entête

Etty Hillesum - A selection of Etty Hillesum's writings


Esther (Etty) Hillesum was born on January 15, 1914 in Middelburg, Holland. Her father, Levie (Louis), originally from Amsterdam, was a teacher of classical languages, and her mother, Riva (Rebecca) Bernstein, originally from Potchev (Russia), taught Russian. She had two brothers, Jacob (Jaap), born on January 27, 1916, who became a doctor, and Michael (Mischa), born on September 22, 1920, a musical prodigy, but also schizophrenic.

After elementary school and high school in Deventer, Etty took a literary degree and studied law in Amsterdam. On June 6, 1935, she passed her undergraduate law exams. During this period she lived with her brother Jaap, who was studying medicine. She was socially and politically active, and lived in an environment of left-wing anti-fascist students. In March 1937 she moved in with a widowed accountant, Hendrik (Han) J. Wegerif, who asked her to run his household and who also became her lover, much to the dismay of his son, Han, who lived in the same house. On July 4, 1939, Etty passes her final exams and earns a master's degree in Dutch public law. At the same time, Etty studies Slavic languages in Amsterdam and Leiden, but the war interrupts her studies.

It was at the beginning of 1941 that Etty had an encounter that would change her life. Julius Spier, a German born in 1887, who had worked for a commercial firm for twenty-five years, discovered chirology in 1904, the study of personality through the reading of the hands. After a didactic analysis with Carl Gustav Jung in Zürich, he opened his own psychochirology practice in Berlin in 1929. In 1939 he had to leave Nazi Germany and settled in Amsterdam, where he opened his own practice and gave courses. It was there that Etty was invited by a member of his household for a palm reading. She fell under the spell of Spier's personality and decided to start a therapy with him. On March 9, 1941, probably at Spier's instigation, she began to write her diary. While she was one of his patients, she also became his principal secretary and his friend at heart. Spier teaches her to tame her depressive, chaotic and egocentric temperament and introduces her to the Bible and St. Augustine. He died on September 15, 1942.

In the meantime, the grip on the Jews in Holland was tightening and restrictions were increasing. On July 15, 1942, on the advice of her brother Jaap and thanks to her connections, Etty obtained a position at the Jewish Council in Amsterdam, an institution created by the Germans to coordinate communications with the Jews. At her request, she was transferred on July 30, 1942 to the Westerbork camp, a transit camp, to provide social assistance. This first stay lasted barely two weeks, but she returned on August 21 for another short stay, and finally on November 20. On December 5 she had to leave the camp for health reasons and did not return until June 6, 1943. But this last stay will be definitive. Her parents and her brother Mischa, victims of the great roundup of June 20 and 21, 1943, joined her. On September 7, 1943, the Hillesum family left Westerbork for Auschwitz. Etty's parents died during the transport or were gassed upon arrival in Auschwitz (September 10, 1943). According to the Red Cross, Etty died in Auschwitz on November 30, 1943 and her brother Mischa on March 31, 1944.

The work that Etty left us is above all her diary, which extends from March 9, 1941 to October 12, 1942, a period of barely 19 months. It is also her letters which go from August 5, 1941 to September 11, 1943. This work does not only reflect an era, but above all the intense and rapid inner evolution of a woman who can be ranked among the mystics. My biographical data and excerpts from the writings of Etty Hillesum are taken from : Etty Hillesum. Les écrits d’Etty Hillesum. Journaux et lettres 1941-1943. Complete edition. Paris: Seuil, 2008, 1081 pp.


A selection of Etty Hillesum's writings


I wanted to include Etty Hillesum's writings in this section for two reasons: first, references to the New Testament appear throughout her diary (on a few occasions she alludes to her reading of the gospel according to Matthew), and second, her great intuitions reach the heart of the gospel. I therefore present a bouquet or an anthology of quotations from her diary and her letters, a selection of texts that have reached me deeply in the heart of my reading and that I have grouped into two sets: reflection on the great themes of life, and reflection on biblical texts.

There is, however, a third reason that leads me to put forward this Jewish woman. In a world that is searching for its way in the midst of cultural upheavals, she can be that beacon that guides in the night. In a secular world, this non-religious woman leads the way of authenticity. While she has been described as depressed, chaotic and egocentric, her evolution in nineteen months opens the door to all hopes.

 

Reflection on the major themes of life

Reflection on biblical texts

Esther (Etty) Hillesum est née le 15 janvier 1914 à Middelburg (Hollande). Son père, Levie (Louis), originaire d’Amsterdam, était professeur de langues classiques, et sa mère, Riva (Rebecca) Bernstein, originaire de Potchev (Russie), donnait des cours de langue russe. Elle aura deux frères, Jacob (Jaap), né le 27 janvier 1916, qui deviendra médecin, et Michael (Mischa), né le 22 septembre 1920, un prodige musical, mais également schizophrène.

