entête

Sybil 1999

Gospel text

Luke 4: 21-30

21 After putting back the book of reading, Jesus began by saying to his audience, "This very passage of Scripture that you have just heard is happening today." 22 Everyone had only good words about him and were overthrown by these words of overflowing love that came out of his mouth, to the point of saying to themselves, "He is nevertheless the son of Joseph, no?" 23 Jesus answered them, "Surely you will quote me this proverb, 'Doctor, heal yourself! All that you did in Capernaum, from what we knew by hearsay, do it here, in your own homeland". 24 He continued, "Truly, I assure you, no prophet is welcome in his own homeland. 25 Frankly, I say to you, there were many widows in Israel in the days of Elijah, when the sky was blocked for 3 years and 6 months without rain, and the whole country was suffering from great famine, 26 and yet Elijah was not sent to any of them, but to a woman who was a widow at Sarepta of Sidon. 27 There were many lepers in Israel in the time of the prophet Elisha, and none of them got back their physical integrity, except Naaman, the Syrian." 28 Hearing these words, everyone in the synagogue became furious, 29 and after standing up, the people dragged him to the crest of the mount on which the city had been built, to rush him down the cliff. 30 But he, having sneaked through them, simply went on his way.

People so diverse


Gospel commentary - Homily

Sent to foreigners

The homemade sign "For Sale", planted in the ever growing lawn in front of the house, was now part of the landscape on the other side of the street, when, one day, suddenly, it disappeared. Then, shortly after, in front of the garage, there was a big square jeep, all white, with this huge luggage rack on the roof that I had only seen in movies on safaris in Africa. And nothing else, except this mountain of massive wooden boxes, which were more like containers than cardboard boxes used for moving, and which accumulated now in the street, before the garbage truck showed up.

One day the doorbell rang. "Do you know snakes?", said a woman who was no longer young, but whose features, as if chiselled with a knife, expressed suffering, nobility and strength at the same time. "What, snakes?", asked the woman who had opened the door to this stranger. - "Yes, snakes, I have one that has just crossed my garden and I want to know if it is dangerous, I am your neighbor on the other side of the street". - "Snakes in this town in Canada? .... By chance would they be black and yellow?" - "Yes exactly!" The hostess grinned broadly, "It's a poor wood snake you've seen, no, it's not dangerous, but where are you from?" - "From South Africa", was her answer.

Thus bit by bit, the hostess learns her story. They are three women. Lorna, the mother, born in Johnanesburg, lived in Durban with her two daughters, Kendra and Brownwen. Her husband died early. Following an epileptic, Kendra suffers from a significant intellectual disability: she is now a 40-year-old woman with a mental age of 6 year old. And Brownwen, still single, is the breadwinner. Thanks to her exceptional talent, she was successful in her workplace and won an important position in a company, despite a minimum of training. Life could look beautiful under the southern sun, not far from the sea, with several housemaids in this compound that was their home. But it was hell! Impossible to shop without being armed! Maintenance of the car was a priority, for being stuck on the road could be fatal. Fear was part of everyday life!

And so Brownwen decides it's time to leave for a country where one would not be afraid all the time ... Canada! But why would she, Lorna, follow her daughter and leave the land where she was born? Ah! There is Kendra .... who will take care of her when she will not have the strength anymore? And did not Brownwen swear to watch over her disabled sister for the rest of her life? Thus began the long journey of three women.

It's ringing at the door again. Lorna. She asks a favor, to sit next to her in the car when she is shopping. She just failed her road test to get the driver's license: she was denied an auditor who speaks English and, of course, the French questions of the latter were unanswered. And of course, let's say it, at her age, driving right when one has driven all her life to the left, is not obvious either. To complicate matters, her daughter Brownwen is currently staying in California, where is located the only company that has made a job offer. So here are 2 women on the run in the streets of this town in Quebec. In fact, they are more like 3 women. Kendra can not stay home alone, and so needs to be as well in the car: she used to open the drawers, throw the contents on the floor, leave the house upside down.

This time it's the phone ringing. Lorna. No need to come for shopping. The car is dead, dead. The battery? Yes. Are there any cables? Yes. The two cars are brought closer. Kendra, does not understand what is happening, but panic feeling the nervousness of the two women opening the hood of cars. Who knows how to put the cables? But the South African woman has experience. One car starts, and then suddenly the other. Kendra's eyes light up, a large triumphal smile emerges, the two fists move with the thumb up in the sky, "We've got it!

Then she turns to the hostess with that tone of voice that all children have, "You know, I'll be 41 soon, do you want to come to my party?"

This real life story is a way to paraphrase today's Gospel: Jesus said that the good news is somehow experienced elsewhere than one's homeland, for it requires open hands that a foreigner often is able to show.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, October 2000

