entête

Lorraine Caza, The prominence Mark gave to the cry on the cross, Science et Esprit, XXXIX / 2 (1987) 171-191

(detailed summary)


Lorraine Caza, a native of Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, has been a Sister of the Congregation of Notre-Dame since 1956. She obtained her doctorate in theology with a research on the cry of Jesus on the cross, which was published under the title: Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m'as-tu abandonné ? (My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?) in 1989, published by Cerf-Bellarmin (552 p.). This thesis earned her the international Malipiero prize. For 20 years she taught at the Dominican University College in Ottawa where she became dean of the Faculty of Theology from 1987 to 1993, the first woman to exercise this function in a faculty under pontifical law. She was Superior General of her congregation from 1996 to 2006. She was also a consultant to the Episcopal Commission for Doctrine of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) until the end of 2010, and a member of the Commission for Theology of the Canadian Religious Conference (CRC) and of the Pastoral Council of the Archdiocese of Montreal until 2012.


The prominence Mark gave to the cry on the cross


Summary

Mark intentionally wanted to make this cry of Jesus on the cross (15: 34) the climax of his Gospel, the conclusion of his plan to present the good news of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. There are seven arguments in favor of this idea:

  1. Mark uses the name of Jesus as a subject of action in important statements, and here he uses it to frame the unit 15: 34-37 with Jesus screaming: the cry or voice (phonē) is used by him for fundamental revelations about Jesus' identity.
  2. To describe Jesus' death he does not use the usual expression of dying, but "expiring" in the sense of letting the Spirit go.
  3. Jesus' words are presented with an Aramaic flavor, followed by the Greek translation, a technique Mark uses in his Gospel to emphasize certain words.
  4. Mark uses the beginning of Psalm 22, which contains an element unique in the whole Bible, a question arising from an experience of God's abandonment, to emphasize the theological character of the scene and give it a highly dramatic color.
  5. The word of Jesus is followed by a scene of irony in which the Hebrew name of God (Elōi) is confused with the prophet Elijah, to reflect the difficulty even within Christian communities of accepting this experience of abandonment in Jesus.
  6. The chronological indication of the ninth hour would refer to the afternoon prayer and the evening sacrifice in the temple, and thus invite us to consider the death of Jesus as a worship of God.
  7. The centurion's confession is not related to Jesus' death but to his cry: it points to the exceptional quality of one who accepts to live the dark experience of the misunderstanding of the meaning of events, accepts to make his own a purpose which is not his own, accepts a situation typical of those cursed by God. It is in the mouth of the centurion that the proclamation of the good news is found.


Note: This text is a summary of the published article

Table of Contents

 


Mark's intention in writing his Gospel is clearly expressed from the beginning: "The beginning of the good news of Jesus Christ, the Son of God" (Mk 1:1). But the climax of this good news seems to be reached when Jesus screamed on the cross with a loud cry: "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?" This is what this article seeks to demonstrate by analyzing Mk 15:34-37.

At the outset, it is important to point out a structure often used by Mark to highlight a narrative, e.g. he creates a frame arount it: this frame is represented by v. 33, where darkness fell over the whole world from the sixth to the ninth hour, and by v. 38, where the veil of the temple is rent in two, from top to bottom. Let's look inside this frame.

33 And the sixth hour having come, darkness came over the whole earth until the ninth hour.

34 And at the ninth hour Jesus screamed with a loud cry:
"Elōi, Elōi, la ma sabachthani?",
which is interpreted,
"My God, my God, for what reason have you forsaken me?"
35 And some of the bystanders, having heard, were saying, "Look, he is crying to Elijah".
36 But someone, running, having filled a sponge with vinegary wine, having put it on a reed, was giving him to drink, saying, "Leave (be). Let us see if Elijah comes to take him down."
37 But Jesus, having let go a loud cry, expired.
38 And the veil of the sanctuary was rent into two from top to bottom

  1. Doubling of the name of Jesus and the expression phōnē megalē

    The 34-37 set begins and ends similarly:

    34 Jesus screamed with a loud cry
    37 Jesus, having let go a loud cry, expired

    1. In the whole crucifixion story, this is the only time the name of Jesus is mentioned as the subject of an action. Elsewhere in the entire Passion narrative, the name of Jesus as the subject appears in each of his statements that mark important moments in the drama at play. Our text is one of these important moments.

