entête

Sybil 2000

Gospel text

John 16: 12-15

12 I still have many things to tell you, but you are unable to bear it yet. 13 However, when he comes with the breath of truth, he will guide you to the whole truth. Because he will not speak for himself, but as far as he can hear, he will speak and explain to you the things to come. 14 He will reveal my extraordinary quality of being, because he will receive what is mine and explain it to you. 15 Everything that belongs to the Father also belongs to me. This is why I said that he receives what is mine and will explain it to you.

Studies

So much to share?


Gospel commentary - Homily

In His image He created us

The Sunday liturgy intends to celebrate the Holy Trinity, i.e. the affirmation that our God is three people. Traditionally, the Christian community has referred to this statement as a mystery, a reality difficult to understand: how can a being be both three and one? And traditionally, theological reflection will present the functional role of each person, the mystical reflection will speak of the flow of love gushing in divine people. But if I want to be frank, none of this really touches me.

The short extract from the Gospel of John on this Sunday, however, says something interesting: there are many realities revealed through Jesus that we are unable to bear alone, to which we will succeed in opening up only over time due to the work of the Spirit, who will make us perceive that through him it is the very reality of God that lets itself be seen. What is this reality? Very often this reality could be summed up in the communion of Jesus with his Father, and of the Spirit at work in Jesus. But where is John getting all that?

When the evangelist speaks of communion between the Father, Jesus and the Spirit, I have the clear impression that he is speaking from his human experience of communion. Isn't that normal? We do not have direct access to the being of God, except through the mirror of our life experiences. And what was the experience of the one Jesus loved, the one who opened his mind and heart to his teaching, who accompanied him on the roads of Palestine, to speak to us in this way of communion?

It is here, however, that one can easily deceive oneself and put the label "communion" everywhere. What exactly is this communion? I experience the absence of communion much more often. Again this past weekend, we were visiting a couple of old friends. Topic for discussions could not be lacking because the spouse has been living for a few years very crucial moments both physically and mentally. But it was impossible to get to the "heart of things". Too much fragility? Too much superficiality? Blinding revolt? Regardless, it was impossible to establish a real exchange marked by listening and openness that would have made it possible to vibrate together to the mystery of each; we had to camp in the banalities and things external to oneself.

I know that communion is not a fusion. When someone can no longer support his life and that of his spouse during a divorce, to the point of committing suicide or murder, does he say anything other than that his relationship was a crutch? Or even, a couple like the one I met in the '75s, at the height of the marriage renewal sessions, who dressed in exactly the same way, does not send back a false message, in addition to having us smile?

Communion is not possible without a great capacity for openness: "Because he will not speak for himself, but as far as he can hear, he will speak". Who closes oneself to the joy and pain of others, closes oneself to communion. Communion also presupposes a great capacity to give: "All that the Father has is mine". How difficult it is for me to repeat: "What is mine is also yours".

But I perceive something more in the affirmations of the evangelist: to the extent that we wake up to what we really are, we realize that we need to live communion in the manner of this living water demanded by the Samaritan woman after her meeting with Jesus. To discover oneself a child of God is to discover oneself called to communion, a communion never completely satisfied, because it has the very dimensions of the Trinity.

The life with its worries, its clashes, its disappointments, its pleasures, its efforts, its struggles, its meanness can sometimes partially mask this call recorded at the core of our being. But one day something rushes out from us, like the burning lava of a volcano and reminds us of it with force. I will always remember this conversation with a Japanese doctor converted to the Christian faith. To my question, "What has the Christian faith changed in your life, since as a Buddhist you put love at the center of your life?", he replied, "It is true! But now when I love, I know that I participate in the very love of the Trinity".

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, March 2001

Themes

Sybil 2000

 

Le texte évangélique

 

Jn 16, 12-15

12 «J'ai encore beaucoup de choses à vous dire, mais vous êtes incapables de les supporter en ce moment. 13 Par contre, au moment où lui, l'Esprit de vérité, sera en vous, il vous fera vous ouvrir à toute la vérité. Car ce n'est pas de lui-même qu'il parlera, mais il transmettra plutôt tout ce qu'il entendra, et vous fera comprendre les événements qui viennent. 14 Lui, il vous révèlera la qualité extraordinaire de mon être, car c'est mon univers qu'il accueillera et vous le fera comprendre. 15 Tout ce que possède le Père est également mien; voilà pourquoi je vous ai dit que c'est mon univers qu'il accueillera et vous le fera comprendre.»

