Raymond E. Brown, The Death of the Messiah,
v.2, Act 4, scene 1 - #31. Introduction: Structure of the Crucifixion and Burial Accounts, pp 900-909

(detailed summary)


Introduction: Structure of the Crucifixion and Burial Accounts


Summary

The account of Jesus' crucifixion and death would go back to a very ancient tradition known to Mark and John. Each independently edited this account by inserting their own theological vision into it. Following Mark's story, we can identify a five-part structure with a central piece centered on the last words of Jesus and his death. Luke generally follows Mark's account, but he inserts his own themes, such as forgiveness and the crowd's benevolent attitude towards Jesus, and in the middle of this dark picture he insists on introducing positive notes, such as the repenting evildoer. As for John, his narrative takes the form of a chiastic structure, where the second part takes up the themes of the first part to form an inclusion, whose pivotal centre, giving the key to interpretation, is centred on the beloved disciple to whom Jesus entrusts his mother, the embryo of the believing community, which allows Jesus to say: "All is finished".


  1. Structure of the Mark/Matthew Account
  2. Structure of Luke's Account
    1. 23: 26-32
    2. 23: 33-34
    3. 23: 35-43
    4. 23: 44-46
    5. 23: 47-49
    6. 23: 50-56
  3. Structure of John's Account

 

In general, we will follow the structure of Mark, while warning the reader about the points where the other Gospels diverge from Mark. In this final act of the passion narrative, we will find certain characteristics particular to each Gospel which must be emphasized if we are to understand the thought of the evangelist. It is wise to begin with an overview of the three different structures of the accounts of the crucifixion and burial.

  1. Structure of the Mark/Matthew Account

    32. Transitional Episode: Jesus Led Out to Be Crucified
    Mk 15: 20b-21Mt 27: 31b-32Lk 23: 26-32
    Leading him outSameSame
    Simon the CyrenianSameSame
    Father of Alexander, RufusMultitude and Daughters of Jerusalem followed and lamented; J. [Jesus] spoke to them
    33. Jesus Crucified, Part One: The Setting
    Mk 15: 22-27Mt 27: 31b-32Lk 23: 26-32
    Seven itemsSix items in same order as Mark (Omits 3d hour; adds guard)Four items rearranged (centered on Jesus' saying "Father, forgive them")
    34. Jesus Crucified, Part Two: Activities at the Cross
    Mk 15: 28-32Mt 27: 39-44Lk 23: 35-43
    Three mocking groupsSame (2d group and mocking expanded)People standing, observing
    Three mocking groups (partly different makeup from Mark)
    "Penitent thief"
    35. Jesus Crucified, Part Three: Last Events, Death
    Mk 15: 33-37Mt 27: 45-50Lk 23: 44-46
    Darkness 6th to 9th hoursSameSame (sun eclipsed)
    Sanctuary veil rent
    At 9th hour J. screamed to God cry of derelictionSameJ. cried loud cry committing into Father's hands
    Elijah interpretationSame
    Offering vinegary wine; Elijah mockerySame
    Having cried aloud, J. expiredHaving shouted, J. let go the spiritHaving said this, J. expired
    36-37. Jesus Crucified, Part Four: Happenings after Jesus' death
    Mk 15: 38-41Mt 27: 51-56Lk 23: 47-49
    Sanctuary veil rentSame
    earth shaken, rocks rent, tombs opened, holy ones raised, entered holy city
    Centurion, having seen, confessed J. as Son of GodSame (others with centurion)Centurion, having seen, confessed J. as just man
    Crowds returned striking breasts
    Four Galilean women observed from distanceSameThose known to J. and Galilean women standing from a distance saw
    38-39. The Burial of Jesus, arts One and Two: Joseph and Entombment
    Mk 15: 42-47Mt 27: 57-61Lk 23: 50-56a
    Evening, preparation day before SabbathEvening
    Joseph asked Pilate for bodySameSame (Joseph did not agree with decision vs. J.)
    Pilate asked centurion if J. was dead
    Pilate granted corpse to JosephSame
    Joseph tied up body and buried itSameSame
    Two women observed tombTwo women sat opposite sepulcherWomen looked at tomb
    They returned, readied spices
    40. The Burial of Jesus, Part Three: On the Sabbath
    Mt 27: 62-66Lc 27: 56b
    After preparation day chief priests got guard from Pilate to watch sepulcherWomen rested

    1. Content

      If we disregard the transition section (32), Mark's account can be divided into five parts, the middle part being part three (35) where Jesus, dying, says his last words. It contains the typical rule of three: three mockings of Jesus before dying, three mentions of the hour (3rd, 6th, and 9th hour). The emphasis is on the fulfilment of what was announced: the mockery and what happens after his death is the fulfilment of the object of the trial before the Sanhedrin, the destruction of the temple and the title of messiah; Old Testament themes are fulfilled, such as the righteous suffering of the psalms and Wisdom 2:17-20.

