entête

Sybil 1999

Gospel text

Luke 24: 46-53

Jesus concluded, "All of this is in the Bible, that Messiah was going to suffer and rise from the world of the dead on the third day, 47 and that thereafter it would be announced to all nations, beginning with Jerusalen, the invitation to set a new direction to one's life in his name so as to experience the liberation from one's waywardnesses. 48 You are witnesses of all this. 49 And see, I am sending you what has been promised for you by my Father. You, stay in the city until you are clothed with the power from above". 50 Jesus took them out of the city to Bethany, then raised his hands and made a sign expressing God's loving attention. 51 And it was when he made this gesture that he separated from them to join the world of God. 52 As for them, after bowing in veneration, they returned to Jerusalem, filled with immense joy. 53 Subsequently, they were found all the time in the temple expressing their gratitude to God.

Two worlds, yet so close


Gospel commentary - Homily

Where is heaven?

Am I mistaken in thinking that the Ascension of the Lord occupies very little space in the contemporary imagination? In France, the Ascension holiday still exists. But otherwise, the celebration itself and the story associated with it doesn't have much emotional impact. Only its place between Easter and Pentecost and the fact that it takes place in the middle of spring give it a sunny air.

There is something unusual about Luke's own story. In the Gospel, the "taking" of Jesus to heaven happens on Easter day, on the hill of Bethany, while in the Acts of the Apostles, written by the same Luke, the "elevation" of Jesus takes place 40 days later, in the middle of a meal in Jerusalem. Unless one consider the evangelist totally incoherent, we must read the story not as a historical narrative, but as a symbolic narrative. But symbol of what? In fact, the New Testament uses different words to speak of the same reality: "exalted by the right hand of God", "Christ enters the heavenly sanctuary", "ascended to the Father", "sit on the right hand of God", "rise above all the heavens", "raised from the earth". What are we trying to say here?

We know what it's like to see someone go. I still have very vivid memories of this moment when I left the family home to pursue studies in the big city, 400 miles away: on the railway station platform were my mother and my 6-year-old sister to say goodbye. It was a letter from this sister, written with the words of a 6-year-old sent to me by my mother two weeks later, which made me understand the pain of separation. However, I had to leave home if I wanted to continue my studies. This is essentially what the story of the Ascension says: no matter how much we celebrate Easter with the joy of our faith in a living Jesus, the fact remains that the people who touched him, kissed him and listened to him will never be able to do so anymore, they need to go through bereavement, they need now to look at him in a different way. Jesus is now "elsewhere", in "another world".

But, as you well know, we are not just experiencing an absence. If we speak of ascension, ascent or exaltation, it is because the situation of Jesus is better after his death than before his death, just as we will speak of the ascension of a star. What exactly is this situation? In different ways, we try to say that Jesus has passed into the world of God, that he now belongs to another dimension. How can I learn more about this world? The image of the sky or the clouds is deceptive. Of course, it can be used to translate "elsewhere", especially for people of Antiquity. But, for us who are learning to tame the sky, to the point of exploring the planets, the image loses its strength. But there is more. The image may translate the distance, while the story means exactly the opposite: the entry of Jesus into a new dimension allowing him to dwell in the human heart, which will be explicitly affirmed with Pentecost. Rather than talking about ascension, shouldn't we be talking about integration into our world? And do we not understand then the joy of the disciples who never cease to express their gratitude in the temple, at the end of the Gospel?

Currently, the city of Madrid mourns its hundreds of dead and thousands of wounded, an event that will now be associated with gross and blind horror, like New York and 9/11. Tied with this nameless sadness is a feeling of total helplessness and great vulnerability. What can we proclaim with Easter? That death and horror will never happen again? Obviously not! But if the risen Jesus is truly able to dwell forcefully into the human heart, then we are not left alone to rekindle life in the middle of the ashes. This is what this gesture of Jesus, who raises his hands like the high Jewish priest and blesses his disciples, is trying to translate: his loving action will continue in an even more effective way in our world.

Why two Ascension stories, one on Easter day, the other forty days later? From his death, Jesus entered the dimension of God which allows him to dwell in our hearts. Ascension and Easter therefore go together. But we, on the other hand, need to take the time to go through our mourning, to travel the path of the exodus, before realizing that the one we thought so far away was in fact so close.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, March 2004

Themes

Sybil 2002

Le texte évangélique

Lc 24, 46-53

46 Jésus conclut: « Tout cela se trouve dans la Bible, à savoir que le messie allait souffrir et se relever du monde des morts le troisième jour, 47 et que par la suite on annoncerait à toutes les nations, à commencer par Jérusalen, l'invitation à changer de vie en son nom pour ainsi connaître la libération de ses égarements. 48 De tout cela, vous êtes en mesure d'en témoigner.» 50 Jésus les emmena hors de la ville jusqu'à Béthanie, puis élevant les mains, il fit le signe exprimant l'attention amoureuse de Dieu. 51 Et c'est lorsqu'il fit ce geste qu'il se sépara d'eux pour rejoindre le monde de Dieu. 52 Quant à eux, après s'être inclinés en signe de vénération, ils s'en retournèrent à Jérusalem, remplis d'une joie immense. 53 Par la suite, on les retrouvait tout le temps dans le temple en train d'exprimer à Dieu leur gratitude.

