entête

Sybil 2000

Gospel text

Luke 1: 39-45

39 In those days Mary arose, and hastened to the mountainous region of Judah. 40 She went into Zechariah's house and greeted Elizabeth. 41 When she heard the greeting, she felt the child she bore flutter and, inspired by the Holy Spirit, 42 exclaimed with all her strength, "Great! How you have been filled with the loving care of God more than any other woman, and how the child you are carrying has been filled as well! 43 But how is it that I have the privilege of having the visit of the mother of the messiah? 44 For as soon as the sound of your salutation has come to my ears, the child I am carrying has trembled with joy. 45 Bravo, for the one who dared to believe that the Lord will give a follow-up to all the words that he has said to her, until their complete fulfillment."

A little brother or a little sister?


Gospel commentary - Homily

To believe is to see the child we carry

We live in a difficult time. It seems to me that we are so far from the time when everything seemed possible, where we sang, "It's the beginning of a new era!", Where we thought we could change the world. We are rather at failures. In Cancun, Mexico, we have just recognized that it is impossible to reach an agreement between rich and poor countries in terms of agriculture. In my workplace, we only talk about projects that must be abandoned because of a lack of funds. A parent recently described to me the rotten atmosphere at the factory, following a nearly year-long strike, and fears of losing his job. Even among Christians, the atmosphere has become gloomy. The churches are closing, active Christians are reorganized under new pastoral units, trying to make a traditional structure work somehow. And even pope John Paul II, out of breath, barely able to move, symbolizes an aged world.

In this context, this Sunday's Gospel story is a shock. The strong images follow one another: a woman rises full of energy and quickly crosses a region of mountains to reach a village in the south of the country; her cousin, on seeing her, shouts her joy with all her might, for she sees such marvelous things to happen, and through her, it is a whole nation who can foresee a bright future with the coming of a messiah. We have the impression of being in the morning of the world, the sun rises, birds chirp, two children will be born, life is beautiful, everything is possible.

To understand this Gospel scene, I remind myself the eyes of this colleague of mine, a woman previously childless, when she got the date of her departure for China, where she was waiting for a little girl of 8 months, entrusted to adoption; her eyes shone, her whole body shone, she was out of this world. I also think back to this couple, both widows following the events of September 11, 2001 at the World Trade Center in New York, who met and fell in love: they found themselves talking for hours, without being able to stop, having the feeling of living a fairy tale.

I who belong to a morose world, I receive this Gospel as a shock, with a note of envy. Why can we not experience the same? Is it really possible? Is the Gospel not an invitation to a world of illusions? No doubt it is necessary to take the time to live these feelings and these questions, before making this immense realization: I can become Mary, this woman who stands up and crosses the mountains with energy, I can be Elizabeth who, looking around, sees people being pampered and fulfilled beyond measure, and celebrating the hope of a whole nation. But how? The answer is in Elizabeth's mouth: "If you dare to believe that the Lord will give a follow-up to all the words he said, until they are completely fulfilled."

To believe is to see the invisible, and therefore to see that child I am bearing. You, like me, we all carry within us a mystery of life, a love that is beyond us, that we feel more present or absent in certain days. Only faith allows you to see it constantly. This is what supported Jesus, allowed him to act differently than others and led him to speak of the Kingdom of God. We carry the same mystery of love, the same world that needs to be born. We would like to see this world already born, full-fledged, with his adult stature, when in fact he is partly invisible, and it is our responsibility to bring him to life.

This world will appear to us as a new day that rises or as a night that declines, depending on whether we look at it with the eyes of faith or not. When the disciples, who have fished vainly all night, answer Jesus, "On your word, we will continue to fish", they discover the dawn of the world. But beware! I will be even more able to see the wonderful reality that is being born that I avoid a trap: hoping that my child will be simply a clone of who I am. It's impossible! To be born is to become another. Only faith and love allow us to rejoice in it.

As we prepare to celebrate Christmas, let us realize that this Jesus to be born is in our midst, that all hopes are allowed, and that the Lord will give a follow up to all the words he has spoken, until their full accomplishment.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, September 2003

Themes

Sybil 2000

 

Le texte évangélique

Lc 1, 39-45

39 En ces jours-là, Marie se leva et s'empressa de se rendre dans la région montagneuse d'une ville de Judas. 40 Elle entra dans la maison de Zacharie et salua Élizabeth. 41 Celle-ci, quand elle entendit la salutation, sentit tressaillir l'enfant qu'elle portait et, inspirée par l'Esprit Saint, 42 s'exclama de toutes ses forces: «Formidable! Comme tu as été comblée par l'attention amoureuse de Dieu plus qu'aucune autre femme, et comme aussi l'enfant que tu portes a été comblé! 43 Mais comment se fait-il que j'aie le privilège d'avoir la visite de la mère du messie? 44 Car aussitôt que le son de ta salutation est parvenu à mes oreilles, l'enfant que je porte a tressailli de joie. 45 Bravo, pour celle qui a su croire que le Seigneur donnera une suite à toutes les paroles qu'il lui a dites, jusqu'à leur plein accomplissement. »


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Un petit frère ou une petite soeur?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Croire, c'est voir l'enfant que nous portons.

