Raymond E. Brown, The Death of the Messiah,
v.1, Act 1, scene 1 - #4. Prayer in Gethsemane, Part One: Entry And Preparations, pp 146-162

(detailed summary)


Prayer in Gethsemane, Part One: Entry And Preparations
(Mk 14: 32-34; Mt 26: 36-38; Lk 22: 40; Jn 18: 1b)


Summary

The action takes place in a garden on the Mount of Olives, a place called Gethsemane, which means: oil press. The disciples in the scene correspond to the Twelve. Jesus wants to isolate himself with three disciples, Peter, James and John. Even though there is no real geographical shift, Mark targets these three disciples because they claim to be exceptional, Peter boasting that he can accompany Jesus to death, James and John claiming to drink the same cup.

Mark probably takes up a presynoptic tradition which interpreted Jesus' stay in Gethsemane in the light of Psalm 42 (Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you troubled within me?), but he accentuates Jesus' distress by using a very strong word, distraught, which only he uses, probably to enable his persecuted community to identify with this situation. This refers fundamentally to the eschatological context to which Jesus referred several times in the course of his ministry, and which requires us to remain awake, constantly ready to face it.

Luke eliminates all references to Jesus' distress, since he is addressing a public marked by stoicism and for whom these expressions of anguish would have been considered sinful. His Jesus lives in deep peace with God and his attitude towards tribulations becomes the model for every Christian. His prayer explicitly asks to avoid trial, but it will not be answered. For Jesus is called to live the eschatological or ultimate confrontation with the devil who opposes his preaching on the Reign of God.


  1. Translation
  2. Comment
    1. The Arrival of Jesus and His Disciples
    2. Jesus Troubled and Sorrowful
    3. The Approaching Trial in Luke 22:40b (peirasmos)

  1. Translation

    Parallel passages are underlined. Square brackets [] indicate parallels found in another sequence in the Gospels.

    Mc 14Mt 26Lc 22Jn 18
    32 And they come into the plot of land the name of which was Gethsemane; and he says to his disciples, “Sit here while I pray.”36 Then Jesus comes with them into the plot of land called Gethsemane; and he says to the disciples, “Sit in this place until, going away, I pray there.”40a And being at the place,1b (after Jesus has gone out with his disciples « across the Kidron valley »): 1b where there was a garden into which he entered with his disciples. [2a Judas... knew this place 2b because many times Jesus had come there together with his disciples.]
    33 And he takes along Peter, and James, and John with him, and he began to be greatly distraught and troubled.37 And having taken along Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to be sorrowful and troubled.
    34 And he says to them, “My soul is very sorrowful unto death. Remain here and keep on watching.”38 Then he says to them, “My soul is very sorrowful unto death. Remain here and keep on watching with me.”40b he said to them, “Keep on praying not to enter into trial.”[12 : 27a (end of the public ministry when Greeks have come, marking the coming of the hour) : “Now is my soul disturbed.”]

  2. Comment

    Luke's shorter story belongs to the one about his arrest. John presents a similar account, but at the end of his ministry. In Mark/Matthew the scene has three stages: 1) Jesus arrives at the scene with his disciples, 2) he chooses three to accompany him, 3) he goes away to pray.

    1. The Arrival of Jesus and His Disciples (Mark 14:32-33a; Matthew 26:36-37a; Luke 22:40; John 18:1b)

      1. The disciples

        1. In Mark the group of disciples is the equivalent of the group of the Twelve mentioned at the Last Supper (14, 17.20). But let us note that he does not mention them anymore from here until the resurrection, because they no longer act as disciples.

        2. Matthew writes "Jesus comes with them" to express the solidarity of the disciples. However, he does not mention James and John, but rather the two sons of Zebedee, to focus only on Peter.

      2. The site

        1. Luke does not mention the name of the place, but simply says "that place", just like John in 18:2.

        2. Mark identifies it with "Gethsemane", a Hebrew/Aramaic word (Gat-šěmānî) which means: oil press. This name has no theological significance and probably comes from historical memory. Luke would not have retained it according to his habit of avoiding exotic words.

