entête

John P. Meier, The Marginal Jew,
v.1, ch. 11 : "In the Fifteenth Year...": A Chronology of Jesus' Life,
pp 372-433

(Detailed summary)


Can we arrive at a chronology of Jesus' life?


  • To situate Jesus in time, we have some points of reference. The four Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, Tacitus and Flavius Josephus agree to situate the ministry of Jesus while Pontius Pilate exercised his authority over Palestine. On the other hand, according to Flavius Josephus, Tacitus, Suetonius, Philo of Alexandria and Eusebius of Caesarea, Pilate reigned from 26 to 36 CE. Finally, according to Flavius Josephus and Luke, Jesus would have been executed before the end of this reign.

  • The Gospel of Luke (2: 1-2) gives us further points of reference by dating the beginning of Jesus' ministry: "The year fifteen of the government of Tiberius Caesar (between 26 and 29), Pontius Pilate (26-36) being governor of Judea, Herod (Antipas) (from 4 to 39) tetrarch of Galilee, Philip (4 to 33/34) his brother tetrarch of the land of Ituraea and Trachonitis, and Lysanias tetrarch of Abilene under the priesthood of Hannah and Caiaphas (18-36)..." According to a first estimate Jesus would have been executed between 28 and 33.

  • As to the date of birth, Luke and Matthew agreed to place it towards the end of the reign of Herod the Great who died four years before the beginning of the Christian era. Moreover, this statement from the childhood accounts is confirmed by Luke 3: 23: "Jesus, at the beginning, was about thirty years old". If Jesus began his ministry between 27 and 29, we are sent back a few years before Herod's death in the year 4 BC. Other indications come to us from John, first 8: 57: "Then the Jews said to him, 'You are not even fifty years old and you have seen Abraham'" . The number fifty has here more symbolic value to say half a century, whereas Abraham has been dead for several centuries, but nevertheless it confirms the idea that Jesus is less than fifty years old. The other passage from John is 2: 20: "It took forty-six years to build this temple and you would raise it up in three days? "Unfortunately this passage is ambiguous: does it mean that the reconstruction was completed after 46 years of work, or that the reconstruction is still in progress after 46 years of work? According to the Jewish historian Flavius Josephus, the Temple of Jerusalem was restored by Herod the Great beginning in 20 or 19 BC. Unfortunately, the temple had two parts, the holy of holies and the whole building, and Josephus does not always specify which part he means. So we cannot rely on Jn 2: 20 to be more precise, but he nevertheless confirms Jesus' ministry around 27-30.

  • Let's try to be even more accurate by going back to Lk 2: 1-2 which states that the ministry of Jesus began in the 15th year of the reign of the Roman emperor Tiberius. According to the Roman historians Tacitus, Suetonius and Cassius Dion, the emperor Tiberius began his reign in 14 CE. How do we now calculate the fifteenth year of this reign? This calculation varies according to whether one uses the Julian calendar, the Jewish calendar, the Syro-Macedonian calendar or the Egyptian calendar. But since Luke's audience is Greco-Roman, it is very likely that he uses the Julian calendar. So calculating the 15th year from the beginning of Tiberius' reign on August 18, 14 AD, we arrive at 28 AD for the beginning of Jesus' ministry.

  • Let's now try to calculate the exact date of Jesus' death. The difficulty is that the synoptic Gospels and the Gospel according to John disagree about the date of Jesus' last supper with his disciples. However, there is one point of agreement: Jesus' last supper took place on a Thursday evening, a time to prepare for the Jewish Sabbath which begins on Friday evening after sunset. Jesus would have been executed and put in the tomb on Friday. Saturday was the Sabbath rest day and on Sunday, the first day of the week, the women came to the tomb.

  • We do have a problem, however, when we try to place this Thursday and Friday in the Jewish calendar. According to this calendar (see Exodus 12), the Passover lamb was slaughtered in the temple of Jerusalem on the 14th of the month of Nisan (the first month of the year in spring), between 3:00 p.m. and 5:00 p.m., and then eaten when the sun went down, when the 15th of the month of Nisan began. Now, according to the synoptics, Jesus' last meal with his disciples was a Passover meal, so when the 15th of Nisan began: "On the first day of unleavened bread, on which the Passover was sacrificed, his disciples said to him, 'Where do you want us to go and make ready for you to eat the Passover?'" (Mk 14: 12) And so, according to the synoptics, Jesus would have died on Friday afternoon, the day of the Passover.

