entête

Sybil 2006

Gospel text

Matthew 11: 2-11

2 When John heard in prison about the messiah's actions, John sent him through his disciples 3 this message: "Are you the expected messiah or is someone else to be hoped for?" 4 Jesus then offered them this answer: "Go and tell John what you hear and see: 5 the blind recover their sight, the paralyzed walk, the lepers are cured, the deaf hear, the dead are raised and the poor receive a good news. 6 Finally, bravo anyone for whom I will not be an obstacle to believe". 7 As the disciples of John set out again, Jesus began to speak to the crowds of John, "Who did you go to see in the desert? Someone who looks like a reed flapping in the wind? 8 Tell me, who did you go to see? A man who would have dressed in silky clothes? But you know that people who wear silky clothes end up in kings' castles. 9 So tell me, who did you go to see? A prophet? Truly, I assure you, and much more than just a prophet. 10 For it is of him that this scripture is all about:

Notice my messenger that I send before you,
He will open a path for you.

11 Truly, I assure you, among the people who came into the world there is no one who is greater than John the Baptist. Yet the smallest in the domain of God is greater than him.

Studies

What future awaits these people?


Gospel commentary - Homily

What to expect from life?

A few years ago, a mother, Cynthia, gave birth to a little boy, but received this diagnosis from the doctor: "Your baby is suffering from an intellectual disability. His mental age can never exceed that of a 12 year old child". This mother, what dream can she have for her child? Meanwhile, soldiers from our country are sent on a mission to Afghanistan in the hope of establishing peace and certain human values that are considered fundamental. Result: several dead and the fear of getting bogged down in a quagmire. These two real events that I have just mentioned put our dreams to the test and ask the question: what exactly can we expect from life?

It is a similar question posed by the Gospel narrative: "Are you the one who is to come, or should we expect another?" In other words, is it really through you that God meets our expectations, or should we turn elsewhere? If we feel the need to ask the question, it is because Jesus does not match the idea of the messiah that one had imagined. We can relate ourself to that question! Think of all these messiahs sought to resolve our economic and political crises. We still hope that these messiahs will tear us away from the painful sides of life. What about Jesus?

In our narrative, Jesus makes this astonishing remark: "And blessed is anyone who takes no offense at me!", which I have translated: "bravo anyone for whom I will not be an obstacle to believe". How can Jesus be an obstacle to someone's faith? If God had left it to us to design the messiah, we would not have created a craftsman who is neither priest nor intellectual, working peacefully in his shop in Nazareth, scratching his fingers more than once. If God had left it to us to design the messiah, we would have made him someone who would suddenly end this world of misery and finally create perfect humanity. None of this has happened. This is a finding that can be an obstacle to faith.

Let us listen to what Jesus said to the disciples of John the Baptist, which I sum up like this: "I went to meet people who had all kinds of disabilities or were destitute, I healed many, but above all I gave them hope and they started walking again". Basically, Jesus does not say that infirmity, violence or poverty will no longer exist, but he says that a mysterious energy lives in him that allows him to contribute to the transformation of others so that they find life where they are. This energy is in everyone. When he says that the smallest in the Kingdom is greater than John the Baptist, he simply says that every believer has by his faith a transforming power that no great man in this world can match.

Let's go back to Cynthia, mentioned at the very beginning. She will fight with other parents so that students with disabilities have a place with other students, to give them a sense of belonging to the school. Of course, her child will not be able to attend regular classes. But her strength was to recognize the capacities and limits of her child, and through that to offer him the tools that would make him more resourceful, so that today he has a small job and does volunteer work. Meanwhile, my daughter, victim of a fall on a staircase and ending up at an orthopedic clinic, meets a nursing soldier in orthopedic training: the latter tells her that he found life in Afghanistan when mingling with soldiers and civilians, and he only dreams of going back. What then is this mysterious force which inhabits certain people, which transcends religions, and of which Jesus speaks?

The narrative of this Sunday leaves us with a question: what messiah are we waiting for? If we know how to open ourselves to reality as it is, including shattered dreams, we will have taken a first step. The second step will be to open ourselves up to the mysterious force that lives in us, and that inhabited Jesus, in order to give birth to life when we are tempted to do nothing and let death to have the best of ourself. This is what incarnation means. Jesus didn't remove suffering. He gave us a way to cope with. This is the type of messiah that is proposed to us, and that we celebrate at Christmas. Is it also our messiah?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, August 2007

Themes

Sybil 2006

Le texte évangélique

Mt 11, 2-11

2 Quand il entendit parler de sa prison des actions du Christ, Jean lui envoya par ses disciples 3 ce message : « Es-tu le messie attendu ou c’est quelqu’un d’autre qu’il faut espérer? » 4 Jésus leur offrit alors cette réponse : « Allez rapporter à Jean ce que vous entendez et voyez : 5 les aveugles recouvrent la vue, les gens paralysés marchent, les lépreux sont guéris, les sourds entendent, les morts ressuscitent et les pauvres reçoivent une bonne nouvelle. 6 Enfin, bravo pour toute personne pour laquelle je ne serai pas un obstacle pour croire. » 7 Alors que les disciples de Jean reprenaient la route, Jésus se mit à parler aux foules de Jean : « Qui êtes-vous allez voir au désert? Quelqu’un qui ressemble à un roseau qui s’agite sous l’effet du vent? 8 Dites-moi, qui êtes-vous allez voir? Un homme qui se serait habillé de vêtements soyeux? Mais vous savez bien que les gens qui portent des vêtements soyeux se retrouvent dans des châteaux de rois. 9 Alors, dites-moi, qui êtes-vous allez voir? Un prophète? Oh oui, je vous l’assure, et bien plus qu’un simple prophète. 10 Car c’est de lui qu’il s’agit dans ce passage de l’Écriture :

Remarque mon messager que j’envoie devant toi,
Il t’ouvrira un chemin en avant de toi.