        3. John refers to a garden (kēpos), a place where vegetables, flowers or trees are usually found. The Church Fathers saw it as a reference to the Garden of Eden (Genesis 1-3), but nothing can support this thesis. Josephus (Jewish War, 6.1.1; #6) reports that the trees on the eastern side of the city were cut down during the Roman siege of Jerusalem. It is therefore no longer possible to locate exactly where was Gethsemane with respect to the Mount of Olives. Since the 4th century, a place at the bottom of the Mount of Olives has been venerated, in particular a rock formation or cave that may have housed a wine press.

      3. The action

        1. "And (kai) they come into the plot of land". Mark is the one who uses the most "and" (kai) to connect the elements of the story together, but it should not be given any particular meaning. The same is true of his use of the plural verb, or using the present tense to describe a past action.

        2. In the synoptics, the main reason for Jesus to go to Gethsemane is to pray. Some biblical scholars have seen in Matthew's modification "Sit in this place (autou)" rather than "Sit here" as a reference to the sacrifice of Isaac ("And Abraam said to his servants, Sit ye in this place (autou) with the ass, and I and the lad will proceed thus far, and having worshipped we will return to you", Genesis 22:5).

        3. "And he takes along (paralambanō) Peter, and James Peter". We have the impression that there is no real geographical displacement, since afterwards, Jesus seems to address all the disciples. In any case, Mark intends to separate the three disciples from the others. And if Jesus, immediately afterwards, goes even further, it is a way for Mark to dramatize his progressive isolation from the support of his disciples.

      4. The named disciples

        1. Mark names the three disciples (Peter, John, James) because they are an important part of his story. They were present in the scene of the transfiguration where we find the same vocabulary ("beloved son" 9:7; "Father" in Gethsemane), the same reaction of Peter and the disciples ("he did not know what to say" 9:6; "their eyes were heavy, and they did not know what to say to him" 14:40). Matthew accentuated this parallel, but in a different way. It is different in Luke, but in his account of the transfiguration he nevertheless retains an expression from Gethsemane ("they were heavy with sleep" Luke 9:21).

        2. What is the significance of the presence of Peter, John and James? Mark includes them in three scenes: the resurrection of the daughter of Jairus (5:37-42); the transfiguration (9:2-10) and here in Gethsemane. In fact, they do not receive any special revelation, but they are witnesses: witnesses of the demonstration of power before a dead girl, witnesses of the word of God at the transfiguration and the word of Jesus that he will have to suffer, witnesses now of his anguish and weakness. And each individual is important. Peter, who said he would not be scandalized, John and James, who claimed they could drink the cup of Jesus (10:35,38), are now asleep and unable to watch for a single hour with Jesus.

    2. Jesus Troubled and Sorrowful (Mark 14:33b-34; Matthew 26:37b-38)

      1. The atmosphere suddenly changes from a Jesus who makes predictions to a Jesus who asks for the support of his relatives and their prayers, where he feels "fear and anxiety", where he finds himself in a state that the epistle to the Hebrews describes as "violent clamour and tears" (5:7).

      2. Mark first uses the verb ekthambeō (to be greatly distraught), which he is the only one to use (4 times) in the entire New Testament and the only other case in our Bible is found in Sirach 30:9 (LXX: "Cocker thy child, and he shall make thee distraught (ekthambeō): play with him, and he will bring thee to heaviness). This word expresses deep confusion, with physical repercussions, before a terrifying event. This word is so strong that Matthew preferred to substitute it lypeō (to be sorrowful). Mark then uses the word adēmoneō (to be troubled), which is rooted in being separated from others and causes anguish; this word is quite unique and only Matthew is content to repeat it (it is totally absent from the Septuagint).

      3. Why does Mark insist on the deep distress in Jesus? It has to do with the fate that awaits him, prepared by his enemies, of which he expressed his consciousness earlier (14, 20.24.27). The context directs us to the feeling of being abandoned. But this distress is certainly related to the eschatological context of his suffering and death from which he prays for deliverance.