  • For John, however, Jesus' last supper on Thursday evening was not a Passover meal, since the Passover began 24 hours later, at sunset on Friday evening; for John, that year, the Passover and the Sabbath fell on the same day, i.e. from Friday evening to Saturday evening: "Those who brought him (to Caiaphas on Friday) did not enter the house, so that they might not be defiled and might eat the Passover (the next day)" (Jn 18: 28). So the synoptics say that Jesus ate the Jewish Passover with his disciples and was crucified on the same day of the Passover, while John affirms on the contrary that Jesus only had a farewell meal with his disciples and died the day before the Jewish Passover. Who is right? The biblical scholars have tried to reconcile the two versions by proposing two calendars (Pharisees vs. Sadducees, or solar vs. lunar). All these attempts do not hold water, because Jesus always appears as someone who conforms to the Jewish holidays and does not seem to follow the traditions of any sect. It is better to say: the synoptics and the Gospel of John are irreconcilable, and on this point it is probably John who is right.

  • Let's look at the reasons that favor John's point of view.

  • It is not totally impossible that Jesus died on Passover day as the synoptics state, but it is unlikely that events such as the arrest of Jesus, the convening of the Sanhedrin, the holding of a formal trial with witnesses, the decision to find him guilty and sentence him to death, and then handing him over to the pagan authorities with a request for execution to death, all took place on the same day, i.e. during the night and the early hours of the morning.

  • Secondly, the biblical scholars acknowledge that Mk 14: 12-26 ("On the first day of unleavened bread, when the Passover was sacrificed... " and Lk 22: 15-16 ("I longed so much to eat this Passover with you before I suffered") are later developments and are editorial, i.e. are the product of Christian reflection and do not come from an ancient tradition. And when we remove these two insertions, we no longer see any reference to a Passover meal in the detail of the narrative. John, on the other hand, devotes five chapters to Jesus' last supper and at no time can there be any reference to a Passover meal. And both words and gestures related to the Christian Eucharist are not part of any Jewish ritual.

  • Thirdly, the gesture of freeing Barabbas on Friday is only fully understood if it precedes the celebration of the Passover, for the purpose of freeing Jewish prisoners was to allow them to celebrate the Passover.

  • Fourtly, it will be noted that the room offered to Jesus by a benefactor for the meal includes only Jesus and his disciples, whereas this benefactor would normally have invited a crowd of people according to Jewish custom if it had been the Passover meal. In short, as John tells us, Jesus' last meal with his disciples is not a Passover meal, but a solemn farewell meal.

  • If John is right, that year the Jewish Passover and the Sabbath fell on the same day, from Friday evening to Saturday evening. Can astronomy help us determine the exact date? The problem comes from the Jewish calendar, which required two reliable witnesses to see the moon on the 29th day of the old month to determine the beginning of the new year. Also, we don't know exactly when the leap year fell. In any case, there are only two dates when Nisan 14 (the date Jesus died) falls on a Friday, April 7, 30 AD and April 3, 33 AD. It is more likely that Jesus died on April 7, 30, because an execution in 33 would mean that Jesus' ministry (which began in 28) would have to be extended for 5 years, which is implausible.

  • The question of the length of Jesus' ministry has been raised. Here again, the synoptics and the Gospel of John seem to contradict each other. When we read Mark, on whom Matthew and Luke depend, we have the impression that everything takes place in less than a year: Jesus preaches in Galilee and then goes to Jerusalem in Judea to celebrate the Passover, where he will die. But if we look more closely, we notice that nothing really requires everything to take place in a year. On the contrary, we can presuppose at least two springs, since Mark mentions the ears of corn that his disciples plucked (Mk 2: 33) and the green grass (Mk 6: 39) at the beginning of his Gospel, whereas we still find spring at the end of his Gospel to celebrate the Passover. Moreover, some passages in the synoptics presuppose that Jesus went more than once to Jerusalem or Judea: "Jerusalem, Jerusalem.... how many times have I sought to gather your children together... "(Mt 23: 37); and again: "And he preached in the synagogues of Judea" (Lk 4: 44).

