entête

Sybil 1999

Gospel text

Luke 24: 13-35

13 Now, this same day of Easter, two of Jesus' disciples were on their way to a village about 8 miles away from Jerusalem called Emmaus. 14 They talked among themselves about all these events that had occurred. 15 While they were conversing and discussing this, Jesus himself approached them and began to walk with them, 16 but their eyes were unable to recognize him. 17 He said to them, "What were you saying to one another while walking? They stopped then, all sad. 18 One of them, named Cleopas, answered him, "You are the only foreigner living in Jerusalem to ignore what has happened these days in this city". "But what!" Asked Jesus. They answered him, "All things concerning Jesus of Nazareth, a man who has shown himself to be an influential prophet both by his actions and by his words to God and to all the people, 20 as well as the manner in which he was handed over to the high priests and to our authorities to receive his sentence of death and he was crucified. Yet we were hopeful that he would liberate Israel. But we are already on the third day since these things happened. 22 It is true that some women in our group of disciples amazed us. When they had gone to the tomb early in the morning and had not found his body, they went to announce that they had heard a message from God that he is alive. 24 Then some of us went to the tomb and found things exactly as the women had described them, but without seeing him". 25 Then Jesus said to them, "O people whose heart is without understanding, and slow to believe all that the prophets spoke about. 26 Was it not necessary that the messiah endures all these things so that the quality of being extraordinary of his person is revealed?" 27 And beginning with Moses and all the prophets, he began to explain to them how all the scriptures spoke of him.

28 When they arrived at the village where they were going, Jesus pretended to go further. 29 But the disciples strongly urged him saying, "Stay with us, it is evening and the day is nearly over". Then Jesus went into the house to dwell with them. 30 And when Jesus sat down with them, he said the blessing after taking the bread, and broke it, and began to give it to them. 31 Then their eyes were opened and they recognized him. But he immediately became invisible to them. 32 The disciples said to one another, "Was not our heart kindled when He spoke to us on the way and opened us to the understanding of the Scriptures?" 33 And immediately standing up, they returned to Jerusalem, and found the eleven gathered together with the people who were with them, 34 who said to them, "The Lord is risen, and Simon has experienced it." 35 And they began to tell what had happened on the road, and how he had revealed himself to them in the breaking of bread.

Life is not always what we expected, but it allows encounters


Gospel commentary - Homily

Understanding and feeling supported

How many times in our lives have we been disappointed? Small disappointments, first. Disappointment of the result of an examination. Disappointment of not having been recognized for all the effort provided in a project. Disappointment with a promotion that did not come? Disappointment of a financial situation? Disappointment of a child who does not meet our expectations. Disappointment at the political level? You should have seen the faces of some after the 2004 US election. But there are also great disappointments. Disappointments at the failure of a marriage. Disappointment of not finding a spouse. Disappointment before a choice of life that does not make us happy. Disappointment in front of a body that causes us too much trouble. Disappointment to a part of our life that we would have wanted it never exists. This is what people say who have suffered from their family background, their education, or the nonsense they have done. Anyway, disappointments with many faces are part of our lives. Yet, if it were only for us, we would build a world where disappointments would never exist. So why did God build a world where disappointment is part of our daily bread?

Without knowing the answer to this question, I think it is the context in which we must listen to the story of the disciples of Emmaus presented in this Sunday's liturgy. Indeed, these two men Luke speaks about are disappointed people. This is not a small disappointment, like that of having screwed the soup. When we hope for a political liberator, our whole life is committed. Luke mentions that they look at Jesus with a "dark" look when he questions them: the word "depression" would be more appropriate to describe what they are living. For what is left to people when they take away what is the mainspring of their lives? We can identify in different ways with these two men. So in such a context, what did Jesus tell them?

The first thing that seems to me fundamental is the fact that Jesus is present when they talk together and try to understand what happened in Jerusalem. One of the terms of the original Greek text to describe what they do is homilein, which gave our "homily" word: they give each other a homily. The very fact that people come together to seek to understand, to shed light on their lives, to discover the truth, is the clear sign that Jesus is present. What does it mean? You are going through a deep disappointment? Do not run away! Do not bury it in alcohol, gambling, pornography or drugs. Do not deny your disappointment. Cry, scream, and question yourself. With others, yes, especially with others, let your misunderstandings go up, keep looking for the light. It seems to me that believing in the presence of the very person of Jesus at the heart of my questioning gives a mystical dimension to what seems painful to me.

In Luke's account, Jesus rebukes the two men for their lack of intelligence and lack of faith in concluding: was it not fitting for the messiah to endure all these things so that the quality of extraordinary being of his person might be revealed? Do we have here an explanation of suffering, his, ours? Not at all! But the happy ending of this painful journey makes it possible to give it a meaning, a direction. Also, to believe that at the end of my various wounds is a spring that I can not imagine, does not answer all my questions, but allows me to continue walking and, in a way, to understand.

