entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.3, ch. 24 : Jesus in Relation to His Followers: The Crowds,
pp 19-39

(Detailed summary)


Did Jesus really draw large crowds during His ministry?


Summary

Is the presence of crowds a creation of the evangelists for literary and religious reasons, in order to introduce a form of chorus into the narratives and accentuate the popularity of Jesus for propaganda reasons? Using the criteria of historicity that are the multiple attestations of the sources and the final rejection of Jesus, it must be acknowledged that, historically, Jesus attracted crowds. All the gospels mention him, as does the Jewish historian Flavius Josephus. This fact helps to understand Jesus' crucifixion, an intervention by the authorities before this popularity got out of hand.

On the other hand, this crowd remains an undifferentiated mass whose number cannot be appreciated. There is a majority of poor people, but there are also people who have means. The majority of these people will not cross the invisible line that separates an audience of onlookers or sympathizers from a group of committed adherents.


  1. Introduction: Finding the Proper Label

    The gospels use the verb "to follow" to describe the relationship of people with Jesus. But this verb refers to the physical act of following, and includes all possible attitudes, from the pseudo-disciple who is simply curious, to the sympathizer who adheres to his message, to the true disciple who becomes committed to his person. This verb is found almost exclusively in the gospels and therefore describes a vast spectrum of different attitudes. Our study will begin with the outer circle of the merely curious before analyzing the inner group of the Twelve. Note that these different concentric circles are fluid, since people who were initially sympathetic could later become indifferent.

  2. The Outer Circle: the Crowds

    The gospels use various expressions in reference to crowds: the crowd (ochloi), the multitude (plethos), many people (polloi), and all (pantes). The historical fact that Jesus drew crowds is confirmed by the use of two of our criteria for historicity: the multiple attestation of the sources and the rejection of Jesus.

    1. All four gospels mention the presence of crowds. Take, for example, the account of Jesus feeding the crowd (Mk 6:32-44; Mt 14:13-21; Jn 6:1-13; Mk 8:1-10; Mt 15:32-39), which presupposes the existence of a large crowd, even if the figure of 5,000 people is taken with a grain of salt. The mention of the crowd is sometimes on the lips of the disciples as witnessed by the healing of the hemorrhaging woman (Mk 5:24-34 parr.) when they mention the crowd after Jesus' question asking who had touched him. Jesus' words sometimes presuppose a crowd, as in Mk 8:2 (the beginning of the feeding of the crowd), "I have pity on the crowd, for already three days they have been staying with me and they have no food." The Q Document contains two references to the crowd: Mt 9:33 || Lk 11:14 (The crowds marveled said...) and Mt 11:7 || Lk 7:24 (Jesus began to tell the crowds...). Finally, there is the Jewish historian Flavius Josephus who, in his Jewish Antiquities, writes, "And Jesus drew to himself many Jews and many Greeks."

    2. The criterion of rejection of Jesus and his death also confirms that, historically speaking, Jesus attracted crowds. First, it is easier to understand Jesus' crucifixion by the fact that he attracted a large crowd rather than by the fact that he would have been ignored by the general population. Then there is the example of John the Baptist who, according to Flavius Josephus, was very popular with the crowds, and it was this success that led Herod Antipas to throw him into prison and have him put to death. Although the Jewish historian does not say this explicitly for Jesus, the fact that he was crucified immediately after mentioning his success with the crowds points us in the same direction. And it is quite likely that this success with the crowds continued right up to the end, at the Jewish Passover feast in Jerusalem, because that is when Caiaphas and Pilate decide to intervene, before things go too far.

