entête

Sybil 2001

Gospel text

Luke 11: 1-13

1 Now, one day when Jesus was praying somewhere, and when he was done, one of his disciples said to him, "Lord, teach us to pray, as John did with his disciples. 2 He said to them, "When you pray, say:

Father,
May your person be recognized as holy,
May your world come.
3 Give us each day the bread we need to live until the next day,
4 and liberate us from our waywardnesses,
for we ourselves forgive those who have debts to us,
and do not drag us into the ordeal."

5 Then he said to them, "If ever you had a friend and went to his house in the middle of the night to say to him, 'My dear, lend me three loaves, for my friend came to my house and I have nothing to offer him", 7 and the latter from the inside answers, 'Do not bother me, the door is already locked and my children are with me in the bed, impossible for me to get up and give you them'. 8 I assure you, if he does not get up to give because he is his friend, he will wake up because of his shamelessness and will give him what he needs. 9 And I say unto you, Ask, and it will be given you, seek, and you will find, and knock, and the door will be opened for you. 10 For everyone who asks receives, and who seeks finds, and who knocks, the door will be opened. 11 Which of you in your role as a father, if he is being asked by his son for fish, will he give him a serpent instead of fish? 12 Or, if he is being asked for an egg, will he give him a scorpion? 13 If you, who know how to be wicked, can give good gifts to your children, how much more will your father from heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him?

Studies

Our life is like this river with many meanders and multiple tributaries


Gospel commentary - Homily

Prayer for people who do not pray anymore

I still remember my parents getting up at 4am to recite their prayers. Why 4am? I do not know, it probably dates from the time when they could be disturbed by the 5 children. Then they were going through a whole list of prayers, the "Our Father", "Hail Mary", "Glory be to the Father", prayers to Saint Joseph, prayers to the Sacred Heart, prayers to the good Saint Anne (she would have helped to get their first car), prayers to Our Lady of Protection (my father was a miner). All this was part of the start of the day routine. And they were convinced that all these prayers were essential to their live. Yet their example was not followed by their children. Is it the death of prayer? Were all these prayers from my parents really useless? And there is this astonishing remark from Etty Hillesum, the Dutch Jewish woman who died in the German death camps in 1942, who writes in her diary: "For months I had not knelt. Because inside I prayed constantly"1. What is prayer?

This is the question the disciples ask to Jesus in Luke's Gospel, "Lord, teach us to pray, as John did with his disciples". I explicitly say "the Gospel according to Luke," because the Lord's Prayer is only known to us by two evangelists, Luke and Matthew, who have inserted it in different contexts, have slightly modified it in their own way and especially have given different emphasis. While Matthew inserts this prayer into the Sermon on the mount to invite people not to multiply the words as do the Gentiles, Luke inserts it in the trip of Jesus towards Jerusalem, after the scene of Martha and Mary where this one was sitting at the foot of Jesus to listen to his word and after that he himself was in prayer, to present the prayer as a moment of sharing intimacy with Jesus himself and listening to the word of God. While Matthew, just as a good Jew, insists on the importance of acting and doing the will of God, especially forgiving others, Luke insists rather on the assurance that every prayer receives an answer, especially when we ask for the Holy Spirit. According to the biblical scholars, the Lord's Prayer Matthew and Luke received from the tradition probably had this form:

Dad, hallowed be your name
May your kingdom come
Our daily bread give it to us today
And forgive us our debts as we have also forgiven to our debtors
And do not subject us to the ordeal.

This prayer consists of five requests, two concerning God, and three concerning us. But fundamentally, the five demands revolve around God: 1) discover God through His mystery (to proclaim the holiness of God is to show the quality of his being); 2) to open one's hands to this world that He proposes; 3) to have all that is required to fully live our life each day as sons or daughters of God; 4) to go back to Him when we are lost; 5) to avoid the pitfalls that keep us away from Him. This prayer is in the image of Jesus, a deep love for this Father God. It has supported him all his life. Luke recounts that it was in moments of prayer that Jesus experienced decisive events: the reposioning of his life at his baptism, walking away from the crowd when his reputation spreads, the choice of his twelve disciples the closest of them, that great moment of intimacy we call transfiguration, and Gethsemane where he makes the decision to face his arrest and death. Prayer seems to have been vital to him, and one can imagine that without it he could not have been what he was.

All this sends us back to ourselves. What allows us to make the right decision at turning points in our life? What contributes to growth spurts in this long journey to become oneself? When do we live a little intimacy with ourselves? When do we take the time to listen to what is rising from the bottom of our heart?

