entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.2, ch. 18 : Miracles and Ancient Minds,
pp 535-575

(Detailed summary)


Can we classify Jesus among the great magicians of antiquity?


Summary

That there is a certain similarity in form, themes and motifs between the miracle stories of the gospels and those of the Greco-Roman world should not come as a surprise: it is quite normal that the evangelist used the language of the surrounding culture. But it is quite different when one identifies miracle and magic, as sociology and cultural anthropology seek to do. Jesus cannot be ranked with the great magicians of antiquity.

First of all, since there is no consensus on the definition of magic, it is better to speak of a sliding scale where at one end of the spectrum we find the miracle, and at the other the magic, and between the two extremes, various mixtures. An example of the ideal type of miracle is the raising of Lazarus, which takes place in an atmosphere of interpersonal relationship marked by love and faith and becomes a sign of the merciful being of God and of Jesus as the source of life. At the other end of the spectrum, the magic papyrus of Paris represents the ideal type of magic with its exorcism recipe of special ingredients and long unintelligible incantations. Some gospel stories have a few magical notes, just as some Greco-Roman stories have a flavor of authentic spirituality. But the two ideal types have opposite characteristics: on the one hand, the miracle story revolves around an interpersonal relationship of faith and succinct, intelligible words, and expresses a greater reality, such as the partial realization of God's reign, while on the other hand magic represents an effort to harness the forces of a capricious deity by means of unintelligible, secret formulas, and thus to fulfill a client's mundane demands, such as winning a horse race. The gospel stories clearly revolve around the first ideal type.


  1. Some basic problems

    In antiquity, the attitude towards miracles is very different from the one observed today: there is of course an elite that denies its possibility, but for the majority of people in the Greco-Roman world the miracle is part of the religious landscape.

  2. Pagan and Jewish parallels to Gospel Miracles

    In the early 20th century, the German school of the history of religion (religion geschichte) demonstrated that the miracle stories of Jesus reflect the same forms, themes, and motifs found in pagan and Jewish stories. On this point, however, three observations must be made.

    1. Many of the pagan and Jewish stories were written several centuries after the last gospel.
    2. While the gospel accounts present Jesus as someone working miracles by virtue of his own power, the Jewish historian Flavius Josephus and the rabbinic accounts describe instead pious people who receive a swift, dramatic and superhuman response to their requests for special favors (rain, healings).
    3. The very fact of establishing a literary parallel between the gospel miracles says nothing about their historicity: it is normal that the evangelist used the forms and themes known to his time to tell his story. The same can be said of the vocabulary chosen.

  3. Miracle and Magic

    Alongside the parallels with pagan and Jewish miracles, there is the question of the close links between miracle and magic. The way in which biblical accounts of miracle workers such as Moses, Elijah and Elisha were repeated in synagogue celebrations in Jesus' day, or the references to exorcisms and horoscopes in Qumran, all indicate that miracle and magic were very much present. So let's ask the question: do the gospel accounts of miracles represent an example of Greco-Roman magic?

    1. Magic and the Social Sciences

      In the 20th century, sociology and cultural anthropology extended the work begun by form criticism and did useful work. But for them, there is no objective difference between the miracles found in the gospels and the magical actions described by the papyri, the news and the Greco-Roman historians. We must hasten to make two remarks here

      1. Social scientists may repeat that the word magic has no negative connotation, that it comes from the Persian word for "priest" and that it is another way of designating religious observances, but the fact remains that in Greco-Roman society it conveyed negative vibrations and served as ammunition in various polemics. This is still the case today in academic circles, despite claims to the contrary. If one really wants a neutral term, then it is better to use the word miracle.

      2. One may question the claim that there is no real phenomenological difference between the miracle stories of Jesus told in the gospels and what is found, for example, in the magical papyri of Roman times. The scholarly literature has tried to propose various definitions of magic. But no consensus has been reached, and no single definition manages to cover what is found in all times and places in all cultures.

    2. Ideal Types from the Gospels and the Papyri

      So, rather than looking for two different definitions, we propose a sliding scale or continuum which would reflect at one end the ideal type of miracle, and at the other end the ideal type of magic, and between these two extremes various mixtures of the two. Both the gospel texts and the magical papyri provide us with examples.