11 Vraiment, je vous l’assure, parmi les gens qui sont venus au monde il n’y a personne qui est plus grand que Jean le Baptiste. Pourtant, le plus petit dans le domaine de Dieu le dépasse.

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quel avenir attend ces gens?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Qu’attendre de la vie?

Il y a quelques années, une maman, Claudette, mettait au monde un petit garçon, mais recevait ce diagnostic du médecin : « Votre bébé souffre d’une déficience intellectuelle. Son âge mental ne pourra jamais dépasser celui d’un enfant de 12 ans. » Cette mère, quel rêve peut-elle avoir pour son enfant? En ce moment, des soldats canadiens sont envoyés en mission en Afghanistan dans l’espoir d’établir la paix et certaines valeurs humaines qu’on juge fondamentales. Résultat : plusieurs morts et la hantise de s’enliser dans un bourbier. Ces deux événements réels que je viens de relater mettent à rude épreuve nos rêves et posent la question : que peut-on attendre au juste de la vie?

C’est une question semblable qui est posée par le récit évangélique : « Es-tu celui qui doit venir, ou devons-nous en attendre un autre? » En d’autres mots, est-ce vraiment par toi que Dieu répond à nos attentes, ou bien faut-il se tourner ailleurs? Si on sent le besoin de poser la question, c’est que Jésus ne correspond pas au messie qu’on s’était imaginé. Comme cela nous ressemble! Pensez à tous ces messies recherchés pour régler nos crises économiques et politiques. On espère toujours que ces messies nous arracheront aux côtés pénibles de la vie. Qu’en est-il de Jésus?

Dans notre récit, Jésus fais cette remarque étonnante : « Heureux celui qui ne tombera pas à cause de moi! » En d’autres mots, bravo pour la personne pour laquelle je ne serai pas un obstacle à sa foi. Comment Jésus peut-il être un obstacle à la foi de quelqu’un? Si Dieu nous avait laissé le soin de dessiner le messie, nous n’aurions pas créé un ouvrier artisan qui n’est ni prêtre et ni intellectuel, travaillant paisiblement dans son échoppe de Nazareth, s’écorchant plus d’une fois les doigts. Si Dieu nous avait laissé le soin de dessiner le messie, nous en aurions fait quelqu’un qui aurait mis soudainement fin à ce monde de misère et aurait enfin créé l’humanité parfaite. Rien de cela ne s’est passé. Voilà une constatation qui peut être un obstacle à la foi.

Écoutons ce que Jésus dit aux disciples de Jean-Baptiste, que je résume comme ceci : « Je suis allé au devant des gens qui avaient toutes sortes d’infirmités ou étaient des indigents, j’en ai guéri plusieurs, mais surtout je leur ai donné de l’espoir et ils se sont remis en marche. » Fondamentalement, Jésus ne dit pas que l’infirmité, la violence ou la pauvreté n’existeront plus, mais il dit qu’une énergie mystérieuse l’habite qui lui permet de contribuer à la transformation des autres pour qu’ils trouvent la vie là où ils sont. Cette énergie est en chacun. Quand il dit que le plus petit dans le Royaume est plus grand que Jean-Baptiste, il dit simplement que tout être croyant dispose de par sa foi d’une puissance transformatrice qu’aucun grand de ce monde ne peut égaler.

Revenons à Claudette, mentionnée au tout début. Elle se battra avec d’autres parents pour que les élèves handicapés aient un local avec les autres élèves, afin de leur donner un sens d’appartenance à l’école. Bien sûr, son enfant ne pourra suivre les cours réguliers. Mais sa force a été de reconnaître les capacités et les limites de son enfant, et à travers cela de lui offrir les outils qui le rendraient plus débrouillards, si bien qu’aujourd’hui il a un petit travail et fait du bénévolat. Pendant ce temps, ma fille, victime d’une chute dans un escalier et se retrouvant à une clinique orthopédique, fait la connaissance d’un soldat infirmier en formation orthopédique: ce dernier lui raconte qu’il a trouvé la vie en Afghanistan au contact des militaires et des civils, et il ne rêve que d’y retourner. Quelle est donc cette force mystérieuse qui habite certaines personnes, qui transcende les religions, et dont parle Jésus?

Le récit de ce dimanche pose une question : quel messie attendons-nous? Si nous savons nous ouvrir à la réalité telle qu’elle est, avec ce quelle peut comporter de blessures pour tous nos rêves, nous aurons fait un premier pas. Le deuxième pas sera de nous ouvrir à la force mystérieuse qui nous habite, et qui a habité Jésus, pour faire naître la vie au moment où nous aurons la tentation de ne rien faire et de nous abandonner à la mort. C’est ce que signifie l’incarnation. C’est ce type de messie que propose Jésus et que nous célébrons à Noël. Est-ce également notre messie?

 

-Août 2007