entête

Sybil 1998

Gospel text

John 14: 1-12

1 Don't be upset. Trust God, and trust me too. 2 In my father's domain, there are various places to stay. Otherwise, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? 3 After going to prepare it for you, I come back again and then I will take you with me, so that where I am, you will also be there. As for the place where I am going, you know the way. 5 Thomas said to him, "Master, we do not even know where you are going, how can we know the way?" 6 Jesus answered him, "I am at the same time the way, the truth and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me. 7 If you really knew me, then you will be able to know my Father also. But, from now on you know him, and even you have seen him". 8 Philip said to him, "Master, tell us where the Father is, and that will be enough for us". Jesus replied, "Since all the time that I have been with you, you have not yet known me Philip? Whoever saw me also saw the Father. How can you say, 'Tell us where the Father is'. 10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I speak don't come from myself. It is the Father, who lives in me, who is the source of his own actions. 11 Trust me! I am in the Father and the Father is in me. If this is a problem for you, at least trust the actions themselves. Truly, I assure you, he who believes in me will take the same actions as I do, and even he will take greater actions, because I am going back to the Father".

Studies

Here and now


Gospel commentary - Homily

The false path of fundamentalism

The events of September 11, 2001 brought the problem of fundamentalism to the fore. In particular, before our horrified eyes, we could see the death path where it was driving. However, fundamentalism has always been among us. Racial fundamentalism existed in the United States and in Germany: one was only really a man if one was white and of Aryan race. Religious fundamentalism is still rampant. Several years ago, I witnessed in my immediate environment the influence of the White Berets and the disciples of Archbishop Lefebvre, a religious fundamentalism. To all these fundamentalism, there is a common note: there is only one way to be truly human, as there is only one way to go to God: it is to be Muslim , or it is to be catholic, or it is to follow the ecclesiastical rules of former days, or it is to make such or such prayer, such or such practice. And this rigidity becomes a death path.

However, when you are sensitive to events and open to the truth of things, you realize that life does not follow a linear path. I look at my two daughters who are trying to integrate into today's society: it's complicated! One tries one way, then another. I see people who drop out of high school, get work experiences, and then go back to school. I am sometimes confused by all these multiple paths with their meanders and their detours. But, in truth, I also have my own detours.

In all this context, it is the gospel of this day which opens to me the greatest and most moving perspectives: "In my father's domain, there are different places to stay. Otherwise, would I have told you that I am I going to prepare a place for you?" Let us not forget that, moments before, Jesus announced to Peter that he would betray him. This betrayal is now part of his biography. And yet, this route will still lead him on a life path, towards this promised place. This multiplicity of places opens the way to the multiplicity of paths, mine, yours, as well as that of the multitude that inhabits our planet. It is not easy to open your mind to such broad perspectives.

Muslims say, "The path is the Koran". The Jews say, "The path is the Torah". Christians say, "The path is the New Testament". What is Jesus saying? He says: "I am the way, the truth, the life". I underline here two words: "I" and "am".

The "I" is a person, not a text frozen in time. A person is movement and life. He is also a direction. But a direction opens the way to several paths in the same direction, it opens the place to evolution and conversion. Yourself, when you think of Jesus, you probably think of love, compassion, call, what do I know? But these terms take on a different connotation today than yesterday, and they will have a different one tomorrow, because you will not experience the same thing. The fact of being emotionally tied to a person, not to a text, gives the motivation necessary to get started. Could not a Muslim live something similar with Allah through Muhammad, just as a Jew with Yahweh through Moses?

The "am" refers to an eternal present. It is no longer a question of the Jesus of the past, who circulated on the roads of Palestine. It is indeed the one who is currently alive, to whom I have access, as far as I believe. In connection with this reflection, I asked myself a question: "When I look at my whole life, what is the most interesting moment?" My first job? No. My first love? Not even. The most interesting moment of my life is the present moment, and I hope to be able to say in 5 or 10 years, if I am still alive, it is still the present moment. Because the present moment is the only one on which I have control. The past is already lived, and the future partly escapes me.