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tant de choses à partager

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

À son image Il nous a créé

La liturgie de ce dimanche entend célébrer la Sainte Trinité, i.e. l'affirmation que notre Dieu est trois personnes. Traditionnellement, la communauté chrétienne se réfère à cette affirmation comme à un mystère, une réalité difficile à comprendre: comment un être peut-il être à la fois trois et un? Et traditionnellement, la réflexion théologique présentera le rôle fonctionnel de chaque personne, la réflexion mystique parlera du flot d'amour jaillissant chez les personnes divines. Mais si je veux être franc, rien de tout cela ne me touche vraiment.

Le court extrait de l'évangile de Jean en ce dimanche dit toutefois quelque chose d'intéressant: il y a beaucoup de réalités révélées à travers Jésus que nous sommes incapables de porter seuls, auxquelles nous réussirons à nous ouvrir qu'avec le temps grâce au travail de l'Esprit, qui fera percevoir qu'à travers lui c'est la réalité même de Dieu qui se laisse voir. Qu'est-ce donc que cette réalité? Bien souvent, cette réalité pourrait se résumer dans la communion de Jésus avec son Père, et de l'Esprit à l'oeuvre en Jésus. Mais où donc Jean va-t-il chercher tout cela?

Quand l'évangéliste parle de communion entre le Père, Jésus et l'Esprit, j'ai la nette impression qu'il parle à partir de son expérience humaine de la communion. N'est-ce pas normal? Nous n'avons pas accès directement à l'être de Dieu, sinon à travers le miroir de nos expériences de vie. Et qu'a donc vécu celui que Jésus aimait, celui qui s'est ouvert l'esprit et le coeur à son enseignement, qui l'a accompagné sur les routes de Palestine, pour nous parler ainsi de communion?

C'est ici cependant qu'on peut aisément se faire illusion et mettre un peu partout l'étiquette "communion". Qu'est-ce au juste que cette communion? Je fais beaucoup plus souvent l'expérience d'absence de communion. Encore ce week end dernier, nous rendions visite à un couple de vieux amis. Les lieux d'échanges auraient pu ne pas manquer parce que l'un d'eux vit depuis quelques années des moments très crucifiants tant sur le plan physique que moral. Mais il fut impossible d'aller au "coeur des choses". Trop de fragilité? Trop de superficialité? Révolte aveuglante? Peu importe, ce fut impossible d'établir un courant empreint d'écoute et d'ouverture qui aurait permit de vibrer ensemble au mystère de chacun; il a fallu se camper dans les banalités et les choses extérieures à soi.

Je sais que la communion n'est pas une fusion. Quand quelqu'un ne peut plus supporter son existence et celle de son conjoint lors d'un divorce, au point de commettre un suicide ou un meurtre, affirme-t-il autre chose que sa relation était une béquille? Ou encore, un couple comme celui que j'ai rencontré dans les années '75, au plus fort des sessions de renouement conjugal, qui s'habillait de manière rigoureusement identique, ne renvoit-il pas un faux message, en plus de nous arracher un large sourire?

La communion n'est pas possible sans une grande capacité d'ouverture: "Car l'Esprit ne parlera pas de lui-même, mais ce qu'il entendra, il le dira". Qui se ferme à la joie et à la peine des autres, se ferme à la communion. La communion présuppose aussi une grande capacité de donner: "Tout ce qu'a le Père est à moi". Comme il m'est difficile de reprendre: "Ce qui est à moi, est aussi à toi".

Mais je percois quelque chose de plus dans les affirmations de l'évangéliste: dans la mesure où on se réveille à ce qu'on est vraiment, on se rend compte qu'on a besoin de vivre la communion à la manière de cette eau vive que réclame la Samaritaine après sa rencontre avec Jésus. Se découvrir enfant de Dieu, c'est se découvrir appelé à la communion, une communion jamais totalement assouvie, parce qu'elle a les dimensions mêmes de la Trinité.

La vie avec ses soucis, ses heurts, ses déceptions, ses plaisirs, ses efforts, ses luttes, ses mesquineries peut parfois masquer partiellement cet appel inscrit au creux de notre être. Mais un jour, quelque chose s'échappe de nous, telle la lave brulante d'un volcan et nous le rappelle avec force. Je me souviendrai toujours de cette conversation avec un médecin japonais converti à la foi chrétienne. À ma question: "Qu'est-ce que la foi chrétienne a changé dans ta vie, puisque comme bouddhiste tu mettais l'amour au centre de ta vie?", il a répondu: "C'est vrai! Mais maintenant quand j'aime, je sais que je participe à l'amour même de la Trinité".

 

-Mars 2001