entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.2: Conclusion to Volume Two,
pp 1039-1049

(Detailed summary)


How can we summarize the study of miracle stories in the Gospels?


In general, biblical scholars agree that the image of Jesus as a healer and exorcist goes back to the historical Jesus. Things become more complicated when it comes to judging the individual miracles. After accepting their overall historical value, some reject most of the individual accounts on the grounds that they are a creation of the church. This raises a serious methodological problem.

Many would like to have a simple and global solution that explains all the miracles.

  1. Conservatives believe that everything happened as it is told.
  2. Rationalists believe they can explain everything by invoking natural causes.
  3. The champions of the symbolic explanation see all miracles as a creation of the early Church to express its faith by means of symbols, without any real event at the base.

Our investigation has shown that not all miracle stories can be explained in the same way.

  1. In some cases, it is a creation in part or in whole of the primitive Church to make a catechesis, as the episode of the dried fig tree
  2. In other cases, the story has a historical basis: contemporaries witnessed an event they believe to be a miracle, as in the case of the healing of the blind Bartimaeus
  3. Finally, the scene of Jesus feeding the crowd probably originates from a symbolic meal that the historical Jesus celebrated with a large crowd, and that Christians only later interpreted as a miracle

Let's summarize our findings.

  1. Among the seven accounts of exorcisms, three have a good chance of going back to the historical Jesus: the epileptic (Mk 9:14-29), the reference to the exorcism of Mary Magdalene (Lk 8:2) and the Gerasene demoniac (Mk 5:1-20).

  2. The healing stories fall into four basic categories:
    1. Among those who suffer from various forms of paralysis, two stories (the man lowered through the roof of the house in Mk 2:1-12 and the paralytic at the pool of Bethesda in Jn 5:1-9) are probably historical
    2. The three stories of healing of the blind (Bartimaeus in Mk 10:46-52, the blind man of Bethsaida in Mk 8:22-26, and the blind man from birth in Jn 9) reflect events in Jesus' ministry
    3. As for those afflicted with a skin disease (the lepers in Mk. 1:40-45 and Lk. 17:11-19), the data are not clear enough to make a judgment, although it seems that Jesus had a reputation for healing lepers
    4. Among the general healings that do not fit into any particular category, only one can claim to go back to the historical Jesus, the healing of the centurion's (or royal officer's) little boy in Mt 8:5-13.

  3. When we look at the accounts of the raising of the dead, there are multiple attestations that Jesus had a reputation for bringing people back to life, so that the accounts of the raising of Jairus' daughter (Mk 5:21-43), the son of the widow of Nain, and Lazarus probably go back to the historical Jesus, even though it is possible that they were healings interpreted as resurrections.

  4. Judgment on this mixture of stories mistakenly called « miracles of nature » is easier. With the exception of Jesus' feeding of the crowd, all the stories are a creation of the early church for various theological reasons.

Did Jesus really draw large crowds during His ministry?

List of all chapters

Comment résumer l’étude des récits de miracle des évangiles?


De manière générale, les biblistes admettent que l’image de Jésus comme guérisseur et exorciste remontent au Jésus historique. Les choses se compliquent quand on veut émettre un jugement sur les différents miracles individuels. Après avoir accepté leur valeur historique globale, certains rejettent la plupart des récits individuels sous prétexte qu’ils sont une création de l’Église. Tout cela soulève un problème sérieux de méthode.

Beaucoup aimerait avoir une solution simple et globale qui explique tous les miracles.

  1. Les conservateurs croient que tout est arrivé comme c’est raconté.
  2. Les rationalistes croient pouvoir tout expliquer en invoquant des causes naturelles.
  3. Les champions de l’explication symbolique voient tous les miracles comme une création de l’Église primitive pour exprimer sa foi à l’aide de symbole, sans véritable événement à la base.

Notre enquête a montré qu’on ne peut pas expliquer tous les récits de miracle de la même manière.

  1. Dans certains, il s’agit d’une création en partie ou en totalité de l’Église primitive pour faire une catéchèse, comme l’épisode du figuier desséché
  2. Dans d’autres cas, le récit possède des fondements historiques : des contemporains ont été témoins d’un événement qu’ils croient être un miracle, comme c’est le cas de la guérison de l’aveugle Bartimée
  3. Enfin, la scène du ravitaillement de la foule par Jésus a probablement pour origine un repas symbolique que le Jésus historique a célébré avec une grande foule, et que les chrétiens ont interprété seulement plus tard comme un miracle

Résumons nos découvertes.

  1. Parmi les sept récits d’exorcismes, trois ont de bonnes chances de remonter au Jésus historique : l’épileptique (Mc 9, 14-29), la référence à l’exorcisme de Marie-Madeleine (Lc 8, 2) et le démoniaque gérasénien (Mc 5, 1-20).

  2. Les récits de guérison se divisent en quatre catégories fondamentales :
    1. Chez ceux qui souffrent de diverses formes de paralysie, deux récits (l’homme qu’on descend à travers le toit de la maison en Mc 2, 1-12 et le paralytique à la piscine de Bethesda en Jn 5, 1-9) sont probablement historiques
    2. Les trois récits de guérison d’aveugle (Bartimée en Mc 10, 46-52, l’aveugle de Bethsaïda en Mc 8, 22-26 et l’aveugle-né en Jn 9) reflètent des événements du ministère de Jésus
    3. En ce qui concernent ceux qui sont affligés d’une maladie de la peau (les lépreux en Mc 1, 40-45 et Lc 17, 11-19), les données ne sont pas assez claires pour portée un jugement, même s’il semble que Jésus avait la réputation de guérir les lépreux
    4. Parmi les guérisons générales qui ne se rattachent à aucune catégorie particulière, une seule peut revendiquer remonter au Jésus historique, la guérison du petit garçon du centurion (ou officier royal) en Mt 8, 5-13.

  3. Quand on regarde les récits de ressuscitations des morts, on note la présence de multiples attestions qui démontrent que Jésus avait la réputation de ramener des gens à la vie, si bien que les récits de la ressuscitation de la fille de Jaïre (Mc 5, 21-43), du fils de la veuve de Naïm et Lazare remontent probablement au Jésus historique, même s’il est possible que ce soit des guérisons interprétés comme des ressuscitations.

  4. Le jugement sur ce mélange de récits appelés à tort « miracles de la nature » est plus facile. À l’exception du ravitaillement de la foule par Jésus, touts les récits sont une création de l’Église primitive pour diverses raisons théologiques.

 

Meier v.2, chap 23, pp 967-970 (version anglaise).


Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.