    2. This is not the first time that Mark has spoken about voice or cry (phōnē)
      1: 3 : The voice of one crying out in the wilderness: Prepare the way of the Lord (citation from the prophet Isaiah before John the Baptist heralded Jesus)
      1: 11 : and a voice came from heavenYou are my Son, the Beloved..."
      1: 26 : And the unclean spirit, convulsing him and crying with a loud voice came out of him (that spirit that said: "I know who you are: the Holy One of God")
      5: 7 : and (the man possessed of an unclean spirit) he shouted at the top of his voice: "What have you to do with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God?... "
      9: 7 : Then a cloud overshadowed them, and from the cloud there came a voice: "This is my Son, the Beloved; listen to him!"

      It will have been noticed that each time it is a superhuman power that makes a fundamental revelation on the identity of Jesus.

    3. By beginning and ending with the mention of a loud cry, without adding "again" as in Matthew (27:50), our 34-37 set gives the impression that it is itself only one loud cry. In fact, according to R.E. Boismard (P. Benoit and M.-E. Boismard, Synopse des quatre évangiles II. Paris: Cerf, 1972, p. 426.), the original formulation probably boils down to: "At the ninth hour, Jesus, having let go a loud cry, expired". The rest would have been due to the editorial work of the evangelist who would have wanted to give a meaning to this cry, and thus to emphasize it.

  2. The euphemism for the action of dying and the choice of the verb for the action of screaming

    Marc also highlights this scene with the words "expire" and "scream".

    1. Instead of using the common term "dying" (apothneskō) or "death" (thanatos), which he knows well (see 5:35,39; 9:26; 12:20,21,22) to describe Jesus' death, he uses the word "expiring" (ek-pneō), formed from the root pneuma (spirit), which Matthew will render as "letting go the spirit" (Mt 27:50) and John as "giving over the spirit" (Jn 19:30).

    2. The verb "to scream" (boaō) is used in the Gospels in solemn proclamations (Mk 1:3), in cries of anguish and cries for help (Mk 15:34; Mt 27:46), in prayers and in recourse to God (Lk 18:7). This cry is usually aimed at making one's feelings known.

  3. The transcription of the Semitic expression attributed to Jesus, followed by its translation into Greek

    By presenting first the Greek transcription of the Semitic text of the beginning of Psalm 22 put in Jesus' mouth, and then its Greek translation, Mark gives Jesus' words solemn status. Let us put the Massoretic Hebrew text, the Greek translation of the Septuagint (LXX), Mark's text, the special version of the Codex Bezae (D) and Matthew's text in parallel.

    Ps 22: Massoretic Hebrew textPs 22: LXXMark 15: 34Codex Bezae version on Mark 15: 34Matthew 27: 46
    ʾēlî ʾēlîelōi elōielōi elōiēli ēli
    lāmâlemalamalema
    ʿăzabtānîsabachthanizaphthanisabachthani
    ho theos ho theos mou, prosches moi;ho theos mou ho theos mou,ho theos mou ho theos mou,thee mou thee mou,
    hina tieis tieis tihinati
    enkatelipes me?enkatelipes meōneidisas meme enkatelipes

    1. Semitic expression

      • If we take the Hebrew Massoretic text as a basis, we see that Mark's text, with his elōi (my God), diverges from the Hebrew ʾēlî, with his lema (why) he diverges from the Hebrew lāmâ, followed here by Matthew, and finally, with his sabachthani (you have forsaken me) he diverges from Hebrew ʿazabtānî, also followed by Matthew. In fact, Mark presents us with a more Aramaic than Hebrew formulation. One may be surprised by Matthew's ēli which departs from Mark to move closer to Masoretic Hebrew; but it seems that some Aramaic circles were not reluctant to use the Hebrew name to invoke God (see TgPs 22 and TgOnkelos).

      • The special version of the Codex Bezae is probably explained by a scribe's awareness of the discrepancy with the Masoretic text and his effort to harmonize it: lema became lama like the Hebrew text, and the passage from sabachthani to zaphthani could be explained by the fact that the syllable "sa" in the Hebrew text could be assimilated to the finale of "lama", so that the syllable "bach" became "zaph" because of the consonant "th" that follows.

    2. The Greek translation

      • Mark follows the LXX of Ps 22 by taking up again the invocation of God in the nominative (ho theos), while Matthew prefers the direct address of the vocative (thee mou). But Mark drops the prosches moi (attend to me) that the LXX added in its translation of the Hebrew text. Finally, he prefers to say eis ti (for what [reason]) rather than the hinati (to what [purpose]) of the LXX which is totally absent from his Gospel, whereas Matthew prefers this word from the LXX.

