien que les pauvres avaient encore faim et les riches étaient déjà ivres. Ces tensions existaient encore à la fin du premier siècle, puisqu’ils trouvent un écho dans une lettre adressée aux Corinthiens par Clément de Rome (considéré comme le 4e évêque de Rome). On devine le défi de cette communauté constituée de gens d’origine ethniques diverses et culture religieuses différentes. Que fait Luc? Regardons de près.

Il connaît la tradition de Marc où Jésus a partagé la table avec des gens dévoyés. Il s’en sert comme introduction à l’ensemble des trois paraboles qui était originellement tout à fait indépendantes. Maintenant l’accent n’est plus sur la signification de la démarche auprès des dévoyés, mais sur la signification de la célébration à la maison de ce qui avait été perdu. Pour soutenir cet accent, il donne une extension aux paraboles du mouton et de la monnaie perdus avec une scène de réjouissance à la maison où on invite amis et voisins. Par contre, pour s’assurer qu’on fasse bien le lien avec les tensions au cours de cette célébration comprenant des gens au parcours parfois peu reluisants, il modifie la tradition de Marc pour ajouter la mention que les gens « grommelaient », donc étaient choqués, devant le spectacle de Jésus partageant la table des dévoyés. Il fait encore plus. Il donne une extension au récit du père et de son fils cadet (qui pourrait très bien se terminer avec la fête, sans l’histoire du fils aîné) en ajoutant une scène de reproches adressée au père, responsable de la célébration, reproches qu’on pourrait résumer ainsi : pourquoi ce n’est pas moi qui soit mis en valeur, moi qui suis un vétéran au passé irréprochable, et pourquoi serais-je obligé de vivre la communion et la fête avec des gens dévoyés? La réponse du père est une conclusion à l’ensemble des paraboles et qu’on pourrait traduire ainsi : entre dans ma perspective de père, tu as la chance de vivre dans mon intimité, tu es mon enfant et tu es aimé, à ton tour aime ton frère comme je l’aime; alors toi aussi tu célèbreras de le voir à la maison autour de la même table.

Quel impact a eu un tel récit sur une communauté comme Corinthe? La réponse semble décevante. Ce qui importe, c’est nous aujourd’hui, nous qui avons vécu des événements comme Nice. Nous avons nos dévoyés. Nous avons nos catastrophes. Et il semble que la première chose à faire est d’accepter cette situation comme partie intégrante de notre vie. En effet, pourquoi le berger avec son troupeau de 100 moutons n’a-t-il pas construit une clôture, voire un mur pour éviter la catastrophe? Pourquoi la femme n’a-t-elle pas établi de meilleur contrôle sur la monnaie? Pourquoi le père a-t-il accepté de remettre sa part d’héritage au cadet, sachant très bien que le pire pouvait arriver? Ultimement, on se retrouve devant Dieu, si on est croyant, et à se demander pourquoi un tel monde où Nice est possible? Bien sûr, il n’y pas de véritable réponse. Mais il reste qu’une décision fondamentale doit être prise : accueillir ce monde tel qu’il est, ou le refuser, le regarder en face, ou s’isoler le plus possible. Jésus a fait un choix, et c’est ainsi qu’il s’est retrouvé au milieu des dévoyés; Luc a proposé un choix à sa communauté bigarrée marquée par les tensions, et nous a donc fait cette mise en scène de trois paraboles reçues de la tradition.

Faire un tel choix a de grandes conséquences. Car notre monde cesse d’être la recherche futile d’un paradis de gens semblables où tout événement et toute liberté a disparu, pour devenir l’ouverture à un monde blessé, et par là l’ouverture à la célébration des blessés rescapés, à la célébration des liens, autrefois rompus, maintenant rétablis, et par là la découverte de cet amour mystérieux à l’œuvre dans l’univers, ce qu’autrefois en théologie on appelait le salut. C’est un monde difficile. C’est un monde qui demande un amour qui dépasse souvent nos capacités. C’est un monde qui exige d’accepter la maladie et la folie, les erreurs et les égarements, où l’échec et les relations rompues ne sont qu’un tremplin pour travailler mieux et plus fort. L’acte fou de Nice sera suivi d’autres gestes de gens dévoyés. À chaque fois se posera la question : comment faire pour que les dévoyés rejoignent notre table? Il y aura des échecs, mais aussi la promesse de vivre la même expérience que Jésus et dont Luc nous a fait le récit à sa manière : oui, nous allons vivre une immense célébration de gens guéris. Voilà le sens de la vie chrétienne, selon Luc, voilà comment on est sel de la terre. Si tu moins, nous continuons à croire…

 

-André Gilbert, septembre 2016