      4. "My soul (psychē) is very sorrowful (perilypos) unto death". The soul here refers to the whole person, its "I". This word has a connection with Psalm 42 (LXX): "Why are you cast down, O my soul (psychē), and why are you troubled (perilypos) within me?". The presynoptic tradition probably read this psalm with Jesus in Gethsemane in mind. But how to interpret the "to death"? Four hypotheses have been put forward by the biblical scholars:

        1. Death means the degree of sadness, as in Psalm 55:5: "My heart is troubled within me, the pangs of death fall upon me".
        2. It is a consecutive death: the sadness brings it close to death.
        3. Death has a final meaning: the sadness is such that Jesus would prefer to die.
        4. Death has a temporal meaning: the sadness will last until his death.

        First of all, it is unthinkable that Jesus would want to die while he prays to avoid death. It is more likely that points i and ii are closest to Mark's meaning. A similar presentation can be found in Sirach 37:2: "Is it not mortal sorrow for a man that a fellow man or a friend who becomes an enemy?" (Let us remember the role of Judas).

      5. « Remain here and keep on watching (grēgoreō)". This last verb is in the present tense imperative, emphasizing continuity. The interpretation of the biblical scholars can be grouped into five points:

        1. This would be the vigilance proper to the Easter vigil where rabbinic law required that at least part of the community should not sleep.
        2. Jesus asks to watch so that his disciples may be witnesses to his prayer and suffering.
        3. One must be careful not to be surprised by the enemy that comes
        4. It would be a call for solidarity so that Jesus would not be alone.
        5. Jesus' call would refer to the attitude required in the eschatological context of Jesus' death.

        It is the latter case that is most likely. It should be pointed out right away that grēgoreō will return three times (14, 34.37.38) just as in the parable of the doorkeeper called to watch over the end of the eschatological discourse in chapter 13. Let us remember. This parable begins with "Be on your guard, keep watch, for you do not know when the time will come", and presents us with a master who entrusts his house to a doorkeeper and warns him that he may return in the evening, in the middle of the night, at the crowing of the cock, or in the morning. The context of Gethsemane, where Jesus returns more than once to his disciples, refers to this parable. And this call was to resound in the ears of Mark's community, which was undergoing persecution or was subject to opposing forces.

    3. The Approaching Trial in Luke 22:40b (peirasmos)

      1. It will have been noticed that Luke does not offer any portrait of a Jesus in distress. On the contrary, he remains in control, and if he asks the disciples to pray, it is to accompany him in his prayer. Of course, his Jesus acknowledges that the Son of Man will have to suffer, but he never describes this inner reaction to suffering; throughout his life, Jesus lives a deep peace with God.

      2. One of the aims of the evangelist is to propose Jesus as a model to all those Christians who suffer or die as martyrs. It is the least that Jesus himself lives out what he preached: "When they bring you before the synagogues, rulers and authorities, do not worry about how to defend yourself or what to say" (Luke 12:11). Above all, Luke must have been aware of the impact that a portrait like Mark's could have on his Greco-Roman audience. In an environment marked by stoicism, where the expression of emotions such as grief in the face of suffering was considered a sin of irrationality and the expression of a lack of self-control, such a portrait would have caused scandal. An exemplary attitude towards death was that of Socrates. Also, if it is allowed for women or crowds to weep over him (23, 27.48), it is not allowed for Jesus in the eyes of Luke.

      3. "Keep on praying not to enter (eiserchomai) into (eis) trial (peirasmos)". Here Luke, in his own way, takes up the eschatological tone of Mark. In order to emphasize this trial, Luke mentions it three times during this evening: 22, 28.40.46. The double use of eis, as a prefix to the verb and as a preposition, brings out the idea that the important thing is not so much the help required during the trial, but the avoidance of the trial.

