entête

Sybil 2002

Gospel text

John 20: 1-9

1 On the first day of the week, Mary Magdalene went to the tomb early in the morning, when it was still dark. She realizes that the stone, which blocked the entrance to the tomb, has been removed. 2 She starts running and goes to Simon Peter and the other disciple, the one whom Jesus loved, to tell them: one has taken the Lord from the tomb and one does not know where one put him. 3. Peter and the other disciple therefore went out to go to the tomb. 4. They were both running together. But the other disciple ran ahead faster than Peter and was the first to reach the tomb. 5 Leaning over to look inside, he sees the linen wrappings lying on the ground, but however he does not enter. 6 Finally comes Simon Peter who followed him, and he enters the tomb. He sees the linen wrappings lying on the ground, 7 as well as the shroud which covered his head; the latter was not, however, with the linen wrappings lying on the ground, but rather rolled up apart in a particular place. 8 It was then that the other disiciple entered, the one who had arrived first at the tomb: he saw all these things and began to believe.

Studies

He is absent, but present


Gospel commentary - Homily

The disciple whom Jesus loves

In the bereavement period, we usually remember the key events of the deceased that reaches its high point with the funeral, and it is only after the burial or cremation that comes the time of internalization. Do you not find something similar in the story of the empty tomb on this Easter Sunday? Of course, the visitation time has been shortened: the time to extract the body from the cross and wrap it in linen. Quite quickly, we are thrown into the after funeral, when there is no more body, in this stage of internalization.

Allow me to open a parenthesis here: what would have happened if the body of Jesus had always been there, in the tomb, and that we could have spent time with this body surrounded by linen? Don't tell me: this scenario was impossible, because Jesus is risen! One could affirm the resurrection of Jesus while seeing his body lying in the tomb: the state of resurrection does not need this mortal body. Besides, there is a consensus in the biblical milieu to affirm that the tradition of the resurrection and that of the empty tomb are completely independent. Read Paul's epistles and you will not see any mention of the empty tomb; and when he speaks of the risen body, he speaks of a "spiritual" body, different from the carnal body (1 Cor 15:44). So I come back to my question. In fact, if the body had always been there and, admitting that it would not be decomposed, I think that we would have developed a form of castrating attachment to the past: we would have been a religion of memory.

So here we are faced with the absence of a body. With this absent body we can put so many things in our own life: the absence of so many things that could make my life exciting and thrilling, the absence of loved ones that I would like to keep with me, the absence of this sacred security that we all seek, the absence of a young and alert body that I used to have. We could add these unfulfilled desires to understand a personal story, to give meaning to all these happensances and accidents of a lifetime, to explain a living environment that can appear insignificant and without bearing on others. Mary Magdalene cries, "I need this body, tell me where I can find it?"

Let's look at Peter's behaviour and the other disciple. Peter enters the empty tomb. He appears to be the first to open up to this experience of absence. One finds with him all those for whom this experience only generates a series of painful questions and incessant interrogations. The disciple whom Jesus loved enters in turn. Unlike Peter, at the heart of this experience of absence, he sees and he believes. Here he is first in the experience of faith. What did he see? What did he believe?

The evangelist takes care to note that the shroud which covered his face was not with the linen wrappings, but rolled up apart in one place. Clearly, the absence of the body is not due to a kidnapping as Mary Magdalene thought, because one would not have taken the time to remove the shroud and roll it carefully in another place. But these clues, Peter saw them too. What did he see more than Peter? How could the shroud have become a sign?

Friend reader, the biblical scholar that I am here is somewhat confused. I refuse to fall into the trap of fundamentalists for whom there is no chance, for whom God governs the smallest event. However, I am convinced that it was the feeling of having been deeply loved that enabled the other disciple to be the first to sense the signs that the situation was not an accident, to search feverishly for a meaning, to remember the words of Jesus and make a connection with all of Scriptures. What he discovers? A meaning which emerges from all this mourning and which makes a presence felt, and this feeling leads him to say: "I am no longer the disciple that Jesus LOVED (past), but I am now the one Jesus LOVES (present)". Him whom love made run faster than Peter, sees this relationship becoming an eternal present.

