entête

Sybil 1998

Gospel text

Luke 17: 11-19

11 While they were on their way to Jerusalem, it happened that Jesus had to go through the region between Samaria and Galilee. 12 And he entered into some village, and behold, ten lepers went out to meet him. They stopped at a distance. 13 Then they lifted up their voices to say, "Master Jesus, have mercy on us. 14 When Jesus saw them, he said to them, "Go, show yourself to the priests". While they were on their way, they were healed. 15 And one of them, perceiving that he was healed, set a new direction to his life to go to Jesus, recognizing the extraordinary quality of God. 16 He threw himself on the ground at his feet and expressed his gratitude to him. Now this man was Samaritan. 17 Jesus responded by saying, "Were not all ten healed? Where are the other nine? 18 How is it possible that no one can be found to take a new position in life and to celebrate the extraordinary quality of God, if not this stranger?" 19 Then Jesus said to the man, "Get up and get going". It is faith that brought you this liberation".

Studies

You have to get up when you're born, and you have to do it everyday of your life


Gospel commentary - Homily

Living is always getting up

AIDS has many faces. There is one known in developed countries where, despite its tragic side, the disease is nevertheless circumscribed and partly controlled by drugs. But there is one face found in the poor regions of the earth, as in Khayelitsha, this township of Cape Town, South Africa. Last year, there was a real slaughter of people who died of measles because AIDS is a deficiency of the immune system. In the midst of all this horror, a breeze of life: a South African and a French created ZipZap Circus School, a social circus school created in 1992, at the very end of the apartheid regime, to bring young people closer to all colors and all origins. This school has also partnered with Doctors Without Borders to set up special activities for HIV-positive children in Khayelitsha, so that twice a week 25 HIV-positive children aged 4 to 16 are expected: it's not only drugs and treatment that matter, you have to put a little joy in the lives of these children. And especially breaking down discrimination and isolation, which is as serious as the illness itself. Church people are not immune to such an attitude: a pastor, who had refused the children his church for circus activities, finally let them use the parking lot.

It is such a context that can help us look at this day's Gospel from a particular angle. The story concerns ten lepers. The parallel between leprosy and AIDS is easy to establish: because both diseases were wrongly considered infectious and isolated the sick. You have certainly noticed that the lepers of the Gospel stood at a distance. In fact, they were forced to wear bells to warn people they were approaching. They are, in a way, the AIDS patients of the time. And like any AIDS sufferer, they ask the same thing to Jesus who has the reputation of having the gift of healing: take pity on our situation, heal us and break our isolation, allow us to reintegrate society. You know the rest. Jesus asked them to go and see the priests, because only a priest had the authority to recognize that a leper was really healed. This request of Jesus assumes that they will be healed on the way, and the lepers seem to believe in his word. So far we have a typical miracle story where after describing the illness and the call for healing, it presents a Jesus who heals with a word and heals people who believe in this word. What is different is the ending: one of the ten healed lepers "came back by giving glory to God with a full voice", according to the usual translations, but which I prefer to translate by: "he took a new position in life to go to Jesus by celebrating the quality of being extraordinary of God. And Jesus asks the question: why did one out of ten react like this?

Let us take away immediately a false track that I have seen so often exploited in homilies. The question of Jesus does not concern a lack of recognition, as if Jesus was offended that they did not say thank you or that they did not say thank you to God. It's not a Gospel about good manners. The stakes are much bigger, more serious.

What happened to one of the ten lepers? One could answer: a religious experience. Because to sing the praises of God thus, he had to realize that his healing was the work of God, and more precisely he had to feel wrapped by an intense love of God for him, and he in tears of joy to the point that his life is completely changed. From now on he will radiate this love. Life is now wonderful, that's why he sings. Returning to Jesus and throwing himself at his feet, expresses his desire to walk in his wake, to live his teaching. When Jesus said to him, "Get up and get going". He finds himself saying to him: Be a being standing, and be what you have discovered. The true miracle is not healing, but the transformation of this man.

