entête

Sybil 2004

Gospel text

Marc 10: 2-16

2 To set a trap for him, some Pharisees went to Jesus to question him, asking him if it was lawful to divorce his wife. 3 In his answer, Jesus said to them, "What rules did Moses give you?" 4 They replied, "Moses gave us permission to write a divorce certificate." 5 Jesus then said to them, "It is because you are hard-hearted that Moses gave you this rule. 6 Yet, at the creation of the universe, God made human beings male and female. 7 It is exactly for this reason that a man will leave his father and mother to be united with his wife. 8 The two become one; they are no longer two beings, but one. 9 Thus, let not human beings go and divide what God has joined together. 10 When the disciples got home, they began to ask him about it. 11 Jesus said, "If a man divorces his wife and marries another, he commits adultery against her. 12 And if a woman divorces her husband and marries another, she commits adultery. 13 Afterward, some people brought little children to Jesus to touch, but the disciples rebuked them. 14 When Jesus saw this, he was outraged at the attitude of his disciples and said to them, "Let the little children come to me; do not hinder them. For it is to such as these that the domain of God belongs. 15 Truly I assure you, whoever does not welcome the domain of God as a child has no access to it. 16 When he had embraced them in his arms, he began to bless them by putting his hands on them.

Studies

A totally new look


Gospel commentary - Homily

Why separate what God has united?

The story1 that I want to tell may create discomfort in some religious circles, but it reflects a profound reality. His name is John. From the age of three, he knows that he is attracted to boys, he knows that he is homosexual. But because he lives in a small community in French Canada, everything is repressed. It was when he went to Paris at the age of 20 on a theater scholarship that he could really express himself, and so he made a friend he liked. But the bond doesn't survive with John's return to Canada. In the midst of his heartbreak, John tries to believe he is heterosexual, gets engaged, and a wedding date is set. Having become a hairdresser, a client tells him upon hearing the news, "Are you crazy, you? You're going to make a woman miserable for the rest of your life. The wedding is cancelled, but no one knows the real reason for the cancellation, until John returns home one Christmas Eve: parents with aunts and uncles were waiting for him in dismay after discovering all the love letters he had sent to his friend Charles in Paris. John left the family environment with a bang.

Some time later, at a party at a friend's house, John meets Gerard, a handsome German of his own age who had fled his country during the Second World War by refusing to take up arms. It's mutual love at first sight. They decide to move in together. But in the repressive environment of the time it is difficult, especially for John, who asks Gerard never to answer the phone, so that no one would know he was living with a man. So what a thrill to discover the more open environment of Germany when he went there with Gerard to be introduced to his mother, who had had ten children and who immediately adopted him, and who said to him when he left: "Take good care of him". It was during a vacation in Mexico that they met Estefan, a 5 year old boy who had fled a poor and violent environment and who had come to take refuge in their home and did not want to leave. With the parents' agreement, Estefan comes to live with John and Gerard who, for twelve years, will look after him like a son and will take care of his education, making sure that he returns to visit his Mexican parents every year. In the meantime, they became antique dealers in a small town in Quebec. Today, at 90 years old, their love is stronger than ever. Unfortunately, illness separates them geographically: John, who can no longer walk, is in a long-term care facility, and Gerard has joined a facility for those suffering from Alzheimer's. But they talk every day, and once a week friends bring Gerard to visit John so they can continue to express their affection.

Such a context, I think, is appropriate to enter into these two Gospel stories around the issue of divorce and the place of children. At first glance one might say, but what relationship may be with all these stories? The first story is about the woman whom a man could repudiate for any reason, including that she overcooked the meal or that the man found a more beautiful woman. The second story concerns a small child who is denied access to Jesus by the disciples, a likely echo of discussions in the early community of children's access to the community, and thus to baptism. Both women and children were considered in Palestinian society as minors, as beings without social value. And I would like to make the connection with the ostracized beings that are those born with a different sexual orientation from the majority.

What is Jesus' position? According to him, for a man to expel a woman as he pleases is a hard-heartedness, not only a lack of compassion, but a total misunderstanding of the world God has created and what he wants for it. In the same way, to refuse the full integration of those who had no place in society, little children and babies, is a total lack of understanding of this world that God wants to offer, because this world presupposes that one accepts that life and love are totally free, and that one also accepts to let oneself be transformed to the end by them, something that a child can understand and that Jesus proposes as a model; how difficult it is for an adult to live with a heart that is new and open to the world, in the image of Gerard's mother.

What led Jesus to this position? He refers us to the creation story in the book of Genesis which states that human beings were created male and female, so man and woman are equal beings. Their differences are not an obstacle, but a complementarity. To this justification of Jesus Mark adds this beautiful text from Genesis: "The man will be joined to his wife and the two will become one flesh"; then he repeats the affirmation that these two beings will become one. Is this not the greatest project for our humanity, to become one being in the midst of our differences? Is it not the same project that people who are born with a different sexual orientation than the majority carry? This project is impossible without the new heart of a child.

