entête

Psalm 151


Where does Psalm 151 come from?

The majority of our Bibles present us with 150 psalms, numbered from 1 to 150. This is because the Hebrew Bible recognizes only 150 psalms in its canon of Scripture, on which our various translations are based. Yet various manuscripts of the Septuagint, that Greek translation of the Hebrew text, add a hundred and fifty-first psalm. In fact, it is the codex Synaiticus (4th c.) which gives it the number 151. Thus, it was thought that this psalm was a Greek composition.

It was not until 1956, during the archaeological excavations at Qumran, that this hundred and fifty-first psalm was revealed. Indeed, an incomplete scroll of psalms (11QPs) was discovered in cave 11, more precisely, thirty-six psalms, whole or fragmentary, forming part of the canonical collection, as well as eight psalms, pseudo-Davidic, forming a small extra-canonical collection. This scroll is dated to the beginning of the first century CE. Now, in the extra-canonical psalms, the Hebrew original of our psalm 151 has been found, more precisely two psalms have been found, let us call them Psalm 151a and Psalm 151b, one of which is the original of the first part of the Greek version, and the other is the original of the second part of the Greek version; unfortunately, of Psalm 151b, we have only the very beginning, the rest being truncated.

What does this mean? The Greek version of our psalm 151 is an amalgam and synthesis of two Hebrew and extra-canonical psalms. This would explain the somewhat abrupt sequence of the Greek version: mentioning that David has made a musical instrument, it suddenly moves on to sending a messenger to anoint him with oil, and suddenly David is meeting the Stranger to behead him. The original Hebrew version allows us to understand the sequence better: Psalm 151 describes a David who is a shepherd of his flock, who makes a musical instrument to praise God's greatness, marveling at the beauty of creation and noting that nature is incapable of praising itself; this is his mission, until the prophet Samuel comes and chooses him in the name of God, preferring him to his bigger and stronger brothers, to be the leader of his people, the people of the covenant. Then Psalm 151b, another psalm, begins with the sequence where David must confront a Philistine, the giant Goliath; the Greek version of the psalm refers to this as the Stranger. By amalgamating these two psalms concisely into one, the Septuagint made it more difficult to understand them.

Psalm 151a is an echo of 1 Samuel 16:1-13 where Yahweh sends the prophet Samuel to Jesse in Bethlehem to choose a new king in place of the disgraced Saul, and after meeting with the first seven sons of Jesse, chooses the eighth, the youngest, the one who was tending the flock, and who played the zither, we will learn later, to anoint him. As for Psalm 151b, it is an echo of 1 Samuel 17:50-51 where David slays the Philistine Goliath with his slingshot, then running to stand over him, he seizes the giant's sword, pulls it from its scabbard before cutting off his head.

Its composition

There is a consensus among scholars that, although the Hebrew psalms 151a and 151b were found at Qumran, they are not a composition of the Essenes. It is believed that the canon of the 150 psalms was fixed as early as the 2nd century BC. But it was normal to find in the prayer book of the pious Jews the canon of the 150 psalms, as well as other apocryphal prayers such as the prayer of Manasseh and Psalm 151 because of their spiritual value. These Hebrew Psalms 151a and 151b may date to the 3rd c. BCE (F. M. Cross, David, Orpheus, and Psalm 151: 3-4, Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research, 231(1978)69-71). As for the Greek translation that amalgamated and somewhat truncated them, it must date back to no later than the middle of the 2nd c. BCE, when it was completed. The author of the translation is aware that it is not part of the canon of the 150 psalms, since he explicitly writes that it is not numbered.

Psalm 151 in history

Since the earliest Latin translations (vetus latina) of the psalms were made from the Greek text, Psalm 151 is among them. It is also present in the Peshitta (late 4th c.), that Syriac version of the Bible, as supernumerary psalms. It is also found in the Armenian, Coptic, and Ethiopian versions. At the end of the 4th century, St. Jerome (347 – 420) undertook a new Latin version that would become the Vulgate. But his first version of the psalms was based on the Greek text, and thus included Psalm 151, which became the Gallican Psalter, because it was widely used in Gaul; it was only later that he made a new translation based on the Hebrew text, from which Psalm 151 was excluded. In churches where the liturgical language is Greek and the Septuagint is used, it is understandable that Psalm 151 is well known: Athanasius of Alexandria (298 – 376) mentions it, truly believing that this psalm was written by David; likewise Apollinaris of Laodicea (310 – 390) and Isidore of Pelusa (died 450) seem to consider it canonical. It was not until the 13th century that it was definitively eliminated from the psalter in the Latin churches.

