entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.3, ch. 30 : Jesus in Relation to Competing Jewish Groups: the Samaritans,
pp 532-549

(Detailed summary)


Did Jesus have contact with the Samaritans?


Summary

A quick answer to this question would be to say: it is likely that Jesus had some sporadic encounters with the Samaritans. Unfortunately, we do not have any documents that could support this point. The Gospel texts we have on the Samaritans reflect more the situation of the early Church than that of the historical Jesus: the word "Samaritan" is absent in Mark, in Matthew it supports the decision of Christians to focus the mission only on the Jews, in Luke it serves to announce the future mission in Samaria which will be spoken of in the Acts of the Apostles, in John it serves as a context for a Christological encounter. However, in the latter case, the account is so full of precise data about the Samaritans that one can imagine that there may be historical elements at the basis of the account.

It should be pointed out that we call Samaritans people who, like the Jews, worshipped Yahweh, but they did so on Mount Garizim, not on Mount Zion, with people of the Levitical lineage as priests. Moreover, they accepted as Scripture only the Pentateuch (the first five books of the Bible). These characteristics of the Samaritan religion do not stem from any schism with Judaism, but from the evolution of certain tribes (Ephraim and Menasseh) in the north.


Jesus in Relation to Competing Jewish Groups: the Samaritans

  1. Introduction: Why Here?

    Unlike other groups such as the Pharisees, Sadducees or Essenes, the Samaritans are not clearly identified as Jews, some placing them halfway between Jews and Gentiles.

  2. Problems of Terminology and Definition

    1. Geography

      The Samaritans can be defined as the inhabitants of a region called Samaria, located between Judea to the south and Galilee to the north, west of the Jordan River. The capital was Samaria, but renamed Sebaste by Herod.

    2. Physical descent and ethnic composition

      The Samaritans were considered to be descendants of the Israelite tribes of Ephraim and Manasseh, with the addition over the centuries of non-Israelites from Assyria and the Hellenistic empires. At the time of Jesus' time there were very Hellenized groups.

    3. Religion

      The religion practiced by the Samaritans had the following characteristics:

      • A worship of the God Yahweh;
      • Mount Garizim was venerated as a place of worship rather than Mount Zion in Jerusalem;
      • The legitimate priests of the Levitical lineage in Mount Garizim were pitted against the priests of Jerusalem;
      • Only the Pentateuch (the first five books of the Bible) was accepted as Scripture.

      Unfortunately, our sources of information are very limited, i.e., the Jewish historian Josephus, who seems hostile to the Samaritans, and the New Testament.

  3. The Problem of the Historical Origins of the Samaritans

    The traditional explanation of Samaritan theology as to its origin must be rejected as completely anachronistic: the schism would have taken place in the 11th century B.C. when Eli, an iniquitous priest, would have moved the sanctuary from Shechem to Siloam (see 1 Sam 1: 9 - 4: 18). Also to be rejected as historically inaccurate is the version of 2 Kings 17: 29 which states that, on the occasion of the deportation of the northern tribes in 722-721 B.C., the king of Assyria sent settlers to Samaria who spread their polytheistic and syncretist cult. Josephus, for his part, reuses the version of 2 Kings 17: 29 to describe these new immigrants as Chutheans (see Ant. 9: 4.1-3 #277-291), the ancestors of the present Samaritans.

