entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.2, ch. 19 : The Historicity of Jesus' Miracles: The Global Question,
pp 617-645

(Detailed summary)


Are Jesus' miracles historical facts?


Summary

The question addressed here is not the historicity of each individual miracle story, but the general tradition of Jesus as a doer of out-of-the-ordinary actions that his contemporaries and Jesus himself interpreted as miracles. To answer this question, we use certain criteria, above all those of multiple attestations and consistency. The result of this work is to reveal to us an overwhelming mass of sources and diverse forms that confirm the tradition of Jesus as a miracle worker, while his speeches form with his actions a coherent whole. The application of the criteria of multiple attestation and coherence offers us such imposing arguments that they make it virtually impossible to believe that all these miracle stories are a fabrication of the early Church.


  1. The Global Question of Historicity

    Let us hasten to say: the question we want to answer is not whether Jesus performed miracles in the theological sense (actions performed directly by God that no human is capable of doing), but rather whether at least some of these stories do not date back to the time and ministry of Jesus, stories that tell of extraordinary acts of Jesus that some have interpreted as miracles. A corollary to this question would be this: did these stories all come from the creative imagination of the early church, which would have fabricated them to promote the figure of Jesus in the face of competition from other religious traditions, such as Judaism with its great miracle workers Elijah and Elisha?

    Several historians of the 19th and 20th centuries have tried to reconstruct a Jesus where miracles would be totally absent, and where only his teaching would remain. Let's name a few, such as Wilhelm Bousset, Thomas Jefferson and, in a way, Bultmann. But at this point one ignores the overwhelming mass of data that states exactly the opposite. A first compilation could be made like this:

    1. Six exorcisms
      1. The demoniac in the synagogue (Mk 1:23-28 | Lk 4:33-37)
      2. The Gerasene demoniac (Mk 5: 1-20 || Mt 8: 28-34| Lk 8: 26-39)
      3. The daughter of the Syro-Phoenician woman (Mk 7: 24-30 || Mt 15: 21-28)
      4. The possessed child and his father (Mc 9: 14-29 || Mt 17: 14-21|| Lc 9: 37-43)
      5. The mute demon (Mt 9: 32-34)
      6. The deaf and dumb demoniac (Mt 12: 22-23 || Lk 11: 14-15)

    2. Seventeen healings
      1. Peter's mother-in-law (Mk 1:29-31 || Mt 8:14-15 || Lk 4:38-39)
      2. The leper (Mk 1:40-45 || Mt 8:1-4 || Lk 5:12-16)
      3. The paralytic (Mk 2:1-12 || Mt 9:1-8 || Lk 5:17-26)
      4. The man with the paralyzed hand (Mk 3:1-6 || Mt 12:9-14 || Lk 6:6-11)
      5. The daughter of Jairus (Mk 5: 21-2435-43 || Mt 9: 18-19.23-26 || Lk 8: 40-42.49-56)
      6. The woman who was bleeding (Mk 5:25-34 || Mt 9:20-22 || Lk 8:43-48)
      7. The deaf and dumb (Mk 7:31-36)
      8. The blind man of Bethsaida (Mk 8:22-26)
      9. The blind Barthimee (Mk 10:46-52 || Mt 20:29-34 || Lk 18:35-43)
      10. The young man from Nain (Lk 7:11-17)
      11. The bent woman (Lk 13:10-17)
      12. The ten lepers (Lk 17:11-19)
      13. The hydropic (Lk 14:1-6)
      14. The paralytic in the pool (Jn 5:1-9)
      15. The raising of Lazarus (Jn 11)
      16. The blind man born (Jn 9)
      17. The centurion's servant (Mt 8:5-13 || Lk 7:1-10 || Jn 4:46-54)

