Raymond E. Brown, The Death of the Messiah,
v.1, Act 2, scene 2 - #21. The Jewish Abuse and Mockery of Jesus, pp 568-586

(detailed summary)


The Jewish Abuse and Mockery of Jesus
(Mk 14: 65; Mt 26: 67-68; Lk 22: 63-65; Jn 18: 22-23)


Summary

This scene of mockery and mistreatment in the Jewish trial around Jesus as prophet is very similar to the scene in the Roman trial around Jesus as king of the Jews. It is possible that there is some kind of amalgamation in the two stories. But within the Jewish trial itself there are divergences in the Gospel accounts that cannot be ignored.

The account of Mark, on which Matthew and Luke depend, emphasizes the irony of the situation, while Jesus is involved in a child's game of the time when he has to guess/prophetize the one who touched him, having earlier prophesied the destruction of the temple and its reconstruction in three days, as well as the coming of the sons of man into heaven ; now, precisely, the scene includes key words from the account of the suffering servant of Isaiah 50 (slaps, face, spitting) whose prophecy Jesus is in the process of fulfilling.

Matthew structures Mark's somewhat too free style and clarifies its content: on the one hand, the allusion to the suffering servant is tightened by writing spit in his face in full, which forces him to skip the mention of the veiled face, which becomes implicit in the child's play that follows; on the other hand, he inserts the challenging of the messiah through the mockery, establishing an explicit link with the announcements of the reconstruction of the temple and his coming into heaven that were made as messiah, and a link also with the challenge as king of the Jews through the Roman trial.

Luke rearranges all the material so that the scene takes place before the trial in front of the Sanhedrin and in the inner courtyard of the palace where people were warming themselves, and the angles are softened: physical abuses (spitting and slapping) are eliminated and the connection with the suffering servant of Isaiah is moved to the Acts of the Apostles and replaced by the model of the martyr who stands firm in adversity. As for this sentence that he shares only with Matthew (Who is it that hit you), it probably comes from an oral tradition that the two evangelists would have added to their source without consulting each other.

Does the scene have any historical value? That the Sanhedrin itself brutalized Jesus is probably not. But there are precedents in the first century where guards have allegedly bruised an accused.


  1. Translation
  2. Comment
    1. Comparisons Provoked by the Gospel Accounts of the Jewish Mockery
    2. The Marcan Account
    3. The Matthean Account
    4. The Lucan Account
  3. Analysis

  1. Translation

    The underlined words are common to Mark and the other evangelists. In blue are the words common to Luke and Matthew.

    Mark 14Matthew 26Luke 22John 18
    65 And some began to spit on him, and to cover his face and strike him and say to him, "Prophesy"; and the attendants got him with slaps.67 Then they spat in his face and struck him. But there were those who slapped him 68 saying, "Prophesy for us, Messiah, who is it that hit you?"63 And the men who were holding him were mocking him, beating him; 64 and having covered him, they were questioning him saying, "Prophesy, who is it that hit you?" 65 And blaspheming, they were saying many other things against him.22 ...one of the attendants who was standing by gave Jesus a slap, saying, "In such a way do you answer the high priest?" 23 Jesus answered him, "If I have spoken badly, give testimony about what is bad. If (I have spoken) well, why do you beat me?"

  2. Comment

    1. Comparisons Provoked by the Gospel Accounts of the Jewish Mockery

      1. Comparisons between the Jewish and Roman Scenes of Abuse/Mockery

        Biblical scholars are divided: some accept both the Jewish scene of molestation/mistreatment and the Roman scene as historical, some reject both completely, others accept only one of them, especially the Roman scene which is said to have been copied from the Jewish scene. In summary, all four Gospels have a scene of mistreatment before or after the Jewish trial/interrogation. All four Gospels have a scene of mockery by Roman soldiers. It is not impossible that the two types of scene could have been amalgamated.