But in 1759, the Syriac version of 11QPs 151 was reported by Giuseppe Simone Assemani (1687 – 1768), who was in charge of Christian manuscripts in the Vatican Library, and was finally published in 1887 (W. Wright, Some Apocryphal Psalms in Syriac, Proceedings of the Society of Biblical Archeology, 9(1887)257-266). In 1930, Martin Noth (Die fünf syrisch überlieferten apocryphen Psalmen, Zeitschrift für die altestamenliche Wissenschaft, 48(1930)1-23) devotes a study to it.

Today, Psalm 151 is still present in several Orthodox Churches, such as the Armenian Apostolic Church, which uses it in its Pentecost liturgy, and the Ethiopian and Eritrean Churches, which use it on Good Friday night. It is absent from Protestant and Catholic Bibles, being considered apocryphal. However, with the impetus of the whole ecumenical movement over the past few decades, it has reappeared in a number of translations, such as the Revised Standard Version (RSV, 1957) the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV, 1989), and the French Ecumenical Translation of the Bible (TOB, 1978).

-André Gilbert, Decembre 2018

References :

  • James H. Charlesworth et J.A. Sanders, More Psalms of David, The Old Testament Pseudepigrapha, v. 2, ed. James H. Charlesworth. Doubleday: Garden City, 1985, p. 609-624.
  • André Dupont-Sommer, Psaumes pseudodavidiques, La Bible. Les écrits intertestamentaires. Paris: France, Gallimard (Bibiliothèque de la Pléiade), 1987, p. 309-331.
  • Stefan Munteanu, Psaume 151, https://www.bible-service.net/extranet/current/pages/200031.html


Commentary

According to 11Qs 151a-b found at Qumran, David, in an autobiographical form, relates that his father made him a shepherd of the family flock, and that he, seeing the beauty of nature, made himself a musical instrument to give glory to God with his songs. It was at this time that Samuel came to choose him, in preference to his brothers who were taller and more handsome, to become the leader of the covenant people. In the context of the third century when the Greeks controlled Palestine, this emphasis on David's musical talents has been seen as a way of countering the Greek influence of Orpheusism and the myth of Orpheus, an inspired musician and singer who is said to have composed countless hymns, capable of charming all of nature, supposedly prophets of the mysteries of Orpheus; David could do the same. Similarly, the fact that Yahweh ignored the tallest and most beautiful to choose the smallest and youngest, can be seen as a satire of the Greek emphasis on bodily beauty. As for 11QPs 151b, it was meant to celebrate the military victory of the little David over the giant Goliath and the Philistine army; it was a sort of challenge to the Seleucid dynasty (312-63 BCE), especially to the persecutions of Antiochus Epiphanes (215 - 164 BCE).

The Septuagint text merges the two Hebrew psalms and truncates them to the point of being almost incomprehensible. After mentioning an autobiographical story and the fact that he was the youngest, it mentions that David made a musical instrument for himself while he was shepherding his father's flock, without it being clear why. When he asks the question about who will make the announcement to the Lord, it is hard to understand why this question is asked. When he tells of the coming of God's messenger to take him away from his role as a shepherd and anoint him with oil, it is not clear for what purpose. Finally, when he moves on to the episode of Goliath, everything is transformed and the whole thing becomes a religious conflict with the Stranger and his idols, and his elimination is a way of keeping religious purity. Thus, on the one hand, this story would be almost incomprehensible without a knowledge of 1 Samuel 15-16, and on the other hand, the context is no longer the influence of Greek orphism, but probably the problem of immigration.


Note: The English translation from the Greek text is from the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV). In a third column, we have placed the two Hebrew psalms (151a and 151b) found at Qumran which would be the origin of the Septuagint text. As they are more developed, we have tried to synchronize them with their Greek parallel, while keeping their own verse number; note that 151b is very fragmentary, presenting only its beginning.