The story ends with a meal in a cottage, after dark. Why is it then that the two disciples recognize Jesus? Do not tell me because they made the connection with the words used for the "act of consecration" at the mass. Rather, the gesture of sharing bread is the very symbol of fraternity. It is not enough to make sense of all our disappointments, we must also feel supported. The "I understand" must be accompanied by "I love you".

If you are insightful, you have noticed that Luke's story resembles Sunday mass, first with the liturgy of the word and the homily, followed by the Eucharist proper with the sharing of bread. One can imagine that the Eucharistic liturgy structure inspired Luke in the way of telling the story of the disciples of Emmaus. It is to say how much this celebration reflects life, where we seek to understand its mystery, and with the help of the eyes of faith and support from brothers and sisters, we can see the life offered by Jesus in the midst of our disappointments, which brings us closer to one another, to support one another, and thereby to become "the body of Christ".

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, December 2004

Themes

Sybil 1999

Le texte évangélique

Lc 24, 13-35

13 Or voici que ce même jour de Pâques deux des disciples de Jésus étaient en chemin vers un village éloigné d’une douzaine de kilomètres de Jérusalem, appelé Emmaüs. 14 Ils conversaient entre eux de tous ces événements qui s’étaient produits. 15 Pendant qu’ils conversaient et discutaient ainsi, Jésus lui-même s’approcha d’eux et se mit à cheminer avec eux, 16 mais leurs yeux étaient incapables de le reconnaître. 17 Il les aborda ainsi : « Quelles sont ces paroles que vous vous adressiez l’un à l’autre tout en marchant ? » Ils s’arrêtèrent alors, tout tristes. 18 L’un deux, du nom de Cléophas, lui répondit : « Tu es bien le seul étranger résidant à Jérusalem à ignorer ce qui est arrivé ces jours-ci dans cette ville. » 19 « Mais quoi donc! » demanda Jésus. Ils lui répondirent : « Tout ce qui concerne Jésus de Nazareth, un homme qui s’est montré un prophète influent tant par ses actions que par ses paroles devant Dieu et devant tout le peuple, 20 ainsi que la façon dont on l’a livré aux grands-prêtres et à nos autorités pour recevoir sa sentence de mort et on l’a crucifié. 21 Pourtant nous étions pleins d’espoir que ce serait lui qui libèrerait Israël. Mais nous en sommes déjà au troisième jour depuis que ces choses se sont produites. 22 Il est vrai que quelques femmes de notre groupe de disciples nous ont stupéfiés. Alors qu’elles s’étaient rendues tôt le matin au tombeau 23 et n’avaient pas trouvé son corps, elles allèrent annoncer qu’elles avaient entendu un message de Dieu qu’il est vivant. 24 Alors certains d’entre nous se sont rendus au tombeau et trouvèrent les choses exactement comme l’avaient décrites les femmes, mais sans le voir, lui. » 25 Alors Jésus leur dit ceci : « O gens dont le cœur est sans intelligence et lent à croire tout ce dont ont parlé les prophètes. 26 Ne convenait-il pas que le messie endure toutes ces choses pour que se révèle la qualité d’être extraordinaire de sa personne ? » 27 Puis, commençant par Moïse et tous les prophètes, il se mit à leur expliquer comment toutes les Écritures parlaient de lui.

28 Quand ils arrivèrent au village où ils se dirigeaient, Jésus fit semblant de poursuivre plus loin sa route. 29 Mais les disciples insistèrent fortement pour lui dire : « Reste avec nous, c’est le soir et le jour a déjà disparu. » Alors Jésus entra dans la maison pour demeurer avec eux. 30 Quand Jésus se mit à table avec eux, il fit la bénédiction après avoir pris le pain, puis, après l’avoir rompu, il se mit à le leur donner. 31 Alors leurs yeux s’ouvrirent et ils le reconnurent. Mais lui leur devint aussitôt invisible. 32 Les disciples se dirent l’un à l’autre : notre cœur n’était-il pas allumé quand il nous parlait en chemin et qu’il nous ouvrait à la compréhension des Écritures? 33 Se levant immédiatement, ils retournèrent à Jérusalem et trouvèrent réunis les onze, ainsi que les gens qui accompagnaient ces derniers, 34 qui leur dirent : « Le Seigneur est ressuscité et Simon en a fait l’expérience. » 35 Et eux se mirent à raconter ce qui s’était passé sur le chemin et comment il s’était révélé à eux à la fraction du pain.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

La vie n'est pas toujours ce que nous attendions, mais elle permet des rencontres.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Comprendre et se sentir épaulé

