entête

Sybil 1999

Gospel text

Luke 14: 25-33

25 Large crowds were walking with Jesus, so he turned to tell them, "If anyone joins me without relativizing the bonds with his father or mother or his wife or his children or his brothers or sisters, or even with his own life, he will be unable to remain my disciple. 27 Whoever does not accept to carry the cross that is his and follow me, will be unable to remain my disciple. 28 For example, who of you, when you want to build a tower, does not first take the time to sit down and calculate the costs, to see if you have what you need to go at the end, 29 and to avoid that after laying the foundation and finding yourself unable to complete it, those who see will begin to mock you, 30 saying, "This man began to build, but he was unable to go all the way." 31 Or again, what king, gone to war against another king, do not first take the time to sit down to determine whether he is able with his ten thousand men to confront someone who will launch on him twenty thousand men. 32 If this is not the case, even if he is still far away, he will inquire about the conditions for making peace by sending an embassy. 33 In the same way, whoever among you does not know how to distance himself from all his possessions, will be unable to remain my disciple."

Studies

The man and the woman will leave their family and become bonded to each other.


Gospel commentary - Homily

Passionate love

Here is a passage from the Gospels that is not easy to understand at first, which seems hard, and even repulsive, especially in the official translation: "Who does not prefer me to his family, to his spouse and even to his own life can not be my disciple. Whoever does not bear his cross and who does not give up all his possessions, can not be my disciple." Our first reaction could be to say, "Unless you become a monk, how can you live that?" But our instinct lets us feel that there may be something else to discover. What is the key to this passage?

After looking for a long time to understand this passage, it was in the life of a couple that I found the images that could enlighten me the most. When two beings decide to unite their destiny, should not they distance themselves from family ties? From now on, the bonds that unite them will take precedence over everything. They will also have to tear themselves away from their old habits of singles to think in terms of two people: one can no longer make a decision alone. It is the same with possessions: what was mine will become what is ours. Money is a terrible revelator, and a lot of couples' life runs aground on this pitfall. But is it so painful to distance oneself from family ties, to give up a form of individual freedom and to share all one's property? In any case, at home, it was done in love, and many people could also testify that they found a new freedom and richness.

I find that this face of the life of a couple helps to shed light on this radical word of Jesus. Just as, without the passion of love that goes so far as to share everything, a couple will not be able to overcome the test of time, so will it be of the one who calls himself a Christian if he does not live a similar bond with Jesus, to the point of spreading through every aspect of his life.

As a Christian, I have no memory of having to cut a relationship in the name of my faith. It is true that my area of action is a hundred miles from the Hell's Angels or some criminal group. Even if in some parts of the world we work at the service of the gospel at the risk of our lives, here in North America, we rarely come into these situations. However, in the society that is mine, I am surrounded by models of what is "successful life", what "happiness" is, what "my concerns" should be, and this is off what the Gospel tells me. Also, without listening again and again to Jesus' teaching, I would have the feeling that my life is a kind of failure, and at least it is very boring. Putting the human person and his development at the center of our concerns is to distance ourself from the surrounding world. But is it so difficult when one is inhabited by love?

As much as the possessions are a powerful indicator for the health of the couple, as much they are for the health of Christian life. By possessions, I mean everything: money, talent, time. In our society, money not only allows to give free rein to all our desires, real or imaginary, but it allows to reach a social status. Talent has become a marketable commodity: one only has to think of professional sports or computer geniuses in the new economy. And there is time, that we manage as well as badly, and that reveals where our heart is. In the same way that conjugal love touches all these dimensions, so is the bond with Jesus?

The image of the "cross we carry" picks up all that has just been said. Note that this is not a crucifixion, but a step forward, where we assume all that constitutes our being and bring it to a new place. When a mother chooses to love her adolescent and rebellious children to the end, and to seek all possible ways of accompaniment, is she not on the path of passion, i.e. passionate love? When a woman intervenes energetically in the alcoholism of her spouse, or her subjection to pornography on the Internet, is she not on the path of passion? When an employer looks for ways to get an employee to give the best of himself, without lying or cheating, is he not on the path of passion?

The Evangelist Luke spoke to all those Christians who asked for baptism and said to them, "If the love lit by Jesus is not a true passion, you will not be able to hold to the end." It is the same word that he addresses to us today.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, April 2001

Themes

Sybil 1999

 

Le texte évangélique

Lc 14, 25-33

25 De grandes foules cheminaient avec lui, alors il se retourna pour leur dire: 26 «Si quelqu'un se joint à moi sans relativiser les liens avec son père ou sa mère ou sa femme ou ses enfants ou ses frères ou ses soeurs, ou même avec sa propre vie, il sera incapable de rester mon disciple. 27 Celui qui n'accepte pas de porter la croix qui est la sienne et de me suivre, sera incapable de rester mon disciple. 28 Par exemple, qui parmi vous, lorsqu'il veut construire une tour, ne prend pas d'abord le temps de s'asseoir pour en calculer les coûts, afin de vérifier s'il a ce qu'il faut pour aller jusqu'au bout, 29 et d'éviter qu'après avoir posé les fondations et se retrouvant incapable de la compléter, ceux qui verront se mettent à se moquer de lui, 30 en disant: "Cet homme-là s'est mis à construire, mais il a été incapable d'aller jusqu'au bout." 31 Ou encore, quel roi, parti en guerre contre un autre roi, ne prend pas d'abord le temps de s'asseoir pour déterminer s'il est capable avec ses dix mille hommes d'affronter quelqu'un qui lancera sur lui vingt mille hommes. 32 Si ce n'est pas le cas, même s'il est encore loin, il s'enquerra des conditions pour faire la paix par l'envoi d'une ambassade. 33 De la même façon, quiconque parmi vous ne sait pas prendre ses distances par rapport à toutes ses possessions, sera incapable de rester mon disciple.»


