Raymond E. Brown, The Death of the Messiah,
v.1, Act 2, scene 1 - #20. Analysis Covering All Four Parts of the Sanhedrin Proceedings, pp 548-560

(detailed summary)


Analysis Covering All Four Parts of the Sanhedrin Proceedings


Summary

It was not until the end of the 19th century that critical studies of the passion narrative appeared, particularly the account of the Sanhedrin's session. At that time, doubts began to be raised about its historical value, which led to a lively debate. Today three positions stand out: 1) the Sanhedrin's account is only a copy of the trial before Pilate, 2) the Sanhedrin's account combines two different narratives, 3) the present account is a gloss on a pre-evangelical account.

Since there is no consensus on how to reconstruct the pre-evangelical account, it is better to start from the Gospel accounts and find the indisputable facts they have in common. From this emerges a tradition which contains a session of the Sanhedrin and an accusation concerning the temple, the interrogation by the high priest before his surrender to the Roman authorities, the question of his messiahship and his identity as a son of God, to which the question of blasphemy is linked. It must be deduced that Jesus had been known for a long time, even before his last week in Jerusalem, and had already aroused the hostility of the Jewish authorities, especially through his preaching and actions in the temple precincts. His fate had been determined by a meeting of the Sanhedrin which was not a trial in the technical sense and where Jesus was not present. His arrest took place on the Mount of Olives with the help of Judas. An interrogation followed at the palace of the high priest before he was handed over to the Roman authorities. Discussions about his messiahship and his status as a son of God reflect the Christian controversies with the Jews around the year 40 or 50. Admitting such a pre-evangelical sequence helps us to better understand the work of Mark, who sewed together different stories in order to offer a catechetical account that is easy to understand and that people could memorize.


  1. The Development of Scholarship and Some Current Approaches
  2. Common Factors in the Gospels
    1. Method
    2. Common facts that are indisputable
    3. Proposal on the sequence of a pre-existing Gospel
    4. The value of this proposal

  1. The Development of Scholarship and Some Current Approaches

    • It was primarily Jewish historians who began to question Mark's portrayal of the trial before the Sanhedrin. But the first comprehensive and critical treatment came from W. Brandt in 1893 with his book Die evangelische Geschichte und der Ursprung des Christenthums (The History of the Gospels and the Origins of Christianity). German studies then took two directions: some found the basic historical core in Mark, others in Luke. However, in 1931 a major development occurred with H. Lietzmann's Der Prozess Jesu (The Trial of Jesus). According to him, Mark 14:55-64 (the contradictory false witnesses, the accusation of the destruction of the temple, the expression of faith in the mouth of the high priest, the question of blasphemy) is not historical, but rather an insertion of the evangelist. There was indeed a Roman trial, but the Christians added a religious trial, because they considered the issue to be primarily religious.

    • As one can imagine, a very lively debate ensued. Some (Goguel) argued that the accusation of the destruction of the temple cannot be a Christian invention, just as the claim about messiahship is too elementary, and that the Jewish trial would be justified by Pilate's need for support. Others (Dibelius) proposed the idea that Mark used a pre-existing account, but one which had no historical value. The debate continued after the last war with the remark (Burkill) that Mark 15:1 (And immediately in the morning the chief priests prepared a council with the elders and scribes and all the Sanhedrin; and after they had bound Jesus, they took him away and delivered him to Pilate) seems to ignore the trial that has just taken place; Mark appears as an incompetent writer who does not see his contractions. All this has provoked many reactions from biblical scholars who have tried to demonstrate the historical value of the story (Blizler, K. Schubert).

    • Today we tend to move away from the debate on historicity to concentrate on Mark's compositional techniques. Here are the three most important positions on the trial before the Sanhedrin.

      1. A composition based on the trial before Pilate

        There is a great similarity between the two trials (14: 55-64 and 15: 2-5): the charges of external witnesses, the presence of a lead interrogator who asks similar questions and receives similar answers. However, one must be cautious in drawing conclusions, since a similar parallel can be drawn with Peter's denial.

      2. The combination of two stories

        Two accounts (false witnesses and the destruction of the temple: 14: 57-59; the interrogation of the high priest: 61b-62) are said to have been combined, giving the impression of duplication. But the proponents of this position fail to properly evaluate Mark's compositional techniques, as if he had found these two accounts ready-made and would have been content to extend these themes into the rest of the Gospel.

