entête

Sybil 1997

Gospel text

Matthew 9: 9-13

9 Passing by, Jesus saw a man named Matthew sitting at a customs office. He said to him, "Follow me as a disciple". Jumping up, he began to follow him as a disciple. 10 Now when Jesus was at table in the house of Matthew, a large number of tax collectors and people considered to be far from God came and sat at the same table as he and his disciples. 11 Seeing what was going on, the group of Pharisees said to the disciples of Jesus, "Why is your master eating with the tax collectors and the people who are far from God?" 12 Having heard all this, Jesus said, "It is not the healthy people who need the doctor, but the sick people. 13 Go back to study the meaning of this passage from the Bible: 'It is compassion that I want, not these sacrifices related to religious worship'. Because my mission is not addressed to people who walk on the right path, but rather to people who are far from God."

Studies

In the market or elsewhere, relationships can be formed.


Gospel commentary - Homily

Who are thoses far from God?

Major General Percy Hobart is an English military officer who was expelled from the army at the dawn of the 2nd World War. Why? He promoted ideas that were considered heretical at the time. For example, using an agile and mobile armed group, rather than driving into trenches, using the parachuting of supplies rather than their transport by horse-drawn wagons. It took a Winston Churchill, after consulting his file, to perceive him not as a heretic, but a visionary and a leader, and to give him a strategic position in the war that was looming. Is this not happening with Jesus in the gospel of today? He calls to follow him in his project someone considered a traitor and a man far from God, because of his work as a customs officer.

Why do you think Jesus chose Matthew? Of course, nothing is known about the facts and the personal history of Matthew. But it is remarkable that the Gospel do not allude to his great faith or to the fact that he would have been faithful for a while to listen to his word. No edifying story about it. The only clues we have are the rest of the story: a community of tax collectors and people far from God will gather around Jesus over a meal. Without Matthew, the customs officer, Jesus could not have been present to all these people.

In our sometimes empty churches, we allude from time to time to the distant ones, thinking of all these people who have moved away from Sunday worship. However, if the distant ones were not what we think, if it was rather the opposite: it is not people who are far from the Church, it is the Church which is distant from people. Take the Pharisees of the gospel who do not understand that Jesus mingles with people far from God, these Pharisees whose name means "separated", "apart from others". The problem of the Pharisees comes from their idea of purity and their vision of God which tends to exclude and excommunicate, while Jesus speaks of a Father who wants to find his children where they are, wants to re-establish ties, wants to embrace them in his arms, a bit like Emmett Johns (Pops), this Irish priest, with the street kids in Montreal.

Who can be where people are, if not the Christians themselves who go to work every morning, or have to stay in hospital or in an elderly house, play, travel or visit family? So I find it unfortunate to see the shortcoming perspective of these annual vocations weeks, as if only priests or religious were called, while all Christians are called to be present in this world.

Called to do what? Do not respond with loud words such as: "Proclaim the Word of God". Look at what Jesus does with Matthew's friends: he eats with them, he shares their intimacy. In a word, he establishes a relationship with them. Once the relationship is established, anything can happen. Did the tax collectors feel understood by Jesus, loved by Jesus? Was Jesus able to share his vision of life, his vision of God? We don't know and it's not important to know. Because the paths of relationship belong to the mystery of the Spirit.

"Passing by, Jesus saw" says the text of the gospel. "Passing by" is the sequence of events in my daily life. At work as at home, at the market as at the clinic, at school as in the garage, at the bar as at any committee, there are always relationships that can form "in passing", if at least we walk in the steps of Jesus, not of the Pharisees. At that time, there are a little less "distant", and what Jesus started with Matthew and the tax collectors, continues. Because our heart, which has learned to beat to the rhythm of Jesus', is the language we now use to speak.

When Christians gather on Sunday around the Eucharistic table and they are full of the joys and sorrows of the people with whom they have come into contact, and when their prayer evokes multiple faces, then there is no more people apart or distant. Christians followed Jesus to where he is.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, March 2005

Themes

Sybil 1997

Le texte évangélique

Mt 9, 9-13

9 En passant par là, Jésus vit un homme appelé Matthieu assis à un bureau de douane. Il lui dit: « Suis-moi comme disciple. » Se levant d'un bond, il se mit à le suivre comme disciple. 10 Or, alors que Jésus était à table dans la maison de Matthieu, un grand nombre de percepteurs d'impôt et de gens considérés comme loin de Dieu arrivèrent et se mirent à la même table que lui et celle ses disciples. 11 Voyant ce qui se passait, le groupe des Pharisiens dirent aux disciples de Jésus: « Pourquoi votre maître mange-t-il avec les percepteurs d'impôt et les gens qui sont loin de Dieu? » 12 Ayant entendu tout cela, Jésus dit: « Ce n'est pas les gens en pleine forme qui ont besoin du médecin, mais les gens malades. 13 Retournez étudier la signification de ce passage de la Bible: "C'est la compassion que je veux, non pas ces sacrifices liés au culte religieux". Car ma mission ne s'adresse pas aux gens qui marchent dans le droit chemin, mais plutôt aux gens qui sont loin de Dieu. »

 


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Au marché ou ailleurs, des relations peuvent se nouer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Qui sont les distants?