    When we look closely at the Old Testament, we do not see any form of schism that might have taken place between the people of Samaria and the people of Judea. In Deuteronomy, Mount Garizim is presented positively as opposed to Mount Ebal (Deut 11: 29; 27: 12). And when Ezra and Nehemiah discuss rebuilding the temple of Jerusalem on their return from exile in Babylon in the fifth century B.C., they involve the authorities of Samaria in the discussions. It should be noted that the Samaritan tradition does not speak of a temple on Mount Garizim, but simply of a place of worship, which contrasts with the Jewish tradition and its emphasis on the temple on Mount Zion. Even a polemical text like that of Ben Sira (Sir 50: 25-26: " There are two nations which my soul hates, the third is not a nation: the inhabitants of Mount Seir, the Philistines, and the stupid people who dwell in Shechem. ") makes no reference to any temple, while denying that the Samaritans are among the people chosen by God. Tensions between Samaritans and Jews intensified during the Hasmonean period (2nd century BC) with the Hellenization policy of Antiochus IV to which the Samaritans accommodated themselves, while the Jews revolted (see 2 Mac 6: 2): in 128 BC the high priest John Hyrcan destroyed the sanctuary of Mount Garizim, and in 107 the city of Shechem.

    What can we conclude? Technically, the word "Jew" refers to someone from the tribe of Judas and living in a territory called Judea in Greco-Roman times. Following the exile of some people to Babylon, this territory was occupied by people who had either stayed there or returned from exile, and together these people constituted Palestinian Judaism. On the other side, the Samaritans came from the northern tribes (mainly Ephraim and Manasseh), practising religious worship on Mount Garizim. So while they considered themselves part of Israel, they did not define themselves as Jews and did not practice the religion called Judaism. From this perspective, one does not speak of a schism at a particular time. Rather, it is the same religion of Israel that has evolved differently in the course of events and has developed distinct practices.

  4. The Problems of the Gospel Texts

    As far as the Samaritans are concerned, the Gospels inform us more about the situation of the early church than about that of the historical Jesus.

    1. The word "Samaria" and the word "Samaritan" never appear in Mark or in the Q-source, an indication that Jesus' interaction with the Samaritans was not very great.

    2. Matthew gives us this passage: "Do not take the way of the Gentiles and do not enter a city of Samaritans; rather go to the lost sheep of the house of Israel" (Mt 10:5b-6). These words probably do not come from the historical Jesus for the following reasons:

      1. The context is that of a missionary discourse (10: 5-42) where Matthew condenses several missionary discourses found in Mark and the Q-source. However, we never find such a prohibition to go among the Gentiles or Samaritans in Mark or the Q document. We would have here an addition of Matthew or his source M.

      2. We find in Matthew a parallel passage in 15: 24 where he takes up the account of Mark 7: 25-30 (healing of the daughter of the Syro-Phoenician woman) to turn the Syro-Phoenician woman into a Canaanite woman and to add to Mark's account this word of Jesus where he says that he was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Israel. We are in front of the creative activity of Matthew or of the source M which he uses.

      3. Since even Mark's account of the Syro-Phoenician woman is probably not historical, then even more so Matthew's version.

      This refusal to go to the Samaritans would probably come from first generation Christians who were opposed to extending the proclamation of the Gospel to groups other than Jews. This refusal was not unfounded, for Jesus focused his mission only on the Jews, and there is no evidence that Jesus or his immediate followers intended to address the Samaritans as a group.

    3. In Luke the Samaritans are mentioned both in stories and in the words of Jesus.

      1. The account of the ten lepers where only a Samaritan returns to Jesus to give glory to God (Lk 17: 11-19) contains Christian and Lucan concerns and prepares the mission in Samaria too well in the Acts of the Apostles to have any chance of being historical. Luke probably uses a particular source called L.

      2. In Lk 9: 52-55, Jesus, beginning his last journey to Jerusalem, is refused entry into a Samaritan village, which leads James and John to want to order fire to come down from heaven to consume the people. The incident is not in itself improbable and seems consistent with the title of "son of thunder" that James and John carry. Unfortunately, this story is a pivotal moment in Luke's work, which presents us with a Jesus who resolutely faces death and prepares his disciples for his departure. Moreover, while Luke usually constructs his account from the Mark framework where Jesus travels to Jerusalem through the Jordan Valley, not Samaria, here he deviates from his usual framework: perhaps he mixes in elements from another journey. In any case, nothing can be advanced historically.