In her diary, Etty Hillesum writes: "That evening, and again alone with myself after all these restless days, I became aware of myself as a great block of concentrated strength. And that's what you learn every day a little: to order things instantly in your life"2. In the integration of the things of life, there can be difficult events, not necessarily lived by oneself. At the time of writing, I am thinking of the people of Lac-Mégantic (Quebec) where about 50 people died during the derailment and the explosion of a driverless fuel train that destroyed part of downtown. Etty was confronted with the horror of the concentration camps. She writes: "And in the end: should not we offer from time to time a little refuge to universal sadness? ... Yes, life is beautiful, I give thanks to the end of each day, while I know perfectly that mothers ... have sons who are massacred in the concentration camps. And the sorrow one feels about it, you have to bear it ... sorrow must, so to speak, become an integral part of you, a piece of your body and your soul, you do not have to flee it, on the contrary bear it, but as an adult, without seeking an outlet for your feelings in hatred or a desire for revenge on all German mothers ... This sorrow, it is necessary to give it in itself all the place and the protection they should receive, and in this way sorrow will diminish in the world"3. These moments when we take the time to harbor sadness and suffering are vital: either they will make us grow, or they will destroy us.

That's the good news! Nothing can really prevent life from being beautiful and good, if we know how to open our arms and our heart. At the moment when the bombs fell close to her house, Etty wrote: "I accepted, with a feeling of maturity and humility, all the catastrophes and all the pains that could still assail me. And I firmly believed that I would still continue to find life beautiful, always, in spite of everything ... And we can fight the war and all its after effects by releasing love, every day, at every moment, and give it a chance to live. And I believe that I will never be able to hate a human being for what is called his 'wickedness' ... "4 There is nothing magical here, but only an ability to go down to the depths of ourself, and hear our own music.

You will have noticed that I spoke of prayer without speaking of formulas to recite, or even psalms that Jesus may have used. For the fundamental purpose of prayer is to reconcile ourselves with ourselves and with life. And this is not obvious and represents a long way, because we suffer too much from the gap between what we observe and what we desire and hope for. The paths to achieve this are different. For my parents, this path went through the rosary and the recitation of dozens of formulas. For others, they go through these moments in the forest or in the mountains or by a river. For others, it is a constant inner state in the very heart of a feverish life. But if you want to find life, it is a mandatory path.

In the end, let's recall it, it is not about becoming little "saints". It is about accepting pieces of ourselves that we would like to reject, it is about cementing who we are and cementing this world with ourselves.

I would like to finish by giving Etty the floor again, where she compares life to a great river for which all our experiences become tributaries: "Life is no more than one and the same great inner journey, continuous and full of unforeseen events, and every minute of the day and night brings new alignments to this journey ... which does not mean that I immediately forget what I lived, but this experience immediately finds its place in the great current of life, without balking, it flows immediately, as it were, along the great current, without forming, as formerly, obstacles and dikes and heaps of impure materials hindering the course of life"5. This is the incredible journey of life. And it's never too late to board.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, July 2013


1 My English translation of Les écrits d'Etty Hillesum. Journaux et Lettres, 1941-1943. Édition intégrale, traduction de Philippe Noble. Paris: Seuil, 2008, p. 357.

2 Hillesum, p. 411.

3 Hillesum, p. 434-435.

4 Hillesum, p. 432-433.

5 Hillesum, p. 424.

Themes

Sybil 2001

Le texte évangélique

Luc 11, 1-13

1 Or, un jour où Jésus était quelque part en train de prier, et lorsqu’il eu terminé, un de ses disciples lui dit: « Seigneur, apprend-nous à prier, comme Jean l’a fait avec ses disciples. » 2 Il leur dit : « Quand vous priez, dites :

Père,
Que ta personne soit reconnue comme sainte,
Que vienne ton monde.
3 Donne-nous chaque jour le pain dont nous avons besoin pour vivre jusqu'au lendemain,
4 et libère-nous de nos égarements,
car nous-mêmes nous remettons à ceux qui ont des dettes envers nous,
et ne nous entraîne pas dans l'épreuve. »

5 Puis, il leur dit : « Si jamais vous aviez un ami et que vous alliez chez lui au milieu de la nuit pour lui dire : "Mon cher, prête moi trois pains, 6 car mon ami est arrivé de voyage chez moi et je n’ai rien à lui offrir", 7 et que ce dernier de l’intérieur réponde : "Ne m’embête pas. La porte est déjà fermée à clé et mes enfants sont avec moi dans le lit, impossible pour moi de me lever et de les donner." 8 Je vous l’assure, s’il ne se lève pas pour donner parce qu’il est son ami, il se réveillera à cause de son effronterie pour lui donner ce dont il a besoin. 9 Et moi je vous dis : Demandez, et on vous donnera, cherchez et vous trouverez, frappez et on vous ouvrira. 10 Car quiconque demande, reçoit, et qui cherche trouve, et qui frappe se fera ouvrir. 11 Lequel d’entre vous, dans votre rôle de père, s’il se fait demander par son fils du poisson, lui tendra-t-il un serpent à la place du poisson? 12 Ou encore, s’il se fait demander un œuf, lui tendra-t-il un scorpion? 13 Si vous, qui savez être méchants, vous pouvez faire de bons cadeaux à vos enfants, combien plus votre père du ciel donnera l’Esprit Saint à ceux qui le lui demandent.