Le major général Percy Hobart est un officier militaire anglais qui avait été mis à la porte de l'armée à l'aube de la 2e guerre mondiale. Pourquoi? Il faisait la promotion d'idées que l'on considérait comme hérétiques à l'époque. Par exemple, utiliser un groupe armé agile et mobile, plutôt qu'enfoncé dans des tranchées, utiliser le parachutage des vivres plutôt que leur transport par wagons tirés par des chevaux. Il a fallu un Winston Churchill, après consultation de son dossier, pour le percevoir non pas comme un hérétique, mais un visionnaire et un leader, et lui confier un poste stratégique dans la guerre qui s'annonçait. N'est-ce pas ce qui se passe avec Jésus dans l'évangile de ce jour? Il appelle à le suivre dans son projet quelqu'un considéré comme un traître et un homme loin de Dieu, en raison de son travail comme percepteur d'impôts.

Pourquoi, selon vous, Jésus a-t-il choisi Matthieu? Bien sûr, on ne se sait rien des faits et de l'histoire personnelle de Matthieu. Mais il est remarquable qu'on ne fasse pas allusion à sa grande foi ou au fait qu'il aurait été pendant un certain temps un fidèle à l'écoute de sa parole. Aucune histoire édifiante à son sujet. Les seuls indices que nous avons sont la suite du récit: une communauté de percepteurs d'impôt et de gens loins de Dieu se rassembleront autour de Jésus au cours d'un repas. Sans Matthieu, le percepteur d'impôt, Jésus n'aurait pu être présent à tous ces gens.

Dans nos églises parfois vides, on fait allusion de temps en temps aux distants, en pensant à tous ces gens qui se sont éloignés du culte dominical. Pourtant, si les distants n'étaient pas ceux qu'on pense, si c'était plutôt l'inverse: ce ne sont pas les gens qui sont loin de l'Église, c'est l'Église qui est distante des gens. Prenez les Pharisiens de l'évangile qui ne comprennent pas que Jésus fréquente les gens loin de Dieu, ces Pharisiens dont le nom signifie "séparés", "à part des autres". Le problème des Pharisiens vient de leur idée de la pureté et leur vision de Dieu qui tend à exclure et à excommunier, alors que Jésus parle d'un Père qui veut retrouver ses enfants là où ils sont, veut rétablir les liens, veut les serrer dans ses bras, un peu comme Emmett Johns (Pops), ce prêtre irlandais, avec les jeunes de la rue à Montréal.

Qui peut être là où sont les gens, sinon les chrétiens eux-mêmes qui se rendent chaque matin au travail, ou doivent séjourner à l'hôpital ou dans un centre d'accueil, jouent, voyagent ou visitent la famille? Aussi je trouve dommage de voir la perspective réductrice des ces semaines annuelles des vocations, comme si seulement les prêtres ou les religieux étaient appelés, alors que tous les chrétiens sont appelés pour être présents à ce monde.

Appelés à faire quoi? Ne répondez pas avec des phrases ronflantes comme: "Proclamer la Parole de Dieu". Regardez ce que fait Jésus avec les amis de Matthieu: il mange avec eux, il partage leur intimité. En un mot, il établit une relation avec eux. Une fois la relation établie, tout peut arriver. Les percepteurs d'impôt se sont-ils sentis compris par Jésus, aimés par Jésus? Jésus a-t-il pu partager sa vision de la vie, sa vision de Dieu? On n'en sait rien et ce n'est pas important de le savoir. Car les chemins de la relation appartiennent au mystère de l'Esprit.

"Jésus vit en passant" dit le texte de l'évangile. "En passant", c'est la suite des événements de ma vie quotidienne. Au travail comme à la maison, au marché comme à la clinique, à l'école comme au garage, au bar comme au comité quelconque, il y a toujours des relations qui peuvent se nouer "en passant", si du moins nous marchons dans les pas de Jésus, non de ceux des Pharisiens. À ce moment, il y a un peu moins de "distants", et ce qu'a amorcé Jésus avec Matthieu et les percepteurs d'impôt, se poursuit. Car notre coeur qui a appris à battre au mettre rythme que le sien devient notre langage.

Quand les chrétiens se rassemblent le dimanche autour de la table eucharistique et qu'ils sont pleins des joies et des peines des gens avec qui ils sont entrés en relation, et que leur prière évoque de multiples visages, alors il n'y a plus de distants. Les chrétiens ont suivi Jésus là où il se trouve.

 

-Mars 2005