      3. Finally, Luke is the only one to offer us this parable of the Good Samaritan (Lk 10: 30-37). It is difficult to establish whether this parable goes back to the historical Jesus. We simply note the work of Luke who uses elements from Mark (Mk 12: 28-34) to provide an introduction to the parable, indicating the insertion of a particular source requiring some stitching work. But even assuming that this parable goes back to the historical Jesus, we learn little, except that Jesus had a more favorable view of the Samaritans than the majority of the Jews.

    4. John presents two passages in which the Samaritans are mentioned.

      1. The account of Jesus' dialogue with the Samaritan woman at Jacob's well is well known (John 4: 4-42). Here we have a typical structure of the evangelist who presents us with a spiritual journey where, through questions and answers, a Christological encounter takes place. This account of the Samaritan woman reflects John's theology and vocabulary and announces the future mission of the early church to the Samaritans (vv. 31-38; see Acts 8). Therefore, in the face of such a grandiose composition, any historical claim could be rejected. Yet this account is full of elements showing a precise knowledge of the Samaritans:
        • There is indeed a well at the foot of Mount Garizim;
        • Jews and Samaritans don't actually share the same utensils (v.9 for drinking);
        • It is true that it is unusual for a Jewish man to address a Samaritan woman (especially with the implications for ritual purity);
        • It is true that Mount Garizim was in competition with the temple in Jerusalem;
        • Surprisingly, Jesus identifies himself as a Jew when the whole of John's Gospel presents the Jews in a negative light;
        • There's this other amazing statement by Jesus that salvation comes from the Jews;
        • There's this allusion to the Samaritan messiah, an eschatological figure called Taheb;

        It's possible that John is using historical elements with which he constructs his theological work.

      2. Jn 8: 48 uses the word "Samaritan", but as an insult in the mouths of Jesus' opponents. We are in the polemical context of ch. 8 where Jesus accuses the Jews of not being true sons of Abraham (an accusation perhaps made by the Samaritans against the Jews) and claims to be of divine origin. The Jews reply by saying that he is a Samaritan and is possessed by the devil. Now, the Samaritans had the reputation of being magicians (see Simon the magician in the Acts of the Apostles), and therefore agents of the devil. So, this polemic bears above all the mark of the debates in the first Christian communities.

    In short, we have no text that we can clearly trace back to the historical Jesus. But we can nevertheless say two things: Jesus probably had a much more favorable view of the Samaritans than of the Jews as a whole, and he probably had a few sporadic encounters with the Samaritans, without us being able to get the details.

Next chapter: Did the scribes really oppose Jesus?

List of all chapters

Jésus a-t-il eu des contacts avec les Samaritains?


Sommaire

Une réponse rapide à cette question serait de dire: il est probable que Jésus a eu quelques rencontres sporadiques avec les Samaritains. Malheureusement, nous n’avons aucun document qui pourrait appuyer ce point. Les textes évangiles que nous avons sur les Samaritains reflètent plus la situation de l’Église primitive que celle du Jésus historique: le mot « Samaritain » est absent de Marc, chez Matthieu il vient appuyer la décision des chrétiens de centrer la mission seulement sur les Juifs, chez Luc il sert à annoncer la mission future en Samarie dont parlera les Actes des Apôtres, chez Jean il sert de contexte à une rencontre christologique. Cependant, dans ce dernier cas, le récit est tellement truffé données précises sur les Samaritains qu’on peut imaginer qu’à la base du récit il y a peut-être des éléments historiques.

Précisons que nous appelons Samaritains des gens qui, comme les Juifs, rendaient un culte à Yahvé, mais ils le faisaient au mont Garizim, et non au mont Sion, avec comme prêtres des gens de la lignée lévitique. De plus, ils n’acceptaient comme Écriture que le Pentateuque (les cinq premiers livres de la Bible). Ces caractéristiques de la religion samaritaine ne proviennent pas d’un schisme quelconque d’avec le Judaïsme, mais d’une évolution propre de certaines tribus (Éphraïm et Menassé) du nord.


