entête

Sybil 2001

Gospel text

Matthew 4: 12-23

12 When he heard that John had been handed over to the authorities, Jesus withdrew to Galilee. 13 And after leaving the city of Nazareth, he went to make his home in Capernaum, a city by the sea, in the territory of Zabulon and Nephtali. 14 And thus came the complete understanding of what had been said by the prophet Isaiah in these words:

15 Land of Zabulon and land of Nephtali,
on the road by the sea, across the Jordan, Galilee of nations
16 The people who were in darkness
Saw a great light,
And on those who lived in regions darkened by death,
A light has risen.

17 From that moment Jesus began to proclaim out loud, "You must set a new direction to your life, for the world of God has begun to reach you."

18 While walking on the shore of the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon, called Peter, and Andrew his brother, throwing their fishing net overboard - for they were fishermen. 19 Then he said to them, "Come! Follow me! I will make you fishers of men". 20 Immediately, after having abandoned their nets, they began to follow him. 21 Then, having gone further, he saw two other brothers, James, the son of Zebedee, and John his brother, in a boat with their father Zebedee preparing their nets. He called them. 22 And immediately, after leaving the boat and their father, they began to follow him.

23 So Jesus traveled throughout Galilee, teaching in their synagogues and announcing aloud the good news of the world of God, caring for all the people who were sick or weak.

Studies

A little light and medicine to get to tomorrow


Gospel commentary - Homily

What light in our darkness?

We are in the eastern part of Pakistan, the center of Muslim radicalism. On some buildings, posters such as this are posted at night: women must wear the burqah and not attend school, under pain of death. Intimidation has increased, as has the killing of teachers, doctors and human rights workers accused of crimes against Islam. Meanwhile, in Islamabad, a 22-year-old woman, Umme Ayman, along with 200 other women, stormed a children's library to protest the government destruction of a radical-led mosque. She said to a reporter, "Allah is for Muslims, not for infidels. Pakistan must be an Islamist state". It is clear that these women are under the yoke of the pro-Taliban clerics of the mosque. Nevertheless, I start to be afraid, to feel chills: and if all that mindset was spilling throughout our world. I only see the darkness around me.

At the same time, I hear about Edhi, Abdu Sattar Edhi, 79, the most revered figure in Pakistan, who daily cleans the dried blood of the corpses in Karachi. Muslim, born in India, he started serving his citizens shortly after the creation of Pakistan in 1947 by opening a free clinic, when he witnessed a horrific scene in which young Muslims struck with knives a Hindu until he bled to death. These Muslims reproduced what certain Hindus had done to theirs. Edhi then bought an old car which served as ambulance or shuttle for the poor people or of transport of corpses for homeless that he washed and to which he gave a dignified burial. No state subsidy, he lives only on donations. His initiative has now become a foundation, with a fleet of 1,380 small white ambulances across Pakistan, led by thousands of volunteers. However, Edhi is fiercely attacked by the mullahs and receives death threats for his attitude towards the infidels, because he welcomes everyone, regardless of their religion: "I am a Muslim," he said, "but my true religion is human rights". There is a light in our darkness.

It is indeed light in darkness that we are talking about in the Gospel of this day "The people who were in darkness saw a great light". We are of course talking here about Jesus, and the experience lived by the first Christians in contact with him, this Jesus who said, "Repent, for the kingdom of heaven has come near", and which I prefer to translate from Greek by :"You must take a new position in life, because the world of God has begun to reach you". What is this world of God that Jesus is talking about, and that we have a hard time seeing, especially on certain days? How did he start to reach us?

Our great difficulty in seeing this world of God comes from a formidable illusion, that of waiting for this world to resemble a great universal Christianity, populated by good and active Christians, fond of their church. The same illusion explains the existence at the time of Jesus of this community of Qumran, which calls itself the community of "Perfects". They want to live apart with only people who are "pure". And today we see here and there examples of a similar desire through different religious or community groups who only want to bring together the "Good" people.