Unfortunately, Jesus' prophetic word not to separate what God has joined together, a word in line with his mission to bring our humanity together, can be obscured by all the casuistry of marriage. So Mark ends his account of divorce by inserting the legislation in force around 60 AD, legislation that he is careful to say came from his Roman community by introducing it with the mention that we are at home, a symbol of the early church, and that it came from the disciples who questioned Jesus, a symbol of the thinking going on in the Christian community: "If a man divorces his wife... if a woman divorces her husband...". The role of Jesus as a prophet is to present a path, it will be the role of pastors and jurists to determine what to do if one fails on this path. For example, Paul will allow separation and remarriage in the case of a conflict with an unbelieving spouse. Matthew will do the same in the case of sexual immorality according to the standards of his day.

It is difficult to look at our humanity with the same outlook as Jesus, an outlook that is that of God himself. This outlook knows how to discover all the value of what society puts on the margins, as Palestine society did with the woman and the children. Ours is often old, constantly creating compartments and distance. If only we borrowed his childlike outlook, we would witness the morning of the world, marching towards a single being.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, August 2021


1 For the whole narrative of this true story, see Rima Elkouri, La Presse, February 14, 2017

Des thèmes

entête

Sybil 2004

Le texte évangélique

Marc 10, 2-16

2 Pour lui tendre un piège, des Pharisiens allèrent vers Jésus pour l'interroger, lui demandant s'il était permis de divorcer de sa femme. 3 Dans sa réponse, Jésus leur dit: "Quelles sont les règles que vous a données Moïse?" 4 Ils répliquèrent: "Moïse nous a autorisé de rédiger un acte de divorce". 5 Jésus leur dit alors: "C'est parce que vous avez un coeur dur que Moïse vous a donné cette règle. 6 Pourtant, à la création de l'univers, Dieu a fait l'humain homme et femme. 7 C'est exactement pour cette raison qu'un homme quittera son père et sa mère [pour s'unir à sa femme]. 8 Le deux deviennent un seul être; voilà pourquoi ils ne sont plus deux êtres, mais un seul. 9 Ainsi donc, que l'homme n'aille pas diviser ce que Dieu a uni. 10 Une fois à la maison, les disciples se mirent à l'interroger sur le sujet. 11 Jésus précisa: "Un homme qui divorce de sa femme pour en épouser une autre, il commet l'adultère à son égard. 12 Et si pour sa part une femme divorce de son mari pour en épouser un autre, elle commet l'adultère".

13 Par la suite, des gens présentèrent à Jésus des petits enfants pour qu'il les touche, mais se firent réprimander par les disciples. 14 À cette vue, Jésus s'indigna de l'attitude de ses disciples et leur dit: "Laissez les petits enfants venir à moi, ne les empêchez pas. Car c'est à des gens semblable qu'appartient le domaine de Dieu. 15 Vraiment, je vous l'assure, quiconque n'accueille pas le domaine de Dieu à la manière d'un petit enfant, n'y a pas accès". 16 Après les avoir serrés dans ses bras, il se mit à les bénir en posant les mains sur eux.

D'autres études

Un regard totalement neuf


Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Pourquoi séparer ce que Dieu a uni?

L’histoire1 que je veux raconter pourra créer un malaise dans certains milieux religieux, mais elle reflète une réalité profonde. Il s’appelle Jean. Dès l’âge de trois ans, il sait qu’il est attiré par les garçons, il sait qu’il est homosexuel. Mais comme il vit dans un petit milieu du Canada français, tout est réprimé. C’est lorsqu’il se rend à Paris à l’âge de 20 ans avec une bourse d’étude en théâtre qu’il peut vraiment s’exprimer, et il se fait donc un copain qu’il aime. Mais le lien ne survit pas avec le retour de Jean au Canada. Au milieu de sa peine d’amour, Jean essaie de croire qu’il est hétérosexuel, se fiance et une date de mariage est fixée. Étant devenu coiffeur, une cliente lui dit en apprenant la nouvelle : « Es-tu fou, toi ? Tu vas rendre une femme malheureuse le restant de tes jours. » Le mariage est annulé, mais personne ne connaît la vraie raison de l’annulation, jusqu’à ce que Jean revienne à la maison un soir de Noël : les parents avec des oncles et tantes l’attendaient consternés après avoir découvert toutes les lettres d’amour qu’il avait envoyé à son ami Charles à Paris. Jean quitte avec fracas le milieu familial.