    2. Composition

      The biblical scholars have put forward various theories about the composition of this section, several of them detecting a primitive pre-Markan nucleus which they have tried to delineate with varying degrees of success, others putting forward the idea that Mark put two different stories together. The very fact that there is no agreement among the biblical scholars demonstrates the precariousness of the arguments. To all this, we must add the observation of the agreements between Mark and John, even though the majority of biblical scholars recognize John's independence from Mark. Indeed, the two evangelists agree on the place, the fact that Jesus is crucified between two criminals, the charge against Jesus, the mockery by the chief priests, the distribution of his clothes, the sour wine offered to him, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary. It is better to admit that we are facing a very old tradition that it is impossible to reconstruct exactly, and that Mark probably uses.

  2. Structure of Luke's Account

    On the whole, Luke is following Mark. When he distances himself from him, it is to integrate certain themes common to Luke-Actes: forgiveness, being at peace with God, the sympathetic multitude in contrast with the leaders. Thus, Luke would have freely reworked Mark's material with the help of isolated sources unknown to Mark. The result is a much more artistic structure than that of Mark.

    1. 23: 26-32 (32. Jesus led out to be crucified). Three groups appear to be in favor of Jesus: (i) Simon, who carries the cross behind Jesus, (ii) the great multitude of the people and the daughters of Jerusalem, (iii) the two criminals, one of whom sympathizes with Jesus.

    2. 23: 33-34 (33. The setting of the crucifixion). It consists of three sub-sections: (i) the place, the fact of the crucifixion, the introduction of the two criminals taken from Mark; (ii) Jesus' prayer to the Father for forgiveness, unique to Luke; (iii) the distribution of the garments taken from Mark.

    3. 23: 35-43 (34. The activities at the cross). There are five items: (i) the people stand and watch; (ii) the rulers sneer; (iii) the soldiers mock; (iv) one of the criminals blasphemes; (v) one of the criminals sympathizes and is rewarded. Luke has the peculiarity here of softening the scene by framing the three hostile items with a non-hostile beginning and end.

    4. 23: 44-46 (35. The last events, death). Shorter than Mark, Luke first presents (i) the darkness of the sixth to the ninth hour and the rending of the veil of the sanctuary (in Mark the veil is torn after Jesus' death), then (ii) the cry of Jesus as he entrusts his spirit to the hands of the Father (in contrast to Mark where there is a feeling of abandonment), a more positive atmosphere.

    5. 23: 47-49 (37. Happenings after Jesus' death). Here again we find three groups that are in favor of Jesus: (i) the centurion confessing that Jesus is a righteous man, echoing Simon carrying the cross of Jesus; (ii) the crowds going home beating their breasts, echoing the multitude of people in section 32; (iii) those Jesus knew and the women of Galilee who stood at a distance and watched, echoing the girls of Jerusalem in section 32.

    6. 23: 50-56 (38-40. The burial of Jesus and the day after). Joseph of Arimathea claims the body of Jesus and buries it in a tomb where no one had yet been placed. This is a repetition of Mark, except that Luke has eliminated Pilate's amazement at Jesus' death and insists that Joseph is a righteous man, and the mention of the absence of another body in the tomb is apologetic: there can be no confusion with another body in the same tomb; then he adds the information that the women prepared spices and perfumes and rested.

    Overall, Luke offers us a more caring theology, both in human participation and in the exercise of forgiveness in Jesus. His art sometimes resembles John's in highlighting incidents of crucifixion and showing their possibility: his sovereign Jesus who promises to share paradise with the evildoer resembles John's Jesus who reigns from the cross.

  3. Structure of John's Account

    John's story can be represented in the form of a chiasm.

