entête

Sybil 1998

Gospel text

Mark 12: 38-44

38 And in his teaching, Jesus said: "Open your eyes to the Bible scholars, those who like to walk in long robes and [receive] bows in public squares, 39 and places of honor in synagogues and first places in feasts, 40 people who devour the property of widows and, for appearance, spend long moments in prayer. They will be judged more severely. 41 Later, while sitting in front of the treasure room, he watched the crowd throwing coins into the treasure room. Many rich people were throwing a lot. 42 When a poor widow presented herself, she threw two lepts, which is ten minutes' pay for a laborer of the day. 43 And having then called his disciples, he said to them, "Truly, I assure you, this widow, who is poor, has cast more than all those who have thrown into the treasure room. 44 Indeed, they have all thrown from their superfluity, while she, from her poverty, has thrown away all she had to live".

Studies

What is behind the fame?


Gospel commentary - Homily

The death of a reputation

When a 900-page report was released in the summer of 2018, accusing religious authorities in six dioceses in Philadelphia, USA, of concealing the fact that over three hundred priests had sexually abused more than a thousand minors for several decades, the news has made a big splash. The anger did not come so much from the horror that priests raped or grubbed children, organized pedophile circles, outdoing themselves in fantasy for sexual intercourse, and thereby destroying lives, but the anger came from the fact that bishops wanted to hide and deny everything, causing the situation to continue indefinitely; their motive seemed noble: to protect the holy reputation of the Church, to prevent it from being tainted. Because this reputation has no price, as its authority depends on it.

The link is easy to establish with today's gospel. It begins with a warning against the religious elite of the time, the scribes, who were distinguished from the masses by their education, which allowed them to be specialists in the Bible. Knowing how to interpret Scripture gave them power and prestige in a very religious society. And they did not hesitate to cultivate it: according to the story provided by Mark, they sought the first places in the synagogues, the best seats in large banquets, frequented the public squares to stand out in their splendid robes and to receive the respect due to them. If it were only that, one could say: they are people with big egos. But the problem is not there, it is in their hypocrisy: while they were the most religious of men and pretended to pray at length, they swindled widows, robbing them of their meager property. This is both tragic and abominable: religious values are used to make disgusting gestures. It's cynicism at its height.

What is Jesus' reaction? "They will be judged more severely." One can think that the "most severely" is a comparison with others who also do evil, but without dressing up with religious values. Mark presents this episode in a context where Jesus addresses the crowd who listens with pleasure, and by this he certainly wants to reach out the elite of his Christian community in Rome: this message is also addressed to her. But this warning would be a little short, if there were not, on the contrary, the proposal of a way forward.

It is likely that the warning against the scribes and the scene of the widow making her temple offering belonged originally to different traditions, at different times. But Mark wanted to put them together to form a stark contrast. A widow, poor like almost all widows, without the support of a husband, put in the coffers of the temple all that was left for her to live. It's crazy, no! Perhaps. But the point of the story is not there, it is in the contrast between religious men who accumulate honors, reputation and money, and a poor woman who is empty of everything for God. And Mark, who intentionally placed this story at the time Jesus faces his trial and death, clearly suggests seeing through this woman the very image of what Jesus is going through.

The Christians of today, in their faith in Jesus and their admiration for their master, forget the ignominy and the horror of what is a death on the cross, a treatment reserved for slaves. It is not only a question of suffering, but especially of shame. The first Christians waited for a long time before being able to speak openly about it: their master was considered a criminal and a scoundrel, suffering fate of mobsters and slaves.

The very fact that Jesus agreed to continue his journey in truth and love to the end, and therefore to face the judgment of the religious elite of the time who made him a criminal, he has no only agreed to give his life, but he agreed to die to his reputation.

This is important for Mark, who addresses his community in Rome, torn apart by Nero's persecutions, where prominent Christians yesterday are now hated and hunted down.

It is important for us today too. Yet rare among us will be those who will have the fate of Archbishop Oscar Romero, the Archbishop of San Salvador who has promoted social justice and denounced poverty, torture and murder in his country, accepting the consequences of his actions: he was murdered in full Eucharistic celebration.

Before facing physical death, we have to face small deaths. Today, one of the great pain points in our society is that related to mental health. But what is the first difficulty in a case of mental health? To admit it, to recognize it before others. There is often a feeling of shame! What will become of his reputation? Yet, salvation is in the death of this reputation. That's what Jesus did.

This is what the bishops of Philadelphia, and many other bishops, have been slow to understand. And what about us?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, November 2018

Themes

entête

Sybil 1998

Le texte évangélique

Marc 12, 38-44

38 Et dans son enseignement, Jésus disait : « Ouvrez les yeux sur les spécialistes de la bible, ceux qui aiment déambuler en longues robes ainsi que (recevoir) des courbettes sur les places publiques, 39 ainsi que des places d'honneur dans les synagogues et des premières places dans les festins, 40 des gens qui dévorent les biens des veuves et, pour l'apparence, passent de longs moments en prière. Ils seront jugés plus sévèrement.

41 Par la suite, s'étant assis devant la salle du trésor, il observait la foule jeter des pièces de monnaie dans la salle du trésor. Beaucoup de gens riches en jetaient beaucoup. 42 Quand se présenta une pauvre veuve, elle jeta deux leptes, ce qui représente dix minutes de salaire pour un journalier de l'époque. 43 Ayant alors appelé ses disciples, il leur dit : « Vraiment, je vous l'assure, cette veuve, qui est pauvre, a jeté plus que tous ceux qui ont jeté dans la salle du trésor. 44 En effet, ils ont tous jeté à partir de leur superflu, alors qu'elle, à partir de son indigence, elle a jeté en entier tout ce qu'elle avait pour vivre.