      4. But what exactly does this test refer to? First of all, let us remember that at the beginning of the Gospel, Jesus undergoes the trial for 40 days in the desert. There is a biblical background to this scene, since this is what Moses (see Exodus 34:28) and Elijah (1 Kings 19:8) went through. It is customary for God to test the righteous, as He did with Abraham. In the beginning, it is God who is at the source of these trials, which take the form of a test to verify the faithfulness of believers. But gradually, other people are at the origin of these trials, including Satan. But in this scene of Luke, there is something more serious at stake, which is related to the eschatological trial.

        1. Explicitly in Luke, Satan is the agent of this trial, but nevertheless God intervenes to allow this struggle so that the Son can come out victorious.
        2. The scene is similar to what we find in the Qumran writings where there is a struggle between light and darkness (1 QS 3, 20-25).
        3. There is an echo of the eschatological perspective in Revelation, for example, when the Church of Philadelphia says, "Since you have kept my commandment of constancy, I in turn will keep you from the hour of trial (peirasmos) which will come upon the whole world to test (peirazō) the inhabitants of the earth" (Rev 3:10).
        4. But before the final trial, there are also all these trials on the road, as these words to the Church of Smyrna show: "I know your affliction and your poverty, even though you are rich. I know the slander on the part of those who say that they are Jews and are not, but are a synagogue of Satan. Do not fear what you are about to suffer. Beware, the devil is about to throw some of you into prison so that you may be tested, and for ten days you will have affliction. Be faithful until death, and I will give you the crown of life." (Rev 2:9-10).
        5. For Luke, the devil opposes the proclamation of the Reign of God. He intervened at first to test Jesus in the desert, and now he comes back for a frontal attack, using Judas and even the disciples.
        6. So Gethsemane is a crucial moment, it is the final test for Jesus and his disciples. Jesus' prayer therefore asks not to enter the trial (peirasmos), a prayer that will not be answered. And the disciples, while fleeing, will not drink the cup that Jesus is called to drink. For this peirasmos contains something extra human, and only God can protect from its most destructive effects.

Prayer in Gethsemane, Part Two: Jesus Prays to the Father

List of chapters

Prière à Gethsémani, première partie : entrée et préparation
(Mc 14, 32-34; Mt 26, 36-38; Lc 22, 40; Jn 18, 1b)


Sommaire

L’action a lieu dans un jardin du mont du Mont des Oliviers, un lieu appelé Gethsémani, qui signifie : pressoir à huile. Les disciples de la scène correspondent aux Douze. Jésus veut s’isoler avec trois disciples, Pierre, Jacques et Jean. Même si on ne perçoit pas de véritable déplacement géographique, Marc cible ces trois disciples, car ils prétendent être exceptionnels, Pierre en se vantant de pouvoir accompagner Jésus jusqu’à la mort, Jacques et Jean en prétendant boire la même coupe.

Marc reprend probablement une tradition présynoptique qui interprétait le séjour de Jésus à Gethsémani à la lumière du psaume 42 (O mon âme, pourquoi es-tu triste, et pourquoi me troubles-tu ?), mais il accentue la détresse de Jésus en utilisant un mot très fort, frayeur, qu’il est le seul à utiliser, probablement pour permettre à sa communauté persécutée de s’identifier à cette situation. Celle-ci se réfère fondamentalement au contexte eschatologique auquel Jésus a fait plusieurs fois référence au cours de son ministère, et qui exige qu’on demeure éveillé, sans cesse prêt à y faire face.

Luc élimine toutes les allusions à la détresse de Jésus, car il s’adresse à un public marqué par le stoïcisme et pour qui ces expressions d’angoisse auraient été considérées comme pécheresses. Son Jésus vit une paix profonde avec Dieu et son attitude face aux tribulations devient le modèle pour tout chrétien. Sa prière demande explicitement d’éviter l’épreuve, mais elle ne sera pas exaucée. Car Jésus est appelé à vivre l’affrontement eschatologique ou ultime avec le démon qui s’oppose à sa prédication sur le Règne de Dieu.


  1. Traduction
  2. Commentaire
    1. L’arrivée de Jésus et de ses disciples
    2. Jésus ressent angoisse et tristesse
    3. Le procès prochain chez Luc 22, 40b (peirasmos)

  1. Traduction

    Les passages parallèles sont soulignés. Les parenthèses carrées [] indiquent des parallèles trouvés dans une autre séquence dans les évangiles.