      Let's start with the gospel miracles. A good example is the story of the raising of Lazarus (Jn 11). First of all, we are immersed in an atmosphere of interpersonal love between Lazarus, Martha and Mary, and of personal faith in Jesus, not the mercantile faith of a client paying for a service. But above all, the miracle has a purpose beyond the good that is conferred, that of revealing the merciful being of God and of arousing faith in Jesus as the source of life; the miracle becomes the sign of a deeper reality. Even the person who receives the good becomes a missionary of the good news. Of course, this perspective may take on different colors depending on the evangelist, with faith following rather than preceding the action, but these elements of personal relationship and faith are always present, so much so that their absence carries an element of responsibility and guilt on the part of the witnesses. We are far from an impersonal force to be harnessed or capricious deities to be cajoled or cornered with long incantations or mysterious rites.

      Let us now turn to the magic papyri of the Greco-Roman period, which cover the period from the 2nd century BC to the 5th century AD. Let's take the famous specimen of the Great Magic Papyrus of the National Library of Paris. It contains the recipe for a successful exorcism with virgin olive oil mixed with herbs and fruit pulp and boiled in marjoram, all accompanied by an unpronounceable list of names of gods from various nations recited by the exorcist. The idea of all these incomprehensible names and syllables is to press various buttons to finally find the one that will give the desired effect. This desired effect ranges from freeing the demon to winning a horse race or a sum of money or the heart of a loved one or a legal action or getting an erection for oneself or a catastrophic action for a rival. The magical approach is eminently pragmatic: the magician is paid for a service using special techniques, when ordinary means have failed.

      Between these two extremes of the spectrum we find gospel accounts that display elements of magic, and magical papyri that contain elements of spirituality. Take the story of the hemorrhaging woman in Mk 5:24-34: the woman is immediately healed by an electrical charge from Jesus' cloak. But such an automatic and anonymous healing is truly atypical of the gospel accounts, and the scene ends with Jesus insisting that it was through her faith that she was healed. Matthew (Mt 9:22) presents the healing only after Jesus' words about her faith. On the pagan side, there is the example of the Liturgy of Mithras, contained in the magic papyrus of Paris, which describes the mystical ascent of the soul and insists on the personal relationship of the praying person who asks for a favor from the deity, a reflection of authentic spirituality. Similarly, Apuleius, in his The Golden Ass or The Metamorphoses, describes the transition from magic to a personal religion: in the conversion of his hero, Lucius, from a donkey to a human form, he presents the transition from someone wading in the dark and harmful world of magic to someone who changes his life and commits himself wholeheartedly to the cult of Isis.

      In short, in the gospels and in the magical papyri, extra-human power can be represented at various points on our sliding scale between the two extremes; the gospel accounts, like some elements of pagan and Jewish literature, are more on the side of miracles.

    3. Listing the Characteristics of the Types

      In general, the typology of the miracle as seen in the gospels contains the following elements:

      1. A context where an interpersonal relationship of faith, trust and love prevails
      2. The person in need is a faithful believer or follower, not a corporate client
      3. Jesus grants the miracle in succinct but intelligible words, in his own language
      4. With a few exceptions, miracles happen because the miracle worker is willing to respond to the requester's urgent request, not because he is forced to do so
      5. In the Gospels, the overall context is that of Jesus fulfilling the will of his Father and the mission he has entrusted to him
      6. In the Gospels, miracles are the symbol and partial realization of the reign of God
      7. Jesus' miracles are not meant to punish or harm anyone.

      At the other end of the spectrum, magic reflects opposite elements:

      1. Magic is a technique for manipulating various supernatural forces or forcing the deity to grant the desired benefit
      2. The benefit sought is very down-to-earth: winning a horse race or a lover
      3. For the magician, each action is unique and does not point to any global reality such as a salvation story or an eschatological drama
      4. The magician does not function in the context of a community of disciples: he has a clientele, not a church
      5. In the magic formulas, various names of deities and unintelligible sequences of syllables are multiplied
      6. Magic has a secret and esoteric element.

      At both ends of the spectrum, miracle and magic are rooted in the strong tendencies of two types of literature. With this framework, we have an objective basis for designating Jesus as a miracle worker, rather than a magic worker.