Full Text

Verse Greek Text Translation from Greek (NRSV) Translation from Hebrew
   Psalm 151 A (11QPs)
1Οὗτος ὁ ψαλμὸς ἰδιόγραφος εἰς Δαυιδ καὶ ἔξωθεν τοῦ ἀριθμοῦ· ὅτε ἐμονομάχησεν τῷ Γολιαδ.
Μικρὸς ἤμην ἐν τοῖς ἀδελφοῖς μου
καὶ νεώτερος ἐν τῷ οἴκῳ τοῦ πατρός μου·
ἐποίμαινον τὰ πρόβατα τοῦ πατρός μου.
This psalm is ascribed to David as his own composition (though it is outside the number), after he had fought in single combat with Goliath.
I was small among my brothers,
and the youngest in my father’s house;
I tended my father’s sheep.
A Hallelujah of David the Son of Jesse
1 I was the smallest among my brothers,
and the youngest among the sons of my father;
and he made me shepherd of his flocks,
and the ruler over his kids.
2αἱ χεῖρές μου ἐποίησαν ὄργανον,
οἱ δάκτυλοί μου ἥρμοσαν ψαλτήριον.
My hands made a harp;
my fingers fashioned a lyre.
2 My hands made a flute,
and my fingers a lyre;
and I shall render glory to the Lord,
I thought within my self.
   3 The mountains cannot witness to him,
nor the hills proclaim (him);
the trees have elevated my words,
and the flocks my deeds.
3καὶ τίς ἀναγγελεῖ τῷ κυρίῳ μου;
αὐτὸς κύριος, αὐτὸς εἰσακούει.
And who will tell my Lord?
The Lord himself; it is he who hears.
4 For who can proclaim and who can announce,
and who can recount the deeds of the Lord?
Everything God has seen,
everything he has heard and he has listened.
4αὐτὸς ἐξαπέστειλεν τὸν ἄγγελον αὐτοῦ
καὶ ἦρέν με ἐκ τῶν προβάτων τοῦ πατρός μου
καὶ ἔχρισέν με ἐν τῷ ἐλαίῳ τῆς χρίσεως αὐτοῦ.
It was he who sent his messenger
and took me from my father’s sheep,
and anointed me with his anointing oil.
5 He sent his prophet to anoint me,
Samuel to make me great;
my brothers went out to meet him,
handsome of figure and handsome of appearance.
5οἱ ἀδελφοί μου καλοὶ καὶ μεγάλοι,
καὶ οὐκ εὐδόκησεν ἐν αὐτοῖς κύριος.
My brothers were handsome and tall,
but the Lord was not pleased with them.
6 (Although) their stature was tall,
(and) their hair handsome,
the Lord God
did not choose them.
   7 But he sent and took me from behind the flock,
and he anointed me with holy oil,
and he made me leader for his people,
and ruler over the sons of his covenant.
   Psalm 151 B (11QPs)
6ἐξῆλθον εἰς συνάντησιν τῷ ἀλλοφύλῳ,
καὶ ἐπικατηράσατό με ἐν τοῖς εἰδώλοις αὐτοῦ·
I went out to meet the Philistine,
and he cursed me by his idols.
1 At the Beginning of [Dav]id’s Po[w]er
After the Prophet of God Anointed Him
Then I s[a]w a Philistine
who was uttering taunts from the ra[nks of the enemy...]
[...................................]
7ἐγὼ δὲ σπασάμενος τὴν παρ αὐτοῦ μάχαιραν
ἀπεκεφάλισα αὐτὸν καὶ ἦρα ὄνειδος
ἐξ υἱῶν Ισραηλ.
But I drew his own sword;
I beheaded him, and took away disgrace
from the people of Israel.
 

Scroll of Psalms from Cave 11 at Qumran
(Israel Antiquities Authority 1993)

entête

Psaume 151

D'où vient le Psaume 151?

La majorité de nos bibles nous présentent 150 psaumes, numérotés de 1 à 150. Cela vient de ce que la bible hébraïque ne reconnaît que 150 psaumes dans son canon des Écritures, sur laquelle se basent nos diverses traductions. Or, divers manuscrits de la Septante, cette traduction grec du texte hébreu, ajoutent un cent-cinquante-unième psaume. En fait, c'est le codex Synaïticus (4e s.) qui lui donne le numéro 151. Ainsi, a-t-on pu penser que ce psaume était une composition grecque.

Il a fallu attendre jusqu'en 1956, lors des fouilles archéologiques à Qumran, pour éclairer ce cent-cinquante-unième psaume. En effet, on découvrit dans la grotte 11 un rouleau incomplet des psaumes (11QPs), plus précisément, trente-six psaumes, entiers ou fragmentaires, faisant partie de la collection canonique, ainsi que huit psaumes, pseudo-davidiques, formant une petite collection extra-canonique. Ce rouleau est daté du début du premier siècle de notre ère. Or, dans les psaumes extra-canoniques, on a retrouvé l'original hébreu de notre psaume 151, plus précisément on a retrouvé deux psaumes, appelons-les Psaume 151a et Psaume 151b, dont l'un est l'original de la première partie de la version grecque, et l'autres est l'original de la deuxième partie de la version grecque; malheureusement, du Psaume 151b, nous n'avons que le tout début, le reste étant tronqué.