  • As for the Gospel according to John, Jesus' ministry lasted two years and a few months. In fact, the feast of the Passover is mentioned three times: 1) at the beginning of his ministry, "The Passover of the Jews was near and Jesus went up to Jerusalem" (Jn 2: 13); 2) while Jesus was preaching in Galilee and preparing to feed the crowd, it is mentioned : "It was shortly before the Passover, which is the feast of the Jews" (Jn 6: 4); 3) and finally, this Passover where Jesus will go to Jerusalem to die: "Six days before the Passover Jesus came to Bethany" (Jn 12: 1). Following this chronology of John where Jesus' ministry lasted two years and a few months, we can establish that this ministry began early in the year 28 and ended in April of the year 30.

Here is a possible chronological reconstruction of the main events in the life of Jesus.

Date Events
Around 7 or 6 BC Birth of Jesus in Nazareth
4 BC Death of Herod the Great
Around the end of 27 or beginning of 28 CE John the Baptist begins his ministry
At the beginning of year 28 CE (probably in the summer) Jesus is baptized by John the Baptist. After the arrest and death of John the Baptist, Jesus continues his ministry alone. He is about 33 or 34 years old.
From year 28 to 30 CE Jesus continues his activities in Galilee and Judea, going to Jerusalem for the great feasts where he can preach to the great crowds of pilgrims.
Thursday, April 6, 30 CE, in the evening In Jerusalem for the feast of the Jewish Passover and sensing the growing hostility of the temple authorities, Jesus celebrated a farewell meal with his disciples on Thursday evening, just as the Jews were beginning preparations for the Passover.
Night of April 6 to 7, 30 CE Jesus is arrested in the garden of Gethsemane, undergoes a first examination by certain Jewish authorities.
Friday morning, April 7, 30 CE Jesus is handed over to Pilate who quickly condemns him to death by crucifixion.
The day of April 7, 30 CE After suffering the lashes and mockery, he was crucified outside the walls of Jerusalem on the day they killed the lamb in the temple on the Passover feast which was to begin after sunset. He is already dead when evening comes. He was about 36 years old.
  • Aside from these great landmarks, it is useless to look for a detailed chronology of Jesus' life, especially his two years of ministry, and an attempt at a biography is doomed to failure. Most Gospel accounts do not follow a precise sequence. Moreover, each evangelist has his own way of beginning the ministry of Jesus, and these ways are irreconcilable and reflect only their theological thesis. We are therefore faced with a mosaic whose only common thread is the growing hostility of the clergy in Jerusalem which will lead to the violent death of Jesus.

Next chapter: Did John the Baptist really exist and what do we know about him?

List of all chapters

Peut-on parvenir à une chronologie de la vie de Jésus?