    Can we give an idea of the size of this crowd? Unfortunately, we lack the data. This crowd remains largely undifferentiated. The vast majority are poor, but that is the fact of most people in first century Palestine. A few individuals emerge from this crowd:

    • Levi, the customs collector in Capernaum (Mk 2:13-15)
    • The woman with the hemorrhages who had some wealth and had spent it with the doctors (Mk 5:25-34)
    • Jairus, a synagogue leader who lived in a house with many rooms (Mk 5:21-43)
    • A centurion or royal officer in the employ of Herod Antipas (Mt 8:513; Jn 4:46-54)
    • Zacchaeus, a rich customs collector in Jericho (Lk 19:1-10)
    • A woman able to afford a very expensive ointment (equivalent to a year's wage for a day laborer, say $35,000) which she wastes on Jesus (Mk 14:3-9)
    • The anonymous Jerusalem landlord who offers Jesus and his disciples a room for his last meal (Mk 14:12-26)
    • Different owners who receive Jesus and his disciples as guests throughout his public ministry

    This image of Jesus hanging out with the wealthy is balanced by his association with lepers, blind beggars and many people who were on the margins of society. Finally, it should be noted that this crowd around Jesus is different from the group called "sinners", people who had rejected the commandments of the God of Israel and had adopted the customs of the Gentiles.

    The interest of this crowd in Jesus and his religious movement is similar to that of many Jews in the Pharisee movement: they find a mixture of respect, sympathy and even sometimes acceptance of a certain influence, but without going as far as full membership.

Who can be considered a disciple of Jesus?

List of all chapters

Jésus a-t-il vraiment attiré de grandes foules durant son ministère?


Sommaire

La présence des foules est-elle une création des évangélistes pour des raisons littéraires et religieuses, afin d’introduire une forme de chœur dans les récits et accentuer la popularité de Jésus pour des raisons de propagande? En utilisant les critères d’historicité que sont les attestations multiples des sources et le rejet final de Jésus, il faut reconnaître que, sur le plan historique, Jésus a attiré des foules. Tous les évangiles le mentionnent, ainsi que l’historien juif Flavius Josèphe. Ce fait permet de mieux comprendre la crucifixion de Jésus, une intervention des autorités avant que cette popularité ne dégénère.

Par contre, cette foule demeure une masse indifférenciée dont on ne peut apprécier le nombre. On y trouve une majorité de pauvres, mais aussi des gens à l’aise. La majorité de ces gens ne franchiront pas la ligne invisible qui sépare un auditoire de curieux ou de sympathisants d’un groupe d’adhérents engagés.


  1. Introduction : déterminer la bonne catégorisation

    Les évangiles utilisent le verbe « suivre » pour décrire la relation des gens avec Jésus. Mais ce verbe renvoie au geste physique de suivre, et inclut toutes les attitudes possibles, celui du pseudo-disciple qui est simplement un curieux, celui du sympathisant qui adhère à son message, ou encore celui du véritable disciple qui s’attache à sa personne. Ce verbe ne se retrouve presqu’uniquement dans les évangiles et décrit donc un vaste spectre d’attitudes différentes. Notre étude commencera par le cercle extérieur des simples curieux avant d’analyser le groupe interne des Douze. Notons que ces différents cercles concentriques sont fluides, puisque des gens d’abord sympathisants pouvaient par la suite devenir indifférents.

  2. Le cercle externe : les foules

    Les évangiles utilisent diverses expressions en référence à la foule : la foule (ochloi), la multitude (plethos), beaucoup de gens (polloi), et tous (pantes). Le fait historique que Jésus ait attiré des foules est confirmé par l’utilisation de deux de nos critères d’historicité : les attestations multiples des sources et le rejet de Jésus.