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

L'homme et la femme quitteront leur famille et s'attacheront l'un à l'autre.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

La passion amoureuse

Voici un passage des évangiles qui n'est pas facile à comprendre au premier abord, qui semble dur, et même repoussant, surtout dans la traduction officielle: "Qui ne me préfère pas à sa famille, à son conjoint et même à sa propre vie, ne peut être mon disciple. Qui ne porte pas sa croix et qui ne renonce pas à tous ses biens, ne peut être mon disciple." Notre réaction première pourrait être de dire: "À moins de devenir moine, comment peut-on vivre cela?" Mais notre instinct nous laisse pressentir qu'il y a peut-être quelque chose d'autre à découvrir. Quelle est donc la clé de ce passage?

Après avoir cherché longtemps à comprendre ce passage, c'est dans la vie de couple que j'ai trouvé les images qui pouvaient m'éclairer le plus. Quand deux êtres décident d'unir leur destinée, ne doivent-ils pas prendre leur distance par rapport aux liens familiaux? Dorénavant, les liens qui les uniront primeront sur tout. Ils devront aussi s'arracher à leurs vieilles habitudes de célibataires pour penser en termes de deux personnes: on ne peut plus prendre de décision seul. Il en est de même des possessions: ce qui était à moi deviendra ce qui est à nous. L'argent est un terrible révélateur, et beaucoup de vie de couples s'échoue sur cet écueil. Mais est-ce si pénible de prendre ses distances par rapport aux liens familiaux, de renoncer à une forme de liberté individuelle et de partager tous ses biens? En tout cas, chez moi, cela s'est fait dans la passion amoureuse, et beaucoup de gens pourraient témoigner également qu'ils y ont trouvé une liberté et une richesse nouvelle.

Je trouve que ce visage de la vie de couple permet d'éclairer cette parole radicale de Jésus. De même que, sans la passion amoureuse qui va jusqu'à tout partager, un couple n'arrivera pas à franchir l'épreuve du temps, ainsi en sera-t-il de celui qui se dit chrétien s'il ne vit pas un attachement semblable à Jésus, au point de marquer tous les aspects de sa vie.

Comme chrétien, je n'ai aucun souvenir d'avoir coupé une relation au nom de ma foi. Il est vrai que mon rayon d'action est à cent lieux des 'Hell's Angels' ou de quelque groupe criminalisé. Même si dans certaines régions du monde, on travaille au service de l'évangile au risque de sa vie, ici, en Amérique du Nord, il est rare qu'on soit amené à ces situations limites. Cependant, dans la société qui est la mienne, je suis entouré de modèles de ce qu'est "la vie réussie", de ce qu'est "le bonheur", de ce que doivent être "mes préoccupations", et qui mettent l'Évangile en porte à faux. Aussi, sans la réécoute quotidienne de l'enseignement de Jésus, j'aurais le sentiment que ma vie est une forme d'échec, et du moins, qu'elle est très ennuyante. Mettre la personne humaine et son développement au centre de ses préoccupations, c'est prendre ses distances par rapport au monde ambiant. Mais est-ce si difficile quand on est habité par l'amour?

Autant les possessions sont un puissant révélateur pour la vie du couple, autant ils le sont pour la vie chrétienne. Par possessions, j'entends tout : argent, talent, temps. Dans notre société, l'argent non seulement permet de laisser libre cours à tous nos désirs, réels ou imaginaires, mais il permet d'accéder à un statut social. Le talent est devenu une denrée monnayable : on n'a qu'à penser soit au sport professionnel, soit aux génies de l'informatique dans la nouvelle économie. Et il y a le temps, qu'on gère tant que bien que mal, et qui révèle où se trouve notre coeur. De la même façon que l'amour conjugal touche à toutes ces dimensions, ainsi en est-il de l'attachement à Jésus?

L'image de la "croix qu'on porte" ramasse bien tout ce qui vient d'être dit. Notons qu'il ne s'agit pas de crucifixion, mais d'une marche en avant, où on assume tout ce qui constitue notre être et on le porte vers un lieu nouveau. Quand une mère choisit d'aimer jusqu'au bout ses enfants adolescents et rebelles, et de chercher toutes les voies possibles d'accompagnement, n'est-elle pas sur la voie de la passion, i.e. l'amour passionné? Quand une femme intervient énergiquement dans l'alcoolisme de son conjoint, ou son assujettissement à la pornographie par Internet, n'est-elle pas sur la voie de la passion? Quand un employeur cherche comment amener un employé à donner le meilleur de lui-même, sans mensonge ni tricherie, n'est-il pas sur la voie de la passion?

L'évangéliste Luc s'adressait à tous ces chrétiens qui demandaient le baptême et leur disait: "Si l'amour allumé par Jésus n'est pas une véritable passion, vous ne pourrez tenir jusqu'au bout". C'est la même parole qu'il nous adresse aujourd'hui.

 

-Avril 2001