entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.3, ch. 30: Jesus in Relation to Competing Jewish Groups: The Herodians,
pp 560-565

(Detailed summary)


Did the Herodians contribute to the death of Jesus?


Summary

A simple answer is: no. We have no evidence that the Herodians were involved in the arrest and death of Jesus. On the other hand, it is quite possible that Herod Antipas, who had John the Baptist arrested and executed, asked his supporters or officials to spy on this man who was attracting crowds and talking about a coming kingdom. But the two references in Mark (3:6; 12:13) that associate these Herodians with the Pharisees in plotting his death cannot be traced back to a historical event: they are the product of Mark's theological art of framing Jesus' ministry, at the beginning in the Galilean cycle and at the end in Jerusalem, with a symmetrical reference to a religio-political plot.


Jesus in Relation to Competing Jewish Groups: The Herodians

  1. Who are the Herodians?

    The Greek word Herodianoi never appears before the first century of the Christian era, and only in the Gospel of Mark, Mk 3:6 (Having gone out, the Pharisees immediately took counsel with the Herodians against him, with a view to destroying him) and Mk 12:13 (They then sent him some of the Pharisees and Herodians to ensnare him in his word); the passage in Matthew (22:16) is dependent on Mk 12:13.

    Note that the form of the Greek word in Mark does not represent the normal Greek form for Herodians, which is instead Herodeioi, as seen once (and only once) in the Jewish historian Josephus. It is likely that Mark is using a transliteration here of the Latin form of Herodians, Herodiani. Such a transliteration of a Latin form is not unique, since it is found with Kaisarianoi (Caesariani: Caesar's troops or partisans or servants) and Christianoi (Christians in Acts 11:26; 26:28; 1 Pet 4:16). Thus, the Herodians would refer to the servants or slaves or officials or courtiers or supporters of Herod's regime.

    Do the two references in Mark shed more light on this group? Mk 3:1-6 (healing of the man with the withered hand) is set in Galilee very early in Jesus' ministry, while Mk 12:13-17 (question about the tax due to Caesar) is set in Jerusalem at the end of Jesus' life. The Herodians suddenly appear alongside the Pharisees to seek to eliminate Jesus, and disappear just as quickly. The presence of the Herodians gives a political dimension to both stories, because only Herod Antipas could impose the death penalty, and the second story deals with a clearly political subject: the tax due to Caesar.

    From one point of view, the presence of Herodians is credible. When we know that Herod had John the Baptist imprisoned and executed, it is easy to imagine that he was also keeping a close eye on Jesus' activities, especially since Jesus was traveling all over Galilee, attracting large crowds, talking about an approaching kingdom, and being believed by some to be a descendant of David.

  2. Analysis of Marc's two references

    But this clear combination of religious and political interest, with the Pharisees and Herodians joining forces to eliminate Jesus at the beginning and end of his ministry, is more a matter of Mark's theological art than of sober historical presentation. The first reference appears at the climax of the cycle of disputes in Galilee (Mk 2:1 – 3:6), while the second reference appears in the cycle of Jesus' disputes in Jerusalem (Mk 11:27 – 12:44), at the end of his ministry. These two very symmetrical references establish a kind of embrace around the public ministry of Jesus. That this theological polemic is Mark's work is also suggested by the fact that the early passion tradition he uses does not say anything about the Pharisees or Herodians being involved in Jesus' trial and death.

    1. The first reference (Mk 3:6) itself contains a few implausible points. First, the Pharisees were mostly in Judea and there is no evidence of their significant presence in Galilee. Second, how can we imagine a concerted decision to eliminate Jesus when we are still at the beginning of his ministry? Finally, when we look closely at the whole account of the healing of the man with the withered hand (Mk 3:1-6), we realize that Jesus does not take any physical action that might violate the Sabbath: he only utters a word asking the sick man to stretch out his hand. Therefore, the existence of a conspiracy to eliminate him at that moment cannot have any historical value.