    Introduction (19: 16b-18)
    Jesus taken along; carries own cross; Golgotha; crucified with two others
    ↓ = ↑Episode 6 (19: 38-42)
    Joseph asks Pilate for Jesus' body; Nicodemus brings myrrh; they bind it with cloths and spices, burying it in new garden tomb
    Episode 1 (19: 19-22)
    Inscription dramatized in Pilate's trilingual proclamation of Jesus as king; chief priests ask Pilate to change, but he refuses
    ↓ = ↑Episode 5 (19: 31-37)
    Day of Preparation; Jews ask Pilate to take away bodies; his soldiers break legs of others, stab Jesus' side; blood and water; two Scripture citations
    Episode 2 (19: 23-24)
    Soldiers divide clothes in four parts; lots for seamless tunic; Scripture fulfilled
    ↓ = ↑Episode 4 (19: 28-30)
    Aware of finishing all, Jesus says he is thirsty; vinegary wine sponge on hyssop; "It is finished"; gives over spirit
    Episode 3 (19: 25-27)
    Women standing near cross; Jesus addresses mother and beloved disciple; disciple takes her to his own

    The centerpiece of the chiastic structure is episode 3 where Jesus is surrounded by a believing community, the one given to him by the Father and which he has kept; this now allows him to say: "It is finished". As is typical of a chiasm, the other episodes can be paralleled, although not strictly: the introduction and episode 6 evoke the sequence of events, episodes 1 and 5 show people hostile to Jesus, episodes 2 and 4 focus on fulfilment. All of John's elements are found in Mark's account, even if they are not in the same sequence. This is not because he knew Mark, but because he drew from a source that they both knew. On the other hand, we must recognize the details that are in one or the other of the Synoptics, and that are absent from John.

    • Simon of Cyrene (present in all three synoptics)
    • The lamentations of the women on their way to Calvary (Luke)
    • The initial offering of the mixed wine (Mark/Matthieu)
    • Jesus' prayer of forgiveness for his executionerss (Luke)
    • Time indications, e.g. 9 a.m. (Mark); 12 noon to 3 p.m. (all three)
    • The various mockeries (all three)
    • The repentance of the "good thief" (Luke)
    • Darkness over the land (all three)
    • The cry "Elōi, Elōi, lama sabachtani" (Mark/Matthew)
    • The suggestion that he seek deliverance by Elijah (Mark/Matthew)
    • The last loud cry of Jesus (the three)
    • The words "Father, into your hands I place my spirit" (Luke).
    • The rending of the sanctuary veil (all three)
    • The earthquake and the opening of the tombs (Matthew)
    • The centurion's reaction (all three)
    • The repentance of the crowds returning home (Luke)
    • Pilate's investigation to affirm the death of Jesus (Mark)
    • The wrapping of the body of Jesus in a linen shroud (the three)
    • The presence of women at the tomb (all three)
    • Purchase of spices by the women (Luke)

Next chapter: Transitional Episode: Jesus Led Out to be Crucified

List of chapters

Introduction : structure de la crucifixion et récit de l’ensevelissement


Sommaire

Le récit de la crucifixion de Jésus et de sa mort remonterait à une tradition très ancienne qu’ont connue Marc et Jean. Chacun, de manière indépendante, ont édité ce récit en y insérant leur propre vision théologique. En suivant celui de Marc, on peu repérer une structure en cinq parties dont la pièce centrale est axée sur les dernières paroles de Jésus et sa mort. Luc suit de manière générale le récit de Marc, mais il y insère ses propres thèmes, comme celui du pardon et de l’attitude bienveillante de la foule à l’égard de Jésus; au cœur de ce tableau sombre, il tient à introduire des notes positives, comme celle du malfaiteur qui se repent. Quant à Jean, son récit prend la forme d’un chiasme, où la deuxième partie reprend les thèmes de la première partie pour former une inclusion, dont le centre-pivot, donnant la clé d’interprétation, est axée sur le disciple bien-aimé à qui Jésus confie sa mère, embryon de la communauté croyante, ce qui permet à Jésus de dire : « Tout est achevé ».


  1. La structure du récit de Marc/Matthieu
  2. La structure du récit de Luc
    1. 23, 26-32
    2. 23, 33-34
    3. 23, 35-43
    4. 23, 44-46
    5. 23, 47-49
    6. 23, 50-56
  3. La structure du récit de Jean

 

De manière générale, nous allons suivre la structure de Marc, tout en avertissant le lecteur sur les points où les autres évangiles divergent de Marc. On trouvera, dans cet acte final du récit de la passion, certaines caractéristiques particulières à chaque évangile qu’il faut souligner si on veut comprendre la pensée de l’évangéliste. Il est sage de commencer par une vue d’ensemble des trois différentes structures des récits de la crucifixion et de la mise au tombeau.