Des études

Qu'est-ce qui se cache derrière la renommée?


Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Une réputation à détruire

Quand un rapport de 900 pages est sorti à l'été 2018, accusant les autorités religieuses de six diocèses de Philadelphie aux États-Unis d'avoir dissimulé le fait que plus de trois cents prêtres avaient abusé sexuellement de plus d'un millier de mineurs pendant plusieurs décennies, la nouvelle a fait grand bruit. Le colère ne venait pas tant de l'horreur que des prêtres aient violé ou peloté des enfants, aient organisés des cercles de pédophilie, se surpassant en imagination pour les ébats sexuels, et par là détruisant des vies, mais que des évêques aient voulu tout cacher et tout nier, amenant la situation à se prolonger indéfiniment ; leur motif semblait noble : protéger la sainte réputation de l'Église, éviter qu'elle soit entachée. Car cette réputation n'a pas de prix, son autorité en dépend.

Le lien est facile à établir avec l'évangile d'aujourd'hui. Il commence avec une mise en garde contre l'élite religieuse de l'époque, les scribes, qui se distinguaient de la masse par leur éducation, ce qui leur permettait d'être des spécialistes de la Bible. Savoir interpréter l'Écriture leur donnait pouvoir et prestige dans une société très religieuse. Et ils ne se gênaient pas pour le cultiver : d'après le récit que nous en fait Marc, ils recherchaient les premières places dans les synagogues, les meilleures places dans grands banquets, fréquentaient les places publiques pour se faire remarquer dans leurs robes splendides et recevoir les égards qui leur étaient dus. Si ce n'était que cela, on pourrait dire : ce sont des gens avec de gros égos. Mais le problème n'est pas là, il est dans leur hypocrisie : pendant qu'ils se montraient les plus religieux des hommes et faisaient semblant de prier longuement, ils escroquaient les veuves, les spolient de leurs maigres biens. Voilà ce qui est à la fois tragique et abominable : on se sert des valeurs religieuses pour poser des gestes répugnants. C'est du cynisme à son comble.

Quelle est la réaction de Jésus? « Ils seront jugés plus sévèrement ». On peut penser que le « plus sévèrement » est une comparaison par rapport à d'autres qui font aussi le mal, mais sans s'habiller de valeurs religieuses. Marc nous présente cet épisode dans un contexte où Jésus s'adresse à la foule qui l'écoute avec plaisir, et par là il veut certainement rejoindre l'élite de sa communauté chrétienne à Rome : ce message s'adresse également à elle. Mais cet avertissement serait un peu à court, s'il n'y avait pas, à l'opposé, la proposition d'un chemin à suivre.

Il est probable que la mise en garde contre les scribes et la scène de la veuve qui fait son offrande au temple appartenaient originellement à des traditions différentes, situées à des moments différents. Mais Marc a tenu à les mettre ensemble pour former un contraste saisissant. Une veuve, pauvre comme presque toutes les veuves d'ailleurs sans soutien d'un mari, a mis dans la caisse du temple tout ce qui lui restait pour vivre. C'est fou, non! Peut-être. Mais la pointe du récit n'est pas là, il est dans le contraste entre des hommes religieux qui accumulent honneurs, réputation et argent, et une pauvre femme qui se vide de tout pour Dieu. Et Marc, qui a intentionnellement placé ce récit au moment où Jésus doit affronter son procès et sa mort, suggère clairement de voir à travers cette femme l'image même de ce que Jésus est en train de vivre.

Les chrétiens d'aujourd'hui, dans leur foi en Jésus et leur admiration pour leur maître, oublient l'ignominie et l'horreur de ce qu'est une mort en croix, un traitement réservé aux esclaves. Ce n'est pas seulement une question de souffrance, mais surtout de honte. Les premiers chrétiens ont pris du temps à en parler ouvertement : leur maître était considéré comme un criminel et un scélérat, subissant de sort des truands et des esclaves.

Le fait même que Jésus ait accepté de poursuivre son chemin dans la vérité et dans l'amour jusqu'au bout, et donc d'affronter le jugement de l'élite religieuse de l'époque qui en ont fait un criminel, il a non seulement accepté de donner sa vie, mais il a accepté de mourir à sa réputation.

Ce point est important pour Marc qui s'adresse à sa communauté de Rome, déchirée par les persécutions de Néron, où des chrétiens bien en vue hier, sont maintenant détestés et pourchassés.

Il est important aussi pour nous aujourd'hui. Pourtant, rare parmi nous seront ceux qui auront vivre le sort d'un Mgr Oscar Romero, cet archevêque de San Salvador qui s'est fait le promoteur de la justice sociale et a dénoncé la pauvreté, la torture et les assassinats dans son pays, acceptant les conséquences de ses actions : il s'est fait assassiner en pleine célébration eucharistique.

Avant d'affronter la mort physique, nous avons à affronter de petites morts. Aujourd'hui, l'un des grands maux dans notre société est celui relié à la santé mentale. Mais quelle est la première difficulté dans un cas de santé mental? L'admettre, la reconnaître devant les autres. Il y a souvent un sentiment de honte! Que va devenir sa réputation? Pourtant, le salut est dans la mort de cette réputation. C'est ce que Jésus a fait.

C'est ce que les évêques de Philadelphie, et beaucoup d'autres évêques, ont tardé à comprendre. Et nous?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, novembre 2018

Des thèmes