entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v. 1, Sources: The Canonical Books of the New Testament,
pp 43-47

(Detailed summary)


What is the date of the Gospels and their source?


  • Modern research considers Mark's Gospel to be the first to be written using collections of oral and possibly written traditions; it is believed to date from the 70s.

  • Matthew and Luke worked independently of each other between the 80s and 90s and combined the Gospel of Mark, which they reworked, with another source that biblical scholars call Q (from the German word Quelle, meaning "source"). To this they each added their own source.

  • John seems not to know the other three Gospels and relies on an independent source. His presentation, so different from the ministry of Jesus, cannot be explained otherwise.

  • In summary, the four Gospels give us three main sources: Mark, Q and John. On this point there is agreement among the majority of biblical scholars. However, even if J.P. Meier does not allude to it at all, I find it necessary to mention here the work of M.E. Boismard o.p. who believes he recognizes a special source in Luke and John, which he calls the proto-Luke. For example, how can we explain passages unique to Luke and John, such as the account of that miraculous catch with Jesus (John 21, Luke 5), if not by a source that is their own?

  • Paul of Tarsus, on the other hand, is not very useful in the knowledge of the historical Jesus. Even if he is almost contemporary to Jesus, he is not very interested in the details of his life, but focuses his thoughts on his death and resurrection. On a few occasions in his letters there are allusions to what Jesus would have taught (the question of divorce, or support for the missionaries, or the words of the Lord's Supper), but it is rather a question of teaching the general idea of what Jesus meant.

Next chapter: Are there testimonies on the existence of Jesus outside of Christian texts?

List of all chapters

Quelle est la date des évangiles et leur source?

  • La recherche moderne considère que l’évangile de Marc est le premier à avoir été écrit en utilisant des collections de traditions orales et peut-être écrites; il daterait des années 70.
  • Matthieu et Luc ont travaillé de manière indépendante l’un de l’autre entre les années 80 et 90 et ont combiné l’évangile de Marc qu’ils ont retravaillé avec une autre source que les biblistes appellent Q (du mot allemand Quelle, qui signifie « source »). À cela ils ont ajouté chacun une source qui leur est propre.
  • Jean semble ne pas connaître les trois autres évangiles et s’appuie sur une source indépendante. Sa présentation si différente du ministère de Jésus ne peut s’expliquer autrement.
  • En résumé, les quatre évangiles nous donnent trois grandes sources : Marc, Q et Jean. Sur ce point, il y a accord chez la majorité des biblistes. Cependant, même si J.P. Meier n’y fait aucunement allusion, je trouve qu’il faut mentionner ici le travail de M.E. Boismard o.p. qui croit reconnaître une source spéciale à Luc et Jean, qu’il appelle le proto-Luc. Par exemple, comment expliquer les passages uniques à Luc et Jean comme le récit de cette pêche miraculeuse avec Jésus (Jean 21, Luc 5), sinon par une source qui leur est propre?
  • De son côté, Paul de Tarse n’est pas très utile dans la connaissance du Jésus historique. Même s’il est presque contemporain à Jésus, il s’intéresse très peu aux détails de sa vie, mais centre sa pensée sur sa mort et sa résurrection. À quelques reprises on trouve dans ses lettres des allusions à ce que Jésus aurait enseigné (la question du divorce, ou le soutien aux missionnaires, ou les paroles de la Cène), mais il s’agit plutôt d’enseigner l’idée générale de ce qu’a voulu dire Jésus.

Meier v.2, ch. 12, pp 19-99 (version anglaise).

Meier, pp 43-48.

Question suivante: A-t-on des témoignages sur l’existence de Jésus en dehors des textes chrétiens?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.