    2. The second reference (Mk 12:13) is an introduction to the dispute about the tax due to Caesar and exists only to ensure symmetry with Mk 3:6. It is an editorial creation of Mark. Moreover, these Pharisees and Herodians will play no role in the passion narrative later on.

  3. Conclusion

    On the one hand, the existence of a group of servants or officials or supporters of Herod of Antipas, called Herodians, is quite possible. Moreover, Mark and Luke in other passages (Mk 6:14-16; Lk 9:7-9; 13:31-32; 23:6-12; Acts 13:1) probably reflect a historical reality by speaking of Herod Antipas' unhealthy interest in Jesus' activities. And it is easy to understand why he might have asked his servants or allies to spy on his whereabouts and try to discredit him publicly. Thus, it is possible that during his ministry Jesus had to argue with Herod Antipas' supporters and face their verbal trap.

    But on the other hand, the two passages in Mark where the Herodians are seen to be associated with the Pharisees and plotting the death of Jesus cannot be traced back to a historical event. They are the work of either Mark or a pre-Marcan author collecting disputes.

Was Jesus a Zealot?

List of all chapters

Les Hérodiens ont-ils contribué à la mort de Jésus?


Sommaire

Une réponse simple est: non. Nous n’avons aucune donnée montrant que les Hérodiens auraient participé à l’arrestation et à la mort de Jésus. Par contre, il est tout à fait possible qu’Hérode Antipas, qui a fait arrêter et exécuter Jean Baptiste, ait demandé à ses partisans ou ses fonctionnaires d’espionner cet homme qui attirait des foules et parlait d’un royaume qui vient. Mais les deux références de Marc (3, 6; 12, 13) qui associent ces Hérodiens aux Pharisiens pour comploter sa mort ne peuvent pas remonter à un événement historique : ils sont le produit de l’art théologique de Marc qui tient à encadrer le ministère de Jésus, au début dans le cycle de Galilée, et à la fin à Jérusalem, avec une référence symétrique à un complot politico-religieux.


Jésus et les groupes concurrents juifs : les Hérodiens

  1. Qui sont les Hérodiens?

    Le mot grec Herodianoi n’apparaît jamais avant le 1ier siècle de l’ère chrétienne, et seulement dans l’évangile de Marc, Mc 3, 6 (Étant sortis, les Pharisiens tenaient aussitôt conseil avec les Hérodiens contre lui, en vue de le perdre) et Mc 12, 13 (Ils lui envoient alors quelques-uns des Pharisiens et des Hérodiens pour le prendre au piège dans sa parole); le passage de Matthieu (22, 16) est dépendant de Mc 12, 13.

    Notons que la forme du mot grec chez Marc ne représente pas la forme grecque normale pour désigner les Hérodiens qui est plutôt Herodeioi, comme on le voit une fois (et une seule fois) chez l’historien juif Josèphe. Il est probable que Marc utilise ici une translittération de la forme latine d’Hérodiens, Herodiani. Une telle translittération d’une forme latine n’est pas unique, puisqu’on la retrouve avec Kaisarianoi (Caesariani : les troupes ou partisans ou serviteurs de César) et Christianoi (chrétiens en Ac 11, 26; 26, 28; 1 P 4, 16). Ainsi, les Hérodiens désigneraient les serviteurs ou esclaves ou fonctionnaires ou courtisans ou partisans du régime d’Hérode.

    Est-ce que les deux références de Marc jettent plus de lumière sur ce groupe? Mc 3, 1-6 (guérison de l’homme à la main desséché) se situe en Galilée très tôt dans le ministère de Jésus, tandis que Mc 12, 13-17 (question sur l’impôt dû à César) se situe à Jérusalem à la fin de la vie de Jésus. Les Hérodiens apparaissent soudainement aux côté des Pharisiens pour chercher à éliminer Jésus, et disparaissent tout aussi rapidement. La présence des Hérodiens donne une dimension politique aux deux récits, car seul Hérode Antipas pouvait infliger la peine capitale, et le 2e récit aborde un sujet clairement politique : l’impôt dû à César.