Qu'est-ce à dire? La version grecque de notre psaume 151 est un amalgame et une synthèse de deux psaumes hébreux et extra-canoniques. Cela expliquerait l'enchaînement un peu abrupt de la version grecque : mentionnant que David a fabriqué un instrument de musique, on passe soudainement à l'envoi d'un messager pour l'oindre d'huile, et brusquement, David est à la rencontre de l'Étranger pour le décapiter. La version hébraïque originelle nous permets de mieux comprendre le déroulement : le Psaume 151 décrit un David pasteur de ses troupeaux qui fabrique un instrument de musique pour louer la grandeur de Dieu, s'émerveillant devant la beauté de la création et constatant que la nature est incapable de se louer elle-même ; c'est là sa mission, jusqu'à ce que le prophète Samuel vienne le choisir au nom de Dieu, le préférant à ses frères plus grands et plus forts, pour être le chef de son peuple, le peuple de l'alliance. Puis, le Psaume 151b, un autre psaume, commence avec la séquence où David doit affronter un Philistin, le géant Goliath; la version grecque du psaume y fait référence en parlant de l'Étranger. En amalgamant ces deux psaumes de manière concise en un seul, la Septante rendu plus difficile leur compréhension.

Le Psaume 151a est un écho de 1 Samuel 16, 1-13 où Yahvé envoie le prophète Samuel chez Jessé à Bethléem pour se choisir un nouveau roi, à la place de Saül tombé en disgrâce, et après avoir rencontré les sept premiers fils de Jessé, choisit le 8e, le plus jeune, celui qui gardait le troupeau, et jouait de la cithare, apprendrons-nous par la suite, pour lui donner l'onction. Quant au Psaume 151b, il est un écho de 1 Samuel 17, 50-51 où David abat le Philistin Goliath avec sa fronde, puis courant pour se tenir debout sur lui, il saisit l'épée du géant, la tire de son fourreau avant de lui trancher la tête.

Sa composition

Il y a un consensus chez les érudits pour dire que, même si les psaumes hébreux 151a et 151b ont été trouvés à Qumran, ils ne sont pas une composition des Esséniens. On croit que le canon des 150 psaumes était fixé dès le 2e s. av. l'ère moderne. Mais il était normal de trouver dans leur livre de prières chez les Juifs pieux le canon des 150 psaumes, ainsi que d'autres prières apocryphes comme la prière de Manassé et le Psaume 151 en raison de leur valeur spirituelle. Ces psaumes hébreux 151a et 151b pourraient remonter au 3e s. av. l'ère moderne (F. M. Cross, David, Orpheus, and Psalm 151 : 3-4, Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research, 231(1978)69-71). Quand à la traduction grecque qui les a amalgamés et quelque peu tronqués, elle doit remonter au plus tard au milieu du 2e s. avant l'ère moderne, période où elle fut complétée. L'auteur de la traduction est conscient qu'il ne fait pas partie du canon des 150 psaumes, puisqu'il écrit explicitement qu'il est hors numérotation.

Le Psaume 151 dans l'histoire

Comme les plus anciennes traductions latines (vetus latina) des psaumes ont été faites à partir du texte grec, le psaume 151 en fait partie. Il est aussi présent dans la Peshitta (fin du 4e s.), cette version syriaque de la Bible, comme psaumes surnuméraire. On le retrouve aussi dans les versions arménienne, copte et éthiopienne. À la fin du 4e s., saint Jérôme (347 – 420) entreprend une nouvelle version latine qui deviendra la Vulgate. Mais sa première version des psaumes se fera à partir du texte grec, et donc inclut le Psaume 151, ce qui deviendra le Psautier « gallican », car très utilisé en Gaulle; ce n'est que par la suite qu'il fera une nouvelle traduction à partir du texte hébraïque, où le psaume 151 sera exclu. Dans les églises où la langue liturgique est le grec et où on utilise la Septante, on peut comprendre que le Psaume 151 soit bien connu : Athanase d'Alexandrie (298 – 376) le mentionne, croyant vraiment que ce psaume a été écrit par David; de même Apollinaire de Laodicée (310 – 390) et Isidore de Péluse (mort en 450) semblent le considérer comme canonique. Ce n'est qu'au 13e s. qu'il est définitivement éliminé du psautier dans les églises latines.