Après l’école primaire et le lycée à Deventer, Etty passe un bac littéraire et étudie le droit à Amsterdam. Le 6 juin 1935, elle passe ses examens du premier cycle de droit. Pendant cette période, elle demeure avec son frère Jaap, inscrit à la faculté de médecine. Elle est socialement et politiquement engagée, et évolue dans un milieu d’étudiants antifascistes de gauche. C’est en mars 1937 qu’elle emménage chez un comptable, Hendrik (Han) J. Wegerif, veuf, qui lui demande de diriger son ménage, et qui devient aussi son amant, au grand désarroi du fils de ce dernier, Han, qui vit dans la même maison. Le 4 juillet 1939, Etty passe ses derniers examens et décroche sa maîtrise en droit public néerlandais. Parallèlement, Etty étudie les langues slaves à Amsterdam et à Leyde, mais la guerre viendra interrompre ses études.

C’est au début de l’année 1941 qu’Etty fait une rencontre qui bouleversera sa vie. Julius Spier, un allemand né en 1887, qui avait travaillé vingt-cinq ans pour une maison de commerce, découvre en 1904 la « chirologie », l’étude de la personnalité grâce à la lecture des mains. Après une analyse didactique chez Carl Gustav Jung à Zürich, il ouvre en 1929 son propre cabinet de psychochirologie à Berlin. Il doit quitter l’Allemagne nazie en 1939 et s’établit à Amsterdam où il ouvre son cabinet et donne des cours. C’est là qu’Etty se fait inviter par un membre de sa maisonnée pour une lecture des lignes de la main. Elle tombe sous le charme de personnalité de Spier et décide de commencer une thérapie avec lui. Le 9 mars 1941, probablement à l’instigation de Spier, elle se met à rédiger son journal. Tout en étant l’une de ses patientes, elle devient également sa principale secrétaire et son amie de cœur. Spier lui apprend à apprivoiser son tempérament dépressif, chaotique et égocentrique et lui fait découvrir la Bible et saint Augustin. Il décèdera le 15 septembre 1942.

Entre-temps, l’étau se resserre sur les Juifs de Hollande où les restrictions ne font que s’amplifier. Le 15 juillet 1942, sous les conseils de son frère Jaap et grâce à ses relations, Etty obtient un poste au « Conseil Juif » d’Amsterdam, une institution crée par les Allemands pour coordonner les communications avec les Juifs. À sa demande, elle est transférée le 30 juillet 1942 au camp de Westerbork, un camp de transit, pour y fournir de l’assistance sociale. Ce premier séjour sera d’à peine deux semaines, mais elle y retournera le 21 août pour un autre court séjour, et enfin le 20 novembre. Le 5 décembre elle doit quitter le camp pour des raisons de santé et n’y retournera que le 6 juin 1943. Mais ce dernier séjour sera définitif. Ses parents avec son frère Mischa, victimes de la grande rafle des 20 et 21 juin 1943, la rejoignent. Le 7 septembre 1943, la famille Hillesum quitte Westerbork pour Auschwitz. Les parents d’Etty sont morts pendant le transport ou ont été gazés dès leur arrivée à Auschwitz (10 septembre 1943). Selon la Croix-Rouge, Etty serait morte à Auschwitz le 30 novembre 1943 et son frère Mischa, le 31 mars 1944.

L’œuvre que nous a laissée Etty, c’est avant tout son journal, qui s’étend du 9 mars 1941 au 12 octobre 1942, une période d’à peine 19 mois. Ce sont aussi ses lettres qui vont du 5 août 1941 jusqu’au 11 septembre 1943. Cette œuvre ne reflète pas seulement d’une époque, mais avant tout l’évolution intérieure intense et rapide d’une femme qu’on peut ranger au rang des mystiques. Mes données biographiques et les extraits des écrits d’Etty Hillesum sont tirés de : Etty Hillesum. Les écrits d’Etty Hillesum. Journaux et lettres 1941-1943. Édition intégrale. Paris: Seuil, 2008, 1081 p.


Florilège des écrits d’Etty Hillesum


J’ai tenu à inclure les écrits d’Etty Hillesum dans cette section « En Marge » pour deux raisons : d’abord des références au Nouveau Testament affleurent un peu partout dans son journal (à quelques reprises elle fait allusion à sa lecture de l’évangile selon Matthieu), ensuite ses grandes intuitions rejoignent le cœur de l’Évangile. Je présente donc un bouquet ou un florilège de citations de son journal et de ses lettres, un choix de textes qui m’ont rejoint profondément au cœur de ma lecture et que je regroupe en deux ensembles : réflexion sur les grands thèmes de la vie, et réflexion sur des textes bibliques.

Il y a tout de même une troisième raison qui m’amène à mettre de l’avant cette femme juive. Au cœur d’un monde qui cherche sa voie au milieu de bouleversement culturelles, elle peut être ce phare qui guide dans la nuit. Dans un monde laïc, cette femme non religieuse trace la voie de l’authenticité. Alors qu’on la décrit comme une femme dépressive, chaotique et égocentrique, sont évolution en dix-neuf mois ouvre la porte de tous les espoirs.

 

Réflexion sur les grands thèmes de la vie

Réflexion sur des textes bibliques

 

Retour à En Marge