  • Pour situer Jésus dans le temps, nous avons quelques points de repère. Les quatre évangiles, les Actes des Apôtres, Tacite et Flavius Josèphe s’entendent pour situer le ministère de Jésus pendant que Ponce Pilate exerçait son autorité sur la Palestine. Par ailleurs, d’après Flavius Josèphe, Tacite, Suétone, Philon d’Alexandrie et Eusèbe de Césarée, Pilate aurait régné de l’an 26 à 36 de l’ère chrétienne. Enfin, d’après Flavius Josèphe et Luc, Jésus aurait été exécuté avant la fin de ce règne.
  • L’évangile de Luc (2, 1-2) nous fournit d’autres points de repère en datant le début du ministère de Jésus : « L’an quinze du gouvernement de Tibère César (entre 26 et 29), Ponce Pilate (26-36) étant gouverneur de la Judée, Hérode (Antipas) (de -4 à 39) tétrarque de Galilée, Philippe (-4 à 33/34) son frère tétrarque du pays d’Iturée et de Trachonitide, et Lysanias tétrarque d’Abilène sous le sacerdoce de Hanne et Caïphe (18-36)… » Selon une première estimation Jésus aurait exécutée entre 28 et 33.
  • Quant à sa naissance, Luc et Matthieu s’entendent pour la placer vers la fin du règne d’Hérode le Grand mort quatre ans avant le début de l'ère chrétienne. Cette affirmation qui nous vient des récits de l’enfance est toutefois confirmée par Luc 3, 23 : « Jésus, à ses débuts, avait environ trente ans. ». Si Jésus a commencé son ministère entre 27 et 29, nous sommes renvoyés quelques années avant la mort d’Hérode en l’an -4. D’autres indications nous proviennent de Jean, d’abord 8, 57 : « Sur quoi, les Juifs lui dirent : ‘Tu n’as même pas cinquante ans et tu as vu Abraham!’ » Le chiffre cinquante a ici plus une valeur symbolique pour dire un demi siècle, alors qu’Abraham est mort depuis plusieurs siècles, mais néanmoins il confirme l’idée que Jésus a moins de 50 ans. L’autre passage de Jean est 2, 20 : « Il a fallu quarante-six ans pour construire ce temple et toi, tu le relèverais en trois jours? » Malheureusement ce passage est ambigu : veut-il dire que la reconstruction a été complétée après 46 ans de travail, ou que la reconstruction est toujours en cours après 46 ans de travail? D’après l’historien juif Flavius Josèphe, le temple de Jérusalem, détruit lors de l’exode à Babylone, a été reconstruit par Hérode le Grand à partir de l’an 20 ou 19 avant l’ère chrétienne. Malheureusement, le temple comportait deux parties, le saint des saints et l’ensemble de l’édifice et Josèphe ne précise pas toujours de quelle partie il veut parler. Donc on ne peut s’appuyer sur Jn 2, 20 pour être plus précis, mais il confirme néanmoins le ministère de Jésus vers 27-30.
  • Essayons encore d’être plus exact en revenant à Lc 2, 1-2 qui affirme que le ministère de Jésus a commencé la 15e année du règne de l’empereur romain Tibère. D’après les historiens romains Tacite, Suétone et Cassius Dion, l’empereur Tibère aurait commencé son règne en l’an 14 de notre ère. Comment calculer maintenant la quinzième année de ce règne? Ce calcul varie selon qu’on utilise le calendrier julien, le calendrier juif, le calendrier syro-macédonien ou le calendrier égyptien. Mais comme l’auditoire de Luc est gréco-romain, il est fort probable qu’il utilise le calendrier julien. Donc en calculant la 15e année à partir du début du règne de Tibère le 18 août de l’an 14, on aboutit à l’an 28 pour le début du ministère de Jésus.
  • Essayons maintenant de calculer la date exacte de la mort de Jésus. La difficulté vient de ce que les évangiles synoptiques et l’évangile selon Jean sont en désaccord sur la date du dernier de repas de Jésus avec ses disciples. Il y a cependant un point d’accord : le dernier repas de Jésus a eu lieu un jeudi soir, période où on se prépare au sabbat juif qui commence le vendredi soir après le coucher du soleil. Jésus aurait été exécuté et mis au tombeau dans la journée du vendredi. Samedi était la journée du repos du sabbat et le dimanche, premier jour de la semaine, les femmes sont venues au tombeau.
  • Par contre, on a un problème quand on essaie de situer ce jeudi et ce vendredi dans le calendrier juif. Selon ce calendrier (voir Exode 12), on égorgeait l’agneau pascal au temple de Jérusalem le 14 du mois de Nisan (premier mois de l’année au printemps), entre 15 h 00 et 17 h 00, puis on le mangeait quand le soleil était couché, quand commençait le 15 du mois de Nisan. Or, selon les synoptiques, le dernier repas de Jésus avec ses disciples fut un repas pascal, donc quand commençait le 15 de Nisan : « Le premier jour des pains sans levain, où l’on immolait la pâque, ses disciples lui disent : ‘Où veux-tu que nous allions faire les préparatifs pour que tu manges la pâque?’ » (Mc 14, 12) Et ainsi, d'après les synoptiques, Jésus serait mort le vendredi après-midi, jour de la pâque.