      3. A gloss or commentary from an earlier account

        The difficulty with this position is to establish what comes from the earlier tradition and what has been added by the Gospels. On this point, there are many theories, some more complex than others, and no consensus. Let us name a few biblical scholars: Pesch, Benoit and Boismard, Donahue, Gnilka, Lürhrmann.

  2. Common Factors in the Gospels

    1. Method

      Since there is no consensus on the reconstruction of a pre-existing Gospel, it is better to remain at the level of the present Gospels and work with what they have in common. This method will provide a guide to determine what preceded them. It is generally recognized that Mark and John are independent and did not know each other. But even accepting that Matthew and Luke are dependent on Mark, we can admit that they may have been aware of a pre-evangelical tradition at the time they copied Mark.

    2. Common facts that are indisputable

      • The four Gospels speak of a Sanhedrin session, and the accusation that Jesus would cause the destruction of the temple was prominent. The only difference is that for John and Luke (see the account about Stephen in Acts) Jesus was not present, and in Mark this accusation is brought by others. The session ends with a decision to put him to death.

      • In the four Gospels Jesus is questioned by his Jewish contemporaries about his messiahship. Nowhere does he deny it: the answer is affirmative in Mark, affirmative with a nuance in Matthew, evasive in Luke and John. This question is linked to that of his status as a son of God, which receives an affirmative answer in Mark, John and Luke, a nuanced answer in Matthew. The four Gospels contain an affirmation about the son of man that in some way adds a glorified dimension to the titles of messiah and son of God. And the reaction where one sees blasphemy around one or other of these titles also appears in the four Gospels.

      • The four Gospels speak of an interrogation with Jesus before he was handed over to the Romans. In Mark/Matthew and John it is conducted by the high priest, in Luke by the Sanhedrin in the early morning. Likewise, all four Gospels mention the mistreatment that Jesus must have suffered on the night of his arrest. In Mark/Matthew and John, they occur after his interrogation, before at Luke's. The synoptics also include mockery of Jesus the prophet, which is not present in John.

    3. Proposal on the sequence of a pre-existing Gospel

      The fact of speaking of a sequence in the pre-existing material, which the evangelists would have rearranged according to their theological purpose, does not imply that we are dealing with historical events, but rather with narratives which are closer to the events themselves than the evangelical narratives.

      • According to pre-Gospel tradition, when Jesus came to Jerusalem at the end of his life, he was already known among the Jerusalemites and already hated by the religious authorities. And it was his preaching and his action within the temple precincts, including his act of cleansing and the allusion to his destruction, which was the catalyst for the hostility of the religious authorities. Mark's account of Jesus spending his entire ministry in Galilee and going to Jerusalem only at the end of his life is a simplification; moreover, for John and even Luke (see 13:34) Jesus went to Jerusalem several times.

      • In the last period of his life that Jesus spends in Jerusalem, a session of the Sanhedrin is called to decide his fate. The threat he poses to the temple is discussed, without it being a trial in the technical sense. A decision is made to put him to death, and so plans are made to hand him over to the Roman governor.

      • As the pre-evangelical tradition takes shape in the decade following Jesus' resurrection, debate rages between Jews and Christians about Jesus' messiahship and his title as Son of God. This debate rubs off on the passion narrative by associating the title of messiah with the title of son of God, and by presenting a Jesus who does not deny his messiahship and claims to be a son of God, and this would lead to his death; for the association of the two titles with the person of Jesus was seen as blasphemous. But there is no unanimity as to whether this was the subject of discussion within the Sanhedrin or rather belongs to the general atmosphere that led the Sanhedrin to act.

      • Finally, with the help of Judas, Jesus was seized at the Mount of Olives and brought to the palace of the high priest for interrogation, before being handed over to the Romans. It was remembered that the disciples were not there to support him, and that even Peter denied him. Jesus therefore became a lonely figure and was beaten by those who held him captive.

    4. The value of this proposal

      • This proposal makes more intelligible the way in which the evangelists reshaped the tradition they received. John has kept the simplicity of the interrogation. Mark, followed by Matthew and partly by Luke, combined with the interrogation echoes of an earlier Sanhedrin session in which the fate of Jesus was decided, leading to his subsequent arrest. This combination would explain the oddities of the present account such as the accusation concerning the sanctuary which appears in the 3rd person and which Jesus does not answer, or the accusation of blasphemy related to the titles of the Messiah/Son of God which is at the heart of the interrogation, and which no longer appears in the Roman trial.