  1. La structure du récit de Marc/Matthieu

    32. Un épisode de transition : Jésus est conduit pour être crucifié
    Mc 15, 20b-21Mt 27, 31b-32Lc 23, 26-32
    Ils le mènent dehorsIdentiqueIdentique
    Simon de CyrèneIdentiqueIdentique
    Père d’Alexandre, RufusUne multitude et les filles de Jérusalem suivent et se lamentent; J. [Jésus] leur parle
    33. Jésus crucifié, première partie : le cadre
    Mc 15, 22-27Mt 27, 31b-32Lc 23, 26-32
    Sept itemsSix items dans le même ordre que Marc (il omet la 3e heure, mais ajoute les gardes)Quatre items réarrangés (centrés sur le Jésus qui dit : « Père, pardonne-leur »)
    34. Jésus crucifié, deuxième partie : les activités autour de la croix
    Mc 15, 28-32Mt 27, 39-44Lc 23, 35-43
    Trois groupes qui se moquentIdentique (expansion du 2e groupe et de la moquerie)Le peuple se tient là et observe
    Trois groupes qui se moquent (composition partiellement différente de Marc)
    35. Jésus crucifié, troisième partie : les derniers événements, la mort
    Mc 15, 33-37Mt 27, 45-50Lc 23, 44-46
    L’obscurité de la 6e à la 9e heureIdentiqueIdentique (éclipse du soleil)
    Le voile du sanctuaire se déchire
    À la 9e heure J. lance vers Dieu un cri d’abandonIdentiqueJ. crie d’une voix forte qu’il s’en remet entre les mains du Père
    L’interprétation d’ÉlieIdentique
    L’offre de vinaigre de vin; moquerie autour d’ÉlieIdentique
    Après un fort cri, J. expiraAprès avoir crié, J. rendit l’espritAprès avoir dit cela, J. expira
    36-37. Jésus crucifié, quatrième partie : les événements après la mort de Jésus
    Mc 15, 38-41Mt 27, 51-56Lc 23, 47-49
    Le voile du sanctuaire se déchireIdentique
    La terre trembla, les rochers se fendirent, les tombeaux s’ouvrirent, les saints trépassés ressuscitèrent et entrèrent dans la ville sainte
    Ayant vu, le centurion confessa que J. est fils de DieuIdentique (d’autres avec le centurion)Ayant vu, le centurion confessa que J. est un homme juste
    Les foules s’en retournent en se frappant la poitrine
    Quatre femmes de Galilée observent à distanceIdentiqueCeux que connaissaient J. et les femmes de Galilée qui se tenaient à distance virent
    38-39. L’inhumation de Jésus, première et deuxième partie : Joseph et la mise au tombeau
    Mc 15, 42-47Mt 27, 57-61Lc 23, 50-56a
    Le soir, la journée de préparation avant le SabbatLe soir
    Joseph demande le corps à PilateIdentiqueIdentique (Joseph n’est pas d’accord sur la décision envers J.)
    Pilate demande au centurion si J. est décédé
    Pilate donne le corps à JosephIdentique
    Joseph enroule le corps et le met au tombeauIdentiqueIdentique
    Deux femmes observent le tombeauDeux femmes assises à l’opposé du sépulcreDes femmes regardent le tombeau
    Elles s'en retournèrent et préparèrent aromates et parfums
    40. L’inhumation de Jésus, troisième partie : le jour du sabbat
    Mt 27, 62-66Lc 27, 56b
    Après la journée de préparation, les chefs des prêtres obtiennent de Pilate des gardes pour surveiller le sépulcreLes femmes se reposent

    1. Le contenu

      Si on ne tient pas compte de la section de transition (32), le récit de Marc peut se diviser en cinq parties, la pièce centrale étant la partie trois (35) où Jésus, mourant, dit ses dernières paroles. On y retrouve la règle de trois typique des récits : trois moqueries de Jésus avant de mourir, trois mentions de l’heure (3e, 6e, et 9e heure). L’accent est sur l’accomplissement de ce qui a été annoncé : la moquerie et ce qui se produit après sa mort est la réalisation de l’objet du procès devant le sanhédrin, la destruction du temple et le titre de messie; des thèmes de l’Ancien Testament se réalisent, comme celui du juste souffrant des psaumes et de Sagesse 2, 17-20.