      • But how can we explain that the Codex Bezae prefers to say ōneidisas (to revile) rather than enkatelipes (to forsake)? It is probable that the scribe wanted to offer a softening version of the text, reflecting the uneasiness felt in the face of the cry of abandonment.

      • Finally, let us note that the only two places in Mark's Gospel where Jesus seems to reveal something of his personal prayer, here on the cross and in Gethsemane (Abba), offer Aramaic terms. Even if all the times in which Aramaic terms are found (the epphata, be opened, from Mk 7:34, the Talitha Qum, little girl, get up, from Mk 5:41, the korban, sacred offering, from Mk 7:11) do not guarantee their historical authenticity, it must nevertheless be admitted that the evangelist wanted to underline certain words of Jesus in this way.

  4. The content of the saying

    1. Saying interpreting the event

      • In Jewish consciousness, he who hangs on the tree is cursed by God (Deut 21:23). It is therefore a paradox that the witnesses of the scene of the cross had to go through: on the one hand, the crucifixion expressed God's rejection or abandonment, and on the other hand, the disciple's outlook still saw in him God's envoy. It is this paradox that the words of Psalm 22 express in confessing God twice (My God), but in confessing his incomprehension of such abandonment.

    2. Saying that expresses the theological dimension of the event

      • The heart-rending cry of this prayer is addressed to God and has a theocentric character. Abuse and scenes of derision disappear from the foreground and only his relationship to God is the focus of the tortured person. This is expressed in the two images of the darkened sky and the rending of the veil of the sanctuary. In this context, Jesus' single word reveals what is most important to him.

      • The Marcan account of the cross is somewhat modelled on the whole of this psalm. In this context, it is the whole psalm that illuminates this scene of Jesus' death, i.e. we are not only before someone who makes this heart-rending cry to God, but also before someone who keeps his trust in God and continues to hope for the restoration of his kingdom, and even dares to bless God in a song of praise. This is undoubtedly what Mark wanted to express with the scene of the last supper where Jesus blesses this bread, a reference to his body given over. This is what he expresses with the scene of the centurion's confession of faith.

    3. Saying that speaks of distress in a very characteristic language

      • Abandonment is expressed in Greek by enkatelipes (transcription from Aramaic sabachthani). Let us look at the uses of this word in the New Testament:
        • Mck 15: 34: "My God, my God, for what reason have you forsaken me?"
        • Mt 27: 46: "My God, my God, to what purpose have you forsaken me?"
        • Acts 2: 27: For you will not abandon my soul to Hades
        • Acts 2: 31: He (Christ) was not abandoned to Hades
        • 2 Cor 4: 9: persecuted, but not forsaken;
        • 2 Tim 4: 10: for Demas, in love with this present world, has deserted me and gone to Thessalonica
        • Heb 13: 5: for God has said, "I will never leave you or forsake you"

        It follows from all this that Mk 15:34 is the only one who speaks of a case of abandonment by God, which Matthew copied. In the other cases, either it is claimed that God does not abandon people, or it is Paul who complains of having been abandoned.

      • If we turn to the Psalter, we note two situations: either one express the faith that God will not abandon his servant (9:11; 16:10; 37:25,28,32; 94:14), or it is the believer who prays that God will not abandon him (27:9; 38:22; 71:9,18; 119:8; 138:8). Psalm 22 is therefore unique in the whole psalter: it does not affirm that God has abandoned the believer, but it dares to ask the question.

      • Mark, in using this psalm, finds himself giving a unique and extremely dramatic character to the scene he describes.

  5. The evocation of a misunderstanding triggered by the saying and the irony surrounding this misunderstanding

    1. Verse 35 tells of a misunderstanding of Jesus' prayer, as people around Jesus feel as if they hear a call to Elijah. This poses a problem: how could witnesses confuse Elôï with ʾEliyyâhû or ʾEliyyâh. A real phonetic misunderstanding is highly unlikely. But since Mark presents several times scenes of irony (14:65 in the Sanhedrin; 15:18 with Pilate; 15:32 at his crucifixion), it is probable that he offers us here a scene of ironization of Jesus' prayer to hide its gravity.