So when Philip asks Jesus the question, "Master, tell us where the father is, and that will be enough for us", he replies, "Since all the time that I have been with you, you have not yet known me Philip?" Why seek God in the sky of a future or a distant past? I truly believe that life leads to unimaginable dimensions, but these unimaginable dimensions are already rooted in my present, to the extent that I am capable of opening myself to it.

Unfortunately, the various forms of fundamentalism have closed over dead texts and an idealized past. To the question: "What is the most interesting moment?", they answer: the time of David, the time of Muhammad, the peak of the 12th century, the time of Pius XII, the period when there weren't all these foreigners and immigrants.

Easter was first of all the victory over death generated by a sclerotic world based on the text of the law and a vision of society and of the temple, it is for us the hope of a victory over all death coming from fundamentalism both religious and civil.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, January 2002

Themes

Sybil 1998

Le texte évangélique

Jn 14, 1-12

 1 Ne soyez pas bouleversés. Faites confiance à Dieu, et faites-moi aussi confiance. 2 Dans le domaine de mon père, on trouve différentes demeures. Autrement, vous aurais-je dit que je m'en vais vous préparer une place? 3 Après être allé vous la préparer, je reviens de nouveau et alors je vous emmènerai avec moi, pour que là où je suis, vous y soyez également. Quant au lieu où je vais, vous en connaissez le chemin. 5 Thomas lui dit: «Maître, nous ne savons même pas où tu vas, comment pourrions-nous en connaître le chemin? 6 Jésus lui répond: «Je suis à la fois le chemin, la vérité et la vie. Personne ne peut cheminer vers le Père, sinon en passant par moi. 7 Si vous m'avez vraiment connu, alors vous serez en mesure de connaître également mon Père. Mais, à partir de maintenant vous le connaissez, et même vous l'avez vu. 8 Philippe lui dit: «Maître, indique-nous où se trouve le Père, et ce sera suffisant pour nous.» Jésus lui répond: «Depuis tout le temps que je suis avec vous, tu n'as pas encore fait ma connaissance, Philippe? Celui qui m'a vu, a également vu le Père. Comment peux-tu dire: «Indique-nous où se trouve le Père. 10 Ne crois-tu pas que je suis uni au Père, et que le Père est uni à moi? Les paroles que je prononce ne viennent pas de moi-même. C'est le Père, qui m'habite, qui est à la source de ses propres actions. 11 Croyez-moi! Je suis uni au Père et le Père est uni à moi. Si ça vous pose problème, fiez-vous au moins aux actions elles-mêmes. Vraiment, je vous l'assure, celui qui croit en moi posera les mêmes actions que moi, et même il en posera de plus grandes, parce que je m'en retourne auprès du Père.»


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ici et maintenant

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Le faux chemin de l'intégrisme

Les événements du 11 septembre ont mis à l'avant-scène le problème de l'intégrisme. En particulier, sous nos yeux horrifiés, on voyait le chemin de mort où il conduisait. Pourtant, l'intégrisme est depuis toujours au milieu de nous. L'intégrisme racial a existé aux États-Unis et en Allemagne : on n'était vraiment homme que si on était blanc et de race aryenne. L'intégrisme religieux est toujours rampant. Il y a plusieurs années, j'ai été témoin dans mon milieu immédiat de l'influence des Bérets Blancs et des disciples de Mgr Lefebvre. À tous ces intégrismes, il y a une note commune: il n'existe qu'une seule façon d'être vraiment homme, comme il n'existe qu'une seule façon d'aller vers Dieu: c'est d'être musulman, ou c'est d'être catholique, ou c'est de suivre les règles ecclésiastiques d'autrefois, ou c'est de faire telle ou telle prière, telle ou telle pratique. Et cette rigidité devient un chemin de mort.

Pourtant, quand on est sensible aux événements et ouvert à la vérité des choses, on se rend bien compte que la vie ne suit pas un parcourt linéaire. Je regarde mes deux filles qui essaient de s'intégrer dans la société actuelle: que c'est compliqué! On essaie une voie, puis une autre. Je vois des gens qui décrochent de leur enseignement secondaire, font des expériences de travail, puis reviennent à l'école. Je suis parfois dérouté par tous ces multiples chemins avec leurs méandres et leurs détours. Mais, en toute vérité, j'ai aussi mes propres détours.

