entête

Sybil 2002

Gospel text

John 20: 19-23

19 Now on the same day, the first of the week, when evening had come and the doors had been closed, where the disciples had taken refuge for fear of the Jews, Jesus made himself present, standing, in the midst of them and said to them, "Peace be in you!" 20 And while saying this, he showed them his hands and his side. Seeing thus the Lord, the disciples were full of joy. 21 Then he said unto them again: "Peace be in you; in the same way that the Father sent me on a mission, I an also sending you". 22 And while saying this, he breathed on them with these words, "Receive the Spirit 23 If you happen to liberate any from their waywardnesses, they will be removed from their life, but if you happen to leave them with their waywardnesses, these will stay with them."

Studies

When it snows in spring


Gospel commentary - Homily

Everything can change

Like many of my contemporaries, I experience a tension between my faith in God and the feeling on certain days that He is so absent that I wonder if He really exists. Take, for example, this couple from the region north of Montreal, in whose hooden men suddenly burst in, not only emptying their bank account, but raping before their bewildered eyes a young woman temporarily residing at home. Does God happen to have a heartache? Or is he indifferent to this mother and her two children, whose husband, a police officer, was shot dead by a 22-year-old young man on the street in Montreal? Is he having fun counting the death toll in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict?

It is then that I need stories like this Sunday to bring me back to the truth of things, as can be seen by the eyes of faith. The disciples experience great peace and great joy when they feel the presence of Jesus. But this experience takes place in the midst of mourning. Never again will they be able to touch him and walk with him as before. We may celebrate Easter, but we must not forget that it takes place at the end of a path of suffering and death, and that there is a relationship of immediacy which will no longer exist. Can you explain to me the reason for all this mourning? Neither do I. I just know that this path is unavoidable, and that by agreeing to go to the end, I find an unexpected joy and peace.

But there is more. Everything can change. Look at these disciples cloistered in fear. Jesus has the nerve to send them on a mission. And they will go... How did he do it?

I just came back from two weeks of leadership training. The role of leader has two aspects: that of leading, and therefore showing the way, and that of motivating, and therefore of getting people started. Regarding this last dimension, despite the materialistic appearances of our world, surveys show that the strongest motivation for a job is not money, but the possibility of self-realization. When Jesus breathes on the disciples, what does he express? Human beings are inhabited by a force which directs them towards everything that is proclaimed in the Gospel, and this force is a powerful engine which enables them to overcome many obstacles. Jesus' leadership is expressed by the Holy Spirit. Because of this leadership, the disciples will leave the cocoon where they had taken refuge.

The feast of Pentecost aims not only to celebrate the success of Jesus' leadership, but to proclaim his faith that everything can change. If the disciples were able to change, why not me, why not the Church, why not this world? This is where my amnesia or impatience plays tricks on me. Any profound change takes time, a lot of time, and I lose sight of who I was, or what this world was. There is more. My outlook on things changes, and as it changes, it becomes more critical, more demanding, perceiving new gaps. And then I feel like nothing has changed. This remark by an analyst on Robert Mugabe and his role in Zimbabwe is extremely revealing: "He was welcomed as a hero in 1980, but many of the things he did at that time seem to us unacceptable today, because our criteria ethics have changed". The Holy Spirit continues his long work, and this work bears the mark of God, that is to say that it will be eternal and infinite.

Today's story reminds me of one last thing: "If you happen to liberate any from their waywardnesses, they will be removed from their life, but if you happen to leave them with their waywardnesses, these will stay with them" (Usual translation: If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained") How to interpret this "if you happen to leave them with their wayardnesses" or "if you retain the sins"? First, from the perspective of the Johannine community, we must immediately put aside a legal approach, as if some would have the right to leave people with their sins. For John, the stake is the entry into the world of faith, and by that in a life that is overflowing. But who bears this responsibility? Me. You. Everyone. So the "to leave them with their wayardnesses" becomes "if you do not follow through on what you are called to as my disciples, people will not have access to this superabundant life".

At the heart of the events which sometimes revolt me, sometimes depress me, the story of this day suggests to me these words of Jesus: "I am always there, but it is you who will have to change things, sometimes accepting certain mournings, as I did it. I delegate this responsibility to you. Do not fear. My Spirit will accompany you and, even if you do not see it, you will be this little stone in the midst of others in the construction of the world".

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, March 2002

Themes

Sybil 2001

 

Le texte évangélique

Jn 20, 19-23

19 Or le même jour, le premier de la semaine, alors que le soir était venu et que les portes avaient été fermées, là où s'étaient réfugiés les disciples par peur des Juifs, Jésus se rendit présent, debout, au milieu d'eux et leur dit: «Que la paix soit en vous!"» 20 Et tout en disant cela, il leur montra ses mains et son côté. Voyant ainsi le Seigneur, les disciples furent pleins de joie. 21 Alors il leur dit de nouveau: «Que la paix soit en vous; de la même façon que le Père m'a envoyé en mission, moi aussi je vous envoie.» 22 Et tout en disant cela, il souffla sur eux avec ces mots: «Recevez l'Esprit Saint. 23 S'il vous arrive de libérer quelqu'un de ses égarements, ceux-ci seront vraiment éliminés de sa vie devant Dieu. Par contre, s'il vous arrive de le laisser avec ses égarements, ceux-ci resteront avec lui devant Dieu.»