      • These quirks arose by putting together incidents that were separate in tradition. But then why did Mark do this? It was probably a way of simplifying things for him in order to support his catechetical point. This point is very much his signature for the whole of his Gospel. Why not bring together disparate items, but which have a common theme, in order to create a dramatic effect that Christians will easily understand and remember. This is what he had already done at the beginning of his Gospel by bringing together healings and controversies to create a typical Jesus day, or by bringing together some of Jesus' parables.

Next chapter: The Jewish Abuse and Mockery of Jesus

List of chapters

Analyse couvrant les quatre parties du procès devant le Sanhédrin


Sommaire

Ce n’est qu’à la fin du 19e siècle que sont apparues des études critiques sur le récit de la passion, en particulier du récit de la séance du Sanhédrin. On a alors commencé à mettre en doute sa valeur historique, ce qui a entraîné un vif débat. Aujourd’hui trois positions se démarquent : 1) la séance du Sanhédrin n’est qu’une copie du procès devant Pilate, 2) la séance du Sanhédrin combine deux récits différents, 3) le récit actuel est une glose sur un récit préévangélique.

Comme il n’y a pas de consensus dans la façon de reconstituer le récit préévangélique, il vaut mieux partir des récits évangéliques et de retrouver les faits indiscutables qu’ils ont en commun. De là se dégage une tradition qui contient une séance du Sanhédrin et une accusation concernant le temple, l’interrogatoire par le grand prêtre avant sa remise aux autorités romaines, la question de sa messianité et de son identité comme fils de Dieu, à laquelle se rattache la question du blasphème. Il faut en déduire que Jésus était connu depuis longtemps, avant même sa dernière semaine à Jérusalem, et avait déjà suscité l’hostilité des autorités juives, surtout par sa prédication et ses actions dans l’enceinte du temple. Son sort avait été déterminé par une séance du Sanhédrin qui n’était pas un procès au sens technique et où Jésus n’était pas présent. Son arrestation a lieu au Mont des oliviers à l’aide de Judas. Un interrogatoire suit au palais du grand prêtre avant sa remise aux autorités romaines. Les discussions sur sa messianité et son statut de fils de Dieu est le reflet des controverses chrétiennes avec les juifs autour de l’an 40 ou 50. Le fait d’admettre une telle séquence préévangélique permet de mieux comprendre le travail de Marc qui a cousu ensemble des récits différents, afin de proposer un récit catéchétique facile à comprendre et que les gens pourraient mémoriser.


  1. Le développement des études érudites et les approches courantes
  2. Les facteurs communs dans les évangiles
    1. La méthode
    2. Les faits communs qui sont indiscutables
    3. Proposition sur la séquence d’un évangile préexistant
    4. La valeur de cette proposition

  1. Le développement des études érudites et les approches courantes

    • Ce sont d’abord les historiens juifs qui ont commencé à mettre en doute le portrait que donne Marc du procès devant le Sanhédrin. Mais le premier traitement complet et critique provint de W. Brandt, en 1893, avec son livre : Die evangelische Geschichte und der Ursprung des Christenthums (L’histoire des évangiles et les origines du christianisme). Les études allemandes prirent alors deux directions : les unes trouvant chez Marc le noyau historique de base, les autres le trouvant chez Luc. Mais c’est en 1931 que survint un développement majeur avec H. Lietzmann, Der Prozess Jesu (Le procès de Jésus). Selon lui, Marc 14, 55-64 (les faux témoins qui se contredisent, l’accusation de destruction du temple, l’expression de foi dans la bouche du grand prêtre, la question du blasphème) n’est pas historique, mais plutôt une insertion de l’évangéliste. Il y a bien eu un procès romain, mais les chrétiens ont ajouté un procès religieux, car ils considéraient que l’enjeu était avant tout religieux.