Mais en 1759, la version syriaque de 11QPs 151 est signalée par Giuseppe Simone Assemani (1687 – 1768), responsable des manuscrits chrétiens à la bibliothèque du Vatican, puis est finalement publiée en 1887 (W. Wright, Some Apocryphal Psalms in Syriac, Proceedings of the Society of Biblical Archeology, 9(1887)257-266). En 1930, Martin Noth (Die fünf syrisch überlieferten apocryphen Psalmen, Zeitschrift für die altestamenliche Wissenschaft, 48(1930)1-23) lui consacre une étude.

Aujourd'hui, le psaume 151 est toujours présent dans plusieurs Églises orthodoxes, comme l'Église apostolique arménienne qui l'utilise dans sa liturgie de la Pentecôte et l'Église éthiopienne et érythréenne qui l'utilisent dans la nuit du vendredi saint. Il est absent des Bibles protestantes et catholiques, étant considéré comme apocryphe. Cependant, avec l'impulsion de tout le mouvement oecuménique depuis quelques décennies, il est réapparu dans un certain nombre de traductions, comme le Revised Standard Version (RSV, 1957) le New Revised Standard Version (NRSV, 1989), et la Traduction Oecuménique de la Bible (TOB, 1978).

-André Gilbert, décembre 2018

Références :

  • James H. Charlesworth et J.A. Sanders, More Psalms of David, The Old Testament Pseudepigrapha, v. 2, ed. James H. Charlesworth. Doubleday: Garden City, 1985, p. 609-624.
  • André Dupont-Sommer, Psaumes pseudodavidiques, La Bible. Les écrits intertestamentaires. Paris: France, Gallimard (Bibiliothèque de la Pléiade), 1987, p. 309-331.
  • Stefan Munteanu, Psaume 151, https://www.bible-service.net/extranet/current/pages/200031.html


Commentaire

Selon 11Qs 151a-b trouvé à Qumran, David, sous une forme autobiographique, raconte que son père l'a fait berger du troupeau familial, et que lui, voyant la beauté de la nature, se fit un instrument de musique pour rendre gloire à Dieu par ses chants. C'est à ce moment que Samuel est venu le choisir, de préférence à ses frères qui étaient plus grands et plus beaux, pour qu'il devienne le chef du peuple de l'alliance. Dans le cadre du 3e siècle où les Grecs contrôlent la Palestine, on a vu dans cette insistance sur les talents musicaux de David une façon de répliquer à l'influence grecque de l'orphisme et du mythe d'Orphée, un musicien et chanteur inspiré qui aurait composé d'innombrables hymnes, capable de charmer la nature entière, soi-disant prophètes des mystères d'Orphée ; David pouvait en faire tout autant. De même, le fait que Yahvé ait ignoré les plus grands et les plus beaux pour choisir le plus petit et le plus jeune, peut être vu comme une satire de l'accent des Grecs sur la beauté du corps. Quant à 11QPs 151b, il devait célébrer la victoire militaire du petit David sur le géant Goliath et l'armée des Philistins; c'était en quelque sorte un défi lancé à la dynastie des Séleucides (312-63 av. notre ère), en particulier aux persécutions d'Antiochus Épiphane (215 - 164).

Le texte de la Septante fusionne les deux psaumes hébraïques et les tronque, au point d'être presqu'incompréhensible. Après l'évocation d'un récit autobiographique et du fait qu'il était le plus jeune, il mentionne que David s'est fabriqué un instrument de musique alors qu'il était berger du troupeau de son père, sans qu'on sache trop pourquoi. Quand il pose la question sur qui fera l'annonce au Seigneur, on comprend mal pourquoi cette question est posée. Quand il raconte la venue du messager de Dieu pour l'enlever de son rôle de berger et l'oindre d'huile, on ne sait absolument pas dans quel but. Enfin, quand il passe à l'épisode de Goliath, tout est transformé et le tout devient un conflit religieux avec l'Étranger et ses idoles, et son élimination est une façon de garder la pureté religieuse. Ainsi, d'une part, ce récit serait presqu'incompréhensible sans une connaissance de 1 Samuel 15 – 16, et d'autre part le contexte n'est plus l'influence de l'orphisme grecque, mais probablement le problème de l'immigration.

Note : Nous présentons le texte grec de la Septante et sa traduction française. Dans une troisième colonne, nous avons mis en regard le deux psaumes hébraïques (151a et 151b) trouvés à Qumran qui seraient à l'origine du texte de la Septante. Comme ils sont plus développés, nous avons essayé de bien les synchroniser avec leur parallèle grec, tout en gardant leur propre numéro de verset; on notera que 151b est très fragmentaire, ne présentant que son début.