 


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quand il neige au printemps

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Tout peut changer

Comme beaucoup de mes contemporains, je vis une tension entre ma foi en Dieu et le sentiment à certains jours qu'il est si absent que je me demande s'il existe vraiment. Tenez, par exemple, ce couple de la région au nord de Montréal chez qui des cagoulards ont fait soudainement irruption, vidant non seulement leur compte en banque, mais violant sous leurs yeux ahuris une jeune femme résidant temporairement à la maison. Arrive-t-il à Dieu d'avoir un haut le coeur? Ou encore, est-Il indifférent à cette mère et ses 2 enfants, dont le mari, policier, a été abattu par un jeune homme de 22 ans en pleine rue à Montréal? S'amuse-t-il à compter le nombre de morts dans le conflit israélien-palestinien?

C'est alors qu'il me faut des récits comme celui de ce dimanche pour me ramener à la vérité des choses, telles que peuvent le percevoir les yeux de la foi. Les disciples font l'expérience d'une grande paix et d'une grande joie, lorsqu'ils sentent la présence de Jésus. Mais cette expérience se fait au coeur d'un deuil. Jamais plus ils ne pourront le toucher et marcher avec lui comme avant. On a beau célébrer Pâques, il ne faut pourtant pas oublier qu'elle a lieu au terme d'un chemin de souffrances et de la mort, et qu'il y a une relation d'immédiateté qui n'existera plus. Pouvez-vous m'expliquer le pourquoi de tous ces deuils? Moi non plus. Je sais simplement que ce chemin est incontournable, et qu'en acceptant d'y aller jusqu'au bout, je trouve une joie et une paix insoupçonnée.

Mais il y a plus. Tout peut changer. Regardez ces disciples cloîtrés dans la peur. Jésus a le culot de les envoyer en mission. Et ils iront.... Comment s'y est-il pris?

Je reviens de 2 semaines de formation sur le leadership. Le rôle de leader comporte deux aspects: celui de diriger, et donc montrer le chemin, et celui de motiver, et donc de mettre en marche les gens. A propos de cette dernière dimension, malgré les apparences matérialistes de notre monde, les enquêtes montrent que la motivation la plus forte pour un travail n'est pas l'argent, mais la possibilité de se réaliser soi-même. Quand Jésus souffle sur les disciples, qu'exprime-t-il? L'être humain est habité par une force qui l'oriente vers tout ce qui est proclamé dans l'Évangile, et cette force est un puissant moteur qui lui permet de vaincre de nombreux obstacles. Le leadership de Jésus est exprimé par l'Esprit Saint. En raison de ce leadership, les disciples quitteront le cocon où ils s'étaient réfugiés.

La fête de la Pentecôte entend non seulement célébrer le succès du leadership de Jésus, mais proclamer sa foi que tout peut changer. Si les disciples ont pu changer, pourquoi pas moi, pourquoi pas l'Église, pourquoi pas ce monde? C'est ici que mon amnésie ou mon impatience me joue des tours. Tout changement en profondeur demande du temps, énormément de temps, et je perds de vue qui j'étais, ou ce qu'était ce monde. Il y a plus. Mon regard sur les choses changent, et en changeant, il devient plus critique, plus exigeant, percevant de nouvelles lacunes. Et alors j'ai l'impression que rien n'a changé. Extrêmement révélatrice cette remarque d'un analyste sur Robert Mugabe et son rôle au Zimbabwe: "Il a été accueilli en héro en 1980, mais bien des choses qu'il a faites à ce moment nous paraissent aujourd'hui inacceptables, parce que nos critères éthiques ont changé". L'Esprit Saint poursuit son long travail, et ce travail porte la marque de Dieu, c'est-à-dire qu'il sera éternel et infini.

Le récit de ce jour me rappelle une dernière chose: "S'il vous arrive de libérer quelqu'un de ses fautes, celles-ci seront vraiment éliminées. Par contre, s'il vous arrive de le laisser avec ses fautes, ceux-ci resteront avec lui" (Traduction habituelle: Ceux à qui vous remettrez les péchés, ils leur seront remis; ceux à qui vous les retiendrez, ils leur seront retenus.") Comment interpréter ce "à qui vous les retiendrez"? Tout d'abord, dans la perspective de la communauté johannique, il faut tout de suite écarter une approche juridique, comme si certains auraient le droit de laisser des gens avec leurs péchés. Pour Jean, l'enjeu est l'entrée dans le monde de la foi, et par là dans une vie qui surabonde. Mais qui porte cette responsabilité? Moi. Vous. Tout le monde. Alors le "à qui vous les retiendrez" devient "si vous n'allez pas jusqu'au bout de ce à quoi vous êtes appelés, des gens n'auront pas accès à cette vie surabondante".

Au coeur des événements qui tantôt me révoltent, tantôt me dépriment, le récit de ce jour me suggère ces mots de Jésus: "Je suis toujours là, mais c'est toi qui aura à changer les choses, en acceptant parfois certains deuils, comme je l'ai fait. Je te délègue cette responsabilité. Ne crains pas. Mon Esprit t'accompagnera et, même si tu ne le vois pas, tu seras cette petite pierre au milieu des autres dans la construction du monde".

 

-Mars 2002