entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v. 1, ch. 5: Sources: The Agrapha and the Apocryphal Gospels,
pp 112-166

(Detailed summary)


Do the apocryphal Gospels really give us information about Jesus?


  • These texts are called "apocryphal" because Christians have excluded them from the list of canonical or normative books for the faith. They come above all from the pious and unbridled imagination of certain Christians of the 2nd century.

  • The ProtoGospel of James merges the childhood stories of Luke and Matthew and integrates into them the Romanesque folklore of the time, while showing a great ignorance of Jewish institutions. This book is the source of other apocryphal accounts of Jesus' childhood as well as legends about Mary (for example, the presentation of Mary in the temple at the age of three, accompanied by the procession of virgins). It tells us more about the 2nd century than about Jesus.

  • The same can be said of the Infancy Gospel of Thomas, where Jesus appears as a super kid capable of casting a spell to kill another child who wants to harm him. Not only is there no historical value, but also no theological value: it is an echo of the fascination of some Christians for the bizarre and magical world, as well as a taste for spectacle.

  • Many other apocryphal writings have come down to us only in fragments or through allusions in the Fathers of the Church. The Gospel of the Nazarenes copies Matthew, leaving room for imagination and moralization. The Gospel of the Ebionites is based on the synoptic Gospels to develop views proper to this Judeo-Christian sect. The Gospel of the Hebrews features James, the brother of Jesus, to the point of contradicting the New Testament. The Gospel of Peter, in which Peter speaks of himself in the first person, the trial, crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus, is a pastiche of Gospel traditions, especially Matthew. Papyrus Egerton 2 (4 small fragments of papyrus found in Egypt first published in 1935) telling of Jesus healing a leper, talking about the tribute to Caesar or walking on the bank of the Jordan River seems only a rewriting of the synoptic accounts. The Secret Gospel of Mark, discovered in 1958 near Jerusalem and published in 1973, is said to be contained in a letter of about twenty lines by Clement of Alexander (150-215) and addressed to a certain Theodore: it recounts the resurrection of Lazarus and states that Mark went to Alexandria after the death of Peter; it should be noted that Clement of Alexandria is not always very critical of his sources and that we find here what we already have in the Gospels.

  • The discovery in 1945 in the village of Nag Hammadi in Egypt of a bookstore in Coptic language of twelve books and eight leaves of a thirteenth book dating from the 4th century deserves special treatment. It is a real library since everything can be found there: fragments of Plato's Republic, the Sentences of Sextus, a pagan moralist, but also many Christian Gnostic documents (according to Gnosis, or "Knowledge", originally we were a spirit with God and, by an accident of history, We have found ourselves in matter, a real prison, and salvation consists in waking up and becoming aware of our spiritual origins, and in becoming as independent as possible from matter and body), like the Gospel of Truth, or the Gospel of Philip. But these Gospels are to be placed in the file of apocryphal writings resulting from the imagination of pious Christians: the carpenter Joseph is said to have made the tree grow which would have served as a cross for Jesus. However, special treatment must be given to the Gospel of Thomas, a collection of 114 sayings of Jesus dating back to the second century, because bits of the Greek version have been found on papyri found in the ancient Egyptian city of Oxyrhincus. Even though the entire Gospel is marked by Gnostic theology, many biblical scholars would see it as an independent source of our four Gospels. This should be rejected for five reasons:

    • All the other 2nd century writings analyzed so far were all dependent on the Gospels, whose narratives they extended with an overflowing imagination.

    • The Gospels come from an oral tradition and this oral tradition did not stop with them, and so the Gospel of Thomas could in its own way echo this same tradition.

    • The fact that the Gospel of Thomas is short is not at all a proof of antiquity: a) Matthew abbreviated and simplified many of Mark's passages, yet Mark is older; b) it is part of the author's intention in the Gospel of Thomas to be laconic and to emphasize the hermetic character, since his work is addressed to "initiates"; c) his Gnostic view of things leads him to eliminate many elements that do not fit in with his theology, such as the historical character of salvation.

    • The study of the Gospel of Thomas shows that the author knows an amalgamated version of the Gospels as known in the 2nd century, with priority given to Matthew, then to Luke, with little room for Mark and almost nothing for John.

    • Even the order of the texts of the Gospel of Thomas bears the mark of the order of the narratives of the synoptic Gospels.

  • In conclusion, it must be recognized that all these texts do not provide any particular information about Jesus and are even dependent on the Gospel stories.

Next chapter: If the Gospels are catechetical narratives, how can historical information be extracted from them?

List of all chapters

Les évangiles apocryphes nous renseignent-ils vraiment sur Jésus?