    2. But the question remains: on what source does Mark rely to introduce this ironic scene? It is possible that from the cry of Jesus on the cross various traditions have been developed to interpret its meaning. Since the call in Psalm 22 might seem implausible within the Christian community itself, it is understandable that some people saw Jesus' cry as a call not to God but to Elijah. Such an objection could be raised insofar as the Greek Ēlias (Elijah) was not phonetically too far from Elōi (my God). And the introduction of the figure of Elijah is quite appropriate when one knows his zeal for Yahweh, his ardent confession of the one Yahweh in Carmel, after having gone to Sinai. Throughout his Gospel, Mark associated Jesus with the figure of Elijah.

  6. The chronological detail of v. 34

    • Mark specifies that the great cry of Jesus took place "at the ninth hour". This is surprising, because one would have expected the chronological detail to refer to his death. It is probably necessary to associate this chronological note with the Jewish cult context where at the ninth hour the afternoon prayer and the evening sacrifice in the temple took place. Moreover, the cry was considered a form of prayer (see Sifre on Deut 3:23). And when we look at the content of Psalm 22 which ends with a song of praise, we find ourselves in the context of a sacrifice of thanksgiving with praise which is called the Todah sacrifice. Mark would therefore have made of this moment a liturgical and cultic action.

      Mark gives us two other chronological indications: they crucified Jesus "at the third hour" and darkness came "at the sixth hour". So we have three chronological indications. Is this division into blocks of three hours a pure coincidence? Probably not. The ternary rhythm of daily prayer is known in first-century Judaism and seems to have been adopted by the first Christian communities (see Didachē 8:3; Apostolic Tradition, #41). This liturgical framework could provide a key to the formation of passion narratives, and invite us to consider the death of Jesus as a worship of God.

  7. The relationship between the cry and the centurion's confession

    • The textual criticism reveals several variants of the centurion's confession. Most biblical scholars relate this confession to the cry of Jesus. It is therefore by hearing Jesus screaming his Elōi, Elōi, that the centurion proclaims his faith in Jesus the Son of God. Such a confession stands out from others coming from, for example, evil spirits defeated by the thaumaturgical power of Jesus, because it is rooted in the view of human helplessness and abandonment. It points out the exceptional quality of someone who accepts to live the dark experience of the misunderstanding of the meaning of events, accepts to make his own a purpose that is not his own, accepts a situation typical of those cursed by God. In his mouth is the conclusion to which the introduction of the Gospel of Mark ("The beginning of the good news of Jesus Christ, the Son of God") wanted to lead us, and thus the confession of the good news.

Lorraine Caza, originaire de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, est religieuse de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame depuis 1956. Elle obtint son doctorat en théologie avec une recherche sur le cri de Jésus en croix et qui fut publié sous le titre : « Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m'as-tu abandonné ? » en 1989 aux éditions Cerf-Bellarmin (552 p.). Cette thèse lui a valu le prix international Malipiero. Pendant 20 ans elle enseigna au Collège universitaire dominicain d’Ottawa dont elle devint doyenne de la faculté de théologie de 1987 à 1993, la première femme a exercé cette fonction dans une faculté de droit pontifical. Elle fut supérieure générale de sa congrégation de 1996 à 2006. Elle fut également consultante pour la Commission Épiscopale de la Doctrine de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada (CECC), jusqu’à la fin de 2010, et membre de la Commission de théologie de la Conférence religieuse canadienne (CRC) ainsi que du Conseil de Pastorale de l’Archidiocèse de Montréal jusqu’en 2012.


Le relief que Marc a donné au cri de la croix


Sommaire

Marc a intentionnellement voulu faire de ce cri de Jésus en croix (15, 34) le sommet de son évangile, la conclusion de son projet de présenter la bonne nouvelle de Jésus Christ, Fils de Dieu. Sept arguments militent en faveur de cette idée :