    Mc 14Mt 26Lc 22Jn 18
    32 Et ils parviennent à un domaine du nom de Gethsémani, et il dit à ses disciples: "Restez ici tandis que je prierai."36 Alors Jésus parvient avec eux à un domaine appelé Gethsémani, et il dit aux disciples: "Restez en ce lieu, tandis que je m'en irai prier là-bas."40a Parvenu en ce lieu,(1a après que Jésus soit allé avec ses disciples de l'autre côté du torrent du Cédron) : 1b où il y avait un jardin dans lequel il entra, ainsi que ses disciples.
    33 Puis il prend avec lui Pierre, Jacques et Jean, et il commença à ressentir effroi et angoisse.37 Et prenant avec lui Pierre et les deux fils de Zébédée, il commença à ressentir tristesse et angoisse.[2a Judas… connaissait aussi ce lieu, parce que bien des fois Jésus et ses disciples s'y
    34 Et il leur dit: "Mon âme est très triste à en mourir; demeurez ici et veillez."38 Alors il leur dit: "Mon âme est très triste à en mourir, demeurez ici et veillez avec moi."40b il leur dit: "Priez, pour ne pas entrer en épreuve."étaient réunis.

  2. Commentaire

    Le récit plus bref de Luc appartient à celui de son arrestation. Jean présente un récit semblable, mais à la fin de son ministère. Chez Marc/Matthieu la scène comporte trois étapes : 1) l’arrivée de Jésus sur les lieux avec ses disciples, 2) son choix des trois pour l’accompagner, 3) son déplacement à l’écart pour prier.

    1. L’arrivée de Jésus et de ses disciples (Marc 14, 32-33a; Matthieu 26, 36-37a; Luc 22, 40; Jean 18, 1b)

      1. Les disciples

        1. Chez Marc, le groupe des disciples est l’équivalent de celui des Douze mentionné au dernier repas (14, 17.20). Mais notons qu’il ne les mentionne plus à partir d’ici jusqu’à la résurrection, car ils n’agissent plus comme disciples.

        2. Matthieu écrit « Jésus parvient avec eux », pour exprimer la solidarité des disciples. Par contre, il ne mentionne pas Jacques et Jean, mais parle plutôt des deux fils de Zébédée, pour mettre seulement l’accent sur Pierre.

      2. Le lieu

        1. Luc ne mentionne pas le nom du lieu, mais se contente de dire « ce lieu », tout comme Jean en 18, 2.

        2. C’est Marc qui l’identifie à « Gethsémani », un mot hébreu/araméen (Gat-šěmānî) qui signifie : pressoir à huile. Ce nom n’a pas de signification théologique et provient sans doute d’un souvenir historique. Luc ne l’aurait pas retenu selon son habitude d’éviter les mots exotiques.

        3. Jean fait référence à un jardin (kēpos), un lieu où on trouve habituellement des légumes, des fleurs ou des arbres. Les Pères de l’Église y ont vu une référence au jardin d’Eden (Genèse 1-3), mais rien ne peut appuyer cette thèse. Josèphe (Guerre juive, 6.1.1; #6) rapporte que les arbres du côté est de la ville furent coupés lors du siège romain de Jérusalem. Il n’est donc plus possible de situer Gethsémani sur le mont des Oliviers. Depuis le 4e siècle, on vénère un lieu au bas du mont des Oliviers, en particulier une formation rocheuse ou cave qui pourrait avoir hébergé un pressoir.

      3. L’action

        1. « Et (kai) ils parviennent à un domaine ». Marc est celui qui utilise le plus « et » (kai) pour relier ensemble les éléments du récit, mais il ne faut pas y donner une signification particulière. Il en est de même de son utilisation du verbe au pluriel, ou encore le fait d’utiliser le présent pour décrire une action passée.