    D’un certain point de vue, la présence d’Hérodiens est crédible. Quand on sait qu’Hérode a fait emprisonner et exécuter Jean Baptiste, on imagine facilement qu’il surveillait également de très près les activités de Jésus, d’autant plus que celui-ci parcourait toute la Galilée, attirait de larges foules, parlait d’un royaume qui approchait et que certains croyaient qu’il était de la descendance de David.

  2. Analyse des deux références de Marc

    Mais cette combinaison très nette d’intérêt religieux et politique, avec les Pharisiens et les Hérodiens qui s’unissent pour éliminer Jésus au début et à la fin de son ministère, relève plus de l’art théologique de Marc que d’une présentation historique sobre. La première référence apparaît au point culminant du cycle des controverses de Galilée (Mc 2, 1 – 3, 6), tandis que la deuxième référence apparaît dans le cycle des controverses de Jésus à Jérusalem (Mc 11, 27 – 12, 44), à la fin de son ministère. Ces deux références très symétriques établissent une sorte d’accolade autour du ministère public de Jésus. Que cette polémique théologique soit l’œuvre de Marc est également suggéré par le fait que la tradition primitive de la passion, qu’il utilise, ne disait absolument pas que les Pharisiens ou les Hérodiens étaient impliqués dans le procès et la mort de Jésus.

    1. La première référence (Mc 3, 6) comporte en elle-même quelques points non crédibles. Tout d’abord, les Pharisiens se trouvaient surtout en Judée et on n’a pas de données sur leur présence significative en Galilée. Ensuite, comment imaginer une décision concertée d’éliminer Jésus alors que nous sommes encore au début de son ministère? Enfin, quand on regarde de près tout le récit de la guérison de l’homme à la main desséchée (Mc 3, 1-6), on se rend compte que Jésus ne pose aucune action physique qui pourrait enfreindre le sabbat : il émet seulement une parole demandant au malade d’étendre la main. Dès lors, l’existence d’une conspiration pour l’éliminer à ce moment ne peut avoir de valeur historique.

    2. La deuxième référence (Mc 12, 13) est une introduction à la controverse sur l’impôt dû à César et n’existe que pour assurer une symétrie avec Mc 3, 6. Elle est une création rédactionnelle de Marc. D’ailleurs, ces Pharisiens et ces Hérodiens ne joueront aucun rôle par la suite dans le récit de la passion.

  3. Conclusion

    D’une part, l’existence d’un groupe de serviteurs ou fonctionnaires ou partisans d’Hérode d’Antipas, appelés Hérodiens, est tout à fait possible. D’ailleurs, Marc et Luc dans d’autres passages (Mc 6, 14-16; Lc 9, 7-9; 13, 31-32; 23, 6-12; Ac 13, 1) reflètent probablement une réalité historique en parlant de l’intérêt malsain d’Hérode Antipas pour les activités de Jésus. Et on comprend facilement qu’il ait pu demander à ses serviteurs ou ses alliés d’espionner ses allées et venues et d’essayer de le discréditer publiquement. Ainsi, il est possible qu’au cours de son ministère Jésus ait eu à discuter avec des partisans d’Hérode Antipas et affronter leur piège verbal.

    Mais d’autre part, les deux passages de Marc, où on voit les Hérodiens associés aux Pharisiens et comploter la mort de Jésus, ne peuvent pas remonter à un événement historique. Ils sont l’œuvre du travail rédactionnel soit de Marc, soit d’un auteur pré-marcien collectionnant les controverses.

 

Meier v.3, chap 30, pp 560-565 (version anglaise).


Question suivante: Jésus était-il un Zélote?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.