Combien de fois dans nos vies avons-nous été déçus? Les petites déceptions, d’abord. Déception du résultat d’un examen. Déception de ne pas avoir été reconnu pour tout l’effort fourni dans un projet. Déception devant une promotion qui n’est pas venue? Déception de sa situation financière? Déception d’un enfant qui ne répond pas à nos attentes. Déception au niveau politique? Vous auriez dû voir le visage de certains à la suite de l’élection américaine 2004. Mais il y a aussi les grandes déceptions. Déceptions devant l’échec d’un mariage. Déception de ne pas trouver de conjoint. Déception devant un choix de vie qui ne nous rend pas heureux. Déception devant un corps qui nous cause trop de soucis. Déception devant une part de notre vie que nous aurions voulu qu’elle n’existe jamais. C’est ce que disent des gens qui ont souffert de leur milieu familial, de leur éducation ou des bêtises qu’ils ont commises. Quoi qu’il en soit, les déceptions aux multiples visages font partie de notre vie. Pourtant, s’il en était uniquement de nous, nous construirions un monde où les déceptions n’existeraient jamais. Alors, pourquoi Dieu a-t-il construit un monde où la déception fait partie de notre pain quotidien?

Sans connaître la réponse à cette question, je pense que c’est le contexte dans lequel il faut écouter le récit des disciples d’Emmaüs présenté dans la liturgie de ce dimanche. Car ces deux hommes dont nous parle Luc sont des gens déçus. Il ne s’agit pas ici d’une petite déception, comme celle d’avoir raté la soupe. Quand on espère en un libérateur politique, toute sa vie est engagée. Luc mentionne qu’ils regardent Jésus avec un air « sombre » quand ce dernier les interroge : le mot « dépression » serait plus adéquat pour décrire ce qu’ils vivent. Car que reste-t-il à des gens lorsqu’on leur enlève ce qui fait le ressort de leur vie? Nous pouvons nous identifier à divers titres à ces deux hommes. Alors, dans un tel contexte, qu’a donc à leur dire Jésus?

La première chose qui m’apparaît fondamentale, c’est le fait que Jésus soit présent lorsqu’ils discutent ensemble et essaient de comprendre ce qui est arrivé à Jérusalem. Un des termes du texte originel grec pour décrire ce qu’ils font est « homilein », qui a donné notre mot homélie : ils se donnent mutuellement une homélie. Le fait même que des gens se mettent ensemble pour chercher à comprendre, pour faire la lumière sur leur vie, pour découvrir la vérité, est le signe clair qu’il est présent. Qu’est-ce à dire? Tu vis une grande déception? Ne fuis pas! N’enterre pas cela dans l’alcool, le jeu, la pornographie ou la drogue. Ne nie pas ta déception. Pleure, crie et interroge-toi. Avec d’autres, oui, surtout avec d’autres, laisse monter tes incompréhensions, continue à chercher la lumière. Il me semble que croire à la présence de la personne même de Jésus au coeur de mon questionnement, donne une dimension mystique à ce qui me semble pénible.

Dans le récit de Luc, Jésus reproche aux deux hommes leur manque d’intelligence et leur manque de foi en concluant : ne convenait-il pas que le messie endure toutes ces choses pour que se révèle la qualité d’être extraordinaire de sa personne ? Avons-nous ici une explication de la souffrance, la sienne, la nôtre? Pas du tout! Mais l’affirmation de la conclusion heureuse de ce parcours douloureux permet de lui donner un sens, une direction. Aussi, croire qu’au bout de mes diverses blessures se trouvent un printemps que je ne peux imaginer, ne répond pas à toutes mes questions, mais me permet de continuer à marcher et, d’une certaine façon, de comprendre.

Le récit se termine avec un repas dans une chaumière, la nuit tombée. Pourquoi est-ce à ce moment que les deux disciples reconnaissent Jésus? Ne me dites-pas parce qu’ils ont fait le lien avec les paroles de la « consécration ». Le geste du partage du pain est le symbole même de la fraternité. Il ne suffit pas de donner un sens à toutes nos déceptions, il faut aussi se sentir épaulé. Le « Je comprends » doit être accompagné du « Je t’aime ». Cependant, tout « je t’aime », toute communion, sonnera faux s’il n’y a pas eu au préalable confrontation de nos questions et dialogue.

Si vous êtes perspicace, vous avez remarqué que le récit de Luc ressemble à la messe du dimanche, avec d’abord la liturgie de la parole et l’homélie, suivie de l’eucharistie proprement dite. Mais en fait, ça devrait être l’inverse : la messe du dimanche est le miroir de ce que nous vivons vraiment, nos efforts constants à comprendre la vie et l’amitié qui nous rend solidaires.

 

-Décembre 2005