    • Comme on peut l’imaginer, un débat très vif s’en suivit. Certains (Goguel) ont argumenté que l’accusation de destruction du temple ne peut être une invention chrétienne, tout comme l’affirmation sur la messianité qui est trop élémentaire, et que le procès juif se justifierait par le besoin de Pilate d’avoir des appuis. D’autres (Dibelius) ont proposé l’idée que Marc a utilisé un récit préexistant, mais qui n’avait pas de valeur historique. Le débat s’est poursuivit après la dernière guerre avec la remarque (Burkill) que Marc 15, 1 (Et aussitôt, le matin, les grands prêtres préparèrent un conseil avec les anciens, les scribes, et tout le Sanhédrin; puis, après avoir ligoté Jésus, ils l'emmenèrent et le livrèrent à Pilate) semble ignorer le procès qui vient d’avoir lieu; Marc y apparaît comme un rédacteur incompétent qui ne voit pas ses contractions. Tout cela a provoqué beaucoup de réactions de la part de biblistes qui ont cherché à démontrer la valeur historique du récit (Blizler, K. Schubert).

    • Aujourd’hui on tend à s’éloigner du débat sur l’historicité pour se concentrer sur les techniques de composition de Marc. Voici les trois positions les plus importantes sur le procès devant le Sanhédrin.

      1. Une composition à partir du procès devant Pilate

        Il y a une grande similarité entre les deux procès (14, 55-64 et 15, 2-5) : les accusations de témoins externes, la présence d’un interrogateur principal qui pose des questions semblables et reçoit des réponses semblables. Cependant il faut être prudent dans les conclusions qu’on peut en tirer, puisqu’on peut établir un parallèle semblable avec le reniement de Pierre.

      2. La combinaison de deux récits

        On aurait deux récits (les faux témoins et la destruction du temple : 14, 57-59; l’interrogatoire du grand prêtre : 61b-62) qui auraient été combinés, d’où l’impression de duplication. Mais les tenants de cette position échouent à bien évaluer les techniques de composition propres à Marc, comme s’il avait trouvé tout faits ces deux récits et se serait contenter de prolonger ces thèmes dans le reste de l’évangile.

      3. Une glose ou commentaire provenant d’un récit antérieur

        La difficulté de cette position est d’établir qu’est-ce qui vient de la tradition antérieure et qu’est-ce qui a été ajouté par l’évangiles. Sur ce point, il y a beaucoup de théories, les unes plus complexes que les autres, et aucun consensus. Nommons quelques biblistes : Pesch, Benoit et Boismard, Donahue, Gnilka, Lürhrmann.

  2. Les facteurs communs dans les évangiles

    1. La méthode

      Comme la reconstruction d’un évangile préexistant ne reçoit aucun consensus, il vaut mieux demeurer au niveau des évangiles actuels et travailler avec ce qu’ils ont en commun. Cette méthode offrira un guide pour déterminer ce qui les a précédés. On reconnaît généralement que Marc et Jean sont indépendants et ne se connaissaient pas. Mais même en acceptant que Matthieu et Luc sont dépendants de Marc, on peut admettre qu’ils pouvaient être conscients d’une tradition préévangélique au moment où ils copiaient Marc.

    2. Les faits communs qui sont indiscutables

      • Les quatre évangiles parlent d’une session du sanhédrin et l’accusation que Jésus causerait une destruction du temple a occupé une place importante. La seule différence est que pour Jean et Luc (voir le récit d’Étienne dans les Actes) Jésus n’était pas présent, et chez Marc cette accusation est apportée par d’autres. La session se termine avec une décision de le mettre à mort.

      • Dans les quatre évangiles Jésus est questionné par ses contemporains juifs sur sa messianité. Nulle part il la nie : la réponse est affirmative chez Marc, affirmative avec une nuance chez Matthieu, évasive chez Luc et Jean. Cette question est liée à celle de sa qualité de fils de Dieu, qui reçoit une réponse affirmative chez Marc, Jean et Luc, une réponse nuancée chez Matthieu. Les quatre évangiles contiennent une affirmation sur le fils de l’homme qui idéalise les titres de messie et de fils de Dieu. Et la réaction où on voit un blasphème autour de l’un ou l’autre de ces titres apparaît également dans les quatre évangiles.

      • Les quatre évangiles parlent d’un interrogatoire avec Jésus avant sa remise aux Romains. Chez Marc/Matthieu et Jean, elle est menée par le grand prêtre, chez Luc par le Sanhédrin au petit matin. De même, les quatre évangiles mentionnent un mauvais traitement que doit subir Jésus la nuit de son arrestation. Chez Marc/Matthieu et Jean, ils se produisent après son interrogatoire, avant chez Luc. Les synoptiques y joignent des moqueries sur Jésus prophète, qui sont absents chez Jean.

