entête

Sybil 2007

Gospel text

Luke 2: 22-40

22 When the date of their purification came according to the law of Moses, the parents of Jesus brought him up to Jerusalem to present him to the Lord, 23 as it is written in the law of the Lord: every male who first opens the womb will be considered as belonging to the Lord, 24 and also to offer in sacrifice, as what has been said in the law of the Lord, a pair of turtledoves or two young doves.

25 Now there was a man in Jerusalem whose name was Simeon. He was an authentic and religious man. He was waiting for the happiness promised to Israel and was inhabited by the Holy Spirit. 26 And the latter has made him understand that he would not die before seeing the Messiah of the Lord. 27 Inspired by the Spirit, he came to the temple. When the parents entered with the baby Jesus to do what the law usually requires about him, 28 he received the child in his arms and expressed his gratitude to God with these words:

29 Now, Master, you can let go in peace your servant as you propose,
30 For my eyes have seen the plan of liberation
31 which you have prepared for all peoples,
32 that of a revealing light for the nations
and a showcase for your people Israel.

33 His father and mother were upset with what was said about him. 34 Simeon thanked them, and then he said to his mother Mary, "Listen, your child has been given the mission of making many people in Israel stumbling and raising up, and thus being a source of contradiction. 35 (And you yourself, a sword will pierce your being), so that the deep thoughts of the hearts of many people are revealed. 36 There was also a prophetess, Anna, the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher. She is a senior, who has lived with a man for seven years as a girl, 37 and remained a widow until she was 84 years old. She did not go away from the temple, worshipping day and night with fasts and prayers. 38 She appeared at this very hour and began to praise God and to speak of the child to all the people who were waiting for the rehabilitation of Jerusalem.

39 Then, after having fulfilled all that the law of the Lord required, Jesus' parents returned to Galilee in their city of Nazareth. 40 And the child grew and strengthened himself, showing much wisdom, and the overflowing love of God was in him.

The shell gave him all the nutrients to break it and go his way


Gospel commentary - Homily

The family, source of life or death?

This is the story of a girl who belongs to a race known as Roms or Gypsies. The girl lives in Eastern Europe. She is a student with exceptional talent and her grades are among the highest in her country. One see her at the university and being launched to lightning career. But now her family finds all this too risky: she is forced to a marriage of convenience, taken to a remote village, raped and kept in isolation. Then she will be part of a traffic with Western Europe where she is now part of a group of beggars parked near a very famous stadium. Some tried to rehabilitate her, offering her a safe home where she could continue her studies. She refused, terrified that her family could find her. The family, source of life or death? In the latter case, the answer is clear.

It is in this context that I propose to read again the story of the Gospel of Luke on the parents of Jesus who take him to the temple to complete the ritual required by Jewish law for first-born males: 33 days later the circumcision of the child that took place on the 8th day of his birth, the mother will complete the cycle of purification of his blood by bringing his child to the priest of the temple and offer an animal as a holocaust, ie the animal will be completely burned in sign of irrevocable gift, then a second animal will be offered as an atonement for sins. Thus the woman will be purified. For a first-born male, it was also necessary to redeem him with a small sum of money, because he belonged to God, since the latter had slaughtered the first-born Egyptians to obtain the liberation of Israel from Egypt. Sacrifice of animals, financial transaction to get back his child, celebration of a massacre of children by God. Would not you be uncomfortable if you had to do these rites? The Gospel seems to present Mary and Joseph as traditionalist people who conform to religious law, and thus contribute little to the evolution of society. Yet what they will bring is unheard of.

One day, their son Jesus will question the religious laws. He will relativize the Sabbath, yet the core of the Jewish religion still today. He will question the rites of purification, especially all ablutions on the body. And above all, he will distance himself from the Temple and all those animal sacrifices. He will propose a religion of the heart. How did the son of Mary and Joseph come to this? Do not just say that he was the Son of God. It is to ignore the Incarnation, it is to ignore that God wanted to take over our human condition, it is to ignore that Jesus had to learn to become a man, it is to ignore the meaning of today's Gospel: "And the child grew and strengthened, showing great wisdom, and the overflowing love of God was in him". Jesus received guidance in order to grow. How could he become what he is , trust and attention he has received? His family was a source of life, even if it meant questioning and destroying his religious world.

