entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.3, ch. 30: Jesus in Relation to Competing Jewish Groups: The Zealots,
pp 565-567

(Detailed summary)


Was Jesus a Zealot?


The term Zealot can have two meanings.

  1. In the sense in which the Jewish historian Josephus uses it, it refers to an organized and armed group of rebels in revolt against the Roman government in Palestine. Such a group did not appear until the first Jewish revolt (66-70), more precisely during the winter of 67-68 in Jerusalem.

  2. In an older and broader sense, it refers to any Jew who is zealous in the practice of the Law and who insists that his countrymen do the same in order to separate themselves from the idolatrous and immoral Gentiles; in some cases violence and even murder were used to force the countrymen into strict observance of the Law.

Obviously, if we consider the first meaning of the word, we cannot give Jesus the title of Zealot or attribute to him any sympathy for the Zealots: this would be an anachronism, since these Zealots appeared long after his death. If we use the second meaning of the word, in this case we note that one of the members of the Twelve was a Zealot, Simon the Zealot. But we must hasten to add that, although Simon may have been involved with violent people before becoming a disciple, he had to change his behavior to accompany Jesus who ate and drank with sinners and tax collectors, and to join a group that included Levi, a tax collector.

What is this Law to which Jesus submitted while discussing it?

List of all chapters

Jésus était-il un Zélote?


Jésus et les groupes concurrents juifs : les Zélotes

Le terme Zélote peut revêtir deux significations.

  1. Dans le sens où l’historien juif Josèphe l’utilise, il désigne un groupe organisé et armé de rebelles en révolte contre le gouvernement romain en Palestine. Un tel groupe n’est apparu que lors de la première révolte juive (66-70), plus précisément pendant l’hiver 67-68 à Jérusalem.

  2. Dans un sens ancien et plus large, il désigne tout juif qui se montre zélé dans la pratique de la Loi et qui insiste pour que ses compatriote en fasse de même pour se séparer des Gentils idolâtres et immoraux; dans certains cas on utilisait la violence et on allait jusqu’au meurtre pour forcer les compatriotes à une observance stricte de la Loi.
De manière évidente, si on considère le premier sens du mot, on ne peut donner à Jésus le titre de Zélote ou lui attribuer une sympathie envers les Zélotes : ce serait commettre un anachronisme, puisque ces Zélotes sont apparus bien après sa mort. Si on utilise le deuxième sens du mot, dans ce cas on note qu'un des membres des Douze était un Zélote, Simon le Zélote. Mais il faut s’empresser d’ajouter que, même si Simon a pu poser des gens violents avant de devenir disciple, il lui a fallu changer de comportement pour accompagner Jésus qui mangeait et buvait avec les pécheurs et les percepteurs d’impôt, et pour se joindre à un groupe qui incluait Lévi, un percepteur d’impôt.

 

Meier v.3, chap 30, pp 565-567 (version anglaise).


Question suivante: Quelle est cette Loi à laquelle se soumettait Jésus tout en discutant sur elle?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.