    3. Eight miracles called "miracles of nature
      1. The storm calmed (Mk 4:35-41 || Mt 8:23-27 || Lk 8:22-25)
      2. Jesus fed five thousand people (Mk 6:32-44 || Mt 14:13-21 || Lk 9:10-17)
      3. Jesus fed four thousand people (Mk 8:1-10 || Mt 15:32-39)
      4. Jesus walks on water (Mk 6: 45-52 || Mt 14: 22-33 || Jn 6: 16-21)
      5. The withered fig tree (Mk 11: 12-14.20-26 || Mt 21: 18-22)
      6. The silver coin in the mouth of the fish (Mt 17:24-27)
      7. The miraculous catch (Lk 5: 1-11 || Jn 21: 1-14)
      8. The changing of water into wine (Jn 2:1-11)

  2. The Criteria of Historicity and the Global Question

    Let us recall the question: did the historical Jesus perform actions out of the ordinary that his contemporaries and Jesus himself interpreted as miracles? To answer this question, two criteria will play a major role, that of multiple attestations and consistency, while the others will play a minor role.

    1. The multiple attestation criterion

      1. Multiplicity of sources

        The breadth of the sources is overwhelming. Let's start with Mark. More than 31% of his gospel is made up of miracle stories, and this percentage rises to 47% if we exclude the passion narrative. It seems that he has inherited the miracle stories of several streams of the first generation of Christians. For the style and tone are not uniform: sometimes the account is long and circumstantial, sometimes it is laconic; sometimes it gives the names of the characters and the place, sometimes it is anonymous, or it simply mentions the miracles through a speech. But the very fact that Mark wrote his gospel at the end of the first Christian generation is a clear refutation of the idea that these accounts are a complete creation of the early church after Jesus' death.

        Another source is the Q Document, which is very different from Mark in that it is mostly composed of speeches. Although it contains only one miracle story (healing of the centurion's servant, Mt 8:5-13 and ||), it makes several references in its speeches to the miracles performed by Jesus: the dispute over the exorcism attributed to Beelzebul, the list of miracles in the response to John the Baptist's envoys, the rebuke to the towns of Galilee that did not believe in his miracles. The special sources of Matthew and Luke also know the miracles: The coin in the mouth of the fish (Mt 17:27) and Peter's walking on the waters (Mt 14:28-31) which are unique to Matthew, the miraculous fishing (Lk 5:1-11), the raising of the widow of Nain's son (Lk 7: 11-17), the healing of the bent woman (Lk 13:10-17), the healing of the man with the paralyzed hand (Lk 14:1-6), the healing of the ten lepers (Lk 17:11-19) which are proper to Luke.

        As for the Gospel according to John, one thing is remarkable: exorcisms are totally absent. However, we find the same types of miracle stories, even if their content is different, and behind these stories we find the primitive forms of miracle stories.

        Finally, the Jewish historian Flavius Josephus, in the Testimonium Flavianum of his book The Jewish Antiquities (XVIII,3,3) writes:

        "At this time (during the reign of Pontius Pilate, prefect of Judea) there appeared Jesus, a wise man. For he was a doer of startling deeds, a teacher of people who receive the truth with pleasure. And he gained a following both among many Jews and among many of Gentile origin."

        In short, it presents Jesus as a charismatic leader who had the special power to perform miracles, and thus confirms the claims of the gospels.

      2. Multiplicity of literary forms

        The stories use three major forms: exorcisms, healings and miracles of nature. But in addition, there are references to miracles in other literary genres, such as the parable (Mk 3:27), or the dispute stories (Mk 6:7.13), or the biographical summaries (Lk 13:32), or his teachings to the disciples. There is no other gospel material with so many attestations.

    2. The criterion of coherence

      All of Jesus' speeches and actions form a coherent whole that repeats the same message. For example, the exorcisms demonstrate God's eschatological triumph over Satan and the power of evil through Jesus, a sign of the arrival of God's reign. Similarly, the healings support Jesus' claim that the liberation of Israel has begun, also a sign of the arrival of God's reign. These healings, along with his teaching, helped draw large crowds to Jesus, and the early church was able to continue this success after his death because the early Christians continued this healing ministry.