  1. Marc utilise le nom de Jésus comme sujet d’action lors des déclarations importantes, et ici il s’en sert pour encadrer l’ensemble 15, 34-37 avec Jésus qui crie : le cri ou voix (phônê) est utilisé chez lui pour des révélations fondamentales sur l’identité de Jésus.
  2. Pour décrire la mort de Jésus, il n’emploie pas l’expression habituelle de décéder, mais « expirer » au sens de laisser aller l’Esprit.
  3. La parole de Jésus est présentée avec une saveur araméenne, suivie de sa traduction grecque, une technique que Marc utilise dans son évangile pour mettre en valeur certaines paroles.
  4. Marc utilise le début du psaume 22 qui contient un élément unique dans toute la Bible, une question issue d’une expérience d’abandon par Dieu, afin d’accentuer le caractère théologique de la scène et lui donner une couleur extrêmement dramatique.
  5. La parole de Jésus est suivie d’une scène d’ironie où on confond le nom hébreu de Dieu (Elôï) avec le prophète Élie, pour traduire la difficulté même au sein des communautés chrétiennes d’accepter cette expérience d’abandon chez Jésus.
  6. L’indication chronologique de la neuvième heure ferait référence à la prière de l’après-midi et au sacrifice du soir au temple, et donc nous inviterait à considérer la mort de Jésus comme un culte à Dieu.
  7. La confession du centurion n’est pas reliée à la mort de Jésus, mais à son cri : elle relève la qualité exceptionnelle de quelqu’un qui accepte de vivre l’expérience ténébreuse de l’incompréhension du sens des événements, accepte de faire sien un dessein qui n’est pas le sien, accepte une situation typique des maudits par Dieu. C’est dans la bouche du centurion que se trouve la proclamation de la bonne nouvelle.


Note: Ce texte est un sommaire de l'article publié

Table des matières

  1. Redoublement du nom de Jésus et de l’expression phônê megalê

  2. L’euphémisme pour dire l’action de mourir et le choix du verbe exprimant l’action de crier

  3. La transcription de l’expression sémitique attribuée à Jésus, suivie de sa traduction en grec

  4. Le contenu de la parole

  5. L’évocation d’une méprise déclenchée par la parole et l’ironisation autour de cette méprise

  6. La précision chronologique du v. 34

  7. Le lien établi entre le cri et la confession du centurion

 


L’intention de Marc en écrivant son évangile est clairement exprimée dès le début : « Commencement de Bonne Nouvelle de Jésus Christ, Fils de Dieu » (Mc 1, 1). Mais le sommet de cette Bonne Nouvelle semble atteint lorsque Jésus lance sur la croix son grand cri : « Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m'as-tu abandonné? ». C'est ce que veut démontrer le présent article en analysant Mc 15, 34-37.

D’entrée de jeu, il faut signaler une structure souvent employée par Marc où, pour mettre en valeur un récit, il l’encadre : il s’agit du v. 33 où l'obscurité se fit sur la terre entière de la sixième heure jusqu'à la neuvième heure, et du v. 38 où le voile du temple se déchire en deux, du haut en bas.

33 Quand il fut la sixième heure, l'obscurité se fit sur la terre entière jusqu'à la neuvième heure.
34 Et à la neuvième heure Jésus clama en un grand cri:
"Elôï, Elôï, lema sabachthani",
ce qui se traduit:
"Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m'as-tu abandonné?"
35 Certains des assistants disaient en l'entendant: "Voilà qu'il appelle Elie!"
36 Quelqu'un courut tremper une éponge dans du vinaigre et, l'ayant mise au bout d'un roseau, il lui donnait à boire en disant: "Laissez! que nous voyions si Elie va venir le descendre!"
37 Or Jésus, jetant un grand cri, expira.
38 Et le voile du Sanctuaire se déchira en deux, du haut en bas.

  1. Redoublement du nom de Jésus et de l’expression phônê megalê

    L’ensemble 34-37 commence et finit de façon similaire :

    34 Jésus clama en un grand cri
    37 Jésus, jetant un grand cri, expira

    1. Dans tout le récit de la crucifixion, c’est ici la seule fois où le nom de Jésus est mentionné en tant que sujet d’une action. Ailleurs, dans tout le récit de la Passion, le nom de Jésus comme sujet apparaît lors de chacune de ses déclarations qui scandent les moments importants du drame qui se joue. Notre texte est un de ces moments importants.

    2. Ce n’est pas la première fois que Marc parle de voix ou cri (phônê)
      1, 3 : Voix de celui qui crie dans le désert: Préparez le chemin du Seigneur (citation du prophète Isaïe avant que Jean-Baptiste annonce Jésus)
      1, 11 : et une voix vint des cieux: "Tu es mon Fils bien-aimé…"
      1, 26 : Et le secouant violemment, l'esprit impur cria d'une voix forte et sortit de lui (cet esprit qui avait dit : « Je sais qui tu es: le Saint de Dieu »)
      5, 7 : et (l’homme possédé d’un esprit impur) cria d'une voix forte: "Que me veux-tu, Jésus, fils du Dieu Très-Haut?... "
      9, 7 : Et une nuée survint qui les prit sous son ombre, et une voix partit de la nuée: "Celui-ci est mon Fils bien-aimé; écoutez-le."