Texte intégral

Verset Texte grec Traduction du grec Traduction de l'hébreu
Psaume 151 A (11QPs)
1 Οὗτος ὁ ψαλμὸς ἰδιόγραφος εἰς Δαυιδ καὶ ἔξωθεν τοῦ ἀριθμοῦ· ὅτε ἐμονομάχησεν τῷ Γολιαδ. Μικρὸς ἤμην ἐν τοῖς ἀδελφοῖς μου καὶ νεώτερος ἐν τῷ οἴκῳ τοῦ πατρός μου· ἐποίμαινον τὰ πρόβατα τοῦ πατρός μου. Voici le psaume autographe sur David et hors numérotation. Lorsqu'il lutta en combat singulier avec Goliath. J'étais le petit parmi mes frères et le plus jeune dans la maison de mon père. Je faisais paître les moutons de mon père. Alléluia ! De David, fils de Jessé.
1 J'étais le cadet de mes frères et le plus jeune des fils de mon père. Et [celui-ci] fit de moi le pasteur de son troupeau et le chef de ses chevrettes.
2 αἱ χεῖρές μου ἐποίησαν ὄργανον, οἱ δάκτυλοί μου ἥρμοσαν ψαλτήριον. Mes mains ont fabriqué un instrument, mes doigts ont ajusté une harpe. 2 Mes mains fabriquèrent un instrument de musique et mes doigts, une lyre ; et je rendis gloire à Iahvé, m'étant dit, moi, en moi-même :
3 « Les montagnes ne Lui rendent-elles pas témoignage? Et les collines ne (Le) proclament-elles pas? » Les arbres prisèrent mes paroles et le troupeau, mes poèmes.
3 καὶ τίς ἀναγγελεῖ τῷ κυρίῳ μου; αὐτὸς κύριος, αὐτὸς εἰσακούει. Et qui fera l'annonce à mon Seigneur ? Lui, le Seigneur, lui, il écoute. 4 Car qui proclamera et qui célébrera et qui racontera les oeuvres du Seigneur? L'univers, Éloah le voit ; l'univers, Lui l'entend, et Lui prête l'oreille.
4 αὐτὸς ἐξαπέστειλεν τὸν ἄγγελον αὐτοῦ καὶ ἦρέν με ἐκ τῶν προβάτων τοῦ πατρός μου καὶ ἔχρισέν με ἐν τῷ ἐλαίῳ τῆς χρίσεως αὐτοῦ. Lui, il a envoyé son messager et il m'a enlevé aux moutons de mon père et il m'a oint de l'huile de son onction. 5 Il envoya Son prophète pour m'oindre, Samuel pour me grandir. Mes frères sortirent à sa rencontre, eux qui avaient belle forme et bel aspect,
5 οἱ ἀδελφοί μου καλοὶ καὶ μεγάλοι, καὶ οὐκ εὐδόκησεν ἐν αὐτοῖς κύριος. Mes frères étaient beaux et grands mais le Seigneur ne s'est pas complu en eux. 6 qui étaient de haute taille, qui avaient de beaux cheveux : Iahvé Dieu ne les choisit point.
7 Mais Il envoya me prendre de derrière le troupeau, et Il m'oignit de l'huile sainte, et Il fit de moi le prince de Son peuple et le chef des fils de Son Alliance.
Psaume 151 B (11QPs)
6 ἐξῆλθον εἰς συνάντησιν τῷ ἀλλοφύλῳ, καὶ ἐπικατηράσατό με ἐν τοῖς εἰδώλοις αὐτοῦ· Je suis sorti à la rencontre vers l'Étranger et contre moi il a lancé des malédictions par ses idoles. 1 Commencement des hauts [fa]its de David, après que le prophète de Dieu l'eut oint. Alors j'[entend]is un Philistin qui défait les li[gnes d'Israël] [ ] [...................................]
7 ἐγὼ δὲ σπασάμενος τὴν παρ αὐτοῦ μάχαιραν ἀπεκεφάλισα αὐτὸν καὶ ἦρα ὄνειδος ἐξ υἱῶν Ισραηλ. Mais moi j'ai tiré l'épée à son côté, je l'ai décapité et j'ai enlevé l'opprobre loin des fils d'Israël.

Rouleau des psaumes de la grotte 11 à Qumran
(Israel Antiquities Authority 1993)