        Table of the analysis of the vocabulary in the different narratives

        IIIIIIIVVVI
        VocabularyIsa 50: 533rd passion prediction (Mk 10: 33-34 ; Mt 20: 18-19 ; Lk 18: 31b-33Context of Jewish trial (Mk 14: 64-65 ; Mt 26: 65-68 ; Lk 22: 63-65 ; Jn 18: 22)Herod trial (Luc 23: 11 ; GPet 4: 13-14)Context of Roman trial (Mk 15: 15b-20a ; Mt 27: 26b-31a ; Jn 19: 1-3)On the cross (Mk 15: 29-32 ; Mt 27: 39-44 ; Lk 23: 35b-39 ; GPet 4: 13-14)Comments
        #1 blasphēmein, blasphēmia: blaspheme, blasphemyMk/Mt*, Lk**Mk/Mt**, Lk*** = Jesus accused of blasphemy (also John 10:33-36 - a parallel in III);
        ** = Jesus is blasphemed against
        #2a empaizein: mockMk/Mt: LkLkLkMk/MtMk/Mt: Lk
        #2b ekmyktērizein: sneer atLkPs 22: 7: Forsaken psalmist is sneered at; In NT elsewhere only Luke 16:14: Pharisees sneer at Jesus
        #2c oneidizein: revileGPetMk/MtPs 22:: Psalmist is object of reviling: Mt 5:11: "Blessed...when they revile you"
        #2d: hybrizein: arrogantly mistreatLk
        #2e exouthenein: disdain, treat with contempt or as nothingLkBiform exoudenein in Aquila Greek of Isa 53; Ps 22:7: Psalmist is object of contemmpt; Mark 9:12: "The Son of Man must ...be treated with contempt"
        #3a trechein: push (running)GPet
        #3b syrein: dragGPet
        #4a phragelloun: flogMk/Mt
        #4b mastigoun, mastizein, mastix: scourgeMk/Mt: LkGPetJn√ = Presence of word in Isa 50: 53
        #4c: paideia, paideyein: chastisement, chastise (whip)Lk 23: 16.22: Pilate offers to chastise Jesus
        #5a derein: beatLk, JnServants in vineyard parable (Mk 12: 3.5 et ||); in synagogues (Mk 13: 9)
        #5b paiein: hitMt, LkMk 14: 27: bystanders hit servant of high priest
        #5c typtein: strikeMk/Mt
        #5d kolaphizein: strikeMk/Mt
        #5e nyssein: prick, stab, jabGPetJnGPet with a reed; John with a lance; Ps 22: 17: oryssein for piercing hands and feet
        #5f: rapisma, rapizein: slapMk/Mt, JnGPetJn
        #5g emptyein, emptysma: spitMk, LkMk/MtGPetMk/Mt
        #6a: kephalē: head (of Jesus)GPetMk/MtMk/MtMk/Mt head struck; Mt, Jn, GPet thorn-crown on head; Mt inscription over head
        #6b opsis: faceGPet (spit)
        #6c prosōpon: faceMk (cover) Mt (spit)
        #6d siagōn: cheekGPet (slap)

      2. Comparison of the Differing Gospel Accounts of the Jewish Scene

        The many variants found in the manuscript texts of the Gospels testify to the emotion of the copyists in the face of so many divergences, and to their effort to harmonize the differences. Indeed, Mark writes: "spit on him" and "cover his face", while Matthew writes: "spat in his face". Here is the reaction of some copyists.

        • Codex Bezae (Codex Vercellensis - old Latin version, Syriac translation of the Peshitta, Coptic Bohairic translation) offers for Mark the reading: spit in the face, and omits: cover his face.
        • The Codex Coridethianus offers the following review of Mark: Who is is it that hit you? a harmonization with Matthew and Luke.

        Some biblical scholars have wanted to revise the traditional theory that Matthew and Luke are dependent on Mark, in order to accommodate these different versions of the copyists. We will not follow them on this point.

    2. The Marcan Account

      • Who spits and strikes Jesus? According to the context, it is the members of the Sanhedrin. Some biblical scholars have argued that it is impossible that the Sanhedrin had such a harsh attitude. This is forgetting that we are here before the work of Mark, who deliberately presented the chief priests, scribes and elders from the beginning as people hostile to Jesus.

      • The expression "began to" is typical of the Marcan style (26 times). The act of spitting expresses contempt as seen in Job (30:9-10). In the Old Testament, it is a punishment for someone who is guilty (Num 12:14). And it is possible that it was the duty of the Sanhedrin to express contempt for someone condemned to death.

      • The expression "and to cover his face" probably refers to a game well known to readers. Pollux's Onomasticon mentions three games in which the eyes are covered:

        1. There is a game of blind tag where a player closes his eyes and searches for others to touch them, the challenge being to identify them without seeing.
        2. There is the guessing game where a player covers his eyes with his hand and has to guess which hand someone else hit him with.
        3. Finally, there is the "blindman's buff" game where one player is blindfolded and tries to find the others while being hit with husks of papyrus.

        The analogy with these childish games clearly shows that we are in front of a burlesque scene to challenge Jesus' ability to prophesy. The irony is that there were two prophecies made by Jesus during his trial, that of rebuilding the temple in three days after it was destroyed, and that of the Son of Man coming on the clouds and sitting at the right hand of the Power, and now he would be unable to meet the requirements of child's play. Mark expects his audience to perceive this irony, since Jesus had already foretold Judas' betrayal and the abandonment of the disciples, which has come to pass. The irony is at its height when Peter denies him in the middle of the trial, as Jesus had said, and the centurion confesses that he is the Son of God when he expires.

