entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.2, ch. 17 : Miracles and Modern Minds,
pp 509-534

(Detailed summary)


Can we reasonably determine the existence of miracles?


Summary

Let us define a miracle as an event perceived by an interested and unbiased observer as unusual, astonishing, or extraordinary, an event for which there is no reasonable explanation from human abilities or other known forces exerting influence in the space-time of our world, an event arising from a special action of God doing something beyond the reach of human power. But in attributing this event to God, we are on the theological plane, not simply on the historical. For example, at Lourdes, the medical board made up of believers and unbelievers simply determines whether a healing can be explained within the current medical and physical sciences, and only the ecclesiastical authorities will go so far as to affirm that it is a miracle. Determining whether or not miracles are possible is a matter of theological and philosophical positions, and these positions have varied in human history according to the vision of the physical universe. Our purpose is much more modest and limited strictly to the historical plane and simply wants to answer different questions around this one: are the stories about Jesus performing miracles a pure invention of the early church, or can we trace at least some of the stories back to the historical Jesus?


  1. What is a miracle?

    In a general way, we could define the miracle in three points: a miracle is

    1. An event perceived by an interested and unbiased observer as unusual, surprising, or extraordinary

      A miracle must involve an event that is perceptible to people, e.g. a man known to be blind from birth, then regains his sight and performs actions that imply that he sees

    2. An event for which there is no reasonable explanation from human abilities or other known forces exerting influence in the space-time of our world

      Let's avoid talking about miracle in the context of "law of nature" or talking about what defies the laws of nature, a concept totally foreign to antiquity.

    3. And an event coming from a special action of God doing something beyond the reach of human power

      Of course, the cause of the event is attributed to God, because we are in a religious context. A historian, within the limits of his discipline, can never make such an assertion. For it is an essentially theological statement. All a historian can say is that an event has no sufficient explanation in terms of human activity and physical forces, and that some people claim it is a miracle.

  2. A concrete example

    A concrete example can be found at the Lourdes Shrine in France, where many claim to have been miraculously healed. The Lourdes Shrine has established a board of physicians, composed of both believers and non-believers, whose role is to determine whether the healings can be explained within the scope of current medical knowledge and physical science. When the office, after examining the patient's file, establishes that a serious physical pathology existed and that a healing has taken place without medical intervention, an instantaneous or rapid healing that lasts after one year, the case is then referred to the International Medical Committee, located in Paris, which continues the study of the case and produces a detailed report. The work is so rigorous that from 1948 to 1993, out of 1,300 cures, only 18 were declared miracles by the ecclesiastical authorities. But the committee itself can only conclude that the healing is unexplainable. Privately, a member of the committee can say that it is a miracle if he is a believer, or that it is not a miracle if he is a non-believer, but he cannot say so as a doctor.

    Two points from the example of Lourdes can enlighten our study of Jesus.

    1. In the name of the principle of historical analogy, one can state that if phenomena like those of Lourdes can occur in a modern religious context, similar phenomena may have occurred in the past under similar religious circumstances. Clearly, one cannot deny a priori that Jesus performed inexplicable healings, which some claim to be miracles.

    2. But the miracles attributed to Jesus present a particular difficulty: we have no access to medical records that would allow us to have data on the patient's situation before and after his healing.

  3. Remain modest in our questions

    Four questions can reasonably be asked.

    1. Are the stories about Jesus performing miracles purely an invention of the early church as it developed its apologetic mission and propaganda in the Greco-Roman milieu, or can at least some of the stories be traced back to the historical Jesus?
    2. Are some types of supposed miracles more typical of the accounts of Jesus' activity, while other types are rather absent, if compared to what is reported in antiquity?
    3. Did Jesus in fact perform amazing and extraordinary actions that his followers interpreted as miracles?
    4. What did these supposed miracles mean to him, his disciples and his audience?

      On the other hand, the historian as historian cannot answer the question: Did God act directly through the ministry of Jesus to produce miracles?

  4. Two observations to conclude

    Is the question of miracles a waste of time? For some, a modern educated person cannot take the question of miracles seriously, even without believing in them.