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notre vie est comme cette rivière
avec de nombreux méandres
et de multiples affluents

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

La prière pour les gens qui ne prient plus

J’ai encore le souvenir de mes parents qui se levaient à 4 heures du matin pour réciter leurs prières. Pourquoi 4 heures? Je ne sais pas, cela date sans doute de l’époque où ils pouvaient être dérangés par les 5 enfants. Alors tout y passait, les « Notre Père », les « Je vous salue Marie », les « Gloire soit au Père », les prières à Saint Joseph, les prières au Sacré-Cœur, les prières à la bonne Sainte Anne (elle aurait aidé à l’obtention d’une des premières voitures), les prières à Notre-Dame-de-Protection (mon père était mineur). Tout cela faisait partie de la routine de début de journée. Et ils étaient convaincus que toutes ces prières étaient essentielles à leur vie. Pourtant leur exemple ne s’est pas transmis à leurs enfants. Est-ce la mort de la prière? Est-ce que toutes ces prières de mes parents étaient au fond inutiles? Et il y a cette remarque étonnante d’Etty Hillesum, cette juive hollandaise morte dans les camps de la mort allemands en 1942, qui écrit dans son journal : « Pendant des mois, je ne m’étais pas agenouillée. Parce qu’intérieurement je priais sans cesse. »1 Qu’est-ce donc prier?

Voilà la question que posent les disciples à Jésus dans l’évangile selon Luc : « Seigneur, apprend-nous à prier, comme Jean l’a fait avec ses disciples. » Je dis explicitement « l’évangile selon Luc », car le Notre Père nous est connu seulement par deux évangélistes, Luc et Matthieu, qui l’ont inséré dans des contextes différents, l’ont légèrement modifié à leur façon et surtout leur ont donné des accents différents. Alors que Matthieu insère cette prière dans le Sermon sur la montagne pour inviter les gens à ne pas multiplier les paroles comme font les païens, Luc l’insère dans la marche de Jésus vers Jérusalem, après la scène de Marthe et Marie où celle-ci était assise au pied de Jésus pour écouter sa parole et après que lui-même ait été en prière, pour présenter la prière comme un moment de partage d’intimité avec Jésus lui-même et d’écoute de la parole de Dieu. Alors que Matthieu, tout comme bon Juif, insiste sur l’importance de l’agir et de faire la volonté de Dieu, en particulier de pardonner aux autres, Luc insiste plutôt sur l’assurance que toute prière reçoit une réponse, en particulier lorsqu’on demande l’Esprit Saint. Selon les biblistes, la prière du Notre Père qu’avait sous leurs yeux Matthieu et Luc avaient probablement cette forme :

Papa, Que soit sanctifié ton nom
Que vienne ton règne
Notre pain quotidien donne-le nous aujourd’hui
Et remets-nous nos dettes comme nous aussi avons remis à nos débiteurs
Et ne nous fais pas subir l’épreuve.

Cette prière est constituée de cinq demandes, deux qui concernent Dieu, et trois qui nous concernent. Mais fondamentalement, les cinq demandes tournent autour de Dieu : 1) le découvrir dans son mystère de Dieu (manifester la sainteté de Dieu c’est montrer la qualité de son être); 2) entrer dans ce monde qu’Il propose; 3) avoir tout ce qu’il faut pour vivre pleinement chaque jour notre vie de fils de Dieu; 4) revenir à Lui quand nous nous sommes perdus; 5) éviter les pièges qui nous éloignent de Lui. Cette prière est à l’image de Jésus, un amour fou pour ce Dieu père. Elle l’a accompagné toute sa vie. Luc raconte que c’est dans des moments de prière que Jésus a vécu des événements décisifs : la réorientation de sa vie lors de son baptême, une prise de distance par rapport à la foule quand sa réputation se répand, le choix de ses douze disciples les plus proches, ce grand moment d’intimité qu’on appelle la transfiguration, et Gethsémani où il prend la décision d’affronter son arrestation et sa mort. La prière semble avoir été vitale pour lui, et on peut imaginer que sans elle il n’aurait pu être ce qu’il a été.