      • The scene ends with the guards slapping him. These are Jewish guards who follow their masters. Why does Mark end this scene with slapping? In fact, Mark is inspired by the suffering servant of Is 50:6-7 (LXX: "I gave ...my cheeks to slaps; I did not turn my face from the shame of spitting. And the Lord God became my helper, and so I was not ashamed"). The underlined words appear in Mark's passage. Thus the reader will have grasped another irony: Jesus fulfilled a prophecy of the great prophet Isaiah. There is something artistic and theological in Mark's text.

    3. The Matthean Account

      • Matthew does not hesitate to use Mark's text in his own way, some elements of which seem to displease him, such as the expression "began to" which he eliminates, his too free way of accumulating the infinitives (spit, cover, blow, say) which he replaces with more balanced sentences by regrouping in a more logical way the various gestures of the Sanhedrin (he distinguishes two groups which each perform two actions) before their speaking which becomes the culminating point.

      • Why does Matthew not take up Mark's expression "cover his face", but opts instead for "spit in the face"? Firstly, we can think that he intends to accentuate the parallel with the suffering servant of Isaiah where there is talk of spitting in the face. Secondly, it is well understood that if the face is veiled, he can no longer receive spit. Thirdly, since his audience understands well the allusion to child's play that follows, it is not necessary to mention that Jesus' face was veiled.

      • Matthew's most striking point is the sentence that Mark does not mention but is present in Luke: "who is it that hit you?" If Matthew and Luke both write using Mark's text, how can they have a common text when they do not know each other? Rather than imagining that a copyist would have erased this sentence from Mark, it is simpler to think that we are dealing with a well-known oral tradition that both Matthew and Luke would have incorporated into their narrative in their own way, especially since the child's game referred to was well known in ancient times. And it is worth highlighting the remarkable pedagogical work of Matthew who, after the echo of Isaiah 50:6 (spitting, face, slapping), ends the scene with the request to prophesy, a scene that will be followed by Peter's denial, confirming Jesus' ability to prophesy; there is something dramatic in this ending.

      • The expression "Messiah!", in the vocative (direct address), is unique in the whole Bible. This accentuates the parallel with the Roman trial where he was challenged under the title "King of the Jews!" (in the vocative). It is all the more unique in that there is no other testimony of someone who would have been called "Messiah" in the first century. For Matthew, Jesus is this messiah of the Davidic lineage, as his account of his childhood shows. And it was as the Messiah that he announced the rebuilding of the temple and the coming of the Son of Man in the clouds, just like Mark. Unlike Mark, he is much more explicit; and instead of placing the mockery around this title at the crucifixion, Matthew prefers to place it here, accentuating the dramatic side of the scene, since it will be followed by Peter's denial, the very one who first recognized him as the Messiah.

    4. The Lukan Account

      • Luke's setting is different: we are no longer at the end of a night trial by the authorities, but the scene takes place at night, after the crowing of the rooster, but before the start of the trial in the morning by the Sanhedrin. Moreover, the place is no longer the hall of the Sanhedrin where Jesus is interrogated, but the inner garden of the palace (aulē) where one is warming oneself by the fire, the very place where Peter denied him and where Jesus looked at him to offer him his forgiveness.

      • It should not be inferred that Luke would have benefited from any other source than Mark's. Rather, we recognize his editorial work, where he introduces a vocabulary that is dear to him, for example synechein (to hold, six times in Luke). And even if he does not use the same words, it is the same reality that he describes: for example, "men" refers to the same people as the "guards" in Mark and John. The same is true of empaizein (to mock) which is part of Jesus' prediction of the passion. In Mark the prediction comes true during the Roman trial (15: 20) before he was crucified. In Luke, who wants to avoid mistreatment by the Gentiles, the prediction is fulfilled here, as well as in the appearance before Herod (23, 11) and on the cross (23: 36). The theme of mockery is so dominant that physical abuse on the person of Jesus is no longer necessary and Luke allows himself to eliminate it. Finally, if Mark put an accusation of blasphemy against Jesus in the mouth of the high priest, Luke refuses to take up this scene again, where the Jewish authority of the people of God would accuse the Son of God of blasphemy against God, an unthinkable situation; with him blasphemy is rather associated with all these gestures of mockery and contempt towards Jesus (And blaspheming, they were saying many other things against him), an arrogant attitude towards him who is the face of God.

      • There are, however, some things that are surprising in Luke. First of all, he eliminates the spitting and slapping from Mark's account, even though it was a way for Mark to associate Jesus with the suffering servant of Isaiah. Why was this? First of all Luke's decision to move part of Jesus' trial before the Sanhedrin to Stephen's trial in Acts (7), and an oblique reference is made in Acts to the suffering servant with the story about the Ethiopian eunuch (8:26-39). Above all, however, we must recognize that Luke is interested in another image of Jesus, that of the model of the martyr who remains unshakeable before hostile interrogations and blasphemous mockery, a model found in the books of the Maccabees (2 Macc 6 - 7; 4 Macc 6 and 8 - 14). This model will be taken up again in the Acts of the Apostles with Stephen, Peter and Paul.