Themes

Sybil 2000

Le texte évangélique

Lc 4, 21-30

21 Après avoir remis le livre de la lecture, Jésus commença par dire à son auditoire: «C'est aujourd'hui même que se réalise ce passage de l'Écriture que vous venez d'entendre». 22 Tout le monde n'avait que de bons mots à son égard et étaient renversés des paroles débordantes d'amour qui sortaient de sa bouche, au point de se dire: «C'est pourtant bien le fils de Joseph, non?». 23 Jésus leur répliqua: «Sûrement, vous allez me citer cette comparaison: 'Médecin, guéris-toi toi-même! Tout ce que tu as fait à Capharnaüm, d'après ce que nous avons su par ouï-dire, fais-le donc ici, dans ta propre patrie.'» 24 Il continua: «Vraiment, je vous l'assure, aucun prophète n'est le bienvenu dans sa propre patrie. 25 Franchement, je vous le dis: il y avait beaucoup de veuves en Israël, au temps d'Élie, quand le ciel était bouché pendant 3 ans et 6 mois sans laisser passer d'eau, et que tout le pays souffrît d'une grande famine, 26 et pourtant Elie ne fut envoyé chez aucune d'elles, mais vers une femme qui était veuve à Sarepta de Sidon. 27 On trouvait beaucoup de lépreux en Israël au temps du prophète Élisée, et pourtant aucun ne retrouva son intégrité, sinon Naaman, le Syrien.» 28 En entendant ces affirmations, tout le monde à la synagogue devint furieux, 29 et après s'être levés, les gens le poussèrent hors de la ville et l'entraînèrent jusqu'à la crête de la montage sur laquelle la ville avait été bâtie, afin de le précipiter en bas de la falaise. 30 Mais lui, après s'être faufiler à travers eux, poursuivait tout simplement son chemin.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Des peuples si divers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Envoyé auprès des étrangers

La pancarte artisanale "À Vendre", plantée dans un gazon de plus en plus long devant la maison, faisait maintenant partie du paysage de l'autre côté de la rue, quand, un jour, soudainement, elle disparut. Puis peu après, devant le garage, un gros jeep carré, tout blanc, avec cet immense panier à bagage sur le toit que j'avais seulement vu dans le film sur les safaris en Afrique. Et rien d'autre, sinon cette montagne de boites de bois massifs, qui s'apparentaient plus à des containers qu'à des boîtes de carton utilisés pour les déménagements, et qui s'accumulaient maintenant dans la rue, avant le passage des vidangeurs.

Un jour la sonnette de la porte d'entrée se fit entendre. "Connaissez-vous les serpents? Dit une femme qui n'était plus jeune, mais dont les traits comme burinés au couteau, exprimaient à la fois la souffrance, la noblesse et la force." - "Quoi, les serpents? demanda celle qui venait d'ouvrir la porte à cette étrangère." - "Oui, les serpents, j'en ai un qui vient de traverser mon jardin et je veux savoir s'il est dangeureux. Je suis votre voisine d'en face". - "Des serpents à Aylmer? .... Est-ce que par hasard ils seraient noirs et jaunes?" - "Oui, exactement!" L'hôtesse esquissa un large sourire: "C'est une pauvre couleuvre des bois que vous avez vue. Non, elle n'est pas dangeureuse. Mais vous, d'où êtes-vous?" - "D'Afrique du sud", fut sa réponse.

C'est ainsi que bride par bride, l'hôtesse apprît son histoire. Elles sont trois femmes. Lorna, la mère, née à Johnanesburg, vivait à Durban avec ses 2 filles, Kendra et Brownwen. Son conjoint est décédé assez tôt. A la suite d'une ancéphalite, Kendra souffre d'une déficience intellectuelle marquée: un femme de 40 ans avec un âge mental de 6 ans. Et Brownwen, toujours célibataire, est le soutien de famille. Grâce à un talent exceptionnel, elle sait se tirer d'affaire au travail et occupe un poste important, malgré un minimum de formation. La vie pouvait sembler belle sous le soleil austral, non loin de la mer, avec les domestiques affairés dans ce domaine qui servait de maison. Mais c'était l'enfer! Impossible de faire ses courses sans être armés! Il fallait veiller à l'entretien de la voiture, gare aux pannes au milieu de la route. La peur!

Et voilà que Brownwen décide de s'expatrier vers un ailleurs, où on n'aurait plus peur.... Le Canada! Mais pourquoi elle, Lorna, suivrait-elle sa fille et quitterait-elle cette terre qui l'a vu naître? Ah! Il y a Kendra.... Qui s'en occupera quand elle n'en aura plus la force? Et Brownwen n'a-t-elle pas jurer de veiller sur sa soeur handicapée jusqu'à la fin de ses jours? Ainsi commença le long voyage de trois femmes.

Ça sonne de nouveau à la porte. Lorna. Elle demande une faveur, celle de s'assoir à côté d'elle en voiture pour les courses. Elle vient d'échouer son essai routier pour l'obtention du permis de conduire: on lui a refusé un vérificateur bilingue et, évidemment, les questions posées furent sans réponse. Et bien sûr, disons-le, à son âge, conduire à droite quand on a conduit toute sa vie à gauche, n'est pas évident non plus. Pour compliquer les choses, sa fille Brownwen est actuellement en séjour en Californie, là où se trouve la seule compagnie qui lui ait fait une offre emploi. Voilà donc 2 femmes en cavales dans les rues d'Aylmer, Hull, Ottawa. En fait, ce sont plutôt 3 femmes. Kendra ne peut rester seule à la maison: elle ouvre les tiroirs, jette le contenu par terre, laisse la maison sens dessus-dessous.

Cette fois c'est le téléphone. Lorna. Inutile de venir pour les courses. La voiture est à plat, morte. La batterie? Oui. Y a-t-il des cables? Oui. On rapproche les deux voitures. Kendra, ne comprend trop se qui se passe, mais panique en sentant la nervosité des 2 femmes ouvrant le capot des voitures. Qui sait comment placer les cables? Mais la sud africaine en a vu d'autres. Une première voiture démarre, et soudainement l'autre. Les yeux de Kendra s'illuminent, un large sourire triomphal se dessine, les deux poings s'agitent avec le pouce dressé au ciel: "On l'a! On l'a!"

Puis elle se tourne vers l'hôtesse avec cette tonalité de la voix qu'ont tous les enfants: "Tu sais, j'aurai bientôt 41 ans! Veux-tu venir à ma fête?"

 

-Octobre 2000