    3. The discontinuity criterion

      As we have said, this criterion is less important. Nevertheless, it is useful to point out the difference between the gospels and the pagan accounts. The accounts from Mark and the Q Document can be dated to around 70, the end of the first Christian generation. On the other hand, Philostratus' account of the miracles of Apolinius of Tyana dates from the third century, more than a century after the events he purports to recount. The same can be said of Honi, the tracer of circles, and Ḥanina ben-Dosa mentioned in the Mishna, 200 years after they lived; moreover, these two men are not really miracle workers, but people of prayer who could predict whether their prayers would come true. Finally, as much as a Flavius Josephus enjoys recounting the miracles of certain Old Testament prophets, he is silent about miracle workers in the first century, apart from Jesus.

    4. The criterion of embarrassment

      Disputes arose over Jesus' exorcisms (see Mark and Q Document), with Jewish authorities accusing him of acting on behalf of Beelzebul. It is unlikely that the early church would have created such stories that present Jesus in an ambiguous light.

    5. The criterion for rejecting Jesus

      Did Jesus' miracles contribute to his rejection and execution? We don't think so. For the very fact of healing someone was not illegal. Moreover, one would look in vain in the various charges against Jesus for references to miracles. What led to his condemnation was a combination of factors, such as his announcement of the end of the present world and its replacement by the definitive reign of God, his teaching which claimed to indicate the will of God, his ability to attract crowds, the formation of a circle of twelve disciples, in the image of the twelve original tribes, claiming to represent the new Israel, his freedom from religious and social traditions which led him to associate with sinners, the belief of some that he was a descendant of King David and therefore the promised Messiah, the veiled affirmation of his future role in the eschatological drama, and if we accept these facts as historical, his triumphal entry into Jerusalem and the so-called cleansing of the temple. In this context, Jesus' miracles may have created aggravating circumstances, without actually being the trigger for his arrest.

      To these five criteria, we can add a few points worth noting. First, some accounts have retained the original Aramaic language and color of Palestine, such as the expressions talitha koum (Little girl, get up: Mk 5:41), or ephphatha (Be opened: Mk 7:34), uttered by Jesus to heal. Moreover, while in the majority of cases the names of the characters and the place of the miracles remain anonymous, we encounter cases where the characters and the place are named, such as Jairus, a synagogue leader, who implores Jesus for his daughter, or Bartimaeus, a blind man, who regains his sight in Jericho, or Lazarus who regains life in Bethany, following the request of his two sisters, Martha and Mary.

  3. Conclusion on the overall issue

    The application of the criteria of multiple attestations and coherence offers us such imposing arguments that they make it practically impossible to believe that all these miracle stories were fabricated by the early Church. The other criteria are not as strong, but at least they do not contradict the first conclusions. The tradition of Jesus as a miracle worker is so deeply rooted that if it were to be rejected, the entire gospel tradition would have to be rejected as well.

Which exorcisms of Jesus can be considered historical?

List of all chapters

Les miracles de Jésus sont-ils des faits historiques?


Sommaire

La question abordée ici n’est pas celle de l’historicité de chaque récit individuel de miracle, mais celle de la tradition générale sur Jésus comme faiseur d’actions hors de l’ordinaire que ses contemporains et Jésus lui-même ont interprétées comme des miracles. Pour répondre à cette question, nous utilisons certains critères, et avant tout ceux d’attestations multiples et de cohérence. Le résultat de ce travail est de nous révéler une masse écrasante de sources et de formes diverses qui confirment la tradition de Jésus comme faiseur de miracle, tandis que ses discours forment avec ses actions un tout cohérent. L’application des critères d’attestations multiples et de cohérence nous offre des arguments si imposants qu’ils rendent pratiquement impossible l’idée que tous ces récits de miracles seraient une fabrication de l’Église primitive.


  1. La question globale de l’historicité

    Empressons-nous de dire : la question à laquelle nous voulons répondre n’est pas de déterminer si Jésus a accompli des miracles au sens théologique du terme (des actions accomplies directement par Dieu qu’aucun humain n’est capable de faire), mais plutôt de préciser si au moins un certains de ces récits ne remontent pas à l’époque et au ministère de Jésus, des récits qui racontent des actes extraordinaires de Jésus que certains ont interprétés comme étant des miracles. Un corollaire de cette question serait ceci : ces récits sont-ils tous issus de l’imagination créatrice de l’Église primitive qui les aurait fabriqués pour promouvoir la figure de Jésus face à la compétition des autres traditions religieuses, comme le Judaïsme avec ses grands faiseurs de miracles que sont Élie et Élisée?