      • Another thing that surprises in Luke is the meaning he seems to give to the request to prophesy. For in Mk/Mt. this request follows two prophecies of Jesus during his trial, but in Luke's case the trial has not yet taken place. Why take up this request again when the context has changed? The answer could be twofold. On the one hand, throughout his Gospel Luke has emphasized Jesus' reputation as a prophet (he is greeted as a prophet in 7:16; 9:18,19; Jesus compares himself to the prophets in 4:24,27; 13:33-34), so the request to prophesy would echo all these passages. On the other hand, Luke would perhaps anticipate what is coming in the early morning when the Sanhedrin will ask him, without believing it, if he is the Messiah and Son of God; he would ironically underline the unbelief of the enemies when the truth is about to come out.

  3. Analysis

    Let us now discuss the question of the historicity of this scene, by first recalling the main points of our analysis.

    1. The scene of the Jewish trial around Jesus as prophet is very similar to the scene of the Roman trial around Jesus as king of the Jews. But the details of the content vary and one must avoid the easy conclusion that one scene is simply a copy of the other.

    2. One must reject the conclusion of some that Luke's account is more historical: he simply reorders the material he receives from Mark.

    3. John's account is also marked by a theological interpretation, and while the mention of a guard slapping Jesus seems to echo the synoptic accounts, it should be seen rather as the use of similar older traditions.

    What, then, is the historical value of the gesture of one or more guards slapping Jesus and beating him after his interrogation by the high priest on the night of his arrest? First of all, the scene is likely, since a certain Jesus, son of Ananias, was arrested in the year 60 AD by citizens of Jerusalem for announcing the destruction of the temple, and suffered bruises while he remained silent, before being handed over to the Roman authorities (Josephus, Jewish War, 6.5.3, #302). It is therefore understandable that Christian tradition has remembered this violence against Jesus and has associated it with the will of God as expressed by the suffering servant of Isaiah. To attribute this violence to the Sanhedrin on the part of Mark and Matthew is probably not historical, especially if, as is thought, the meeting of the Sanhedrin took place some time before the arrest of Jesus. What is clear is that Christian tradition wanted to express the judgment that, by their decision, the Sanhedrin was not only responsible for the death of Jesus, but for all the harm done to him.

Next chapter: The Three Denials of Jesus by Peter

List of chapters

Les injures des Juifs et les moqueries à l’égard de Jésus
(Mc 14, 65; Mt 26, 67-68; Lc 22, 63-65; Jn 18, 22-23)


Sommaire

Cette scène de moquerie et de mauvais traitements lors du procès juif autour de Jésus comme prophète est très semblable à celle du procès romain autour de Jésus comme roi des Juifs. Il est possible qu’il y ait une forme d’amalgame dans les deux récits. Mais au sein même du procès juif, il y a des divergences dans les récits évangéliques qu’on ne peut ignorer.

Le récit de Marc, dont dépendent Matthieu et Luc, met l’accent sur l’ironie de la situation, alors qu’on implique Jésus dans un jeu d’enfant de l’époque où il doit deviner/prophétiser celui qui l’a touché, après avoir prophétisé plutôt la destruction du temple et sa reconstruction en trois jours, ainsi que la venue de fils de l’homme dans le ciel ; or, justement, la scène comporte des mots clés du récit du serviteur souffrant d’Isaïe 50 (gifles, visage, crachats) dont Jésus est en train de réaliser la prophétie. Matthieu structure le style un peu trop libre de Marc et en clarifie le contenu : d’une part, l’allusion au serviteur souffrant est resserré en écrivant en toutes lettres qu’on lui crache au visage, ce qui l’oblige en sauter la mention du visage voilé qui devient implicite dans le jeu d’enfant qui suit ; d’autre part, il insère l’interpellation de messie dans les moqueries, établissant un lien explicite avec les annonces de la reconstruction du temps et de sa venue dans le ciel qui ont été faites comme messie, et un lien également avec l’interpellation de roi des juifs au procès romain. Luc réarrange tout le matériel si bien que la scène a lieu avant le procès devant le Sanhédrin et dans la cour intérieure du palais où on se chauffait, et les angles sont adoucis : les abus physiques (crachats et gifles) sont éliminés et le rapprochement avec le serviteur souffrant d’Isaïe est déplacé vers les Actes des Apôtres et remplacé par le modèle du martyr qui tient ferme dans l’adversité. Quant à cette phrase qu’il partage seulement avec Matthieu (Quel est celui qui t’a frappé? ), elle provient sans doute d’une tradition orale que les deux évangélistes auraient ajoutée à leur source sans se concerter.