    4. Final Remarks on Jesus as Magician

      In addition to all that we have just said, there are other reasons for dismissing the term "magic" when speaking of Jesus. First, although the New Testament knows the words "magician" (Acts 13:6) and "magic" (Acts 8:11), it never applies them to Jesus. Afterwards, Jesus' opponents will accuse him of working for Beelzebul, of blasphemy, of deceiving people, but never of practicing magic or being a magician. The first accusations of practicing magic date back to the middle of the 2nd century CE by the Jew Tryphon, at least according to the testimony of Justin (100-168) in his First Apology and his Dialogue with Tryphon. Similarly, the Greek Epicurean philosopher Celsus, in his work, the True Discourse, written around 178, makes the same accusations. Finally, it was only certain miracles that aroused fierce opposition:

      • Those who seemed to operate with demonic forces;
      • Those that were made on the Sabbath, in violation of the religious law.

Next chapter: Are Jesus' miracles historical facts?

List of all chapters

Peut-on ranger Jésus au rang des grands magiciens de l'antiquité?


Sommaire

Qu’il y ait une certaine similitude dans la forme, les thèmes et les motifs entre les récits de miracle des évangiles et ceux du monde gréco-romain, il ne faut pas s’en surprendre : il est tout à fait normal que l’évangéliste ait utilisé le langage de la culture ambiante. Mais il en est tout autrement lorsqu’on identifie miracle et magie, comme la sociologie et l’anthropologie culturelle cherchent à le faire. On ne peut ranger Jésus au rang des grands magiciens de l’antiquité.

Tout d’abord, puisqu’il n’existe aucun consensus sur la définition de la magie, il faut mieux parler d’une échelle mobile où à une extrémité du spectre on trouve le miracle, et à l’autre la magie, et entre les deux extrêmes, divers mélanges. Un exemple du type idéal de miracle est la ressuscitation de Lazare qui se déroule dans une atmosphère de relation interpersonnelle marquée par l’amour et la foi et devient signe de l’être miséricordieux de Dieu et de Jésus comme source de vie. Au l’autre extrémité du spectre, le papyrus magique de Paris représente le type idéal de magie avec sa recette d’exorcisme constituée d’ingrédients spéciaux et de longue incantations inintelligibles. Certains récits évangiles ont parfois quelques notes magiques, tout comme certains récits gréco-romains ont une saveur de spiritualité authentique. Mais les deux types idéaux ont des caractéristiques opposés : d’un côté, le récit de miracle tourne autour d’une relation interpersonnelle de foi et de paroles succinctes et intelligibles, et exprime une réalité plus grande, comme la réalisation partielle du règne de Dieu, tandis qu'à l’autre extrémité la magie représente un effort pour harnacher les forces d’une divinité capricieuse au moyen de formules inintelligibles et secrètes, et ainsi répondre aux demandes terre-à-terre d’un client, comme gagner un course de chevaux. Les récits évangéliques gravitent clairement autour du premier type idéal.


  1. Certains problèmes généraux

    Dans l’antiquité, l’attitude face aux miracles est très différente de celle observée aujourd’hui : on trouve bien sûr une élite qui nie sa possibilité, mais pour la majorité des gens du monde gréco-romain le miracle fait partie du paysage religieux.

  2. Les parallèles païens et juifs aux miracles évangéliques

    Au début du 20e siècle, l’école allemande de l’histoire des religions (religion geschichte) a démontré que les récits de miracle de Jésus reflètent les mêmes formes, thèmes et motifs qu’on trouve dans les récits païens et juifs. Sur ce point, il faut faire cependant trois observations.

    1. Plusieurs des récits païens et juifs ont été écrits plusieurs siècles après le dernier évangile.
    2. Alors que les récits évangéliques présentent Jésus comme quelqu’un opérant des miracles en vertu de son propre pouvoir, l’historien juif Flavius Josèphe et les récits rabbiniques décrivent plutôt des personnes pieuses qui reçoivent une réponse rapide, spectaculaire et surhumaines à leurs demandes de faveurs spéciales (pluie, guérisons).
    3. Le fait même d’établir un parallèle littéraire entre les miracles évangéliques ne dit rien sur leur historicité : il est normal que l’évangéliste ait utilisé les formes et les thèmes connus de son époque pour faire son récit. On peut dire la même chose du vocabulaire choisi.

  3. Miracle et magie

    À côté des parallèles avec les miracles païens et juifs, il y a la question des liens étroits entre miracle et magie. À l’époque de Jésus, la façon dont on reprenait les récits bibliques des faiseurs de miracle comme Moïse, Élie et Élisée dans les célébrations à la synagogue ou encore les références qu’on trouve aux exorcismes et aux horoscopes à Qumran, tout cela indique que miracle et magie étaient très présents. Alors posons la question : les récits évangéliques de miracles représentent-ils un exemple de magie gréco-romaine?