    Plusieurs historiens du 19e et 20e siècle ont tenté de reconstituer un Jésus où les miracles seraient totalement absents, et où ne subsisterait que son enseignement. Nommons quelques noms comme Wilhelm Bousset, Thomas Jefferson et d’une certaines manière Bultmann. Mais à ce moment on ignore la masse écrasante de données qui affirme exactement le contraire. On pourrait faire une première compilation comme ceci :

    1. Six exorcismes
      1. Le démoniaque à la synagogue (Mc 1, 23-28 || Lc 4, 33-37)
      2. Le démoniaque gérasénien (Mc 5, 1-20 || Mt 8, 28-34|| Lc 8, 26-39)
      3. La fille de la Syro-phénicienne (Mc 7, 24-30 || Mt 15, 21-28)
      4. L’enfant possédé et son père (Mc 9, 14-29 || Mt 17, 14-21|| Lc 9, 37-43)
      5. Le démoniaque muet (Mt 9, 32-34)
      6. Le démoniaque sourd et muet (Mt 12, 22-23 || Lc 11, 14-15)

    2. Dix-sept guérisons
      1. La belle-mère de Pierre (Mc 1, 29-31 || Mt 8, 14-15 || Lc 4, 38-39)
      2. Le lépreux (Mc 1, 40-45 || Mt 8, 1-4 || Lc 5, 12-16)
      3. Le paralytique (Mc 2, 1-12 || Mt 9, 1-8 || Lc 5, 17-26)
      4. L’homme avec la main paralysée (Mc 3, 1-6 || Mt 12, 9-14 || Lc 6, 6-11)
      5. La fille de Jaïre (Mc 5, 21-2435-43 || Mt 9, 18-19.23-26 || Lc 8, 40-42.49-56)
      6. La femme qui souffrait d’hémorragie (Mc 5, 25-34 || Mt 9, 20-22 || Lc 8, 43-48)
      7. Le sourd et muet (Mc 7, 31-36)
      8. L’aveugle de Bethsaïda (Mc 8, 22-26)
      9. L’aveugle Barthimée (Mc 10, 46-52 || Mt 20, 29-34 || Lc 18, 35-43)
      10. Le jeune homme de Naïn (Lc 7, 11-17)
      11. La femme courbée (Lc 13, 10-17)
      12. Les dix lépreux (Lc 17, 11-19)
      13. L’hydropique (Lc 14, 1-6)
      14. Le paralytique de la piscine (Jn 5, 1-9)
      15. La ressuscitation de Lazare (Jn 11)
      16. L’aveugle-né (Jn 9)
      17. Le serviteur du centurion (Mt 8, 5-13 || Lc 7, 1-10 || Jn 4, 46-54)

    3. Huit miracles appelés « miracles de la nature »
      1. La tempête apaisée (Mc 4, 35-41 || Mt 8, 23-27 || Lc 8, 22-25)
      2. Jésus nourrit cinq milles personnes (Mc 6, 32-44 || Mt 14, 13-21 || Lc 9, 10-17)
      3. Jésus nourrit quatre milles personnes (Mc 8, 1-10 || Mt 15, 32-39)
      4. Jésus marche sur l’eau (Mc 6, 45-52 || Mt 14, 22-33 || Jn 6, 16-21)
      5. Le figuier desséché (Mc 11, 12-14.20-26 || Mt 21, 18-22)
      6. La pièce d’argent dans la gueule du poisson (Mt 17, 24-27)
      7. La pêche miraculeuse (Lc 5, 1-11 || Jn 21, 1-14)
      8. Le changement de l’eau en vin (Jn 2, 1-11)

  2. Les critères et la question globale de l’historicité

    Rappelons la question : le Jésus historique a-t-il accompli des actions hors de l’ordinaire que ses contemporains et Jésus lui-même ont interprétées comme étant des miracles? Pour répondre à cette question, deux critères joueront un rôle majeur, celui d’attestations multiples et de cohérence, tandis que les autres joueront un rôle mineur.