La scène a-t-elle une valeur historique ? Que le Sanhédrin lui-même ait brutalisé Jésus ne l’est sans doute pas. Mais on a au premier siècle des précédents où des gardes auraient occasionné des contusions à un accusé.


  1. Traduction
  2. Commentaire
    1. Des comparaisons amenées par les récits évangéliques de la moquerie juives
    2. Le récit marcien
    3. Le récit matthéen
    4. Le récit lucanien
  3. Analyse

  1. Traduction

    Les passages chez Matthieu, Luc ou Jean qui sont parallèles à Marc sont soulignés. Ce qui est propre à Matthieu et Luc est en couleur bleue.

    Marc 14Matthieu 26Luc 22Jean 18
    65 Et certains commencèrent à cracher sur lui et à couvrir son visage et à le souffleter et à lui dire : « Prophétise! » Et les gardes s'occupèrent de lui (avec) des gifles.67 Alors ils lui crachèrent au visage et le souffletèrent; mais il y avait ceux qui le giflèrent, disant : « Prophétise pour nous, Messie! Quel est celui qui t’a frappé? »63 Et les hommes qui le gardaient se moquaient de lui, (le) frappant 64 et, l’ayant couvert, ils l’interrogeaient, disant : « Prophétise! Quel est celui qui t’a frappé? » 65 Et blasphémant, ils disaient beaucoup d’autres (choses) contre lui.22 …un des gardes qui se tenait (là), donna une gifle à Jésus en disant : « (C’est) ainsi (que) tu réponds au grand prêtre? » 23 Jésus lui répondit : « Si j’ai mal parlé, témoignage de ce qui est mal; mais si (j’ai) bien (parlé), pourquoi me frappes-tu? »

  2. Commentaire

    1. Des comparaisons amenées par les récits évangéliques des moqueries juives

      1. Comparaisons entre les scènes juive et romaine des mauvais traitements/moqueries

        Les biblistes sont divisés : certains acceptent comme historique à la fois la scène juive des mauvais traitements/moqueries et la scène romaine, d’autres refusent complètement les deux, d’autres encore acceptent seulement l’une d’elles, plus particulièrement la scène romaine sur laquelle on aurait copié la scène juive. En résumé, les quatre évangiles ont une scène de mauvais traitement avant ou après le procès/interrogatoire juif. Les quatre évangiles ont une scène de moquerie par les soldats romains. Il n’est pas impossible que les deux types de scène aient pu être amalgamés.

        Tableau de l’analyse du vocabulaire dans les différents récits

        IIIIIIIVVVI
        VocabulaireIsaïe 50, 533e annonce de la passion (Mc 10, 33-34 ; Mt 20, 18-19 ; Lc 18, 31b-33Contexte d’un procès juif (Mc 14, 64-65 ; Mt 26, 65-68 ; Lc 22, 63-65 ; Jn 18, 22)Procès devant Hérode (Luc 23, 11 ; Évangile de Pierre 4, 13-14)Contexte d’un procès romain (Mc 15, 15b-20a ; Mt 27, 26b-31a ; Jn 19, 1-3)Sur la croix (Mc 15, 29-32 ; Mt 27, 39-44 ; Lc 23, 35b-39 ; Évangile de Pierre 4, 13-14)Commentaire
        #1 blasphēmein, blasphēmia : blasphémer, blasphèmeMc/Mt*, Lc**Mc/Mt**, Lc*** = Jésus accusé de blasphème (aussi Jn10, 33-36 – un parallèle à III) ; ** = Jésus blasphème contre
        #2a empaizein : se moquer deMc/Mt, LcLcLcMc/MtMc/Mt, Lc
        #2b ekmyktērizein : mépriserLcPs 22, 7 : on se moque du psalmiste abandonné. Ailleurs dans le NT, seulement Lc 16, 14 : les Pharisiens se moquent de Jésus
        #2c oneidizein : insulterEvPierreMc/MtPs 22, : le psalmiste est l’objet d’insultes ; Mt 5, 11 : « Heureux… quand on vous insultera »
        #2d : hybrizein : traiter avec arroganceLc
        #2e exouthenein : traiter avec dédain ou méprisLcLa forme double de exoudenein dans la version grecque d’Aquila sur Is 53 ; Ps 22, 7 le psalmiste est objet de mépris ; Mc 9, 12 : « Le Fils de l’homme doit …être méprisé »
        #3a trechein : pousser (courir)EvPierre
        #3b syrein : traînerEvPierre
        #4a phragelloun : flagellerMc/Mt
        #4b mastigoun, mastizein, mastix : fouetterMc/Mt, LcEvPierreJn√ = Présence du mot en Is 50, 53
        #4c : paideia, paideyein : châtiment, châtier (fouetter)Lc 23, 16.22 : Pilate offre de châtier Jésus
        #5a derein : battreLc, JnLes serviteurs de la parabole de la vigne (Mc 12, 3.5 et ||) ; dans le synagogues (Mc 13, 9)
        #5b paiein : frapperMt, LcMc 14, 47 : quelqu’un de l’assistance frappe le serviteur du grand prêtre
        #5c typtein : heurterMc/Mt
        #5d kolaphizein : heurterMc/Mt
        #5e nyssein : darder, poignarder, transpercerEvPierreJnEvPierre avec un roseau ; Jn avec une lance ; Ps 22, 17 : oryssein pour percer les mains et les pieds
        #5f : rapisma, rapizein : giflerMc/Mt, JnEvPierreJn
        #5g emptyein, emptysma : cracherMc, LcMc/MtEvPierreMc/Mt
        #6a : kephalē : tête (de Jésus)EvPierreMc/MtMc/MtMc/Mt coup à la tête ; Mt, Jn, EvPierre couronne d’épines sur la tête ; Mt inscription au dessus de la tête
        #6b opsis : visageEvPierre (cracher)
        #6c prosōpon : faceMc (couvrir) Mt (cracher)
        #6d siagōn : joueEvPierre (gifler)