Quelque temps après, lors d’une fête chez des amis, Jean fait la rencontre de Gérard, un bel Allemand de son âge qui avait fui son pays durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale en refusant de prendre les armes. C’est le coup de foudre mutuel. Ils décident d’emménager ensemble. Mais dans le milieu répressif de l’époque c’est difficile, surtout pour Jean, qui demande à Gérard de ne jamais répondre au téléphone, pour qu’on ne sache pas qu’il vivait avec un homme. Aussi quelle émotion de découvrir le milieu plus ouvert de l’Allemagne quand il s’y rend avec Gérard pour y être présenté à sa mère, qui avait eu dix enfants et qui tout de suite adopté, et qui lui dit au moment de son départ : « Prends bien soin de lui ». C’est lors de vacances au Mexique qu’ils font la rencontre d’Estefan, un garçon de 5 ans fuyant un milieu pauvre et violent venu se réfugier chez eux et qui ne veut plus les quitter. Avec l’accord des parents, Estefan vient vivre avec Jean et Gérard qui, pendant douze ans, veilleront sur lui comme un fils et s’occuperont de son éducation, s’assurant qu’il retourne visiter annuellement ses parents mexicains. Entre temps, ils sont devenus antiquaires dans une petite ville du Québec. Aujourd’hui, à 90 ans, leur amour est plus fort que jamais. Malheureusement, la maladie les sépare géographiquement : Jean, qui ne peut plus marcher, est dans un centre de longue durée, et Gérard a rejoint un établissement pour ceux qui souffrent d’Alzheimer. Mais ils se parlent tous les jours, et une fois par semaine des amis amènent Gérard visiter Jean pour qu’ils puissent continuer à exprimer leur affection.

C’est un contexte que je crois approprié pour entrer dans ces deux récits d’évangéliques autour de la question du divorce et de la place des enfants. À prime abord on pourrait dire : mais quel lien y a-t-il entre tout cela? Le premier récit concerne la femme qu’un homme pouvait répudier pour n’importe quel motif, y compris celui d’avoir trop cuit le repas ou que l’homme ait trouvé une femme plus belle. Le deuxième récit concerne un petit enfant à qui les disciples refusent l’accès à Jésus, un écho probable des discussions dans la communauté primitive de l’accès des enfants à la communauté, et donc au baptême. La femme comme l’enfant étaient considérés dans la société palestinienne comme des mineurs, des êtres sans valeur sociale. Et je me permets de faire le lien avec les êtres ostracisés que sont les êtres qui sont nés avec une orientation sexuelle différente de la majorité.

Quelle est la position de Jésus? Selon lui, que l’homme dispose d’une femme à sa guise relève de la dureté du cœur, non seulement un manque de compassion, mais d’une incompréhension totale du monde que Dieu a créé et de ce qu’il veut pour ce monde. De même, refuser la pleine intégration de ceux qui n’avaient pas leur place dans la société, les petits enfants et les bébés, relève d’une incompréhension totale de ce monde que veut offrir Dieu, car ce monde présuppose qu’on accepte que la vie et l’amour soient totalement gratuits, et qu’on accepte également de se laisser transformer jusqu’au bout par eux, ce qu’un enfant peut comprendre et que Jésus propose comme modèle; comme il est difficile pour un adulte de vivre avec un cœur neuf et ouvert sur le monde, à l’image de la mère de Gérard.

Qu’est-ce qui a amené Jésus à cette position? Il nous renvoie au récit de la création dans le livre de la Genèse qui affirme que l’être humain a été créé homme et femme, donc l’homme et la femme sont des êtres égaux. Leurs différences n’est pas un obstacle, mais une complémentarité. À cette justification de Jésus Marc ajoute ce beau texte de la Genèse : « L’homme s’attachera à sa femme et les deux ne feront qu’une seule chair »; puis il répète l’affirmation que ces deux êtres deviendront un seul être. N’est-ce pas le plus beaucoup projet qui soit pour notre humanité, devenir un seul être au cœur de nos différences? N’est-ce pas le même projet que portent les gens qui sont nés avec une orientation sexuelle différente de la majorité? Ce projet est impossible sans le cœur neuf d’un enfant.

Malheureusement, la parole prophétique de Jésus qui demande de ne pas séparer ce que Dieu a uni, une parole en ligne avec sa mission de rassembler notre humanité, peut être obscurcie par toute la tuyauterie de la casuistique concernant le mariage. Ainsi, Marc termine sont récit concernant le divorce en insérant la législation en vigueur dans les années 60, une législation qu’il prend soin de dire qu’elle provient de sa communauté romaine en l’introduisant avec la mention que nous sommes à la maison, symbole de l’église primitive, et qu’elle vient des disciples qui interrogent Jésus, symbole de la communauté chrétienne qui réfléchit : « Si un homme répudie sa femme… si une femme répudie son mari… ». Le rôle de Jésus comme prophète est de présenter un chemin, ce sera le rôle des pasteurs et des juristes de déterminer quoi faire si on échoue sur ce chemin. Par exemple, Paul autorisera la séparation et le remariage dans le cas d’un conflit avec un conjoint non-croyant. Matthieu fera la même chose dans le cas d’immoralité sexuelle selon les normes de son époque.

Il est difficile de porter sur notre humanité le même regard que Jésus, un regard qui est celui de Dieu même. Ce regard sait découvrir toute la valeur à ce que la société met en marge, il l’a fait avec la femme et les enfants. Le nôtre est souvent vieilli, créant sans cesse des compartiments et la distance. Si seulement nous empruntions son regard d’enfant, nous assisterions au matin du monde, en marche vers un seul être.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, août 2021


1 Pour le récit complet de cette histoire vraie, voir Rima Elkouri, La Presse, 14 février 2017

Des thèmes