      On aura remarqué qu’il s’agit à chaque fois d’une puissance surhumaine qui fait une révélation fondamentale sur l’identité de Jésus.

    3. En commençant et en se terminant avec la mention d’un grand cri, sans ajouter « de nouveau » comme chez Matthieu (27, 50), notre ensemble 34-37 donne l’impression d’être lui-même qu’un seul grand cri. De fait, si l’on en croit R.E. Boismard (P. Benoit et M.-E. Boismard, Synopse des quatre évangiles II. Paris : Cerf, 1972, p. 426.), la formulation originelle se réduisait probablement à: « À la neuvième heure, Jésus, poussant un grand cri, expira ». Le reste serait dû au travail rédactionnel de l’évangéliste qui aurait voulu donner un sens de ce cri, et par là le mettre en valeur.

  2. L’euphémisme pour dire l’action de mourir et le choix du verbe exprimant l’action de crier

    Marc met également en valeur cette scène à l’aide des mots « expirer » et « crier ».

    1. Au lieu d’utiliser le terme usuel « mourir » (apothneskô ) ou « mort » (thanatos), qu’il connaît pourtant bien (voir 5, 35.39; 9, 26; 12, 20.21.22) pour décrire la mort de Jésus, il utilise le mot « expirer » (ek-pneô ), formé de la racine pneuma (esprit), que Matthieu rendra par « laisser aller l’esprit » (Mt 27, 50) et Jean par « transmettre l’esprit » (Jn 19, 30).

    2. Le verbe « crier » (boaô ) est utilisé dans les évangiles dans le cadre des proclamations solennelles (Mc 1, 3), dans les cris d’angoisse et les appels au secours (Mc 15, 34; Mt 27, 46), dans les prières et les recours à Dieu (Lc 18, 7). Ce cri vise habituellement à faire connaître ses sentiments.

  3. La transcription de l’expression sémitique attribuée à Jésus, suivie de sa traduction en grec

    En présentant d’abord la transcription grecque du texte sémitique du début du psaume 22 mis dans la bouche de Jésus, puis sa traduction grecque, Marc confère à la parole de Jésus un statut solennel. Mettons en parallèle le texte hébreu massorétique, la traduction grecque de la Septante (LXX), le texte de Marc, la version spéciale du Codex Bezae (D) et le texte de Matthieu.

    Ps 22: Texte hébreu massorétiquePs 22: LXXMarc 15, 34Version du Codex Bezae sur Marc 15, 34Matthieu 27, 46
    ʾēlî ʾēlîelōi elōielōi elōiēli ēli
    lāmâlemalamalema
    ʿăzabtānîsabachthanizaphthanisabachthani
    ho theos ho theos mou, prosches moi;ho theos mou ho theos mou,ho theos mou ho theos mou,thee mou thee mou,
    hina tieis tieis tihinati
    enkatelipes me?enkatelipes meōneidisas meme enkatelipes

    1. L’expression sémitique

      • Si l’on prend le texte hébreu massorétique comme base, on s’aperçoit que le texte de Marc diverge avec elōi (mon Dieu) plutôt que ʾēlî , avec lema (pourquoi) plutôt que lāmâ , suivi ici par Matthieu, et avec sabachthani (tu m’as abandonné) plutôt que ʿazabtānî , également suivi par Matthieu. En fait, Marc nous présente une formulation plus araméenne qu’hébraïque. On peut être surpris par le ēli de Matthieu qui s’écarte de Marc pour se rapprocher de l’hébreu massorétique; mais il semble que certains milieux araméens ne répugnaient pas à utiliser le nom hébreux pour invoquer Dieu (voir TgPs 22 et TgOnkelos)

      • La version spéciale du Codex Bezae s’explique probablement par la prise de conscience par un scribe de l’écart avec le texte massorétique et de son effort d’harmonisation : lema est devenu lama comme le texte hébreu, et le passage de sabachthani à zaphthani pourrait s’expliquer par le fait que la syllabe « sa » du texte hébreu a pu être assimilé à la finale du « lama », si bien que la syllabe « bach » est devenue « zaph » à cause de la consonne « th » qui suit.