  • Par contre, pour Jean, le dernier repas de Jésus le jeudi soir ne fut pas un repas pascal, puisque la pâque commençait 24 heures plus tard, au coucher du soleil le vendredi soir; pour Jean, cette année-là, la pâque et le sabbat tombait le même jour, i.e. du vendredi soir au samedi soir : « Ceux qui l’avaient amené (chez Caïphe, le vendredi) n’entrèrent pas dans la résidence pour ne pas se souiller et pouvoir manger la pâque (le lendemain) » (Jn 18, 28). Donc les synoptiques disent que Jésus a mangé la pâque juive avec ses disciples, et a été crucifié la journée même de la Pâque, alors que Jean affirme au contraire que Jésus a pris seulement un repas d’adieu avec ses disciples et est mort la journée qui précède la pâque juive. Qui a raison? Les biblistes ont essayé de réconcilier les deux versions en proposant deux calendriers (Pharisiens vs Sadducéens, ou solaire vs lunaire). Toutes ces tentatives ne tiennent pas la route, car Jésus apparaît toujours comme quelqu’un qui se conforme aux fêtes juives, et ne semble pas suivre les traditions de quelque secte que ce soit. Il vaut mieux dire : les synoptiques et l’évangile de Jean sont irréconciliables, et sur ce point c’est Jean qui a probablement raison.
  • Regardons les raisons qui favorisent le point de vue de Jean.
  • Il n’est pas totalement impossible que Jésus soit mort le jour de la pâque comme l’affirment les synoptiques, mais il est peu probable que des événements comme l’arrestation de Jésus, la convocation du Sanhédrin, la tenue d’un procès formel avec témoins, la prise de décision de le déclarer coupable et de le condamner à mort, puis sa remise aux autorités païennes avec demande d’exécution à mort, que tout cela ait eu lieu le même jour, i.e. pendant la nuit et les petites heures du matin.
  • Deuxièmement, les biblistes reconnaissent que Mc 14, 12-26 (« Le premier jour des pains sans levain, où l’on immolait la pâque… » et Lc 22, 15-16 (« J’ai tellement désiré manger cette pâque avec vous avant de souffrir ») sont des développements ultérieurs et sont rédactionnels, i.e. sont le produit d’une réflexion chrétienne et ne proviennent pas d’une tradition ancienne. Et quand on enlève ces deux insertions, on ne voit plus aucune référence à un repas pascal dans le détail du récit. De son côté, Jean consacre 5 chapitres à ce dernier repas de Jésus et à aucun moment on ne peut y voir quelque référence que ce soit à un repas pascal. Et tant les paroles que les gestes reliées à l’eucharistie chrétienne n’entre dans aucun rituel juif.
  • Troisièmement, le geste de libérer Barabbas le vendredi ne se comprend pleinement que s’il précède la célébration de la pâque, car une telle libération de prisonniers juifs visaient à leur permettre de célébrer la pâque.
  • Quatrièmement, on remarquera que la salle offerte à Jésus par un bienfaiteur pour le repas ne comprend que Jésus et ses disciples, alors que ce bienfaiteur aurait normalement invité un foule de gens selon la coutume juive s’il s’était agit du repas pascal. Bref, comme le raconte Jean, le dernier repas de Jésus avec ses disciples n’est pas un repas pascal, mais un repas d’adieu solennel.
  • Si Jean a raison, cette année-là la pâque juive et le sabbat tombait le même jour, du vendredi soir au samedi soir. L’astronomie peut-elle nous aider à déterminer la date exacte? Le problème vient du calendrier juif qui exigeait que deux témoins fiables voient la lune le 29e jour de l’ancien mois pour déterminer le début de la nouvelle année. De plus, on ne sait pas exactement quand tombait l’année bissextile. Quoi qu’il en soit, on trouve seulement deux dates où le 14 Nisan (date où Jésus est mort) tombe un vendredi, soit le 7 avril 30 et le 3 avril 33. Il est plus probable que Jésus soit mort le 7 avril 30, car une exécution en 33 obligerait à prolonger pendant 5 ans le ministère de Jésus (qui a commencé en 28), ce qui est invraisemblable.
  • Voilà posée la question de la longueur du ministère de Jésus. Encore ici, les synoptiques et l’évangile de Jean semblent en contradiction. Quand on lit Marc dont dépendent Matthieu et Luc, on a l’impression que tout se déroule en moins d’un an : Jésus prêche en Galilée puis se rend à Jérusalem en Judée pour célébrer la pâque, où il mourra. Mais en y regardant de plus près, on remarque que rien n’exige vraiment que tout se déroule en un an. Au contraire, on peut présupposer au moins deux printemps, puisque Marc mentionne les épis que ses disciples arrachent (Mc 2, 33) et l’herbe verte (Mc 6, 39) au début de son évangile, alors qu’on retrouve encore au printemps à la fin de son évangile pour célébrer la pâque. De plus, certains passages des synoptiques présupposent que Jésus est allé plus d’une fois à Jérusalem ou en Judée : « Jérusalem, Jérusalem… que de fois j’ai voulu rassembler tes enfants… » (Mt 23, 37); et encore : « Et il prêchait dans les synagogues de la Judée » (Lc 4, 44).
  • Quant à l’évangile selon Jean, le ministère de Jésus a duré deux ans et quelques mois. En effet, on y mentionne à trois reprises la fête de la pâque : 1) au début de son ministère, « La Pâque des Juifs était proche et Jésus monta à Jérusalem » (Jn 2, 13); 2) alors que Jésus prêche en Galilée et s’apprête à nourrir la foule, on mentionne : « C’était peu avant la Pâque qui est la fête des Juifs » (Jn 6, 4); 3) et enfin, cette Pâque où Jésus se rendra à Jérusalem pour y mourir : « Six jours avant la Pâque, Jésus arriva à Béthanie » (Jn 12, 1). En suivant cette chronologie de Jean où le ministère de Jésus a duré deux ans et quelques mois, on peut établir que ce ministère a commencé tôt en l’an 28 pour se terminer en avril de l’an 30.