The Simeon character will summarize what this child represents: I can now die in peace, can we paraphrase, because I have now the certainty that all that I hoped will come true, I perceive this plan of liberation that God has prepared for all the nations of the world. An elderly widow, Anna, who is said to be a prophetess, will take up a similar chorus by announcing the rehabilitation of Jerusalem, the city of the Temple. But with 2,000 years of hindsight, what do we have to say to Simeon and Anna? Simeon, Anna, you are right! Because of Jesus, the world is no longer the same. For a crowd of people, he has become a light that has lit up their lives, he has introduced a new way of looking at the world and determining what is important, faith in his constant presence allows them to face many challenges. But do not be surprised to learn that this Temple and all those religious rites that have allowed you to meet him have collapsed, and are no longer the place to experience his presence. The rehabilitation of the Temple was done by moving on to something else.

Let's return to the trigger of this revolution: Mary and Joseph. What did these traditionalists do? They loved, they trusted, they were attentive. That's the point. The shape of the family is less important. Joseph was not the biological father, according to tradition. And again according to tradition, Mary found herself alone after the death of Joseph. On the other hand, our young Gypsy girl of the beginning was destroyed by a "standard" family. The true family is the one who is able to launch a being in the orbit of life and make him find his own path, and to be in turn source of life. Are we aware of this?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, September 2008

Themes

Sybil 2007

Le texte évangélique

Lc 2, 22-40

22 Quand arriva la date de leur purification selon la loi de Moïse, les parents de Jésus le firent monter à Jérusalem pour le présenter au Seigneur, 23 selon ce qui est écrit dans la loi du Seigneur : tout mâle qui ouvre le premier l’utérus sera considéré comme appartenant au Seigneur, 24 et également pour offrir en sacrifice, comme ce qui a été dit dans la loi du Seigneur, un couple de tourterelles ou deux jeunes colombes.

25 Or, il y avait à Jérusalem un homme qui s’appelait Siméon. C’était un homme authentique et religieux. Il attendait le bonheur promis à Israël et était habité par l’Esprit Saint. 26 Et celui-ci lui avait fait pressentir qu’il ne mourrait pas avant d’avoir vu le Messie du Seigneur. 27 Inspiré par l’Esprit, il vint au temple. Quand les parents entrèrent avec l’enfant Jésus pour faire ce que la loi exige habituellement à son sujet, 28 il reçut l’enfant dans ses bras et exprima sa gratitude à Dieu par ces mots :

29 Maintenant, Maître, tu peux donner congé en toute paix à ton serviteur comme tu le proposes,
30 Car mes yeux ont vu le plan de libération
31 que tu as préparés pour l’ensemble des peuples,
32 celui d’une lumière révélatrice pour les nations
et qui manifeste la qualité d’être extraordinaire de ton peuple Israël.

33 Son père et sa mère étaient renversés de ce qu’on disait à son sujet. 34 Siméon les remercia, puis il dit à Marie sa mère : « Écoute, ton enfant a reçu la mission de faire trébucher et de relever beaucoup de gens en Israël, et d’être ainsi une source de contradiction. 35 (Et toi-même, une épée transpercera ton être), de sorte que soient dévoilées les pensées profondes du cœur de beaucoup de gens. » 36 Il y avait aussi une prophétesse, Anne, la fille de Phanouel, de la tribu d’Aser. C’est une personne âgée, qui a vécu 7 ans avec un homme alors qu’elle était jeune fille, 37 et elle est restée veuve jusqu’à l’âge de 84 ans. Elle ne s’éloignait pas du temple, s’attachant jour et nuit à Dieu par des jeûnes et des prières. 38 Elle se présenta à cette heure même et se mit à faire l’éloge de Dieu et à parler de l’enfant à tous les gens qui attendaient la réhabilitation de Jérusalem.

39 Alors, après s’être acquitté de tout ce qu’exigeait la loi du Seigneur, les parents de Jésus retournèrent en Galilée dans leur ville de Nazareth. 40 Et l’enfant se développait et se fortifiait, montrant beaucoup de sagesse, et l’amour débordant de Dieu était en lui.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

La coquille lui a donné tous les nutriments pour la briser et aller son chemin.

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

La famille, source de vie ou de mort?

C’est l’histoire d’une jeune fille qui appartient à une race connue sous le vocable Roms ou Gitans. La jeune fille habite l’Europe de l’Est. Elle est une étudiante avec un talent exceptionnel et ses notes scolaires sont parmi les plus hautes de son pays. On la voit à l’université et lancée dans une carrière fulgurante. Mais voici que sa famille trouve tout cela trop risqué : elle est forcée à un mariage de convenance, emmenée dans un village éloigné, violée et gardée en isolement. Puis elle fera partie d’un trafic avec l’Europe de l’Ouest où elle fait maintenant partie d’un groupe de mendiants stationnés près d’un stade très connu. Certains essayèrent de la réhabiliter, lui offrant un logis sûr où elle pourrait poursuivre ses études. Elle a refusé, terrorisée à l’idée que sa famille puisse la retrouver. La famille, source de vie ou de mort? Dans ce dernier cas, la réponse est claire.

