entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v. 1, Sources: The Canonical Books of the New Testament,
pp 41-43

(Detailed summary)


Can we find in the Gospels the sequence of events surrounding Jesus and the words he actually spoke?


  • The Gospels are not historical narratives in the modern sense of the word "history"; they did not seek to tell what happened, but to proclaim that Jesus is Messiah and Lord, and to sustain the faith of the first Christians, and are therefore above all catechetical narratives.

  • The evangelists are so uninterested in the details of Jesus' life that Mark and John only present us with an adult Jesus in his ministry which lasted only a few years. Matthew and Luke precede their Gospel with two chapters on his childhood, but the historical value of these childhood accounts is nowadays much disputed.

  • It is impossible to reconstruct the sequence of events of Jesus using the continuation of the Gospel accounts. Take for example the Gospel of Mark, which appears to be the oldest. Through his text we perceive collections of oral and written traditions grouped under different themes such as controversies, parables, miracles. They appear like the grains of a rosary that are threaded one after the other, the transition often being made with the help of key words, such as the word "bread" in chapters 6-8. While using Mark's material, Matthew did not hesitate to establish a different order: for example, he grouped together nine miracle stories, with a small transition after each group of three.

  • The situation becomes even more complicated if we compare the synoptic Gospels (Mark, Matthew, Luke) and the Gospel of John. For Mark, almost all of Jesus' public ministry took place in Galilee, and only at the very end does he go to Jerusalem to be confronted with the religious elite and die there, whereas for John, the adult Jesus made at least four trips to Jerusalem.

  • As for Jesus' words, we must accept that the Gospels do not reproduce exactly what Jesus said, but rather its substance. Take for example the words of the Last Supper. We have four different versions of Jesus' words (Mark, Luke, Matthew and Paul). Why? Obviously, the event happened only once. The same is true of the discourse on the beatitudes that we have in two versions in Matthew and Luke. It must therefore be concluded that the Gospels have preserved only the substance of Jesus' words, not the exact words, and that all these variations bear the mark of several years of liturgical adaptation, homiletic development and creative activity of the Christian prophets.

Next chapter: What is the date of the Gospels and their source?

List of all chapters

Peut-on retrouver dans les évangiles la séquence des événements entourant Jésus et les paroles qu’il a vraiment prononcées?

  • Les évangiles ne sont pas des récits historiques au sens moderne du mot « histoire »; ils ne cherchaient pas à raconter ce qui s’est passé, mais à proclamer que Jésus est Messie et Seigneur, et à soutenir la foi des premiers chrétiens, et sont donc avant tout des récits catéchétiques.
  • Les évangélistes s’intéressent si peu aux détails de la vie de Jésus que Marc et Jean nous présentent seulement un Jésus adulte dans son ministère qui n’a duré que quelques années. Matthieu et Luc font précéder leur évangile de deux chapitres sur son enfance, mais la valeur historique de ces récits de l’enfance est aujourd’hui très contestée.
  • Il est impossible de reconstituer la séquence des événements de Jésus en utilisant la suite des récits évangéliques. Prenons par exemple l’évangile de Marc qui apparaît le plus ancien. À travers son texte on perçoit des collections de traditions orales et écrites regroupées sous différents thèmes comme les controverses, les paraboles, les miracles. Ils apparaissent comme les grains d’un chapelet qu’on enfile les uns à la suite des autres, la transition se faisant souvent à l’aide de mots clés, comme le mot « pain » aux chapitres 6-8. Tout en utilisant le matériel de Marc, Matthieu ne s’est pas gêné pour établir un ordre différent : par exemple, il a regroupé ensemble neuf récits de miracle, avec une petite transition après chaque groupe de trois.
  • La situation se complique encore si on compare les évangiles synoptiques (Marc, Mattieu, Luc) et l’évangile Jean. Pour Marc, presque tout le ministère public de Jésus s’est passé en Galilée, et ce n’est qu'à la toute fin qu’il ira à Jérusalem pour y être confronté à l’élite religieuse et y mourir, alors que pour Jean, Jésus adulte a fait au moins quatre voyages à Jérusalem.
  • Quant aux paroles de Jésus, ont doit accepter que les évangiles ne reproduisent pas exactement ce que Jésus a dit, mais plutôt sa substance. Prenons par exemple les paroles de la dernière Cène. Nous avons quatre versions différentes des paroles de Jésus (Marc, Luc, Matthieu et Paul). Pourquoi? De toute évidence, l’événement n’a eu lieu qu’une fois. Il en est de même du discours sur les béatitudes que nous avons en deux versions chez Matthieu et Luc. Il faut donc conclure que les évangiles n’ont préservé que la substance des paroles de Jésus, non les mots exacts, et que toutes ces variations portent la marque de plusieurs années d’adaptation liturgique, de développement homilétique et d’activité créatrice des prophètes chrétiens.

Meier v.2, ch. 2, pp 41-43 (version anglaise).

Question suivante: Quelle est la date des évangiles et leur source?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.