Among the Easter narratives, this is the one that appeals to me the most. Like many of you, I have never had privileged experiences of the living Jesus, as the stories of encounter with the risen Jesus seem to suggest to some. But the evangelist John presents to me here the experience of faith par excellence, and it is done without seeing Jesus. He invites me to open up to all that constitutes the emptiness of my life, the absences that hurt, the somewhat forced farewell, and he tells me, "Look a little better, in the heart of what seems to be a void, there is a loving presence waiting for you? And at that moment, you will experience a peace that will bring forth these words: he is here, very alive!"

At the time of this writing, the newspapers tell the story of these young Inuit people who use gasoline vapor. They are said to have never experienced parents who see them, pay attention to them, love them. Their destitution has become a bottomless void. With this disciple who discovered very early what it is to be deeply loved, I formulate this prayer: that finally comes Easter for everyone, so that life could germinate of our mournings.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, December 2000

Themes

Sybil 2002

 

Le texte évangélique

 

Jn 20, 1-9

1 Le premier jour de la semaine, Marie de Magdala se rend tôt le matin au tombeau, au moment où il faisait encore nuit. Elle s'aperçoit que la pierre, qui bloquait l'entrée du tombeau, a été enlevée. 2 Elle se met alors à courir et se rend chez Simon Pierre ainsi que chez l'autre disciple, celui que Jésus aimait, pour leur dire: on a enlevé le Seigneur du tombeau et nous ne savons pas où on l'a mis. 3. Pierre et l'autre disciple sortirent donc pour se rendre au tombeau. 4. Ils courraient tous les deux ensemble. Mais l'autre disciple courut en avant plus vite que Pierre et parvint le premier au tombeau. 5 Se penchant pour regarder à l'intérieur, il voit les bandelettes qui gisent par terre, mais cependant il n'entra pas. 6 Arrive enfin Simon Pierre qui le suivait, et il entre dans le tombeau. Il aperçoit les bandelettes qui gisaient par terre, 7 ainsi que le suaire qui lui recouvrait la tête; ce dernier ne se trouvait toutefois pas avec les bandelettes qui gisaient par terre, mais plutôt enroulé à part dans un lieu particulier. 8 C'est à ce moment qu'entra alors l'autre disiciple, celui qui était arrivé le premier au tombeau: il vit toutes ces choses et se mit à croire.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Il est absent, mais présent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Le disciple que Jésus aime

Lors d'un décès, où on se remémore les événements qui ont marqué le défunt et qui connaît son apogée avec les funérailles, c'est après la mise en terre ou l'incinération que vient le temps d'intériorisation. Ne trouvez-vous pas qu'il y a quelque chose de semblable dans le récit du tombeau vide de ce dimanche de Pâques? Bien sûr, le temps d'exposition a été abrégé: le temps d'extraire le corps de la croix et de l'envelopper de linge. Assez rapidement, nous sommes projetés dans l'après funérailles, quand il n'y a plus de corps, dans cette étape d'intériorisation.

Je me permets ici d'ouvrir une parenthèse: que se serait-il passé si le corps de Jésus avait toujours été là, dans le tombeau, et qu'on avait pu passer du temps auprès de ce corps entouré de linges? Ne me dites pas: ce scénario était impossible, car Jésus est ressuscité! On pourrait affirmer la résurrection de Jésus tout en voyant son corps gisant au tombeau: l'état de résurrection n'a pas besoin de ce corps mortel. D'ailleurs il y a un consensus dans le milieu biblique pour affirmer que la tradition de la résurrection et celle du tombeau vide sont totalement indépendantes. Lisez les épîtres de Paul et vous ne verrez aucune mention du tombeau vide. Je reviens donc à ma question. En fait, si le corps avait toujours été là et, en admettant qu'il ne serait pas décomposé, je pense qu'on aurait développé une forme de fixation castrante sur le passé: on risquait d'être une religion du souvenir.