Nous vivons une époque difficile. Il me semble que nous sommes si loin de la période où tout semblait possible, où on chantait: "C'est le début d'un temps nouveau!", où on croyait pouvoir changer le monde. Nous sommes plutôt aux constats d'échec. À Cancun, au Mexique, on vient de reconnaître qu'il est impossible de s'entendre entre pays riches et pays pauvres sur le plan de l'agriculture. Dans mon milieu de travail, on ne parle que de projets qu'il faut abandonner, faute de fonds. Un parent me décrivait récemment l'atmosphère pourrie à l'usine, à la suite d'une grève de presqu'un an, et de ses craintes de perdre son emploi. Même chez les chrétiens, l'atmosphère est devenue morose. On ferme les églises, on rapaille les forces sous des unités pastorales, en essayant de faire fonctionner tant bien que mal une structure traditionnelle. Et même un pape essouflé, pouvant à peine se déplacer, vient symboliser un monde vieilli.

Dans ce contexte, le récit d'évangile de ce dimanche constitue un choc. Les images fortes se succèdent: une femme se lève pleine d'énergie et franchit en vitesse un région de montagnes pour atteindre un village du sud du pays; sa cousine, en la voyant, crie de toutes ses forces sa joie, car elle voit des choses tellement merveilleuses se produire, et par elle, c'est tout un peuple qui voit son avenir s'ouvrir avec la venue d'un messie. On a l'impression d'assister au matin du monde, le soleil se lève, les oiseaux chantent, deux enfants vont naître, la vie est belle, tout est possible.

Pour comprendre cette scène d'évangile, je repense aux yeux de cette collègue de travail, jusque là sans enfant, lorsqu'elle a appris la date de son départ pour la Chine, où l'attendais une petite fille de 8 mois, confiée à l'adoption; les yeux brillaient, tout son corps rayonnait, elle ne portait plus sur terre. Je repense aussi à ce couple, d'abord veuf et veuve à la suite des événements du 11 septembre 2001 au World Trade Center de New York, qui se rencontrés et sont devenus amoureux: ils se sont surpris à se parler des heures de temps, sans pouvoir s'arrêter, ayant le sentiment de vivre un conte de fée.

Moi qui appartient à un monde morose, je reçois cet évangile comme un choc, avec une note d'envie. Pourquoi ne pouvons pas vivre la même chose? Est-ce vraiment possible? Ne m'invite-t-on pas à un monde d'illusions? Sans doute faut-il prendre le temps de vivre ces sentiments et ces questions, avant de faire cette immense prise de conscience: je peux devenir Marie, cette femme qui se lève debout et franchit les montagnes avec énergie, je peux être Élizabeth qui voit autour d'elle des gens choyés et comblés au delà de toute mesure et célèbre l'espoir d'un peuple. Mais Comment? La réponse est dans la bouche d'Élizabeth: "Si tu sais croire que le Seigneur donnera une suite à toutes les paroles qu'il a dites, jusqu'à leur plein accomplissement."

Croire, c'est voir l'invisible, et donc voir cet enfant que je porte. Vous comme moi, nous portons au fond de nous un mystère de vie, un amour qui nous dépasse, que nous sentons plus présent ou plus absent à certains jours. Seule la foi permet de le voir constamment. C'est ce qui a soutenu Jésus, lui a permis d'agir autrement que les autres et l'a amené à parler du Royaume de Dieu. Nous portons le même mystère d'amour, le même monde qui demande à naître. Nous voudrions le voir hors de nous, tout fait, avec sa stature d'adulte, alors qu'en fait, il est en partie invisible, et qu'il nous revient de le mettre au monde.

Ce monde nous apparaîtra comme un jour nouveau qui se lève ou comme un soir qui décline, selon que nous le regardons ou non avec les yeux de la foi. Quand les disciples, qui ont pêché vainement toute la nuit, répondent à Jésus: "Sur ta parole, nous continuerons à pêché", ils découvriront l'aube du monde. Mais attention! Je serai d'autant plus en mesure de voir la réalité merveilleuse qui est en train de naître que j'éviterai un piège: celui d'espérer que mon enfant sera tout simplement un clône de ce que je suis. C'est impossible! Naître, c'est devenir autre. Seuls la foi et l'amour nous permettent de nous en réjouir.

Au moment où nous apprêtons à célébrer Noël, prenons conscience que ce Jésus à naître est au fond de nous, que tous les espoirs sont permis, et que le Seigneur donnera une suite à toutes les paroles qu'il a dites, jusqu'à leur plein accomplissement.

 

-Septembre 2003