entête

Sybil 2000

Gospel text

Matthew 25: 14-30

14 For it is like a man who, about going on a journey, called his servants to give them his fortune: 15 to one he gave three million dollars, to another one million two hundred thousand dollars, and at another six hundred thousand dollars, each according to his abilities, then set off on a journey. Immediately, 16 the one who had received three million dollars went off to make his money work and earned another three million. 17 Similarly, the one who received one million two hundred thousand dollars earned another million two hundred thousand. 18 But the one who had received six hundred thousand dollars went to dig a hole in the ground and hid his master's money in it. 19 After a long time, the master of these servants returns and settles his accounts with them. 20 The one who had received three million dollars stepped forward and handed out another three million dollars with these words, "Master, you entrusted me with three million dollars, here are three other million dollars that I earned". His master then began to declare to him, "Magnificent! Good and reliable servant, since you have been reliable in small things, I will give you responsibility for big things. Come and share your master's happiness". 22 Then the one who had received a million two hundred thousand dollars came forward to say, "Master, you entrusted me a million two hundred thousand dollars, here is another million two hundred thousand dollars that I earned". 23 His master then began to say to him, "Magnificent! Good and reliable servant, since you have been reliable in small things, I will give you responsibility for big things. Come and share your master's happiness". 24 Then the one who had received six hundred thousand dollars came forward to say, "Master, I knew you as a hard man, someone who harvests where he did not sow, someone who collects where he didn't distribute anything. 25 So I was terrified and went to hide your six hundred thousand dollars in the ground. Behold, you have what is yours". 26 His master then answered him, "Bad and passive servant! You knew, however, that I am someone who harvests where he has not sown and collects where he has distributed nothing. So you had to entrust my money to the bankers, and by returning I would have recovered what belongs to me with interest. 28 Take back this six hundred thousand dollars from him and give it to him who has six million now. 29 To the one who already has many things will be given again and he will be in overabundance. On the other hand, with regard to the one who has nothing, one will even take away the little he has. 30 As for this useless servant, exclude him from the domain of God and let him go in a world of remorse and anger.

What is a living tradition?


Gospel commentary - Homily

Gospel for little lives

Almost every month we hear the news of a man who blew himself up in Afghanistan or Pakistan, killing dozens of people. As usual, these are Muslim fundamentalists. I do not lay the blame on Islam, because Christians cannot forget these pyres in the Middle Ages when everything that was not orthodox was burned. Behind fundamentalism, there is always this nostalgia for a period that no longer exists, this refusal of a present different from its origins, this fear of "losing one's soul". And fundamentalism is of all times, of all religions, of all ethnic groups. So the question arises: what is a tradition, and more particularly a living tradition? How to "keep your soul" and embrace the present life? This is the angle from which I suggest you read the parable of Matthew, commonly called "parable of talents".

This parable is very well known. A man must go abroad and entrust his fortune to three of his servants, dividing it according to each person's abilities: five, then two, and finally a talent. You know the rest. The first two servants do profitable business and double what they have received, to the delight of the master, while the third buries the money in the ground to only dig it up when the master returns, arousing his anger. This parable can cause some discomfort. Because like all our stories with three characters, the key is always the third, and in our case the passive servant that the master describes as useless and that he throws out of his domain. Our unease is all the greater because behind the face of this master is that of Jesus and that of God.

Let us remember that this story comes from Matthew whose community, made up of Christians of Jewish origin, faces a formidable challenge: to be authentically Christian while preserving its Jewish roots. Through Paul of Tarsus, we know the tensions in the Church over circumcision or the dietary restrictions that we no longer wanted to impose on the newly baptized. For a Christian who wanted to be an Orthodox Jew, how could one forget the requirements of God on circumcision, or the Sabbath, or ritual ablutions? By abandoning these practices, and first by agreeing to baptize people without first asking them to become a Jew, was not the Church coming from the Jew Jesus, who centered his mission on the Jews, to lose his inheritance, and thereby his soul?

When we ask ourselves this kind of question, it is because life has reached us. Because life thwarts the most beautiful plans, the greatest systems and all the rules. This is what happened when non-Jews knocked on the door of the early Church to ask for baptism. What to do in the face of the unexpected in life? Parents believed that they had given their best to learn that their son was gay. A young couple experiences the happiness of the birth of a first child before learning that the spouse is bipolar and will need lithium for the rest of his life, and that the young baby could possibly be as well bipolar. That's the risk of life, and that's what the parable talks about. What did the first two servants do? They accepted the risk of life, and doubled what they received. What did the third servant do? He was afraid of life, afraid of his master and he buried everything: he of course delivered completely what he received, as a fundamentalist, but it was under the sign of death like everything that does not grows more. You can easily guess on which side the Jew Matthew stands, who ends his Gospel by saying: "Of all the nations, make disciples ..."