    2. La composition

      Les biblistes ont émis diverses théories quant à la composition de cette section, plusieurs décelant un noyau prémarcien primitif qu’ils ont essayé de délimiter avec plus ou moins de bonheur, d’autres avançant l’idée que Marc a réuni deux récits différents. Le fait même qu’il n’y ait pas d’accord chez les biblistes démontre la précarité des arguments. À tout cela, il faut ajouter l’observation des accords entre Marc et Jean, alors même que la majorité des biblistes reconnaissent l’indépendance de Jean par rapport à Marc. En effet, les deux évangélistes s’entendent sur le lieu, le fait que Jésus soit crucifié entre deux criminels, la charge contre Jésus, la moquerie par les chefs des prêtres, la répartition de ses vêtements, le vin aigre qu’on lui offre, Marie Magdeleine et l’autre Marie. Il vaut mieux admettre que nous sommes devant une tradition très ancienne qu’il est impossible de reconstituer avec exactitude, et que Marc utilise probablement.

  2. La structure du récit de Luc

    Dans l’ensemble, Luc suit Marc. Quand il s’en distancie, c’est pour intégrer certains thèmes communs à Luc-Actes : le pardon, être en paix avec Dieu, la multitude sympathique en contraste avec les chefs. Ainsi, Luc aurait retravaillé librement le matériel de Marc à l’aide de sources isolées inconnues de Marc. Il en résulte une structure beaucoup plus artistique que celle de Marc.

    1. 23, 26-32 (32. Jésus est conduit pour être crucifié). Trois groupes apparaissent favorables à Jésus : (i) Simon, qui porte la croix derrière Jésus, (ii) la grande multitude du peuple et des filles de Jérusalem, (iii) les deux malfaiteurs, dont l’un sympathisera avec Jésus.

    2. 23, 33-34 (33. Le cadre de la crucifixion). Il comprend trois sous sections : (i) le lieu, le fait de la crucifixion, l’introduction des deux malfaiteurs repris de Marc; (ii) la prière de Jésus demandant au Père de pardonner, particulier à Luc; (iii) la répartition des vêtements reprise de Marc.

    3. 23, 35-43 (34. Les activités à la croix). On y trouve cinq items : (i) le peuple se tient là et observe; (ii) les chefs ricanent; (iii) les soldats se moquent; (iv) un des malfaiteurs blasphème; (v) un des malfaiteurs sympathise et est récompensé. Luc a la particularité ici d’adoucir la scène en encadrant les trois items hostiles avec un début et une fin non hostiles.

    4. 23, 44-46 (35. Les derniers événements, la mort). Plus bref que Marc, Luc présente d’abord (i) l’obscurité de la 6e à la 9e heure et la déchirure du voile du temple (chez Marc, le voile se déchire après la mort de Jésus), puis (ii) le cri de Jésus alors qu’il remet son esprit entre les mains du Père (à l’opposé de Marc où on a un sentiment d’abandon), une atmosphère plus positive.

    5. 23, 47-49 (37. Les événements après la mort de Jésus). Encore ici, on retrouve trois groupes favorables à Jésus : (i) le centurion qui confesse que Jésus est un homme juste, en écho à Simon qui porte la croix de Jésus; (ii) les foules qui retournent à la maison en se frappant la poitrine, en écho à la multitude des peuples de la section 32; (iii) ceux que connaissaient Jésus et les femmes de Galilée qui se tenaient à distance et surveillaient, en écho aux filles de Jérusalem de la section 32.

    6. 23, 50-56 (38-40. L’inhumation de Jésus et le jour suivant). Joseph d’Arimathie réclame le corps de Jésus et l’inhume dans un tombeau où personne n’avait encore été placé. C’est une reprise de Marc, sauf que Luc a éliminé l’étonnement de Pilate devant la mort de Jésus, et insiste pour dire que Joseph est un homme juste, et la mention de l’absence d’autre corps dans le tombeau a une visée apologétique : il ne pourra y avoir de confusion avec un autre corps dans le même tombeau; puis il ajoute l’information que les femmes ont préparé des aromates et des parfums et se sont reposées.