Watch Jesus well. It was when he heard of John the Baptist's arrest and that he had to move away from the dangerous environment of the Jordan that he began to speak aloud of the world of God. And where does he talk about it? In Galilee, called Galilee of Nations, because it is a place of crossroads of international routes, where Jews and Gentiles rub shoulders, where he meets weak and sick people, after leaving the comfort of his family environment. It is as if it is only in the midst of difficult moments, formidable challenges or painful tensions that this world of God is revealed, as light in darkness. Also think of Edhi who finds his way after witnessing a murder.

"The world of God has started to reach you," says Jesus. Traditional theology speaks of an "already there" but with a "not yet". Why this distinction? Why is this world of God just beginning? The answer is found in the gesture of Jesus who goes to find Peter, Andrew, James and John. God gives the spark plug, strength in the face of the storm, faith in the face of fear. It is up to us to do the rest, like Jesus, like Edhi.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, September 2007

Themes

Sybil 2007

Le texte évangélique

Mt 4, 12-23

12 Ayant appris que Jean avait été remis aux mains des autorités, Jésus s’éloigna de là pour aller en Galilée. 13 Et après avoir quitté la ville de Nazareth, il alla s’établir à Capharnaüm, ville sur le bord de la mer, dans le territoire de Zabulon et de Nephtali. 14 Et ainsi on parvint à l’intelligence complète de ce qui avait été dit par le prophète Ésaïe en ces termes :

15 Terre de Zabulon et terre de Nephtali,
Chemin de la mer, rive opposée du Jourdain,
Galilée des nations,
16 Le peuple qui se trouvait dans les ténèbres
A vu une grande lumière,
Et sur ceux qui habitaient les régions assombris par la mort,
Une lumière s’est levée.

17 À partir de ce moment, Jésus commença à annoncer tout haut : « Il faut que vous réorientiez votre vie, car le monde de Dieu a commencé à vous rejoindre. »

18 En se promenant sur le bord de la mer de Galilée, il vit deux frères, Simon, appelé Pierre, et André son frère, jetant leur filet de pêche à la mer. Ceux-ci exerçaient en effet le métier de pêcheur. 19 Alors il leur dit : « Venez! Suivez-moi! Je ferai de vous des pêcheurs d’hommes. » 20 Aussitôt, après avoir abandonné leurs filets, ils se mirent à le suivre. 21 Puis, étant allé plus loin, il vit deux autres frères, Jacques, le fils de Zébédée, et Jean son frère, dans une barque avec leur père Zébédée en train de préparer leurs filets. Il les appela. 22 Et eux, aussitôt, après avoir abandonné la barque et leur père, se mirent à le suivre.

23 Ainsi, Jésus parcourait la Galilée en entier, enseignant dans leurs synagogues et annonçant tout haut la bonne nouvelle du monde de Dieu, apportant des soins à toutes les personnes du peuple qui étaient malades ou affaiblies.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Un peu de lumière et de médicaments pour se rendre à demain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Quelle lumière dans nos ténèbres ?

Nous sommes dans la partie est du Pakistan, centre du radicalisme musulman. Sur certains édifices, on appose de nuit des affiches comme celle-ci : les femmes doivent porter la burqah et ne pas fréquenter l’école, sous peine de mort. Les intimidations se multiplient, de même que l’assassinat d’enseignants, de médecins et de travailleurs pour les droits humains, accusés de crime contre l’Islam. Pendant ce temps, à Islamabad, une jeune femme de 22 ans, Umme Ayman, avec 200 autres femmes, ont pris d’assaut une bibliothèque pour enfants afin de protester contre la destruction par le gouvernement d’une mosquée dirigée par des radicaux. Elle dit à un reporter : « Allah est pour les musulmans, non pour les infidèles. Le Pakistan doit être un état islamiste. » Il est clair que ces femmes sont sous le joug des clercs pro-Talibans de la mosquée. Néanmoins, je me mets avoir peur, à ressentir des frissons : et si tout cela faisait tache d’huile dans notre monde. Je ne vois plus que les ténèbres autour de moi.