But the question still arises: when life challenges us like this, how can we find our way without losing our soul? The answer is simple, it is well known, but it is the most difficult. Let's go back to the third servant: he was afraid of his master. Fear is the exact opposite of faith, and faith can only spring from a loving heart, because faith is the eyes of love. What guides Jesus when he breaks the Sabbath law to heal someone, if not the love that inhabits him and his faith in a loving God? The parable of the talents is followed by this great scene of the last judgment where the Son of Man says: "I was hungry and you gave me to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me to drink ..." This is how a tradition remains alive, this is how we evolve while keeping our soul.

There is even more. We can find it sad that the role of the fundamentalist is played by the one who received the least. But there is a message there, and this message is good news: even if one has the impression of having received little of life, giving what little one has and having faith that he can grow is so important that it has the same impact in the eyes of the master as if we had received five times more. When I look at my little life, I see so many ordinary actions with little impact that I say to myself, "Are these all useless things?" Matthew answers: "no, it is the Gospel at work". Is this our faith?

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, July 2011

Themes

Sybil 2000

 

Le texte évangélique

 

Mt 25, 14-30

14 Car c’est comme un homme qui, sur le point de partir en voyage, appela ses serviteurs pour leur remettre sa fortune : 15 à l’un il confia trois millions de dollars, à un autre un million deux cents milles dollars, et à un autre six cents milles dollars, à chacun selon ses capacités, puis partit en voyage. Aussitôt, 16 celui qui avait reçu trois millions de dollars se mit en branle pour faire travailler son argent et en gagna trois autres millions. 17 De la même façon, celui qui avait reçu un million deux cents milles dollars en gagna un autre million deux cents milles. 18 Mais celui qui avait reçut six cents milles dollars partit faire un trou en terre et y cacha l’argent de son maître. 19 Après beaucoup de temps, le maître de ces serviteurs revient et règle ses comptes avec eux. 20 Celui qui avait reçut trois millions de dollars s’avança et tendit trois autres millions dollars avec ces mots : « Maître, tu m’as confié trois millions de dollars, voici trois autres millions de dollars que j’ai gagnés. » 21 Son maître se mit alors à lui déclarer : « Magnifique! Serviteur bon et fiable, puisque tu as été fiable dans de petites choses, je te donnerai la responsabilité de grandes choses. Viens partager le bonheur de ton maître. » 22 Puis, celui qui avait reçu un million deux cents milles dollars s’avança pour dire : « Maître, tu m’as confié un million deux cents milles dollars, voici un autre million deux cents milles dollars que j’ai gagnés. » 23 Son maître se mit alors à lui déclare : « Magnifique! Serviteur bon et fiable, puisque tu as été fiable dans de petites choses, je te donnerai la responsabilité de grandes choses. Viens partager le bonheur de ton maître. » 24 Puis, celui qui avait reçu six cents milles dollars s’avança pour dire : « Maître, je t’ai connu comme un homme dur, quelqu’un qui moissonne là où il n’a pas semé, quelqu’un qui ramasse là où il n’a rien distribué. 25 J’étais donc terrorisé et je suis allé cacher ton six cents milles dollars dans la terre. Voici, tu as ce qui t’appartient. » 26 Son maître lui fit alors cette réponse : « Serviteur mauvais et passif! Tu savais pourtant que je suis quelqu’un qui moissonne là où il n’a pas semé et ramasse là où il n’a rien distribué. Il te fallait donc confier mon argent aux banquiers, et en revenant j’aurais recouvré ce qui m’appartient avec des intérêts. 28 Enlevez-lui ce six cents milles dollars et donnez-le à celui qui en a maintenant six millions. 29 À celui qui a déjà beaucoup de choses on donnera encore et il sera dans la surabondance. Par contre, en ce qui concerne celui qui n’a rien, on lui enlèvera même le peu qu’il possède. 30 Quant à ce serviteur inutile, excluez-le du domaine de Dieu et qu’il se retrouve dans un monde de remord et de colère.


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Qu'est-ce qu'une tradition vivante?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Évangile pour les petites vies

Presqu’à chaque mois on entend la nouvelle d’un homme qui s’est fait exploser en Afghanistan ou au Pakistan, tuant des dizaines de personnes. Comme d’habitude, il s’agit des intégristes musulmans. Je ne jette pas le blâme sur l’Islam, car les chrétiens ne peuvent oublier ces bûchers au moyen-âge où on brûlait tout ce qui n’était pas orthodoxe. Derrière l’intégrisme, il y a toujours cette nostalgie d’une période qui n’existe plus, ce refus d’un présent différent des origines, cette peur de « perdre son âme ». Et l’intégrisme est de toutes les époques, de toutes les religions, de tous les groupes ethniques. Alors se pose la question : qu’est-ce qu’une tradition, et plus particulièrement une tradition vivante? Comment « garder son âme » et embrasser la vie présente? Voilà l’angle sous lequel je vous propose de relire la parabole de Matthieu, appelée communément « parabole des talents ».