Tout cela nous renvoie à nous-mêmes. Qu’est-ce qui nous permet d’intégrer les moments décisifs de notre vie? Qu’est-ce qui contribue aux poussées de croissance dans cette longue marche pour devenir soi-même? Quand vivons-nous un peu d’intimité avec nous-mêmes? Quand prenons-nous le temps d’écouter ce qui monte du fond de notre de cœur? Dans son journal, Etty Hillesum écrit : « Ce soir-là, et de nouveau seule avec moi-même après toutes ces journées agitées, j’ai pris conscience de moi-même comme d’un grand bloc de force concentrée. Et voilà ce que l’on apprend chaque jour un peu : à ordonner instantanément les choses dans sa vie. »2 Dans l’intégration des choses de la vie, il peut y avoir des événements difficiles, pas nécessairement vécus par soi. Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, je pense aux gens de Lac-Mégantic où une cinquantaine de personnes sont mortes lors du déraillement et l'explosion d'un train de carburant sans conducteur qui a détruit une partie du centre-ville. Etty a été confrontée à l’horreur des camps de concentration. Elle écrit : « Et en fin de compte : ne doit-on pas offrir de temps à autre un petit refuge à la tristesse universelle? …Oui, la vie est belle, je lui rends grâce à la fin de chaque jour, alors que je sais parfaitement que des mères… ont des fils qui se font massacrer dans les camps de concentration. Et le chagrin qu’on en éprouve, il faut le porter… le chagrin doit pour ainsi dire devenir partie intégrante de vous-mêmes, un morceau de votre corps et de votre âme, vous n’avez pas à le fuir, portez-le, mais en adulte, sans chercher un exutoire à vos sentiments dans une haine ou un désir de vengeance sur toutes les mères allemandes… Ce chagrin, il faut lui donner en soi-même toute la place et la protection qui lui reviennent et, de la sorte, le chagrin diminuera dans le monde. »3 Ces moments où nous prenons le temps d’héberger la tristesse et la souffrance sont vitaux : ou bien celles-ci nous feront grandir, où bien elles nous détruirons.

Voilà la bonne nouvelle! Rien ne peut vraiment empêcher que la vie soit belle et bonne, si nous savons nous ouvrir les bras et le cœur. Au moment où les bombes tombaient à deux pas de sa maison, Etty écrit : « J’acceptais, avec un sentiment de maturité et d’humilité, toutes les catastrophes et toutes les douleurs qui pourraient encore m’assaillir. Et je croyais fermement que je n’en continuerais pas moins à trouver la vie belle, toujours, en dépit de tout… Et l’on peut combattre la guerre et toutes ses séquelles en libérant en soi l’amour, chaque jour, à chaque instant, et lui donner une chance de vivre. Et je crois que je ne pourrai jamais haïr un être humain pour ce que l’on appelle sa "méchanceté"… »4 Il n’y ici rien de magique, mais seulement une capacité de descendre au plus profond de soi-même, et y entendre notre propre musique.

Vous aurez remarqué que j’ai parlé de prière sans parler de formules à réciter, ou mêmes de psaumes que Jésus a peut-être utilisés. Car le but fondamental de la prière est de nous réconcilier avec nous-mêmes et avec la vie. Et cela n’est pas évident et représente un long chemin, car nous souffrons trop de l’écart entre ce que nous observons et ce que nous désirons et espérons. Les chemins pour y parvenir divergent. Pour mes parents, ce chemin passait par le chapelet et la récitation de dizaines de formules. Pour d’autres, elles passent par ces moments en forêt ou en montagne ou sur une rivière. Pour d’autres encore, elle est un état constant au cœur même d’une vie fébrile. Mais si on veut trouver la vie, il est un chemin obligatoire.

Au terme, rappelons-le, il ne s’agit pas de devenir de petits « saints ». Il s’agit d’accepter des morceaux de nous-mêmes que nous voudrions rejeter, il s’agit de cimenter ce que nous sommes et de cimenter ce monde avec nous-mêmes.

J’aimerais terminer en donnant encore la parole à Etty où elle compare la vie à un grand fleuve pour lequel toutes nos expériences deviennent des affluents : « La vie n’est plus qu’une seule et même grande aventure intérieure, continuelle et pleine d’imprévu, et chaque minute du jour et de la nuit apporte pour ainsi dire de nouveaux alignements à cette aventure… Ce qui ne veut pas dire que j’oublie aussitôt ce que j’ai vécu, mais ce vécu s’insère immédiatement, sans regimber, dans le grand courant de la vie, il s’écoule immédiatement, pour ainsi dire, au fil de grand courant, sans former, comme autrefois, des obstacles et des digues et des entassements de matériaux impurs entravant le cours de la vie. »5 Telle est l’incroyable aventure de la vie. Et il n’est jamais trop tard pour embarquer.

 

-Juillet 2013


1 Les écrits d'Etty Hillesum. Journaux et Lettres, 1941-1943. Édition intégrale, traduction de Philippe Noble. Paris: Seuil, 2008, p. 357.

2 Hillesum, p. 411.

3 Hillesum, p. 434-435.

4 Hillesum, p. 432-433.

5 Hillesum, p. 424.