Au même moment, j’entends parler d’Edhi, Abdu Sattar Edhi, 79 ans, la figure la plus révérée au Pakistan, qui chaque jour nettoie le sang séché des cadavres à Karachi. Musulman, né aux Indes, il a commencé à servir ses citoyens peu de temps après la création du Pakistan en 1947 en ouvrant une clinique gratuite, quand il a été un jour témoin d’une scène horrible où de jeunes musulmans ont frappé à coup de couteaux un Indou jusqu’à ce qu’il meure au bout de son sang. Ces musulmans reproduisaient ce que certains Indous avaient fait aux leurs. Edhi a acheté ensuite une vieille voiture qui servit d’ambulance ou de navette pour les gens pauvres ou de transport de cadavres pour sans abris qu’il lavait et à qui il donnait une sépulture digne. Aucune subvention de l’état, il ne vit que de dons. Son initiative est devenue aujourd’hui une fondation, avec une flotte de 1 380 petites ambulances blanches à travers le Pakistan, conduites par des milliers de bénévoles. Pourtant, Edhi est attaqué férocement par les mollahs et reçoit des menaces de mort pour son attitude face aux infidèles, car il accueille tout le monde, peu importe leur religion : « Je suis musulman, dit-il, mais ma vraie religion, ce sont les droits humains. » Voilà une lumière dans nos ténèbres.

C’est bien de lumière dans les ténèbres qu’il s’agit dans l’évangile de ce jour « Le peuple qui se trouvait dans les ténèbres a vu une grande lumière ». On parle bien sûr ici de Jésus, et de l’expérience vécue par les premiers chrétiens à son contact, ce Jésus qui a dit : « Convertissez-vous, car le Royaume des cieux est là. », et que je préfère traduire à partir du grec par : « Il faut que vous réorientiez votre vie, car le monde de Dieu a commencé à vous rejoindre. » Quel est ce monde de Dieu dont parle Jésus, et que nous avons beaucoup de difficulté à voir, surtout certains jours ? Comment a-t-il commencé à nous rejoindre ?

Notre grande difficulté à voir ce monde de Dieu vient d’une formidable illusion, celle d’attendre que ce monde ressemble à une grande chrétienté universelle, peuplé de gens bons et pratiquants, attachés à leur église. La même illusion explique l’existence à l’époque de Jésus de cette communauté de Qumran, qui se désigne comme communauté des « Parfaits ». On vit à l’écart avec seulement des gens « Purs ». Et aujourd’hui on voit apparaître ici et là un désir semblable à travers différents groupes religieux ou communautaires qui ne veulent rassembler que les « Bons ».

Observez bien Jésus. C’est au moment où il apprend l’arrestation de Jean-Baptiste et qu’il doit s’éloigner du milieu dangereux du Jourdain qu’il commence à parler tout haut du monde de Dieu. Et où en parle-t-il ? En Galilée, appelée Galilée des Nations, car c’est un lieu de croisement des routes internationales, où se côtoyaient Juifs et Païens, où il fait la rencontre de gens affaiblis et malades, après avoir quitté le confort de son milieu familial. C’est comme si c’est seulement au milieu de moments difficiles, de défis formidables ou de tensions pénibles que se révèle ce monde de Dieu, comme lumière dans les ténèbres. Pensez aussi à Edhi qui découvre sa voie après avoir été témoin d’un meurtre.

« Le monde de Dieu a commencé à vous rejoindre », dit Jésus. La théologie traditionnelle parle d’un « déjà là » lié à un « pas encore ». Pourquoi cette distinction ? Pourquoi ce monde de Dieu ne fait que commencer ? La réponse se trouve dans le geste de Jésus qui va chercher Pierre, André, Jacques et Jean. Dieu donne la bougie d’allumage, la force face à la tempête, la foi face à la peur. À nous de faire le reste, comme Jésus, comme Edhi.

 

-Septembre 2007