A great mystery remains: why him, why not others? The Gospel refers to him as a Samaritan, i.e. someone who was considered a schismatic in the eyes of the Jews, because they did not accept the whole Bible and rejected the temple of Jerusalem; it is as if we are speaking today of a Muslim in a Christian country. There is of course the mystery of human freedom. But we know from experience that it is after experiencing the disease that we appreciate the happiness of health. We must have accepted the suffering of motherhood to be able to cry with joy in front of a newborn baby. We must have lived the visit of a cancer to discover the extraordinary gift of each passing second. It's as if learning to live was somehow learning to get up from something. And this is where I have to make a decision: do I accept in total faith to open myself to the call to live, rather than remain a prisoner of my night? Or to return to ZipZap Circus School, are we ready to transform the lives of children with AIDS? Mysteriously, faith is the path to liberation. Do we have this faith?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, July 2010

Themes

Sybil 1998

 

Le texte évangélique

 

Luc 17, 11-19

11 Alors qu’ils étaient en route vers Jérusalem, il arriva que Jésus doive passer par le milieu de la Samarie à partir de la Galilée. 12 Il entra ainsi dans un village quelconque, et voici que dix hommes lépreux allèrent à sa rencontre. Ils s’arrêtèrent à distance. 13 Puis, ils élevèrent la voix pour dire : « Maître Jésus, prends pitié de nous. » 14 En les voyant, Jésus leur dit: « Allez vous faire voir aux prêtres. » Pendant qu’ils étaient en route, ils furent guéris. 15 Or l’un d’eux, s’apercevant qu’il était guéri, réorienta sa vie pour aller vers Jésus en célébrant la qualité d’être extraordinaire de Dieu. 16 Il se jeta par terre à ses pieds et lui exprima toute sa gratitude. Or cet homme était Samaritain. 17 Jésus réagit en disant : « Les dix n’ont-ils pas tous été guéris? Où sont donc les neuf autres? 18 Comment se fait-il qu’on ne puisse trouver personne pour réorienter sa vie et célébrer la qualité d’être extraordinaire de Dieu, sinon cet étranger que voici? 19 Alors Jésus dit à l’homme : « Relève-toi et mets-toi en marche. C’est la foi qui t’a apporté cette libération. »


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Il faut se relever quand on naît,
et il faut le faire tout le reste de sa vie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Vivre, c’est toujours se relever

Le sida a plusieurs visages. Il y a celui connu dans les pays développés où, malgré son côté tragique, la maladie est néanmoins circonscrite et en partie contrôlée par les médicaments. Mais il y a celui qu’on trouve dans les coins pauvres de la terre, comme à Khayelitsha, ce township du Cap, en Afrique du Sud. L’an dernier, est survenue une véritable hécatombe de gens morts de la rougeole, car le sida est une déficience du système immunitaire. Au milieu de toute cette horreur, une brise de vie : un Sud-Africain et une Française ont créé ZipZap Circus School, une école de cirque sociale crée en 1992, à la toute fin du régime de l'apartheid, pour rapprocher les jeunes de toutes couleurs et de toutes origines. Cette école s’est également associée à Médecins sans frontières afin de mettre sur pied des activités particulières pour les enfants séropositifs de Khayelitsha, si bien que deux fois par semaine 25 enfants séropositifs de 4 à 16 ans les attendent : il n'y a pas que les médicaments et le traitement qui comptent, il faut mettre un peu de joie dans la vie de ces enfants. Et surtout briser la discrimination et l’isolement, qui est aussi grave que la maladie elle-même. Les gens d’Église ne sont pas à l’abri d’une telle attitude : un pasteur, qui avait refusé aux enfants son église pour des activités de cirque, les a finalement laissés utiliser le stationnement.