        2. Dans les synoptiques, la principale raison pour Jésus de se rendre à Gethsémani est pour prier. Certains biblistes ont vu dans la modification de Matthieu « Restez en ce lieu (autou) », plutôt que « Restez ici » une allusion au sacrifice d’Isaac (« Abraham dit à ses serviteurs: "Restez en ce lieu (autou) avec l'âne. Moi et l'enfant nous irons jusque là-bas, nous adorerons et nous reviendrons vers vous." , Genèse 22, 5).

        3. « Puis il prend avec (paralambanō) lui Pierre, Jacques et Jean ». On a l’impression qu’il n’y a pas de véritable déplacement géographique, puisque par la suite, Jésus semble s’adresser à l’ensemble des disciples. Quoi qu’il en soit, Marc entend séparer les trois disciples d’avec les autres. Et si Jésus, tout de suite après, va encore plus loin, c'est une façon pour Marc de dramatiser son isolement progressif du soutien de ses disciples.

      4. Les disciples nommés

        1. Si Marc nomme les trois disciples (Pierre, Jean, Jacques), c’est qu’ils constituent un élément important de son récit. Ils étaient présents dans la scène de la transfiguration où on retrouve le même vocabulaire (« fils bien-aimé » 9, 7; « Père » à Gethsémani), la même réaction de Pierre et des disciples (« il ne savait que dire » 9, 6; « leurs yeux étaient alourdis, et ils ne savaient que lui répondre » 14, 40). Matthieu à accentuer ce parallèle, mais de manière différente. C’est différent chez Luc, mais dans son récit de la transfiguration il retient néanmoins une expression de Gethsémani (« ils étaient accablés de sommeil » Luc 9, 21).

        2. Quelle est la signification de la présence de Pierre, Jean et Jacques? Marc les inclut dans trois scènes : la ressuscitation de la fille de Jaïre (5, 37-42); la transfiguration (9, 2-10) et ici à Gethsémani. En fait, ils ne reçoivent pas de révélation spéciale, mais sont des témoins : témoin de la démonstration de puissance devant une fille morte, témoin de la parole de Dieu à la transfiguration et de la parole de Jésus qu’il aura à souffrir, témoin maintenant de ses angoisses et de sa faiblesse. Et chaque individu est important. Pierre qui affirmait qu’il ne serait pas scandalisé, Jean et Jacques qui prétendaient pouvoir boire la coupe de Jésus (10, 35.38), les voilà assoupis et incapables de veiller une seule heure avec Jésus.

    2. Jésus ressent angoisse et tristesse (Marc 14, 33b-34; Mathieu 26, 37b-38)

      1. L’atmosphère change soudainement : on passe d’un Jésus qui fait des prédictions à un Jésus qui demande le soutien de ses proches et de leur prière, où il ressent « effroi et angoisse », où il se retrouve dans un état que l’épitre aux Hébreux décrit comme une « violente clameur et des larmes » (5, 7).

      2. Marc utilise d’abord le verbe ekthambeō (être grandement effrayé), qu’il est le seul à utiliser (4 fois) dans tout le Nouveau Testament et que le seul autre cas dans la Bible se retrouve dans le Siracide 30, 9 (LXX : Cajole ton enfant, il te terrorisera (ekthambeō), joue avec lui, il te fera pleurer). Ce mot exprime une profonde confusion, avec des répercussions physiques, avant un événement terrifiant. Ce mot est tellement fort que Matthieu a préféré lui substituer lypeō (être triste). Marc utilise ensuite le mot adēmoneō (être troublé), qui s’enracine dans le fait d’être séparé des autres et cela cause de l’angoisse; ce mot est tout à fait unique et seul Matthieu se contente de reprendre (il est totalement absent de la Septante).

      3. Pourquoi Marc insiste-t-il sur la détresse si profonde chez Jésus? Il faut que cela soit relié au sort qui l’attend, préparé par ses ennemis, dont il a exprimé la conscience plus tôt (14, 20.24.27). Le contexte nous oriente vers le sentiment d’être abandonné. Mais cette détresse est certainement reliée au contexte eschatologique de ses souffrances et de sa mort dont il prie d’être délivré.