      2. Comparaison entre les scènes évangéliques divergentes de la scène juive

        Les nombreuses variantes qu’on trouve dans les textes manuscrits des évangiles témoignent de l’émoi des copistes devant tant de divergences, et de leur effort d’harmoniser les différences. En effet, Marc écrit : « crache sur lui » et « couvre son visage », alors que Matthieu écrit : « cracha au visage ». Voici la réaction de certains copistes.

        • Codex Bezae (Codex Vercellensis – vieille version latine, traduction syriaque de la Peshitta, traduction copte bohaïrique) offre pour Marc la recension : crache au visage, et omet : couvre son visage.
        • Codex Coridethianus offre la recension suivante de Marc : Quel est celui qui t’a frappé?, une harmonisation avec Matthieu et Luc.

        Certains biblistes ont voulu réviser la théorie traditionnelle voulant que Matthieu et Luc dépendent de Marc, afin d’accommoder ces versions différentes des copistes. Nous ne les suivrons pas sur ce point.

    2. Le récit marcien

      • Qui crache et soufflète Jésus? D’après le contexte, ce sont les membres du Sanhédrin. Certains biblistes ont affirmé qu’il est impossible que le Sanhédrin ait eu une attitude si dure. C’est oublier que nous sommes ici devant l’œuvre de Marc qui a délibérément présenté dès le début les grands prêtres, les scribes et les anciens comme des gens hostiles à Jésus.

      • L’expression « commencèrent à » est typique du style marcien (26 fois). L’action de cracher exprime le mépris comme on le voit en Job (30, 9-10). Dans l’Ancien Testament, elle relève de la punition pour quelqu’un qui est coupable (Nb 12, 14). Et il est possible que c’était le devoir du Sanhédrin d’exprimer son mépris pour quelqu’un condamné à mort.

      • L’expression « et à couvrir son visage » fait probablement référence à un jeu bien connu des lecteurs. Le Onomasticon de Pollux mentionne trois jeux où on couvre les yeux :

        1. Il y a un jeu du chat-loup où un joueur ferme les yeux et cherche les autres pour les toucher, le défi étant de les identifier sans voir
        2. Il y a le jeu où un joueur se couvre les yeux avec la main et où il doit deviner avec quelle main quelqu’un d’autre l’a frappé
        3. Il y a enfin le jeu où un joueur a les yeux bandés et cherche à trouver les autres alors qu’on le frappe avec les coquilles de papyrus.

        L’analogie avec ces jeux d’enfant montre clairement que nous sommes devant une scène burlesque pour mettre au défi la capacité de Jésus à prophétiser. L’ironie est qu’il y a eu deux prophéties de Jésus lors de son procès, celui de reconstruire le temple en trois jours après qu’il soit détruit, et celui du Fils de l’homme qui vient sur les nuages et assis à la droite de la Puissance, et maintenant il serait incapable de rencontrer les exigences d’un jeu d’enfant. Marc s’attend à ce que son auditoire perçoive cette ironie, puisque Jésus a déjà prédit la trahison de Judas et l’abandon des disciples, ce qui s’est réalisé. L’ironie est à son comble quand Pierre le renie au milieu du procès, comme Jésus l’avait dit, et que le centurion confesse qu’il est Fils de Dieu lorsqu’il expire.

      • La scène se termine avec les gardes qui le giflent. Il s’agit de gardes juifs qui suivent leur maîtres. Pourquoi Marc termine-t-il ainsi cette scène avec des gifles ? En fait, Marc s’inspire du serviteur souffrant de Is 50, 6-7 (LXX : « J'ai abandonné mon dos aux flagellations, et mes joues aux gifles, et je n'ai point détourné mon visage de l'humiliation des crachats. Et le Seigneur Maître m'a prêté son secours »). Les mots soulignés apparaissent dans le passage de Marc. C’est ainsi que le lecteur aura saisi une autre ironie : Jésus accompli une prophétie du grand prophète Isaïe. Il y a dans le texte de Marc quelque chose d’artistique et de théologique.