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Deux mondes, et pourtant si près

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Où se trouve le ciel?

Est-ce que je me trompe en pensant que l'Ascension du Seigneur occupe très peu de place dans l'imaginaire contemporain? En France, le congé de l'Ascension existe encore. Mais autrement, la fête elle-même et le récit qui lui est associé n'ont pas beaucoup d'impact émotif. Seule sa place entre Pâques et la Pentecôte et le fait qu'elle ait lieu au coeur du printemps lui donnent un air ensoleillé.

Le récit de Luc lui-même a quelque chose d'inusité. Dans l'évangile, "l'emportement" de Jésus au ciel a lieu le jour même de Pâques, sur la colline de Béthanie, tandis que dans les Actes des Apôtres, écrits par le même Luc, "l'élévation" de Jésus a lieu 40 jours plus tard, au beau milieu d'un repas à Jérusalem. À moins de taxer l'évangéliste de totalement incohérent, il faut tout de suite nous placer, non pas au niveau d'un récit historique, mais d'un récit symbolique. Mais symbole de quoi? En fait, le Nouveau Testament emploie différents mots pour parler d'une même réalité: "exalté par la droite de Dieu", "Christ pénètre dans le sanctuaire céleste", "monté vers le Père", "siéger à la droite de Dieu", "monter au-dessus de tous les cieux", "élevé de terre". Qu'essaie-t-on de dire ici?

Nous savons ce que c'est que de voir partir quelqu'un. J'ai encore très vive à la mémoire l'image de ce moment où je quittais la maison familiale pour poursuivre des études dans la grande ville, 700 kilomètres plus loin: sur le quai de la gare, ma mère et ma soeur de 6 ans pour le grand au revoir. C'est une lettre de ma soeur, écrite avec les mots qu'elle connaissait et que m'a fait suivre ma mère deux semaines plus tard, qui m'a fait voir la douleur de la séparation. Pourtant, il fallait que je parte pour poursuivre mes études. Voilà en substance ce que dit le récit de l'Ascension: nous avons beau célébrer avec Pâques la joie d'un Jésus vivant, mais il reste que les gens qui l'ont touché, embrassé et écouté ne le pourront plus jamais, qu'il y a un deuil à vivre, qu'ils sont appelés à le voir dorénavent autrement. Jésus est maintenant "ailleurs", dans un "autre monde".

Mais, vous le savez bien, nous ne vivons pas simplement une absence. Si on parle d'ascension, de montée ou d'exaltation, c'est que la situation de Jésus est meilleure après sa mort qu'avant sa mort, tout comme on parlera de l'ascension d'une vedette. Quelle est au juste cette situation? De différentes manières, on essaie de dire que Jésus est passé dans le monde de Dieu, qu'il appartient désormais à une autre dimension. Comment en savoir plus sur ce monde? L'image du ciel ou des nuées est trompeuse. Bien sûr, elle peut bien traduire "l'ailleurs", surtout pour les gens de l'Antiquité. Mais, pour nous qui apprenons à apprivoiser le ciel, au point d'explorer la planète mars, l'image perd de sa force. Mais il y plus. L'image peut traduire l'éloignement, alors que le récit veut dire exactement le contraire: l'entrée de Jésus dans une nouvelle dimension lui permettant de s'insérer dans le coeur humain, ce qui sera explicitement affirmé avec la Pentecôte. Plutôt que de parler d'ascension, ne devrait-on pas parler d'insertion dans notre monde? Et ne comprend-on pas alors la joie des disciples qui ne cessent d'exprimer leur gratitude au temple, à la fin de l'évangile?

La ville de Madrid pleure ses centaines de morts et ses milliers de blessés, elle qui sera désormais associée à l'horreur brute et aveugle, au même titre que New York. À cette tristesse sans nom est associé un sentiment de totale impuissance et de grande vulnérabilité. Que peut-on proclamer avec Pâques? Que la mort et l'horreur ne se produiront plus jamais? Évidemment non! Mais si vraiment Jésus ressuscité est en mesure de s'insérer avec force dans le coeur humain, alors nous ne sommes pas laissés seuls pour faire renaître la vie au coeur des cendres. C'est ce qu'essaie de traduire ce geste de Jésus qui lève les mains à la manière du grand prêtre Juif et bénit ses disciples au moment de disparaître: son action amoureuse se poursuivra d'une manière encore plus efficace dans notre monde.

Pourquoi deux ascensions, l'un le jour de Pâques, l'autre quarante jours plus tard? Dès sa mort, Jésus est entré dans la dimension de Dieu qui lui permet de s'insérer dans nos coeurs. Ascension et Pâques vont donc ensemble. Mais nous, par contre, nous avons besoin de prendre le temps de vivre nos deuils, de parcourir le chemin de l'exode, avant de prendre conscience que celui que l'on pensait si loin, était en fait si proche.

 

-Mars 2004