Jésus et les groupes concurrents juifs : les Samaritains

  1. Introduction : pourquoi maintenant?

    Contrairement aux autres groupes comme les Pharisiens, les Sadducéens ou les Esséniens, les Samaritains ne sont pas clairement identifiés comme des Juifs, certains les situant à mi-chemin entre Juifs et Gentils.

  2. Des problèmes de terminologie et de définition

    1. La géographie

      On peut définir les Samaritains comme des habitants d’une région appelée Samarie, située entre la Judée au sud et la Galilée au nord, à l’ouest du Jourdain. La capitale était Samarie, mais renommée Sébaste par Hérode.

    2. La descendance physique et la composition ethnique

      On considérait les Samaritains comme descendants des tribus israélites d’Éphraïm et Manassé, avec l’adjonction au fil des siècles de non-Israélites d’Assyrie et des empires hellénistiques. À l’époque de Jésus on y trouve des groupes très hellénisés.

    3. La religion

      La religion pratiquée par les Samaritains avait les caractéristiques suivantes :

      • Un culte rendu au Dieu Yahvé;
      • On vénérait le mont Garizim comme lieu de culte plutôt que le mont Sion à Jérusalem;
      • On opposait les prêtres légitimes de la lignée lévitique au mont Garizim aux prêtres de Jérusalem;
      • On n’acceptait que le Pentateuque (les cinq premiers livres de la Bible) comme Écriture.

      Malheureusement, nos sources d’information sont très limitées, i.e. l’historien juif Josèphe qui semble hostile aux Samaritains, et le Nouveau Testament.

  3. Le problème des origines historiques des Samaritains

    Il faut rejeter comme tout à fait anachronique l’explication traditionnelle de la théologie samaritaine sur son origine : le schisme aurait eu lieu au 11e siècle av. J.-C. quand Éli, un prêtre inique, aurait déplacé le sanctuaire de Sichem à Siloé (voir 1 S 1, 9 – 4, 18). Il faut rejeter également comme historiquement inexacte la version de 2 R 17, 29 qui affirme que, à l’occasion de la déportation des tribus du nord en 722/721 av. J.-C, le roi d’Assyrie envoya en Samarie des colons qui répandirent leur culte polythéiste et syncrétiste. Josèphe, pour sa part, réutilise la version de 2 R 17, 29 pour décrire ces nouveaux immigrants comme des Chuthéens (voir Ant. 9.14.1-3 #277-291), les ancêtres des Samaritains actuels.

    Quand on examine attentivement l’Ancien Testament, on ne repère aucune forme de schisme qui aurait pu avoir lieu entre les gens de Samarie et ceux de Judée. Dans le Deutéronome, le mont Garizim y est présenté de manière positive en opposition au mont Ébal (Dt 11, 29; 27, 12). Et quand Esdras et Néhémie discuteront de reconstruire le temple de Jérusalem au retour de l’exil à Babylone au 5e siècle av. J.-C., ils impliqueront les autorités de Samarie dans les discussions. Notons que la tradition samaritaine ne parle pas de temple au mont Garizim, mais simplement d’un lieu de culte, ce qui contraste avec la tradition juive et son insistance sur le temple au mont Sion. Même un texte polémique comme celui de Ben Sira (Si 50, 25-26 : « Il y a deux nations que mon âme déteste, la troisième n'est pas une nation: les habitants de la montagne de Séïr, les Philistins, et le peuple stupide qui demeure à Sichem. ») ne fait aucune référence à un temple quelconque, tout en niant que les Samaritains fassent partie du peuple choisi par Dieu. Les tensions entre Samaritains et Juifs se sont intensifiées lors de la période hasmonéenne (2e siècle av. J.-C.) avec la politique d’hellénisation d’Antiochus IV à laquelle se sont accommodés les Samaritains, alors que les Juifs se sont révoltés (voir 2 Mac 6, 2) : en 128 av. J.-C. le grand prêtre Jean Hyrcan détruisit le sanctuaire du Mont Garizim, et en 107, la ville de Sichem.