    1. Let us recall that the theoretical question of the possibility of miracles is a philosophical, not historical, position. In the 17th and 18th centuries, philosophers such as Spinoza (1632-1677), Voltaire (1694-1778) and David Hume (1711-1776) took a position against the possibility of miracles. In particular, Voltaire asserted that if God ever performed miracles, he would contradict his own laws of nature that he had enacted. We know today that these positions are based on a simplistic vision of nature, coming from Newtonian physics which saw the universe as an immense well-regulated mechanics, a vision contradicted today by the uncertainty principle found in quantum physics explained by Werner Heisenberg. As we can see, these philosophical positions are dependent on a vision of the physical universe that varies according to the periods of history. While recognizing the value of all these discussions, we must recall that our purpose is much more modest and limited to the historical level.

    2. In contemporary academic circles, it is fashionable to smirk contemptuously when the question of miracles is mentioned. Even someone like Bultmann has written that one cannot use electricity and wireless, and take advantage of recent medical discoveries, while still believing in the New Testament world of miracles. However, this misrepresents the contemporary mindset, since a 1989 Gallup poll showed that 82% of Americans believe that, even today, miracles are performed by the power of God.

Next chapter: Can we classify Jesus among the great magicians of antiquity?

List of all chapters

John P. Meier - A Marginal Jew: L'existence des miracles

 

 

 


Peut-on déterminer de manière raisonable l'existence de miracles?


Sommaire

Définissons le miracle comme un événement perçu par un observateur intéressé et sans parti-pris comme inhabituel, étonnant, ou extraordinaire, un événement pour lequel il n’existe aucune explication raisonnable provenant des habiletés humaines ou d’autres forces connus exerçant une influence dans l’espace-temps de notre monde, un événement provenant d’une action spéciale de Dieu faisant quelque chose hors de portée du pouvoir humain. Mais en attribuant à Dieu cet événement, nous nous situons sur le plan théologique, et non plus simplement de l’histoire. Par exemple, à Lourdes, le bureau médical formé de croyants et d’incroyants se contente de déterminer si une guérison peut être expliquée à l’intérieur des connaissances médicales et des sciences physiques actuelles, et seulement les autorités ecclésiastiques iront jusqu’à affirmer qu’il s’agit d’un miracle. Déterminer la possibilité ou non des miracles relève de positions théologiques et philosophiques, et ces positions ont varié dans l’histoire humaine selon la vision de l’univers physique. Notre propos est beaucoup plus modeste et se limite strictement au plan historique et veut simplement répondre à différentes questions autour de celle-ci : les récits sur Jésus faisant des miracles sont-ils une pure invention de l’église primitive, ou peut-on faire remonter au moins certains récits au Jésus historique?


  1. Qu’est-ce qu’un miracle?

    De manière générale, on pourrait définir ainsi le miracle en trois points : un miracle est

    1. Un événement perçu par un observateur intéressé et sans parti-pris comme inhabituel, étonnant, ou extraordinaire

      Un miracle doit impliquer un événement perceptible par des gens, par exemple un homme connu pour être aveugle dès sa naissance, puis retrouve la vue et pose des gestes qui impliquent qu’il voit

    2. Un événement pour lequel il n’existe aucune explication raisonnable provenant des habiletés humaines ou d’autres forces connus exerçant une influence dans l’espace-temps de notre monde

      Évitons ici de parler de miracle dans le contexte de « loi de la nature » ou de parler de ce qui défie les lois de la nature, un concept totalement étranger à l’antiquité.

    3. Et un événement provenant d’une action spéciale de Dieu faisant quelque chose hors de portée du pouvoir humain

      Bien sûr, on attribue à Dieu la cause de l’événement, parce que nous nous situons dans un contexte religieux. Jamais un historien, dans les limites de sa discipline, ne peut faire une telle affirmation. Car il s’agit d’une affirmation essentiellement théologique. Tout ce qu’un historien peut dire est qu’un événement n’a pas d’explication suffisante sur le plan de l’activité humaine et des forces physiques, et que certaines personnes prétendent que c’est un miracle.