Nous voilà donc confronté à l'absence de corps. Avec ce corps absent on peut mettre tellement de choses de notre propre vie: l'absence de tant des choses qui pourraient rendre ma vie excitante et palpitante, l'absence d'êtres chers que je retiendrais volontiers auprès de moi, l'absence de cette sacrée sécurité que nous recherchons tous, l'absence d'un corps jeune et alerte que j'ai déjà eu. On pourrait ajouter ces désirs non assouvis de comprendre une histoire personnelle, de donner sens à tous ces hasards et ces accidents d'une vie, de s'expliquer un cadre de vie qui peut apparaître insignifiant et sans portée sur les autres. Marie-Madeleine en pleure: "J'ai besoin de ce corps, dis moi où je peux le trouver?"

Regardons l'attitude de Pierre et de l'autre disciple. Pierre entre dans le tombeau vide. Il apparaît comme le premier à s'ouvrir à cette expérience d'absence. On retrouve avec lui tous ceux et celles pour qui cette expérience ne fait qu'engendrer une série de questions douloureuses et d'incessantes interrogations. Le disciple que Jésus aimait entre à son tour. Contrairement à Pierre, au coeur de cette expérience d'absence, il voit et il croit. Le voilà premier dans l'expérience de la foi. Qu'a-t-il vu? Qu'a-t-il cru?

L'évangéliste prend soin de noter que le suaire qui recouvrait son visage n'était pas avec les linges, mais roulé à part dans un endroit. De manière claire, l'absence du corps n'est pas due à un enlèvement comme le pensait Marie-Madeleine, car on n'aurait pas pris le temps d'enlever le suaire et de le rouler soigneusement dans un autre endroit. Mais ces indices, Pierre les a vu aussi. Qu'a-t-il donc vu de plus que Pierre? Comment le suaire a-t-il pu devenir un signe?

Ami lecteur, le bibliste que je suis est ici quelque peu dérouté. Je refuse de tomber dans le piège des fondamentalistes pour qui il n'y a pas de hasard, pour qui Dieu gouverne le moindre petit événement. Pourtant, je suis convaincu que c'est le sentiment d'avoir été follement aimé qui a permis à l'autre disciple de pressentir le premier les signes que la situation n'était pas un accident, de chercher fébrilement un sens, de se remémorer les paroles de Jésus et de faire un lien avec l'ensemble de l'Écriture. Ce qu'il découvre? Le fait de commencer à percevoir un sens qui émerge de tout ce deuil est suffisant pour lui faire sentir une présence, et ce sentiment l'amène à dire: "Je ne suis plus le disciple que Jésus AIMAIT (passé), mais je suis désormais celui que Jésus AIME (présent)". Lui que l'amour faisait courir plus vite que Pierre, voit cette relation devenir un éternel présent.

Parmi les récits pascals, celui-ci est celui qui m'interpelle le plus. Comme beaucoup d'entre vous, je n'ai jamais eu d'expériences privilégiés de Jésus vivant, comme les récits de rencontre avec Jésus ressuscité semblent le suggérer pour certains. Mais l'évangéliste Jean me présente ici l'expérience de foi par excellence, et elle se fait sans voir Jésus. Il m'invite à m'ouvrir à tout ce qui constitue les vides de ma vie, les absences qui font mal, les adieux quelque peu forcés, et il me dit: "Regarde un peu mieux, au coeur de ce qui semble un vide, il y une présence aimante qui t'attend? Et à ce moment, tu feras l'expérience d'une paix qui t'arrachera ces mots: il est ici, bien vivant!"

Au moment d'écrire ces lignes, les journaux racontent l'histoire de ces jeunes Inuits qui se droguent à la vapeur d'essence. On dit d'eux qu'ils n'ont jamais fait l'expérience de parents qui les regardent, leur prêtent attention, les aiment. Leur dénuement est devenu un vide sans fond. Avec ce disciple qui a découvert très tôt ce que c'est d'être follement aimé, je formule cette prière: que vienne enfin Pâques pour faire germer la vie de nos deuils.

 

-Décembre 2000