    Que conclure? Techniquement, le mot « Juif » désigne quelqu’un de la tribu de Judas et vivant sur un territoire appelé Judée à l’époque gréco-romaine. À la suite de l’exil de certains à Babylone, ce territoire était occupé par des gens qui étaient, soit restés sur place, soit revenus d’exil, et ensemble ces gens constituaient le Judaïsme palestinien. De l’autre côté, les Samaritains provenaient des tribus du nord (principalement Éphraïm et Manassé), pratiquaient un culte religieux sur le mont Garizim. Et donc, tout en se considérant comme faisant partie d’Israël, ils ne se définissaient pas comme Juifs et ne pratiquaient pas cette religion qu’on appelle le Judaïsme. Dans cette perspective, on ne pas parler de schisme à un moment particulier. Il s’agit plutôt de la même religion d’Israël qui a évolué différemment au fil des événements et a développé des pratiques distinctes.

  4. Les problèmes reliés aux textes évangéliques

    En ce qui concerne les Samaritains, les évangiles nous informent plus sur la situation de l’église primitive que sur celle du Jésus historique.

    1. Le mot « Samarie » et le mot « Samaritain » n’apparaissent jamais dans Marc ou dans la source Q, une indication que l’interaction de Jésus avec les Samaritains n’était pas très grande.

    2. Matthieu nous offre ce passage : « Ne prenez pas le chemin des païens et n'entrez pas dans une ville de Samaritains; allez plutôt vers les brebis perdues de la maison d'Israël. » (Mt 10, 5b-6). Ces paroles ne proviennent probablement pas du Jésus historique pour les raisons suivantes :

      1. Le contexte est celui d’un discours missionnaire (10, 5-42) où Matthieu condense plusieurs discours missionnaires qu’on trouve chez Marc et dans la source Q. Pourtant, on ne trouve jamais une telle interdiction d’aller chez les Gentils ou les Samaritains chez Marc ou la source Q. Nous aurions ici une addition de Matthieu ou de sa source M.

      2. On trouve chez Matthieu un passage parallèle en 15, 24 où il reprend le récit de Marc 7, 25-30 (guérison de la fille de la Syro-phénicienne) pour transformer la Syro-phénicienne en Cananéenne et pour ajouter au récit de Marc cette parole de Jésus où il dit qu'il n’a été envoyé qu'aux brebis perdues de la maison d'Israël. Nous sommes devant l’activité créatrice de Matthieu ou de la source M qu’il utilise.

      3. Puisque même le récit de Marc sur la Syro-phénicienne n’est probablement pas historique, alors à plus forte raison la version de Matthieu.

      Ce refus d’aller chez les Samaritains proviendrait probablement de chrétiens de première génération qui s’opposaient à l’élargissement de la proclamation de l’évangile à des groupes autres que Juifs. Ce refus n’était pas sans fondement, car Jésus n’a centré sa mission que sur les Juifs et on n’a aucun indice montrant que Jésus ou ses disciples immédiats aient eu l’intention de s’adresser aux Samaritains comme groupe.

    3. Chez Luc, les Samaritains sont mentionnés à la fois dans des récits et dans les paroles de Jésus.

      1. Le récit des dix lépreux où seul un Samaritain revient vers Jésus pour rendre gloire à Dieu (Lc 17, 11-19) contient des préoccupations proprement chrétiennes et lucaniennes et prépare trop bien la mission en Samarie dans les Actes des Apôtres pour avoir des chances d’être historique. Luc utilise probablement une source particulière qu’on appelle L.

