entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v. 1, Introduction, pp 6-9

(Detailed summary)


In what sense can we say that Jesus is a marginal?


  • In Jewish and pagan literature of the first century, Jesus appears as an insignificant character, at most as a small speck on their radar screen. The Jewish historian Flavius Josephus barely mentions him, while he lingers on John the Baptist to praise him. The Roman historian Tacitus is even shorter.

  • Someone who has been tried as a criminal and sentenced to death by the highest authorities in society is inevitably pushed to the margins of society.

  • Jesus somehow marginalized himself by leaving his job at about the age of 30 to become a homeless, unemployed itinerant in order to continue his prophetic ministry.

  • Jesus is marginalized in his teaching and practice, for although he did not attend the great biblical schools, he teaches things that do not correspond to the teaching and practice of Judaism in his day (his positions on divorce and celibacy, his distances from fasting and the Sabbath).

  • Because his teaching and positions were perceived as offensive, he alienated a part of the political and religious elite who considered him dangerous, which pushed him to the margins of Palestinian Judaism.

  • In modern sociological studies, the word "marginal" often refers to the poor people of rural culture who move to the city, but are not able to really integrate into the urban culture. Similarly, Jesus is a poor layman from rural Galilee who found himself in the city of Jerusalem with strange, somewhat anti-establishment ideas and without any support in the capital.

Next chapter: Can we find in the Gospels the sequence of events surrounding Jesus and the words he actually spoke?

List of all chapters

En quel sens peut-on dire que Jésus est un marginal?

  • Dans la littérature juive et païenne du premier siècle, Jésus apparaît comme un personnage insignifiant, tout au plus comme une petite tache sur leur écran radar. L’historien juif Flavius Josèphe le mentionne à peine, alors qu’il s’attarde sur Jean Baptiste pour le louanger. L'historien romain Tacite est encore plus bref.
  • Quelqu’un que les plus hautes instances de la société a jugé comme criminel et condamné à mort est forcément poussé en marge de la société.
  • Jésus s’est en quelque sorte marginalisé lui-même en quittant son travail vers l’âge de 30 ans pour devenir un itinérant sans travail et sans domicile fixe, afin de poursuivre son ministère prophétique.
  • Jésus est marginal par son enseignement et sa pratique, car tout en n’ayant pas fréquenté les grandes écoles bibliques, il enseigne des choses qui ne correspondent pas à l’enseignement et aux pratiques du judaïsme de son époque (ses positions sur le divorce et le célibat, ses distances par rapport au jeûne et au sabbat).
  • Parce que son enseignement et ses positions ont été perçus comme offensants, il s’est aliéné une partie de l’élite politique et religieuse qui le considérait comme dangereux, ce qui l’a poussé en marge du judaïsme palestinien.
  • Dans les études modernes de sociologie, le mot « marginal » désigne souvent les gens pauvres de culture rurale qui déménagent en ville, mais sans être capable de vraiment s’intégrer à la culture urbaine. De façon semblable, Jésus est un pauvre laïc de la Galilée rurale qui s’est retrouvé dans la ville de Jérusalem avec des idées étranges, quelque peu anti-establishment et sans bénéficier d’aucun appui dans la capitale.

Meier v.1, Introduction, pp 6-9 (version anglaise).

Question suivante: Peut-on retrouver dans les évangiles la séquence des événements entourant Jésus et les paroles qu’il a vraiment prononcées?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.