  • On appelle ces textes « apocryphes », car les chrétiens les ont exclus de la liste des livres canoniques ou normatifs pour la foi. Ils proviennent avant tout de l’imagination pieuse et débridée de certains chrétiens du 2e siècle.
  • Le Protévangile de Jacques fusionne les récits de l’enfance de Luc et Matthieu et y intègre le folklore romanesque de l’époque, tout en montrant une grande ignorance des institutions juives. Ce livre est la source des autres récits apocryphes de l’enfance de Jésus ainsi que des légendes autour de Marie (par exemple, la présentation de Marie au temple à l'âge de trois ans, accompagnée par le cortège des vierges). Il nous renseigne plus sur le 2e siècle que sur Jésus.
  • On peut dire la même chose de L’évangile de l’enfance selon Thomas où Jésus apparaît comme un super gamin capable de jeter un sort faisant mourir un autre enfant qui veut lui faire du mal. Non seulement on n’y trouve aucune valeur historique, mais également aucune valeur théologique : il s’agit d’un écho de la fascination de certains chrétiens pour le monde bizarre et magique, ainsi que du goût pour le spectacle.
  • Plusieurs autres écrits apocryphes nous sont parvenus seulement sous forme de fragments ou à travers des allusions chez les Pères de l’Église. L’Évangile des Nazaréniens copie Matthieu en laissant place à l’imagination et à la moralisation. L’Évangile des Ébionites se base sur les évangiles synoptiques pour développer des vues propres à cette secte judéo-chrétienne. L’Évangile des Hébreux met en vedette Jacques, le frère de Jésus, au point de contredire le Nouveau Testament. L’Évangile de Pierre dans lequel Pierre parle de lui-même à la première personne, du procès, de la crucifixion et de la résurrection de Jésus n’est qu’un pastiche des traditions évangéliques, plus particulièrement Matthieu. Le Papyrus Egerton 2 (4 petits fragments de papyrus trouvés en Égypte d’abord publiés en 1935) racontant Jésus guérissant un lépreux, parlant du tribut à César ou marchant sur la rive du Jourdain ne semble qu’une réécriture des récits synoptiques. L’Évangile secret de Marc découvert en 1958 près de Jérusalem et publié en 1973 serait contenu dans une lettre d’une vingtaine de lignes de Clément d’Alexandre (150-215) et adressé à un certain Théodore : on y raconte la résurrection de Lazare et on y affirme que Marc se serait rendu à Alexandrie après la mort de Pierre; notons que Clément d’Alexandrie n’est pas toujours très critique vis-à-vis de ses sources et qu’on retrouve ici ce qu’on a déjà dans les évangiles.
  • La découverte en 1945 dans le village de Nag Hammadi en Egypte d’une librairie en langue copte de douze livres et huit feuilles d’un treizième livre datant du 4e siècle mérite un traitement particulier. Il s’agit d’une véritable bibliothèque puisqu’on y trouve de tout : des fragments de la République de Platon, les Sentences de Sextus, un moraliste païen, mais aussi beaucoup de documents gnostiques chrétiens (selon la Gnose, ou « Connaissance », à l’origine nous étions un esprit auprès de Dieu et, par un accident de l’histoire, nous nous sommes retrouvés dans la matière, une véritable prison, et le salut consiste à se réveiller et à prendre conscience de nos origines spirituelles, et à devenir le plus indépendant possible de la matière et du corps), comme l’Évangile de Vérité, ou l’Évangile de Philippe. Mais ces évangiles sont à verser au dossier des écrits apocryphes issus de l’imagination de chrétiens pieux : le charpentier Joseph aurait fait pousser l’arbre qui aurait servi de croix à Jésus. Il faut cependant accorder un traitement spécial à l’Évangile de Thomas, une collection de 114 paroles de Jésus qu’on date du 2e siècle, car on a retrouvé des bouts de version grecque sur des papyri découverts dans l’ancienne ville égyptienne d’Oxyrhinque. Même si tout l’évangile est marqué par la théologie gnostique, plusieurs biblistes y verraient une source indépendante de nos quatre évangiles. Meir refuse cette conclusion pour cinq raisons :
  • Tous les autres écrits du 2e siècle analysés jusqu’ici étaient tous dépendants des évangiles dont ils prolongeaient les récits grâce à une imagination débordante.
  • Les évangiles sont issus d’une tradition orale et cette tradition orale ne s’est pas arrêtée avec eux, et donc l’Évangile de Thomas pourrait à sa manière faire écho de cette même tradition.
  • Le fait que l’Évangile de Thomas ait une forme brève n’est pas du tout une preuve d’ancienneté : a) Matthieu a abrégé et simplifier beaucoup de passages de Marc, et pourtant Marc est plus ancien; b) cela fait partie du propos de l’auteur de l’Évangile de Thomas d’être laconique et d’accentuer le caractère hermétique, car son œuvre s’adresse à des « initiés »; c) sa vision gnostique des choses l’amène à éliminer beaucoup d’éléments qui ne cadrent pas avec sa théologie, comme le caractère historique du salut.
  • L’étude de l’Évangile de Thomas montre que l’auteur connaît une version amalgamée des évangiles telle que connue au 2e siècle, avec la priorité donnée à Matthieu, puis à Luc, avec peu de place à Marc et presque rien de Jean.
  • Même l’ordre des textes de l’Évangile de Thomas porte la marque de l’ordre des récits des évangiles synoptiques.
  • En conclusion, il faut reconnaître que tous ces textes n’apportent pas d’information particulière sur Jésus et sont même dépendants des récits évangéliques.

Meier v.1, ch. 5, pp 112-166 (version anglaise).

Question suivante: Si les évangiles sont des récits catéchétiques, comment y extraire de l’information historique?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.