C’est un tel contexte qui peut nous aider à regarder sous un angle particulier l’évangile de ce jour. Le récit concerne dix lépreux. Le parallèle entre la lèpre et le sida est facile à établir : car les deux maladies étaient considérées à tort comme infectieuses et isolaient les malades. Vous avez certainement remarqué que les lépreux de l’évangile se tenaient à distance. En fait, on les obligeait à porter des clochettes pour avertir les gens qu’ils approchaient. Ce sont en quelque sorte les sidéens de l’époque. Et comme n’importe quel sidéen, ils demandent la même chose à Jésus qui a la réputation d’avoir le don de guérir : prends pitié de notre situation, guéris-nous et brise notre isolement, permet-nous de réintégrer la société. Vous connaissez la suite. Jésus leur demande d’aller se faire voir aux prêtres, car seul un prêtre avait l’autorité de reconnaître qu’un lépreux était vraiment guéri. Cette demande de Jésus assume qu’ils seront guéris en route, et les lépreux semblent croire à sa parole. Jusqu’ici nous avons un récit typique de miracle où après avoir décrit la maladie et la demande de guérison, il présente un Jésus qui guérit avec une parole et les gens guéris qui croient à cette parole. Ce qu’il y a de différent, c’est la finale : l’un des dix lépreux guéris « revint en rendant gloire à Dieu à pleine voix », selon les traductions habituelles, mais que je préfère traduire par : « il réorienta sa vie pour aller vers Jésus en célébrant la qualité d’être extraordinaire de Dieu. » Et Jésus pose la question : pourquoi un seul sur dix a-t-il réagit ainsi?

Écartons tout de suite une fausse piste que j’ai vue si souvent exploitée dans les homélies. La question de Jésus ne concerne pas un manque de reconnaissance, comme si Jésus était offusqué qu’on ne lui ait pas dit merci ou qu’on n’ait pas dit merci à Dieu. Il ne s’agit pas d’un évangile sur les bonnes manières. L’enjeu est beaucoup plus grand, plus sérieux.

Qu’a donc vécu l’un des dix lépreux? On pourrait répondre : une expérience religieuse. Car pour chanter ainsi les louanges de Dieu, il a fallu qu’il prenne conscience que sa guérison était l’œuvre de Dieu, et plus précisément il a fallu qu’il se sente enveloppé par un amour intense de Dieu pour lui, et il en pleure de joie au point que sa vie est complètement changée. Désormais il va rayonner de cet amour. La vie est maintenant merveilleuse, voilà pourquoi il chante. Le fait de revenir à Jésus et de se jeter à ses pieds, exprime son désir de marcher à sa suite, de vivre son enseignement. Quand Jésus lui dit : « Relève-toi et mets toi en marche. », il se trouve à lui dire : Sois un être debout, et vis ce que tu as découvert. Le vrai miracle n’est pas la guérison, mais la transformation de cet homme.

Un grand mystère demeure pourtant: pourquoi lui, pourquoi pas les autres? On parle dans l’évangile d’un Samaritain, i.e. quelqu’un qui était considéré comme un schismatique aux yeux des Juifs, car ils n’acceptaient pas la totalité de la Bible et rejetait le temple de Jérusalem; c’est comme si on parlait aujourd’hui d’un Musulman en pays chrétien. Il y a bien sûr le mystère de la liberté humaine. Mais nous savons d’expérience que c’est après avoir connu la maladie que nous apprécions le bonheur de la santé. Il faut avoir accepté la souffrance de la maternité pour pouvoir pleurer de joie devant son nouveau-né. Il faut avoir vécu la visite d’un cancer pour découvrir le don extraordinaire de chaque seconde qui passe. C’est comme si apprendre à vivre était en quelque sorte apprendre à se relever de quelque chose. Et c’est ici que j’ai à prendre une décision : est-ce que j’accepte dans une foi totale de m’ouvrir à l’appel à vivre, plutôt que de rester prisonnier de ma nuit? Ou pour revenir au ZipZap Circus School, peut-on transformer la vie des enfants sidéens? Mystérieusement, la foi est vraiment libératrice. Avons-nous cette foi?

 

-Juillet 2010