    3. Proposition sur la séquence d’un évangile préexistant

      Le fait de parler d’une séquence dans le matériel préexistant, qu’auraient réarrangé les évangélistes selon leur propos théologique, n’implique pas qu’on est devant des événements historiques, mais plutôt devant des récits qui sont plus près des événements eux-mêmes que les récits évangéliques

      • D’après la tradition préévangélique, quand Jésus est venu à Jérusalem à la fin de la vie, il était déjà connu chez les Jérusalémites et déjà détesté par les autorités religieuses. Et ce fut sa prédication et son action dans l’enceinte du temple, incluant son geste de purification et l’allusion à sa destruction qui furent le catalyseur de l’hostilité des autorités religieuses. Le récit de Marc où Jésus passe tout son ministère en Galilée et ne va à Jérusalem qu’à la fin de sa vie est une simplification; d’ailleurs, pour Jean et même Luc (voir 13, 34) Jésus est allé plusieurs fois à Jérusalem.

      • Dans la dernière période de sa vie que Jésus passe à Jérusalem, une session du Sanhédrin est convoquée pour décider de son sort. On discute de la menace qu’il représente pour le temple, sans qu’il s’agisse d’un procès au sens technique. Une décision est prise de le mettre à mort, et donc on planifie de le remettre au gouverneur romain.

      • Au moment où se forme la tradition préévangélique dans la décennie qui suit la résurrection de Jésus, le débat fait rage entre Juifs et Chrétiens sur la messianité de Jésus et son titre de fils de Dieu. Ce débat déteint sur le récit de passion en associant le titre de messie à celui de fils de Dieu, et en présentant un Jésus qui ne nie pas sa messianité et affirme être fils de Dieu, et cela conduirait à sa mort; car l’association des deux titres à la personne de Jésus était perçue comme blasphématoire. Mais il n’y a pas d’unanimité pour déterminer si cela a fait l’objet de la discussion au sein du Sanhédrin ou appartient plutôt à l’atmosphère générale qui a amené le Sanhédrin à agir.

      • Enfin, avec l’aide de Judas, on s’est saisi de Jésus au Mont des oliviers et on l’a amené au palais du grand prêtre pour y être interrogé, avant d’être remis aux Romains. On s’est souvenu que les disciples n’étaient pas là pour le soutenir, et que même Pierre l’a renié. Jésus devenait dès lors une figure solitaire et qu’il fut battu par ceux qui le gardaient captif.

    4. La valeur de cette proposition

      • Cette proposition rend plus intelligible la façon dont les évangélistes ont refaçonné la tradition qu’ils ont reçue. Jean a gardé la simplicité de l’interrogatoire. Marc, suivi par Matthieu et en partie par Luc, a combiné avec l’interrogatoire des échos d’une session du Sanhédrin qui a eu lieu plus tôt et où s’est décidé le sort de Jésus, entraînant par la suite son arrestation. Cette combinaison expliquerait les bizarreries du récit actuel comme l’accusation concernant le sanctuaire qui apparaît à la 3e personne et à laquelle Jésus ne répond pas, ou encore comme l’accusation de blasphème reliée aux titres de messie/fils de Dieu qui est au cœur de l’interrogatoire, et qui n’apparaît plus dans le procès romain.

      • Ces bizarreries sont apparues par le fait de mettre ensemble des incidents qui étaient séparés dans la tradition. Mais alors pourquoi Marc a-t-il fait cela? C’était probablement pour lui une façon de simplifier les choses afin de soutenir son propos catéchétique. Ce point est tout à fait sa signature pour l’ensemble de son évangile. Pourquoi ne pas réunir des items disparates, mais qui ont un thème commun, afin de créer un effet dramatique que les chrétiens comprendront facilement, et retiendront dans leur mémoire. C’est ce qu’il avait déjà fait au début de son évangile en réunissant des guérisons et des controverses pour créer une journée typique de Jésus, ou encore en réunissant une partie des paraboles de Jésus.

 

Brown v.1: Acte 1, scène 1 - #20 Analyse couvrant les quatre parties du procès devant le Sanhédrin pp 548-560 (version anglaise).


Retour à la table des matières Raymond E. Brown, La mort du Messie. De Gethsémani au tombeau. Un commentaire de la Passion dans les quatre évangiles. v. 1