  2. Un exemple concret

    On peut trouver un exemple concret au sanctuaire Lourdes, en France, où plusieurs prétendent avoir été guéris miraculeusement. Le sanctuaire de Lourdes a établi un bureau de médecins, composé à la fois de croyants et de non croyants, dont le rôle est de déterminer si les guérisons peuvent être expliquées à l’intérieur des connaissances médicales et des sciences physiques actuelles. Quand le bureau, après avoir examiné le dossier du patient, établit qu’une pathologie physique sérieuse existait et qu’une guérison a eu lieu sans intervention médicale, une guérison instantanée ou rapide et qui dure après un an, le cas est référé par la suite au Comité Médical International, situé à Paris, qui poursuit l’étude du cas et produit un rapport détaillé. Le travail est à ce point rigoureux que de 1948 à 1993, sur 1,300 guérisons, seulement 18 ont été déclarés des miracles par les autorités ecclésiastiques. Mais le comité lui-même peut seulement conclure que la guérison est inexplicable. En privé, un membre du comité peut dire que c’est un miracle, s’il est croyant, ou que ce n’en est pas un s’il est incroyant, mais il ne peut pas le dire en tant que médecin.

    Deux points de l’exemple de Lourdes peuvent éclairer notre étude sur Jésus.

    1. Au nom du principe de l’analogie historique, on peut déclarer que si des phénomènes comme ceux de Lourdes peuvent se produire dans un contexte religieux moderne, des phénomènes semblables ont pu se produire dans le passé dans des circonstances religieuses semblables. En clair, quelqu’un ne peut nier a priori que Jésus ait accompli des guérisons inexplicables, que certains prétendre être des miracles.

    2. Mais les miracles attribués à Jésus présentent une difficulté particulière : nous n’avons accès à aucun dossier médical qui nous permettrait d’avoir des données sur la situation du patient avant et après sa guérison.

  3. Rester modeste dans nos questions

    On peut raisonnablement poser quatre questions.

    1. Les récits sur Jésus faisant des miracles sont-ils une pure invention de l’église primitive alors qu’elle développe sa mission apologétique et sa propagande dans le milieu gréco-romain, ou peut-on faire remonter au moins certains récits au Jésus historique?
    2. Est-ce que certains types de supposés miracles sont plus typiques des récits sur l’activité de Jésus, alors que d’autres types sont plutôt absents, si on les compare à ce qui est rapporté dans l’antiquité?
    3. Jésus a-t-il en fait opéré des actions étonnantes et extraordinaires que ses disciples ont interprétées comme des miracles?
    4. Qu’est-ce que ces supposés miracles signifiaient à ses yeux, à ceux de ses disciples et de son auditoire?

      Par contre, l’historien comme historien ne peut répondre à la question : Dieu agissait-il directement à travers le ministère de Jésus pour produire des miracles?

  4. Deux observations pour conclure

    Est-ce que la question des miracles est une perte de temps? Pour certains, un être éduqué moderne ne peut prendre au sérieux la question des miracles, sans même aller jusqu’à y croire.

    1. Rappelons que la question théorique de la possibilité des miracles relève d’une position philosophique, non historique. Au 17e siècle et au 18 siècle, des philosophes comme Spinoza (1632-1677), Voltaire (1694-1778) et David Hume (1711-1776) ont pris position contre la possibilité des miracles. En particulier, Voltaire a affirmé que si jamais Dieu faisait des miracles, il se trouverait à contredire ses propres lois de la nature qu’il a édictées. Nous savons aujourd’hui que ces positions s’appuient sur une vision simpliste de la nature, provenant de la physique newtonienne qui voyait l’univers comme une immense mécanique bien réglée, une vision contredite aujourd’hui par le principe d’incertitude qu’on retrouve dans la physique quantique explicitée par Werner Heisenberg. Comme on le voit, ces positions philosophiques sont dépendantes d’une vision de l’univers physique qui varie selon les périodes de l’histoire. En reconnaissant la valeur de toutes ces discussions, nous devons rappeler que notre propos est beaucoup plus modeste et se limite au plan historique.

    2. Dans les milieux académiques contemporains, il est de bon ton d’esquisser un sourire méprisant quand on mentionne la question des miracles. Même quelqu’un comme Bultmann a écrit qu’on ne peut utiliser l’électricité et le sans-fil, et profiter des récentes découvertes médicales, tout en continuant à croire au monde des miracles du Nouveau Testament. Cela renvoie toutefois une fausse image de la mentalité contemporaine, puisqu’un sondage Gallup en 1989 montre que 82% des Américains croient que, même aujourd’hui, des miracles sont accomplis par la puissance de Dieu.

Meier v.2, ch. 17, pp 509-534 (version anglaise).


Question suivante: Peut-on ranger Jésus au rang des grands magiciens de l'antiquité?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.