    3. Le récit matthéen

      • Matthieu ne se gêne pas pour reprendre à sa façon le texte de Marc dont certains éléments semblent lui déplaire, comme l’expression « commencèrent à » qu’il élimine, sa manière trop libre d’accumuler les infinitif (cracher, couvrir, souffleter, dire) qu’il remplace par des phrases plus équilibrée en regroupant de manière plus logique les divers gestes du Sanhédrin (il distingue deux groupes qui posent chacun deux actions) avant leur prise de parole qui devient le point culminant.

      • Pourquoi Matthieu ne reprend-il pas l’expression de Marc « couvrir son visage », mais opte plutôt pour « crachèrent au visage » ? Premièrement, on peut penser qu’il entend accentuer le parallèle avec le serviteur souffrant d’Isaïe où on parle de cracher au visage. Deuxièmement, on comprend bien que, si le visage est voilé, il ne peut plus recevoir de crachat. Troisièmement, puisque son auditoire comprend bien l’allusion au jeu d’enfant qui suit, il n’est pas nécessaire de mentionner que le visage de Jésus était voilé.

      • Le point le plus saisissant de Matthieu est cette phrase absente de Marc mais présente chez Luc : Quel est celui qui t’a frappé? Si Matthieu et Luc écrivent en utilisant tous les deux le texte de Marc, comment peuvent-ils avoir un texte commun alors qu’ils ne se connaissent pas ? Plutôt que d’imaginer qu’un copiste aurait effacé cette phrase de Marc, il est plus simple de penser que nous sommes devant une tradition orale bien connue que Matthieu et Luc auraient à leur façon tous les deux intégrée à leur récit, d’autant plus que le jeu d’enfant auquel on fait référence était bien connu dans l’Antiquité. Et il faut souligner le travail pédagogique remarquable de Matthieu qui, après l’écho d’Isaïe 50, 6 (cracher, visage, gifler), termine la scène avec la demande de prophétiser, une scène qui sera suivie par le reniement de Pierre, confirmant la capacité de Jésus à prophétiser ; il y a quelque chose de dramatique dans cette fin.

      • L’expression « Messie ! », au vocatif (interpellation), est unique dans toute la Bible. Cela accentue le parallèle avec le procès romain on l’interpellera sous le titre de « Roi des Juifs ! » (au vocatif). C’est d’autant plus unique qu’on ne possède aucun autre témoignage de quelqu’un qu’on aurait désigné sous le titre de « messie » au premier siècle. Pour Matthieu, Jésus est ce messie de la lignée davidique, comme le montre son récit de l’enfance. Et c’est en tant que messie qu’il a annoncé la reconstruction du temple et la venue du Fils de l’homme dans les nuages, tout comme Marc. À la différence de Marc, il est beaucoup plus explicite ; et au lieu placer les railleries autour de ce titre lors de la crucifixion, Matthieu préfère les placer ici, accentuant le côté dramatique de la scène, puisqu’elle sera suivie par le reniement de Pierre, celui-là même qui fut le premier à le reconnaître comme messie.

    4. Le récit lucanien

      • Le cadre de Luc est différent : nous ne sommes plus à la fin d’un procès de nuit par les autorités, mais la scène se passe de nuit, après le chant du coq, mais avant le début du procès le matin au Sanhédrin. De plus, le lieu n’est plus la salle du Sanhédrin où Jésus est interrogé, mais bien le jardin intérieur du palais (aulē) où on se chauffe auprès du feu, le lieu même où Pierre l’a renié et où Jésus l’a regardé pour lui offrir son pardon.

      • Il ne faut pas en déduire que Luc aurait bénéficié d’une autre source que celle de Marc. On reconnaît plutôt son travail rédactionnel, où il introduit un vocabulaire qui lui est cher, par exemple synechein (se saisir, six fois chez Luc). Et même s’il n’emploie pas les mêmes mots, c’est la même réalité qu’il décrit : par exemple « hommes » désignent les mêmes personnes que les « gardes » chez Marc et Jean. Il en de même de empaizein (se moquer) qui fait partie des annonces de la passion par Jésus. Chez Marc, la prédiction se réalise lors du procès romain (15, 20) avant d’être crucifié. Chez Luc, qui veut éviter le mauvais traitement par les Gentils, la prédiction se réalise ici, ainsi que lors de la comparution devant Hérode (23, 11) et en croix (23, 36). Le thème de la moquerie est si dominant que les abus physiques sur la personne de Jésus ne sont plus nécessaires et Luc se permet de les éliminer. Enfin, si Marc a mis dans la bouche du grand prêtre une accusation de blasphème à l’encontre de Jésus, Luc refuse de reprendre cette scène où l’autorité juive du peuple de Dieu accuserait ainsi le fils de Dieu de blasphémer contre Dieu, une situation impensable ; chez lui le blasphème est plutôt associé à tous ces gestes de moqueries et de mépris à l’égard de Jésus (Et blasphémant, ils disaient beaucoup d’autres (choses) contre lui), une attitude arrogante face à celui qui est le visage de Dieu.