      4. « Mon âme (psychē) est triste (perilypos) à en mourir ». L’âme désigne ici toute la personne, son « Je ». Cette parole a un lien avec le psaume 42 (LXX) : « O mon âme (psychē), pourquoi es-tu triste (perilypos), et pourquoi me troubles-tu ? ». La tradition présynoptique devait probablement lire ce psaume en pensant à Jésus à Gethsémani. Mais comment interpréter le « à en mourir ». Quatre hypothèses ont émises par les biblistes :

        1. La mort signifie le degré de tristesse, comme le psaume 55, 5 : « Mon cœur se tord en moi, les affres de la mort tombent sur moi »
        2. Il s’agit d’une mort consécutive : la triste l’amène tout près de la mort
        3. La mort a un sens final : la tristesse est telle que Jésus préfèrerait mourir
        4. La mort a un sens temporel : la tristesse durera jusqu’à sa mort

        Tout d’abord, il est impensable que Jésus veuille mourir alors même qu’il prie pour éviter la mort. Il est plus probable que les points i et ii soient les plus près du sens de Marc. On trouve une présentation semblable dans le Siracide 37, 2 : « N'est-ce pas pour un homme un chagrin mortel qu'un camarade ou un ami qui devient ennemi? » (Souvenons-nous du rôle de Judas).

      5. « demeurez ici et veillez (grēgoreō) ». Ce dernier verbe est à l’impératif présent, mettant l’accent sur la continuité. On peut regrouper l’interprétation des biblistes en cinq points :

        1. Il s’agirait de la vigilance propre à la veillée pascale où la loi rabbinique exigeait qu’au moins une partie de la communauté ne dorme pas
        2. Jésus demande de veiller pour que ses disciples soient témoins de sa prière et de ses souffrances
        3. Il faut veiller afin de ne pas être surpris par l’ennemi qui vient
        4. Il s’agirait d’un appel à la solidarité afin que Jésus ne soit pas seul
        5. L’appel de Jésus ferait référence à l’attitude requise dans le contexte eschatologique de la mort de Jésus

        C'est ce dernier cas qui est le plus probable. Il faut tout de suite signaler que grēgoreō reviendra trois fois (14, 34.37.38) tout comme dans la parabole du portier appelé à veiller à la fin du discours eschatologique du chapitre 13. Rappelons-nous. Cette parabole commence avec « Soyez sur vos gardes, veillez, car vous ne savez pas quand ce sera le moment », et nous présente un maître qui confie sa maison à un portier et qui l’avertit qu’il peut revenir le soir, au milieu de la nuit, au chant du coq ou le matin. Le contexte de Gethsémani où Jésus revient plus d’une fois vers ses disciples fait référence à cette parabole. Et cet appel devait résonner dans les oreilles de la communauté de Marc qui subissait les persécutions ou était sujet à des forces adverses.

    3. L'épreuve prochaine chez Luc 22, 40b (peirasmos)

      1. On aura remarqué que Luc n’offre aucun portrait d’un Jésus en détresse. Au contraire, il demeure en contrôle, et s’il demande aux disciples de prier, c’est pour l’accompagner dans sa prière. Bien sûr, son Jésus reconnaît que le Fils de l’homme aura à souffrir, mais jamais il ne décrit cette réaction intérieure à la souffrance; tout au long de sa vie, Jésus vit une paix profonde avec Dieu.

      2. L’un des buts de l’évangéliste est de proposer Jésus comme un modèle à tous ces chrétiens qui souffrent ou meurent martyrs. C’est la moindre des choses que Jésus vive lui-même ce qu’il a prêché : « Lorsqu'on vous conduira devant les synagogues, les magistrats et les autorités, ne cherchez pas avec inquiétude comment vous défendre ou que dire » (Luc 12, 11). Et surtout, Luc devait être conscient de l’impact que pouvait avoir un portrait comme celui de Marc sur son auditoire gréco-romain. Dans un milieu marqué par le stoïcisme, où l’expression des émotions comme le chagrin face à la souffrance était considérée comme un péché d’irrationalité et l’expression d’un manque de contrôle de soi, un tel portrait aurait fait scandale. Une attitude exemplaire face à la mort était celle de Socrate. Aussi, s’il est permis aux femmes ou à la foule de pleurer sur lui (23, 27.48), ce n’est pas permis pour Jésus aux yeux de Luc.