    2. La traduction grecque

      • Marc suit la LXX en reprenant l’invocation de Dieu au nominatif (ho theos), alors Matthieu préfère l’interpellation du vocatif (thee mou). Mais il laisse tomber le prosches moi (regarde-moi) que la LXX a ajouté dans sa traduction du texte hébraïque. Enfin, il préfère dire eis ti (en quoi, pourquoi) que le hinati de la LXX qui est totalement absent de son évangile, alors que Matthieu préfère le mot de la LXX.

      • Mais comment expliquer que le Codex Bezae préfère dire ōneidisas (faire des reproches, invectiver, outrager) plutôt enkatelipes (abandonner)? Il est probable que le scribe ait voulu offrir une version adoucissante du texte, reflet du malaise ressenti face au cri d’abandon.

      • Notons enfin que les deux seuls endroits de l’évangile de Marc où Jésus semble révéler quelque chose de sa prière personnelle, ici sur la croix et à Gethsémani (Abba), offrent des termes araméens. Même si toutes les fois où on trouve des termes araméens (le epphata, ouvre-toi, de Mc 7, 34, le Talitha Qoum, fillette, lève-toi, de Mc 7, 41, le korban, offrande sacré, de Mc 5, 41) ne garantissent pas leur authenticité historique, il faut néanmoins admettre que l’évangéliste a voulu souligner ainsi certaines paroles de Jésus.

  4. Le contenu de la parole

    1. Parole qui interprète l’événement

      • Dans la conscience juive, celui qui pend ainsi au gibet est un maudit de Dieu (Dt 21, 23). C’est donc un paradoxe que devaient vivre les témoins de la scène de la croix : d’une part, la mise en croix exprimait le rejet ou l’abandon par Dieu, d’autre part, le regard du disciple voyait encore en lui l’envoyé de Dieu. C’est ce paradoxe qu’expriment les paroles du psaume 22 en confessant Dieu deux fois (Mon Dieu), mais en avouant son incompréhension d’un tel abandon.

    2. Parole qui exprime la dimension théologique de l’événement

      • Le cri déchirant de cette prière s’adresse à Dieu et comporte un caractère théocentrique. Les mauvais traitements et les scènes de dérision disparaissent de l’avant-plan et seule sa relation à Dieu préoccupe le supplicié. C’est ce qu’expriment les deux images du ciel qui s’est obscurci et du rideau du temple qui se déchire. Dans ce contexte, l’unique prise de parole de Jésus révèle ce qui lui importe le plus.

      • Le récit marcien de la croix est un peu modelé sur l’ensemble de ce psaume. Dans ce contexte, c’est tout le psaume qui éclaire cette scène de la mort de Jésus, i.e. nous sommes non seulement devant un être qui lance ce cri déchirant à Dieu, mais également devant quelqu’un qui garde sa confiance en Dieu et continue à espérer le rétablissement de sa royauté, et ose même bénir Dieu dans un chant de louange. C’est sans doute ce qu’a voulu exprimer Marc avec la scène du dernier repas où Jésus bénit ce pain, référence à son corps donné. C’est ce qu’il exprime avec la scène de la confession de foi du centurion.

    3. Parole qui dit la détresse dans un langage très caractéristique

      • L’abandon est exprimé en grec par enkatelipes (transcription de l’araméen sabachthani). Regardons les emplois de ce mot dans le Nouveau Testament :
        • Mc 15, 34 : "Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m'as-tu abandonné?"
        • Mt 27, 46 : "Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m'as-tu abandonné?"
        • Ac 2, 27 : tu n'abandonneras pas mon âme à l'Hadès
        • Ac 2, 31 : Christ qui, en effet, n'a pas été abandonné à l'Hadès
        • 2 Co 4, 9 : persécutés, mais non abandonnés;
        • 2 Tm 4, 10 : car Démas m'a abandonné par amour du monde présent
        • He 13, 5 : Dieu lui-même a dit: Je ne te laisserai ni ne t'abandonnerai

        Il en ressort de tout cela que Mc 15, 34 est seul à parler d’un cas d’abandon par Dieu, que Matthieu a copié. Dans les autres cas, ou bien on affirme que Dieu n’abandonne pas les gens, ou bien c’est Paul qui se plaint d’avoir été abandonné.