    Dans l’ensemble, Luc nous offre une théologie plus bienveillante, à la fois dans la participation humaine et dans l’exercice du pardon chez Jésus. Son art ressemble parfois à celui de Jean en mettant en relief des incidents de la crucifixion et en montrant leur possibilité : son Jésus souverain qui promet en partage le paradis au malfaiteur ressemble du Jésus de Jean qui règne à partir de la croix.

  3. La structure du récit de Jean

    Le récit de Jean peut être représenté sous la forme d’un chiasme.

    Introduction (19, 16b-18)
    On prend Jésus : il porte sa croix au Golgotha et il est crucifié avec deux autres
    ↓ = ↑Épisode 6 (19, 38-42)
    Joseph demande le corps de Jésus à Pilate; Nicodème apporte de la myrrhe; on l’enroule dans un linceul et des aromates, le mettant dans un nouveau tombeau du jardin
    Épisode 1 (19, 19-22)
    L’inscription est dramatisée avec la proclamation trilingue de Jésus comme roi ; les chefs des prêtres demandent un changement, mais Pilate refuse
    ↓ = ↑Épisode 5 (19, 31-37)
    Journée de préparation et les Juifs demandent à Pilate d’enlever les corps; ses soldats brisent les jambes des autres, et percent le côté de Jésus; le sang et l’eau; deux citations de l’Écriture
    Épisode 2 (19, 23-24)
    Les soldats se répartissent les vêtements en quatre parts, mais la tunique est tirée au sort; les Écritures sont réalisées
    ↓ = ↑Épisode 4 (19, 28-30)
    Sachant que tout était achevé, Jésus dit qu’il a soif; on lui présente une éponge imbibée de vinaigre de vin sur une branche, avant qu’il dise « C’est achevé » et qu’il rende l’esprit.
    Épisode3 (19, 25-27)
    Des femmes se tiennent près de la croix; Jésus s’adresse à sa mère et au disciple bien-aimé; le disciple l’accueillit comme sienne

    La pièce centrale du chiasme est l’épisode 3 où Jésus est entouré par une communauté croyante, celle que lui a donnée le Père et qu’il a gardée; cela lui permet maintenant de dire : « C’est achevé ». Comme cela est typique d’un chiasme, les autres épisodes peuvent être mis en parallèle, quoique de façon non stricte : l’introduction et l’épisode 6 évoquent la séquence des événements, l’épisode 1 et 5 mettent en scène des gens hostiles à Jésus, l’épisode 2 et 4 mettent l’accent sur l’accomplissement. L’ensemble des éléments de Jean se retrouvent dans le récit de Marc, même s’ils ne sont pas dans la même séquence. Cela ne vient pas de ce qu’il a connu Marc, mais il a puisé à une source que les deux connaissaient. Par contre, il faut reconnaître les détails qui sont dans l’un ou l’autre des synoptiques, et qui sont absents de Jean.

    • Simon de Cyrène (présent chez les trois synoptiques)
    • Les lamentations des femmes en route vers le Calvaire (Luc)
    • L’offre initiale du mélange de vin (Marc/Matthieu)
    • La prière de pardon de Jésus pour ses tortionnaires (Luc)
    • Les indications de temps, e.g. 9 heure du matin (Marc); de midi à 15 heures (les trois)
    • Les diverses moqueries (les trois)
    • Le repentir du « bon voleur » (Luc)
    • L’obscurité sur la terre (les trois)
    • Le cri « Elōi, Elōi, lama sabachtani » (Marc/Matthieu)
    • La suggestion qu’il demande à Élie de le libérer (Marc/Matthieu)
    • Le dernier fort cri de Jésus (les trois)
    • Les paroles « Père, en tes mains je remets mon esprit » (Luc)
    • La déchirure du voile du temple (les trois)
    • Le tremblement de terre et l’ouverture des tombeaux (Matthieu)
    • La réaction du centurion (les trois)
    • Le repentir des foules qui retournent à la maison (Luc)
    • L’enquête de Pilate pour confirmer la mort de Jésus (Marc)
    • L’enroulement du corps de Jésus dans un linceul (les trois)
    • La présence des femmes au tombeau (les trois)
    • L’achat d’aromates par les femmes (Luc)

 

Brown v.2: Introduction : structure de la crucifixion et récit de l’ensevelissemen, pp 900-909 (version anglaise).


Section suivante: Épisode de transition : Jésus est conduit pour être crucifié

Retour à la table des matières Raymond E. Brown, La mort du Messie. De Getsémani au tombeau. Un commentaire de la Passion dans les quatre évangiles. v. 2