C’est dans ce contexte que je vous propose de relire le récit de l’évangile de Luc sur les parents de Jésus qui l’emmènent au temple pour compléter le rite prévu par la loi juive pour les mâles premiers-nés : 33 jours après la circoncision de l’enfant qui avait eu lieu le 8e jour de sa naissance, la mère complètera la période de purification de son sang en apportant son enfant au prêtre du temple et offrira un animal en holocauste, i.e. l’animal sera complètement brûlé en signe de don irrévocable, puis un deuxième animal sera offert en sacrifice d’expiation pour les péchés. Ainsi la femme sera purifiée. Pour un mâle premier-né, il fallait en plus le racheter avec une petite somme d’argent, car il appartenait à Dieu, depuis que Celui-ci avait massacré les premiers-nés Égyptiens pour obtenir la libération d’Israël d’Égypte. Sacrifice d’animaux, transaction financière pour ravoir son enfant, célébration d’un massacre d’enfants par Dieu. Ne seriez-vous pas mal à l’aise si vous aviez à faire ces rites ? L’évangile semble présenter Marie et Joseph comme des gens traditionalistes qui se conforment à la loi religieuse, et donc contribuent peu à l’évolution de la société. Pourtant, ce qu’ils apporteront est inouï.

Un jour, leur fils Jésus remettra en question les lois religieuses. Il relativisera le sabbat, pourtant le cœur de la religion juive encore aujourd’hui. Il remettra en question les rites de purification, en particulier toutes ses ablutions sur le corps. Et surtout, il prendra ses distances par rapport au Temple et de tous ces sacrifice d’animaux. Il proposera une religion du cœur. Comment le fils de Marie et Joseph a-t-il pu en arriver là ? Ne dites-pas simplement qu’il était Fils de Dieu. C’est ignorer l’incarnation, c’est ignorer que Dieu a voulu assumer notre condition humaine, c’est ignorer que Jésus a dû apprendre à devenir un homme, c’est ignorer tout ce que veulent dire les mots de la fin de l’évangile d’aujourd’hui: « Et l’enfant se développait et se fortifiait, montrant beaucoup de sagesse, et l’amour débordant de Dieu était en lui. » On a guidé Jésus pour qu’il se développe. Comment a-t-il pu devenir ce qu’il est sans l’amour, la confiance et l’attention qu’il a reçu? Sa famille fut source de vie, même si cela signifiait la remise en question et la destruction en quelque sorte de son monde religieux.

Le personnage Syméon résumera ce que cet enfant représente : je peux maintenant mourir en paix, pouvons-nous paraphraser, car j’ai maintenant la certitude que tout ce que j’ai espéré se réalisera, je perçois ce plan de libération que Dieu a préparé pour toutes les nations du monde. Une veuve âgée, Anne, que l’on dit prophétesse, reprendra un refrain semblable en annonçant la réhabilitation de Jérusalem, la ville du Temple. Mais avec 2000 ans de recul, qu’avons-nous à dire à Syméon et à Anne ? Syméon, Anne, vous avez raison ! À cause de Jésus, le monde n’a plus été le même. Pour une foule de gens, il est devenu une lumière qui a illuminé leur vie, il a introduit une nouvelle manière de regarder le monde et de déterminer ce qui est important, la foi en sa présence constante leur permet d’affronter de nombreux défis. Mais ne soyez pas surpris d’apprendre que ce Temple et tous ces rites religieux qui vous ont permis de le rencontrer se sont écroulés, et ne sont plus le lieu où faire l’expérience de sa présence. La réhabilitation du Temple s’est faite en passant à autre chose.

Revenons au déclencheur de cette révolution : Marie et Joseph. Qu’ont donc fait ces gens pourtant traditionalistes? Ils ont aimé, ils ont fait confiance, ils ont été attentifs. Voilà l’essentiel. La forme de la famille a moins d’importance. Joseph n’était pas le père biologique, selon la tradition. Et encore selon la tradition, Marie s’est retrouvée seule après le décès de Joseph. Par contre, notre jeune fille Roms du début a été détruite par une famille « normale ». La vraie famille, c’est celle qui est capable de lancer un être dans l’orbite de la vie et le rendre capable de tracer son proche chemin, et d’être à son tour source de vie. En sommes-nous conscient?

 

-Septembre 2008