    1. Magie et sciences sociales

      Au 20e siècle, la sociologie et l’anthropologie culturelle ont prolongé le travail amorcé par la critique des formes et a fait œuvre utile. Mais pour elles, il n’il y a pas de différence objective entre les miracles qu’on retrouve dans les évangiles et les actions magiques décrites par les papyri, les nouvelles et les historiens gréco-romains. Il faut s’empresser ici de faire deux remarques

      1. Les spécialistes des sciences sociales ont beau répéter que le mot magie n’a pas de connotation négative, qu’il provient du mot persan signifiant « prêtre » et qu’il est une autre façon de désigner les observances religieuses, il n’en reste pas moins que dans la société gréco-romaine il transmettait des vibrations négatives et servait de munitions dans diverses polémiques. Il en est encore de même aujourd’hui dans les milieux académiques, malgré les prétentions contraires. Si on veut vraiment un terme neutre, alors il vaut utiliser le mot miracle.

      2. On peut questionner l’affirmation qu’il n’y a pas de différence phénoménologique réelle entre les récits de miracle de Jésus racontés dans le évangiles et ce qu’on retrouve, par exemple, dans les papyri magiques de l’époque romaine. La littérature érudite a essayé de proposer divers définitions de la magie. Mais on n’est pas arrivé à un consensus, et aucune définition ne parvient à couvrir ce qu’on trouve en tout temps et en tout lieu dans toutes les cultures.

    2. Types idéaux des évangiles et des papyri

      Aussi, plutôt que de chercher deux définitions différentes, nous proposons une échelle mobile ou un continuum qui reflèterait à une extrémité le type idéal de miracle, et à l’autre extrémité le type idéal de magie, et entre ces deux extrêmes divers mélanges des deux. Tant les textes évangéliques que les papyri magiques nous en fournissent des exemples.

      Commençons par les miracles évangéliques. Un bel exemple est le récit de la ressuscitation de Lazare (Jn 11). Tout d’abord, nous baignons dans une atmosphère d’amour interpersonnel entre Lazare, Marthe et Marie, et de foi personnelle en Jésus, et non celle mercantile d’un client qui paie pour un service. Mais surtout, le miracle vise un but bien au-delà du bien conféré, celui de révéler l’être miséricordieux de Dieu et de susciter la foi en Jésus comme source de vie; le miracle devient le signe d’une réalité plus profonde. Même la personne qui reçoit le bien devient par la suite un missionnaire de la bonne nouvelle. Bien sûr, cette perspective peut prendre diverses couleurs selon les évangélistes, la foi pouvant suivre l’action plutôt que de la précéder, mais ces éléments de relation personnelle et de foi y sont toujours présents, à tel point que leur absence comporte un élément de responsabilité et de culpabilité de la part des témoins. Nous sommes loin d’une force impersonnelle qu’il faut harnacher ou de divinités capricieuses qu’il faut cajoler ou coincer avec de longues incantations ou des rites mystérieux.

      Tournons-nous maintenant vers les papyri magiques de l’époque gréco-romaine qui couvrent la période du 2e siècle avant l’ère chrétienne jusqu’au 5e siècle après J.C. Prenons le spécimen fameux du Grand papyrus magique de la Bibliothèque nationale de Paris. On y trouve la recette pour réussir un exorcisme avec de l’huile d’olive vierge qu’on mélange avec des herbes et la pulpe de fruit et qu’on fait bouillir dans la marjolaine, tout cela accompagné d’une liste imprononçable de noms de dieux de diverses nations récitée par l’exorciste. L’idée de tous ces noms et syllabes incompréhensibles est d’appuyer sur divers boutons pour finalement trouver celui qui donnera l’effet désiré. Cet effet désiré va de la libération du démon jusqu’à gagner une course de chevaux ou un montant d’argent ou le cœur d’un être aimé ou une action légale, ou encore obtenir une érection pour soi ou une action catastrophique pour un rival. L’approche magique est éminemment pragmatique : le magicien est payé pour un service utilisant des techniques spéciales, quand les moyens ordinaires ont échoué.