Cette parabole est archi-connue. Un homme doit partir pour l’étranger et confie sa fortune à trois de ses serviteurs, en la répartissant selon les capacités de chacun : cinq, puis deux, et enfin un talent. Vous connaissez la suite. Les deux premiers serviteurs font des affaires fructueuses et doublent ce qu’ils ont reçu, pour la plus grande joie du maître, tandis que le troisième enfouit l’argent en terre pour ne le déterrer qu’au retour du maître, suscitant sa colère. Cette parabole peut susciter un certain malaise. Car comme toutes nos histoires avec trois personnages, la pointe est toujours sur le troisième, et dans notre cas sur le serviteur passif que le maître qualifie d’inutile et qu’il jette hors de son domaine. Notre malaise est d’autant plus grand que derrière le visage de ce maître se profile celui de Jésus et celui de Dieu.

Rappelons-nous que ce récit provient de Matthieu dont la communauté, constituée de chrétiens d’origine juive, est confrontée à un formidable défi : être authentiquement chrétien tout en conservant ses racines juives. À travers Paul de Tarse, nous savons les tensions dans l’Église à propos de la circoncision ou des restrictions alimentaires qu’on ne voulait plus imposer aux nouveaux baptisés. Pour un chrétien qui se voulait juif orthodoxe, comme pouvait-t-on oublier les exigences de Dieu sur la circoncision, ou le sabbat, ou les ablutions rituelles? En délaissant ces pratiques, et d’abord en acceptant de baptiser des gens sans leur demander au préalable de se faire Juif, l’Église provenant du Juif Jésus, qui a centré sa mission sur les Juifs, n’était-elle pas en train de perdre son héritage, et par là son âme?

Quand on se pose ce genre de question, c’est que la vie nous a rejoints. Car la vie déjoue les plus beaux plans, les plus grands systèmes et toutes les règles. C’est ce qui s’est passé quand des non Juifs ont cogné à la porte de l’Église primitive pour demander le baptême. Que faire devant les imprévus de la vie? Des parents ont cru avoir donné le meilleur d’eux-mêmes pour apprendre que leur fils est homosexuel. Un jeune couple vit le bonheur de la naissance d’un premier enfant avant d’apprendre que, lui, est bipolaire et qu’il sera au lithium pour le restant de ses jours, et que leur jeune bébé pourrait éventuellement l’être. C’est le risque de la vie, et c’est ce dont parle la parabole. Qu’ont fait les deux premiers serviteurs? Ils ont accepté le risque de la vie, et ont doublé ce qu’ils ont reçus. Qu’a fait le troisième serviteur? Il a eu peur de la vie, peur de son maître et il a tout enfoui : il a bien sûr remis intégralement ce qu’il a reçu, comme un intégriste, mais c’était sous le signe de la mort comme tout ce qui ne grandit plus. Vous devinez facilement dans quel rang se range le Juif Matthieu, lui qui termine son évangile en disant : « De toutes les nations, faites des disciples… »

Mais la question se pose encore : quand la vie nous interpelle ainsi, comment trouver son chemin sans perdre son âme? La réponse est simple, elle est bien connue, mais elle la plus difficile. Revenons au troisième serviteur : il a eu peur de son maître. La peur est l’exact opposé de la foi, et la foi ne peut jaillir que d’un cœur aimant, car la foi, ce sont les yeux de l’amour. Qu’est-ce qui guide Jésus lorsqu’il enfreint la loi du sabbat pour guérir quelqu’un, sinon l’amour qui l’habite et sa foi en un Dieu aimant? La parabole des talents est suivie de cette grande scène du jugement dernier où le Fils de l’Homme dit : « J’ai eu faim et vous m’avez donné à mangé, j’ai eu soif et vous m’avez donné à boire… » Voilà comment une tradition demeure vivante, voilà comment on évolue en gardant son âme.

Il y a encore plus. On peut trouver triste que le rôle de l’intégriste soit joué par celui qui a le moins reçu. Mais il y a là un message, et ce message est une bonne nouvelle : même si on a l’impression d’avoir peu reçu de la vie, donner ce peu qu’on a et avoir foi qu’il peut grandir est si important qu’il a le même impact aux yeux du maître que si nous avions reçu cinq fois plus. Quand je regarde ma petite vie, je vois tant d’actions ordinaires sans grands impacts que je me dis : « Sont-ce toutes des choses inutiles? » Matthieu répond : non, c’est l’Évangile à l’œuvre. Est-ce bien là notre foi?

 

-Juillet 2011