    1. Le critère des attestations multiples

      1. Multiplicité des sources

        L’ampleur des sources est écrasante. Commençons par Marc. Plus de 31% de son évangile est constitué de récits de miracles, et ce pourcentage monte à 47% si on exclut le récit de la passion. Il semble qu’il ait hérité des récits de miracle de plusieurs courants de la première génération de Chrétiens. Car le style et le ton ne sont pas uniformes : tantôt le récit est long et circonstanciel, tantôt il est laconique; parfois il donne le nom des personnages et du lieu, parfois le tout est anonyme, ou encore il ne fait que mentionner les miracles à travers un discours. Mais le fait même que Marc ait écrit son évangile à la fin de la première génération chrétienne est une réfutation claire de l’idée que ces récits seraient une création complète de l’Église primitive après la mort de Jésus.

        Une autre source est celle de la source Q, très différente de Marc en ce sens qu’elle est surtout composée de discours. Même si elle ne contient qu’un seul récit de miracle (guérison du serviteur du centurion, Mt 8, 5-13 et ||), elle fait référence à plusieurs reprises dans ses discours aux miracles accomplis par Jésus : la dispute autour de l’exorcisme attribué à Belzébul, la liste de miracles dans la réponse aux envoyés de Jean Baptiste, le reproche aux villes de Galilée qui n’ont pas cru à ses miracles. Les sources spéciales de Matthieu et Luc connaissent également les miracles : la monnaie dans la gueule du poisson (Mt 17, 27) et la marche de Pierre sur les eaux (Mt 14, 28-31) qui sont propres à Matthieu, la pêche miraculeuse (Lc 5, 1-11), la ressuscitation du fils de la veuve de Naïn (Lc 7, 11-17), la guérison de la femme courbée (Lc 13, 10-17), la guérison de l’homme à la main paralysée (Lc 14, 1-6), la guérison des dix lépreux (Lc 17, 11-19) qui sont propres à Luc.

        Quant à l’évangile selon Jean, une chose est remarquable : les exorcismes sont totalement absents. Cependant on y retrouve les mêmes types de récits de miracle, même si leur contenu est différent, et derrières ces récits on retrouve les formes primitives des récits de miracle.

        Finalement, l’historien juif Flavius Josèphe, dans le Testimonium Flavianum de son livre Les Antiquité juives (XVIII,3,3) écrit :

        « Vers le même temps (sous le règne de Ponce Pilate, préfet de Judée) vint Jésus, homme sage. Car il était un faiseur de miracles et le maître des hommes qui reçoivent avec joie la vérité. Et il attira à lui beaucoup de Juifs et beaucoup de Grecs. »

        Bref, il présente Jésus comme un leader charismatique qui avait le pouvoir spécial d’accomplir des miracles, et confirme donc les affirmations des évangiles.

      2. Multiplicité des formes littéraires

        Les récits utilisent trois formes majeures : les exorcismes, les guérisons et les miracles de la nature. Mais en plus, on trouve des références aux miracles dans d’autres genres littéraires, comme la parabole (Mc 3, 27) ou encore les controverses (Mc 6, 7.13), ou encore les sommaires biographiques (Lc 13, 32), ou encore ses enseignements aux disciples. Il n’existe aucun autre matériel évangélique jouissant d’autant d’attestations multiples.

    2. Le critère de cohérence

      L’ensemble des discours de Jésus et ses actions forment un tout cohérent qui répète le même message. Par exemple, les exorcismes démontrent le triomphe eschatologique de Dieu sur Satan et le pouvoir du mal à travers Jésus, signe de l’arrivée du règne de Dieu. De même, les guérisons appuient l’affirmation de Jésus que la libération d’Israël a commencé, également signe de l’arrivée du règne de Dieu. Ces guérisons, au même titre que son enseignement, ont contribué à attirer de grandes foules autour de Jésus, et si l’Église primitive a pu prolonger ce succès après sa mort, c’est que les premiers chrétiens ont poursuivi ce ministère de guérison.