    1. Les quatre évangiles mentionnent la présence des foules. Prenons l’exemple du récit du ravitaillement de la foule par Jésus (Mc 6, 32-44 || Mt 14, 13-21 || Jn 6, 1-13 || Mc 8, 1-10 || Mt 15, 32-39) qui présuppose l’existence d’une grande foule, même si le chiffre de 5 000 personnes est à prendre avec un grain de sel. La mention de la foule est parfois sur les lèvres des disciples comme en témoigne la guérison de l’hémorroïsse (Mc 5, 24-34 parr.) quand ils mentionnent la foule après la question de Jésus demandant qui l’avait touché. Les paroles de Jésus présupposent parfois une foule, comme en Mc 8, 2 (début du ravitaillement de la foule) : « J’ai pitié de la foule, car voilà déjà trois jours qu’ils restent auprès de moi et ils n’ont pas de quoi manger. » La source Q contient deux références à la foule : Mt 9, 33 || Lc 11, 14 (Les foules émerveillés disait…) et Mt 11, 7 || Lc 7, 24 (Jésus se mit à dire aux foules…). Enfin, il y a l’historien juif Flavius Josèphe qui, dans ses Antiquités juives, écrit : « Et Jésus attira à lui beaucoup de Juifs et beaucoup de Grecs. »

    2. Le critère du rejet de Jésus et de sa mort confirme également que, sur le plan historique, Jésus a attiré des foules. Tout d’abord, il est plus facile de comprendre la crucifixion de Jésus par le fait qu’il attirait une large foule plutôt que par celui qu’il aurait été ignoré par l’ensemble de la population. Ensuite, il y a l’exemple de Jean Baptiste qui, selon Flavius Josèphe, a eu beaucoup de succès auprès des foules, et c’est ce succès qui a amené Hérode Antipas à le jeter en prison et à le faire mettre à mort. Même si l’historien juif ne le dit pas explicitement pour Jésus, le fait de dire qu’il fut crucifié immédiatement après avoir mentionné son succès auprès des foules nous oriente dans la même direction. Et il est tout probable que ce succès auprès des foules se soit poursuivi jusqu’à la fin, lors de la fête de la Pâque juive à Jérusalem, car c’est à ce moment que Caïphe et Pilate décident d’intervenir, avant que les choses n’aillent trop loin.

    Peut-on donner une idée de la grandeur de cette foule? Malheureusement, les données nous manquent. Cette foule demeure largement indifférenciée. La vaste majorité est pauvre, mais cela demeure le fait de la plupart des gens de la Palestine du 1ier siècle. Quelques individus émergent de cette foule :

    • Lévi, le percepteur aux douanes à Capharnaüm (Mc 2, 13-15)
    • La femme avec des hémorragies qui avait une certaine richesse et l’avait dépensée auprès des médecins (Mc 5, 25-34)
    • Jaïre, un chef de synagogue qui vivait dans une maison à plusieurs pièces (Mc 5, 21-43)
    • Un centurion ou officier royal à l’emploi d’Hérode Antipas (Mt 8, 513; Jn 4, 46-54)
    • Zachée, un riche percepteur aux douanes à Jéricho (Lc 19, 1-10)
    • Une femme capable de se payer une pommade de grands prix (équivalent à un an de salaire d’un journalier, disons 35 000$) qu’elle va gaspiller auprès de Jésus (Mc 14, 3-9)
    • Le propriétaire anonyme de Jérusalem qui offre à Jésus et à ses disciples une pièce pour son dernier repas (Mc 14, 12-26)
    • Différents propriétaires qui reçoivent comme invités Jésus et ses disciples tout au long de son ministère public

    Cette image de Jésus frayant avec des biens nantis est contrebalancée par sa fréquentation des lépreux, des aveugles mendiants et beaucoup de gens qui étaient en marge de la société. Enfin, précisons que cette foule qui entoure Jésus est différente du groupe appelé « les pécheurs », des gens qui avaient rejeté les commandements du Dieu d’Israël et avaient adopté les coutumes des Gentils.

    L’intérêt de cette foule pour Jésus et son mouvement religieux est analogue à celle de plusieurs Juifs pour le mouvement pharisien : il y trouve un mélange de respect, de sympathie et même parfois l’acceptation d’une certaine influence, mais sans aller jusqu’à une adhésion comme membre à temps plein.

 

Meier v.3, chap 24, pp 19-39 (version anglaise).


Question suivante: Qui peut-être considéré comme un disciple de Jésus?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.