      3. « Priez, pour ne pas entrer (eiserchomai) en (eis) épreuve (peirasmos) ». Ici, à sa façon, Luc reprend le ton eschatologique de Marc. Pour mettre l’accent sur cette épreuve, Luc le mentionne trois fois au cours de cette soirée : 22, 28.40.46. La double utilisation de eis, comme préfixe au verbe et comme préposition, fait ressortir l’idée que l’important est moins l’aide requise pendant l’épreuve, mais l’évitement de l’épreuve.

      4. Mais à quoi cette épreuve fait référence au juste? Tout d’abord, rappelons-nous qu’au début de l’évangile, Jésus subit l’épreuve pendant 40 jours au désert. Il y a un arrière-fond biblique à cette scène, puisque c’est ce qu’ont vécu Moïse (voir Exode 34, 28) et Élie (1 Rois 19, 8). Or, il est habituel pour Dieu de mettre à l’épreuve les justes, comme il l’a fait avec Abraham. Au début, c’est Dieu qui est à la source de ces épreuves qui prennent la forme d’un test pour vérifier la fidélité des croyants. Mais progressivement, d’autres personnes sont à l’origine de ces épreuves, incluant Satan. Mais dans cette scène de Luc, il y a quelque chose de plus grave qui est en jeu et qui est relié à l’épreuve eschatologique.

        1. De manière explicite chez Luc, c’est Satan qui est l’agent de cette épreuve, mais toutefois Dieu intervient pour permettre cette lutte afin que le Fils puisse en sortir victorieux
        2. La scène ressemble à ce qu’on trouve dans les écrits de Qumran où on assiste à un combat entre la lumière et les ténèbres (1 QS 3, 20-25)
        3. On a un écho de la perspective eschatologique dans l’Apocalypse, par exemple lorsqu’on dit l’Église de Philadelphie : « Puisque tu as gardé ma consigne de constance, à mon tour je te garderai de l'heure de l'épreuve (peirasmos) qui va fondre sur le monde entier pour éprouver (peirazō) les habitants de la terre » (Ap 3, 10)
        4. Mais avant l’épreuve finale, il y a aussi toutes ces épreuves sur la route, comme le montre ces mots à l’Église de Smyrne : « Je connais tes tribulations et ta pauvreté - tu es riche pourtant - et les diffamations de ceux qui usurpent le titre de Juifs - une synagogue de Satan plutôt! -- Ne crains pas les souffrances qui t'attendent: voici, le Diable va jeter des vôtres en prison pour vous tenter, et vous aurez dix jours de tribulation. Reste fidèle jusqu'à la mort, et je te donnerai la couronne de vie. » (Ap 2, 9-10).
        5. Pour Luc, le démon s’oppose à la proclamation du Règne de Dieu. Il est intervenu au début pour mettre Jésus à l’épreuve au désert, et maintenant il revient pour une attaque frontale, se servant de Judas et même des disciples.
        6. Ainsi, Gethsémani est un moment crucial, c’est l’épreuve finale pour Jésus et ses disciples. La prière de Jésus demande donc de ne pas entrer dans l’épreuve (peirasmos), une prière qui ne sera pas exaucée. Et les disciples, en fuyant, ne boiront pas la coupe que Jésus est appelé à boire. Car, ce peirasmos comporte quelque chose d’extra humain, et Dieu seul peut protéger de ses effets les plus destructeurs.

 

Brown v.1: Acte 1, scène 1 - #4. Prière à Gethsémani, première partie : entrée et préparation pp 146-162 (version anglaise).


Retour à la table des matières Raymond E. Brown, La mort du Messie. De Gethsémani au tombeau. Un commentaire de la Passion dans les quatre évangiles. v. 1