      Entre ces deux extrêmes du spectre on trouve des récits évangéliques qui affichent des éléments de magie, et des papyri magiques qui contiennent des éléments de spiritualité. Prenons le récit de la femme hémorroïsse de Mc 5, 24-34 : la femme est immédiatement guérie par une charge électrique provenant du manteau de Jésus. Mais une telle guérison automatique et anonyme est vraiment atypique des récits évangéliques, et la scène se termine par l’insistance de Jésus pour dire que c’est par sa foi qu’elle fut guérie. Matthieu (Mt 9, 22) pour sa part ne présente la guérison qu’après la parole de Jésus sur sa foi. Du côté païen, il y l’exemple de la Liturgie de Mithras, contenue dans le papyrus magique de Paris, qui décrit l’ascension mystique de l’âme et insiste sur la relation personnelle du priant qui demande une faveur à la divinité, reflet d’une spiritualité authentique. De même, Apulée, dans son ouvrage L'Âne d'or ou Les Métamorphoses, décrit le passage de la magie à une religion personnelle : dans la reconversion de son héro, Lucius, d’un âne à une forme humaine, il présente le passage de quelqu’un qui patauge dans le monde obscur et nocif de la magie à quelqu’un qui change de vie et s’engage de tout son cœur dans le culte d’Isis.

      Bref, dans les évangiles et dans les papyri magiques, le pouvoir extrahumain peut être représenté en divers points de notre échelle mobile entre les deux extrêmes; les récits évangéliques, tout comme certains éléments de la littérature païenne et juive, se situent plutôt du côté des miracles.

    3. Liste des caractéristiques de ces types

      En général, la typologie du miracle comme on le voit dans les évangiles contient les éléments suivants :

      1. Un contexte où domine une relation interpersonnelle de foi, de confiance et d’amour
      2. La personne dans le besoin est un croyant fidèle ou un disciple, et non un client d’entreprise
      3. Jésus accorde le miracle en des paroles succinctes mais intelligibles, dans sa propre langue
      4. À part quelques exceptions, le miracle se produit parce que le faiseur de miracle veut bien répondre à la demande urgente du demandeur, et non pas parce qu’on l’y force
      5. Dans les évangiles, le contexte global est celui de l’accomplissent par Jésus de la volonté de son Père et de la mission qu’il lui a confiée
      6. Dans les évangiles, les miracles sont le symbole et la réalisation partielle du règne de Dieu
      7. Les miracles de Jésus ne visent pas à punir ou faire du mal à qui que ce soit.

      À l’autre bout du spectre, la magie reflète des éléments inverses :

      1. La magie est une technique pour manipuler les diverses forces surnaturelles ou forcer la divinité à accorder le bienfait désiré
      2. Le bienfait recherché est très terre-à-terre : gagner une course de chevaux ou un amant
      3. Pour le magicien, chaque action est unique et ne désigne aucune réalité globale comme une histoire de salut ou un drame eschatologique
      4. Le magicien ne fonctionne pas dans le contexte d’une communauté de disciples : il a une clientèle, non une Église
      5. Dans les formules magiques, on multiplie les divers noms de divinités et des suites intelligibles de syllabes
      6. La magie comporte un élément secret et ésotérique.

      Aux deux extrémités du spectre, miracle et magie s’enracinent dans les tendances lourdes de deux types de littérature. Avec ce cadre, nous avons une base objective pour désigner Jésus comme un faiseur de miracle, plutôt que de magie.

    4. Remarques finales sur Jésus le magicien

      En plus de tout ce que nous venons de dire, il existe d’autres raisons pour écarter le terme de « magie » en parlant de Jésus. Tout d’abord, même si le Nouveau Testament connaît les mots « magicien » (Ac 13, 6) et « magie » (Ac 8, 11), il ne les applique jamais à Jésus. Ensuite, les adversaires de Jésus lui lanceront diverses accusations, telle celle de travailler pour Belzébul, de blasphémer, de leurrer les gens, mais jamais celle de pratiquer la magie ou d’être magicien. Les premières accusations de pratiquer la magie remontent au milieu du 2e siècle de l’ère chrétienne par le juif Tryphon, du moins selon le témoignage de Justin (100-168) dans sa Première Apologie et son Dialogue avec Tryphon. De même, le philosophe épicurien grec Celse, dans son ouvrage, le Discours véritable, rédigé vers 178, lance les mêmes accusations. Enfin, c’est seulement certains miracles qui ont suscité une opposition féroce :

      • Ceux qui semblaient opérés avec des forces démoniaques;
      • Ceux qui avaient été faits le jour du sabbat, en violation de la loi religieuse.

 

Meier v.2, chap 18, pp 535-575 (version anglaise).


Question suivante: Les miracles de Jésus sont-ils des faits historiques?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.