Dans tout ce contexte, c'est l'évangile de ce jour qui m'ouvre les perspectives les plus grandes et les plus émouvantes: "Dans le domaine de mon père, on trouve différentes demeures. Autrement, vous aurais-je dit que je m'en vais vous préparer une place?" N'oublions pas que, quelques instants auparavant, Jésus a annoncé à Pierre qu'il le trahirait. Cette trahison fait maintenant partie de sa biographie. Et pourtant, ce parcours le conduira tout de même sur un chemin de vie, vers cette demeure promise. Cette multiplicité des demeures ouvre la voie à la multiplicité des parcours, au mien, au tien, comme à celui de cette multitude qui habite notre planète. Il n'est pas évident d'ouvrir son esprit à des perspectives si larges.

Les musulmans disent: "Le parcours, c'est le Coran". Les Juifs disent: "Le parcours, c'est la Tora". Les chrétiens disent: "Le parcours, c'est le Nouveau Testament". Que dit donc Jésus? Il dit: "Je suis le chemin, la vérité, la vie". Je souligne ici 2 mots : "Je" et "suis".

Le "je" est une personne, non un texte figé dans le temps. Une personne est mouvement et vie. Il est aussi une direction. Mais une direction ouvre la place à plusieurs chemins dans le même sens, il ouvre la place à l'évolution et à la conversion. Vous-même, quand vous pensez à Jésus, vous pensez probablement à amour, à compassion, à appel, que sais-je? Mais ces termes prennent aujourd'hui une connotation différente de celle d'hier, et ils en auront une différente demain, parce que vous ne vivrez pas la même chose. Le fait d'être lié affectivement à une personne, non à un texte, donne la motivation nécessaire pour se mettre en marche. Un Musulman ne pourrait-il vivre quelque chose de semblable avec Allah à travers Mahomet, tout comme un Juif avec Yahvé à travers Moïse?

Le "suis" renvoit à un éternel présent. Il ne s'agit plus du Jésus du passé, qui a circulé sur les routes de Palestine. Il s'agit bel et bien de celui qui est présentement vivant, auquel j'ai accès, dans la mesure où je crois. En rapport avec cette réflexion, je me suis posé une question: "Quand je regarde l'ensemble de ma vie, quel est le moment le plus intéressant?" Mon premier travail? Non. Mon premier amour? Même pas. Le moment le plus intéressant de ma vie, c'est le moment présent, et j'espère pouvoir dire dans 5 ou 10 ans, si je suis encore vivant, c'est encore le moment présent. Car le moment présent est le seul sur lequel j'ai prise. Le passé est déjà vécu, et l'avenir m'échappe en partie.

Aussi quand Philippe pose à Jésus la question: "Seigneur, indique-nous où se trouve le père, et ce sera suffisant pour nous", celui-ci répond: "Depuis tout le temps que je suis avec vous, tu n'as pas encore fait ma connaissance, Philippe?" Pourquoi chercher Dieu dans le ciel d'un futur ou d'un passé lointain? Je crois au plus profond de moi que la vie débouche sur des dimensions inimaginables, mais ces dimensions inimaginables sont déjà enracinées dans mon présent, dans la mesure où je suis capable de m'y ouvrir.

Malheureusement, les diverses formes d'intégrisme se sont refermées sur des textes morts et un passé qu'on idéalise. À la question: "Quel est le moment le plus intéressant?", on répond: l'époque de David, l'époque de Mahomet, l'apogée du 12e siècle, l'époque de Pie XII, la période où il n'y avait pas tous ces étrangers et ses immigrants.

Pâques a d'abord été la victoire sur la mort venue d'un monde sclérosé sur le texte de la loi et une vision de la société et du temple, elle est pour nous l'espoir d'une victoire sur toute mort venue de l'intégrisme tant religieux que civil.

 

-Janvier 2002