      • Il y a cependant des choses qui surprennent chez Luc. Il y a d’abord le fait qu’il élimine les crachats et les gifles du récit de Marc, alors que c’était une façon chez ce dernier d’associer Jésus au serviteur souffrant d’Isaïe. Pourquoi ? On doit d’abord noter la décision de Luc de déplacer vers le procès d’Étienne dans les Actes (7) une partie du procès de Jésus devant le Sanhédrin, et une référence oblique a lieu dans les Actes au serviteur souffrant avec le récit autour de l’eunuque éthiopien (8, 26-39). Mais il faut surtout reconnaître que Luc est intéressé par une autre image de Jésus, celui du modèle du martyr qui demeure inébranlable devant les interrogatoires hostiles et les moqueries blasphématoires, un modèle qu’on trouve dans les livres des Maccabées (2 M 6 – 7 ; 4 M 6 et 8 – 14). Ce modèle sera repris dans les Actes des Apôtres avec Étienne, Pierre et Paul.

      • Une autre chose surprend chez Luc, le sens qu’il semble donner à la demande de prophétiser. Car chez Mc/Mt cette demande fait suite à deux prophéties de Jésus lors de son procès, mais chez Luc ne procès n’a pas encore eu lieu. Pourquoi reprendre cette demande alors que le contexte a changé ? La réponse pourrait être double. D’une part, tout au long de son évangile, Luc a accentué la réputation de Jésus d’être un prophète (on le salue comme prophète en 7, 16 ; 9, 18.19 ; Jésus se compare aux prophètes en 4, 24.27 ; 13, 33-34), et donc la demande de prophétiser ferait écho à tous ces passages. D’autre part, Luc anticiperait peut-être ce qui s’en vient au petit matin, alors que le Sanhédrin lui demandera, sans y croire, s’il est messie et fils de Dieu ; il soulignerait avec ironie l’incroyance des ennemis alors que la vérité est sur le point d’éclater.

  3. Analyse

    Discutons maintenant de la question de l’historicité de cette scène. Rappelons d’abord les principaux points de notre analyse.

    1. La scène du procès juif autour de Jésus comme prophète est très semblable à celle du procès romain autour de Jésus comme roi des Juifs. Mais les détails du contenu varient et il faut éviter la conclusion facile qu’une scène est simplement une copie de l’autre

    2. Il faut rejeter la conclusion de certains que le récit de Luc est plus historique : il réordonne tout simplement le matériel qu’il reçoit de Marc

    3. Le récit de Jean est également marqué par une interprétation théologique, et si la mention d’un garde qui gifle Jésus semble faire un écho aux récits synoptiques, il faut plutôt y voir l’utilisation de traditions plus anciennes semblables

    Quelle est donc la valeur historique du geste d’un ou plusieurs gardes qui giflent Jésus et le frappent après son interrogatoire par le grand prêtre la nuit de son arrestation ? Tout d’abord, la scène est vraisemblable, puisqu'un certain Jésus, fils d’Ananias, fut arrêté en l’an 60 de notre ère par des citoyens de Jérusalem pour avoir annoncé la destruction du temple, et a eu à subir des contusions alors qu’il demeurait silencieux, avant d’être remis aux autorités romaines (Josèphe, Guerre juive, 6.5.3, #302). Aussi on peut comprendre que la tradition chrétienne se soit rappelé de cette violence à l’égard de Jésus et l’ait associé à la volonté de Dieu exprimée par le serviteur souffrant d’Isaïe. Le fait d’attribuer cette violence au Sanhédrin de la part de Marc et Matthieu n’est probablement pas historique, surtout si, comme on le pense, la rencontre du Sanhédrin a eu lieu quelque temps avant l’arrestation de Jésus. Ce qui est clair, la tradition chrétienne a voulu exprimer le jugement que, par leur décision, le Sanhédrin était non seulement responsable de la mort de Jésus, mais de tout le mal qu’on lui a fait.

 

Brown v.1: Acte 2, scène 2 - #21. Les injures des Juifs et les moqueries à l’égard de Jésus, pp 568-586 (version anglaise).


   Sujet suivant: Les trois reniements de Jésus par Pierre

Retour à la table des matières Raymond E. Brown, La mort du Messie. De Gethsémani au tombeau. Un commentaire de la Passion dans les quatre évangiles. v. 1