Voici une reconstitution chronologique possible des principaux événements de la vie de Jésus.
Date Événement
Vers -7 ou -6 Naissance de Jésus à Nazareth
-4 Mort d’Hérode le Grand
Vers la fin de 27 ou début de 28 Jean Baptiste commence son ministère
Au début de l’an 28 Jésus se fait baptiser par Jean Baptiste. Après l’arrestation et la mort de Jean Baptiste, Jésus poursuit seul son ministère. Il a environ 33 ou 34 ans.
De l’an 28 à l’an 30 Jésus poursuit ses activités en Galilée et en Judée, se rendant à Jérusalem pour les grandes fêtes où il peut prêcher aux grandes foules de pèlerins.
Jeudi, 6 avril 30 au soir À Jérusalem pour la fête de la Pâque juive et sentant l’hostilité croissante des autorités du temple, Jésus célèbre un repas d’adieu le jeudi soir avec ses disciples, au moment où les juifs commençaient les préparatifs de la pâque.
Nuit du 6 au 7 avril Jésus est arrêté au jardin de Gethsémani, subit un premier examen de la part de certaines autorités juives.
Vendredi matin 7 avril Jésus est remis à Pilate qui le condamne rapidement à mort par crucifixion.
Journée du 7 avril Après avoir subit les coups de fouet et la moquerie, il se fait crucifier en dehors des murs de Jérusalem, le jour où on immole l'agneau au temple par la fête de la Pâque qui allait commencer après le coucher du soleil. Il est déjà mort quand vient le soir. Il avait environ 36 ans.

  • En dehors de ces grands points de repère, il est inutile de chercher une chronologie détaillée de la vie de Jésus, en particulier de ses deux ans de ministère, et une tentative de biographie est vouée à l’échec. La plupart des récits des évangiles ne suivent pas de séquences précises. De plus, chaque évangéliste a sa propre façon d’amorcer le ministère de Jésus, et ces façons sont irréconciliables et ne reflètent que leur thèse théologique. Nous sommes donc devant une mosaïque dont le seul fil conducteur est l’hostilité croissante du clergé de Jérusalem qui aboutira à une mort violente de Jésus.

Meier v.1, ch. 11, pp 372-433 (version anglaise).

Question suivante: Jean Baptiste a-t-il vraiment existé et que sait-on sur lui?

Retour à John P. Meier, A Marginal Jew - Rethinking the Historical Jesus, Doubleday (The Anchor Bible Reference Library), New York, 1991-2009, 4 v.