    3. Le critère de discontinuité

      Comme nous l’avons dit, ce critère est moins important. Néanmoins, il est utile de souligner la différence entre les évangiles et les récits païens. Les récits provenant de Marc et de la source Q peuvent être datés autour de l’an 70, soit la fin de la première génération chrétienne. Par contre, ceux de Philostrate racontant les miracles d’Apolinius de Tyane datent du 3e siècle, plus d’un siècle après les événements qu’il prétend raconter. On peut dire la même chose de Honi, le traceur de cercles, et de Hanina ben Dossa mentionnés dans la Mishna 200 ans après qu’ils aient vécu; de plus, ces deux hommes ne sont pas vraiment des faiseurs de miracle, mais des gens de prière qui pouvaient prédire si leur prière se réaliseraient. Enfin, autant un Flavius Josèphe se plait à raconter les miracles de certains prophètes de l’Ancien Testament, autant il est muet sur les faiseurs de miracle au premier siècle, à part Jésus.

    4. Le critère d’embarras

      Des disputes ont éclaté à la suite des exorcismes de Jésus (voir Marc et source Q), les autorités juives l’accusant d’agir au nom de Belzébul. Il est peu probable que l’Église primitive ait créé de tels récits qui présentent Jésus sous un éclairage ambigu.

    5. Le critère du rejet de Jésus

      Les miracles de Jésus ont-ils contribué à son rejet et son exécution? Nous ne le pensons pas. Car le fait même de guérir quelqu’un n’était pas illégal. De plus, on chercherait en vain dans les différentes charges contre Jésus des allusions aux miracles. Ce qui a entraîné sa condamnation est un ensemble de facteurs, comme l’annonce de la fin du monde actuel et son remplacement par le règne définitif de Dieu, son enseignement qui prétendait indiquer la volonté de Dieu, sa capacité d’attirer les foules, la formation d’un cercle de douze disciples, à l’image des douze tribus originelles, prétendant représenter le nouvel Israël, sa liberté par rapport aux traditions religieuses et sociales qui l’amène à fréquenter les pécheurs, la croyance de certains qu’il serait descendant du roi David et donc le messie promis, l’affirmation voilée de son rôle futur dans le drame eschatologique, et si on accepte ces faits comme historiques, son entrée triomphale à Jérusalem et la purification du temple. Dans ce contexte, les miracles de Jésus ont pu créer des circonstances aggravantes, sans être vraiment le déclencheur de son arrestation.

      À ces cinq critères, on peut ajouter quelques points qu’il vaut la peine de noter. Tout d’abord, certains récits ont conservé le langage araméen et la couleur originels de la Palestine, comme les expressions talitha koum (Jeune fille, lève-toi : Mc 5, 41), ou ephphatha (Ouvre-toi : Mc 7, 34), prononcées par Jésus pour guérir. De plus, alors que dans la majorité des cas le nom des personnages et le lieu des miracles demeurent anonymes, on rencontre des cas où les personnages et le lieu sont nommés, comme Jaïre, un chef de synagogue, qui implore Jésus pour sa fille, ou encore Bartimée, un aveugle, qui retrouve la vue à Jéricho, ou encore Lazare qui retrouve la vie à Béthanie, à la suite de la demande de ses deux sœurs, Marthe et Marie.

  3. Conclusion sur la question globale

    L’application des critères d’attestations multiples et de cohérence nous offre des arguments si imposants qu’ils rendent pratiquement impossible l’idée que tous ces récits de miracles seraient une fabrication de l’Église primitive. Quant aux autres critères, ils n’ont pas la même force, mais du moins ils ne contredisent pas les premières conclusions. La tradition de Jésus comme faiseurs de miracles est si profondément enracinée que, s’il fallait la rejeter, c’est toute la tradition évangélique qu’il faudrait également rejeter.

 

Meier v.2, chap 19, pp 617-645 (version anglaise).


Question suivante: Quels exorcismes de Jésus peuvent-être considérés comme historiques?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.