      2. En Lc 9, 52-55, Jésus, amorçant son dernier voyage à Jérusalem, se voit refuser l’entrée dans un village samaritain, ce qui amène Jacques et Jean à vouloir ordonner au feu de descendre du ciel pour consumer les gens. En soi, l’incident n’a rien d’improbable et semble cohérent avec le titre de « fils du tonnerre » que portent Jacques et Jean. Malheureusement, ce récit constitue un moment pivot dans l’œuvre de Luc qui nous présente un Jésus affrontant résolument la mort et préparant ses disciples à son départ. De plus, alors que Luc construit habituellement son récit à partir du cadre de Marc où Jésus se rend à Jérusalem par la vallée du Jourdain, et non par la Samarie, ici il dévie de son cadre habituel : peut-être y mêle-t-il des éléments d’un autre voyage. Quoi qu’il en soit, on ne peut rien avancer sur le plan historique.

      3. Enfin, Luc est le seul à nous offrir cette parabole du bon Samaritain (Lc 10, 30-37). Il est difficile d’établir si cette parabole remonte au Jésus historique. On note simplement le travail de Luc qui utilise des éléments de Marc (Mc 12, 28-34) pour fournir une introduction à la parabole, ce qui indique l’insertion d’une source particulière exigeant un peu de travail de suture. Mais même en admettant que cette parabole remonte au Jésus historique, nous apprenons peu de choses, sinon que Jésus avait une vision plus favorable des Samaritains que la majorité des Juifs.

    4. Jean présente deux passages où on parle des Samaritains.

      1. Le récit du dialogue de Jésus avec la Samaritaine au puits de Jacob est bien connu (Jn 4, 4-42). Nous avons ici une structure typique de l’évangéliste qui nous présente un voyage spirituel où, à travers des questions et de réponses, s’opère une rencontre christologique. Ce récit sur la Samaritaine reflète la théologie et le vocabulaire de Jean, et annonce la mission future de l’église primitive auprès des Samaritains (vv. 31-38; voir Actes 8). Dès lors, devant une composition si grandiose, on pourrait rejeter toute prétention historique. Pourtant ce récit est truffé d’éléments montrant une connaissance précise des Samaritains :
        • Il y a effectivement un puits au pied du mont Garizim;
        • Juifs et Samaritains ne partagent pas effectivement les mêmes ustensiles (v.9 pour pouvoir boire);
        • C’est vrai qu’il est inhabituel pour un homme Juif de s’adresser à une femme samaritaine (surtout avec les implications sur la pureté rituelle);
        • C’est vrai que le mont Garizim était en compétition avec le temple de Jérusalem;
        • De manière surprenante, Jésus s’identifie comme Juif alors que tout l’évangile de Jean présente les Juifs sous un jour négatif;
        • Il y a cette autre phrase étonnante de Jésus que le salut vient des Juifs;
        • On y fait allusion au messie samaritain, une figure eschatologique appelée Taheb;

        Il est possible que Jean utilise des éléments historiques avec lesquels il construit son œuvre théologique.

      2. Jn 8, 48 utilise le mot « Samaritain », mais comme injure dans la bouche des adversaires de Jésus. Nous sommes dans le contexte polémique du ch. 8 où Jésus accuse les Juifs de ne pas être de vrais fils d’Abraham (une accusation que faisait peut-être les Samaritains vis-à-vis des Juifs) et se prétend être d’origine divine. Les Juifs lui répliquent en disant qu’il est un Samaritain et est possédé du démon. Or, les samaritains avaient la réputation d’être des magiciens (voir Simon le magicien dans les Actes des Apôtres), et donc des agents du démon. Bref, cette polémique porte avant tout la marque des débats dans les premières communautés chrétiennes.

    Bref, nous n’avons aucun texte que nous pouvons clairement faire remonter au Jésus historique. Mais nous pouvons néanmoins dire deux choses : Jésus avait probablement une vue des Samaritains beaucoup plus favorable que celle de l’ensemble des Juifs, et il a probablement eu quelques rencontres sporadiques avec les Samaritains, sans que nous puissions en avoir le détail.

 

Meier v.3, chap 30, pp 532-549 (version anglaise).


<

Question suivante: Les scribes se sont-ils vraiment opposés à Jésus?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.