      • Si on se tourne vers le Psautier, on note deux situations : ou bien on exprime la foi que Dieu n’abandonnera pas son serviteur (9, 11; 16, 10; 37, 25.28.32; 94, 14), ou bien c’est le croyant qui prie afin que Dieu ne l’abandonne pas (27, 9; 38, 22; 71, 9.18; 119, 8; 138, 8). Le psaume 22 est donc unique dans tout le psautier : il n’affirme pas que Dieu abandonné le croyant, mais il ose poser la question.

      • Marc, en utilisant ce psaume, se trouve à donner un caractère unique et extrêmement dramatique à la scène qu’il décrit.

  5. L’évocation d’une méprise déclenchée par la parole et l’ironisation autour de cette méprise

    1. Le verset 35 raconte une méprise sur la prière de Jésus, alors que les gens autour de Jésus ont l’impression d’entendre un appel à Élie. Cela pose un problème : comment des témoins aient pu confondre Elôï avec ʾEliyyâhû ou ʾEliyyâh? Une véritable méprise phonétique est hautement improbable. Mais puisque Marc présente à plusieurs reprises des scènes d’ironie (14, 65 au sanhédrin; 15, 18 chez Pilate; 15, 32 lors de sa mise en croix), il est probable qu’il nous offre ici une scène d’ironisation de la prière de Jésus pour en dissimuler la gravité.

    2. Mais la question demeure : sur quelle source s’appuie Marc pour introduire cette scène d’ironie? Il est possible qu’à partir du cri de Jésus en croix diverses traditions ce soient développées pour en interpréter le sens. Puisque l’appel au psaume 22 pouvait paraître invraisemblable au sein même de la communauté chrétienne, on peut comprendre que certains aient vu dans le cri de Jésus un appel non à Dieu, mais à Élie. On pouvait élever une telle objection dans la mesure où l’Êlias grec n’était phonétiquement pas trop loin d’Elôi. Et l’introduction de la figure d’Élie est tout à fait appropriée quand on sait son zèle pour Yahvé, son ardente confession de l’unique Yahvé au Carmel, après être allé au Sinaï. Tout au long de son évangile, Marc a associé Jésus à la figure d’Élie.

  6. La précision chronologique du v. 34

    • Marc précise que le grand cri de Jésus a eu lieu « à la neuvième heure ». Cela surprend, car on se serait attendu à ce que la précision chronologique renvoie à sa mort. Il faut probablement associer cette note chronologique au contexte cultuel juif où à la neuvième heure avait lieu la prière de l’après-midi et le sacrifice du soir au temple. D’ailleurs, le cri était considéré comme une forme de prière (voir Sifré sur Dt 3, 23). Et quand on regarde le contenu du psaume 22 qui se termine avec un chant de louange, on se situe alors dans le cadre d’un sacrifice d’action de grâce avec louange qu’on appelle le sacrifice Tôdâh. Marc aurait donc fait de ce moment une action liturgique et cultuelle.

    • Marc nous donne deux autres indications chronologiques : ils crucifièrent Jésus « à la troisième heure » et l’obscurité se fit « à la sixième heure ». Nous avons donc trois indications chronologiques. Ce découpage en bloc de trois heures est-il un pur hasard? Probablement pas. Le rythme ternaire de la prière quotidienne est connu dans le judaïsme du premier siècle et semble avoir été adopté par les premières communautés chrétiennes (voir Didachè 8, 3; Tradition apostolique, #41). Ce cadre liturgique pourrait donner une clé dans la formation des récits de la passion, et nous inviter à considérer la mort de Jésus comme un culte à Dieu.

  7. Le lien établi entre le cri et la confession du centurion

    • La critique textuelle révèle plusieurs variantes de la confession du centurion. La plupart établissent un rapport explicite entre cette confession et le cri de Jésus. C’est donc en entendant Jésus crier son Elôï, Elôï, que le centurion proclame sa foi en Jésus fils de Dieu. Une telle confession se détache des autres provenant par exemple des esprits mauvais vaincus par la puissance thaumaturgique de Jésus, car elle s’enracine dans la vue d’une impuissance et d’un abandon humains. Elle relève la qualité exceptionnelle de quelqu’un qui accepte de vivre l’expérience ténébreuse de l’incompréhension du sens des événements, accepte de faire sien un dessein qui n’est pas le sien, accepte une situation typique des maudits par Dieu. Dans sa bouche, se trouve la conclusion à laquelle l’introduction de l’évangile de Marc (Commencement de l'Évangile de Jésus Christ, Fils de Dieu) voulait nous amener, et donc la confession de la bonne nouvelle.

 

 

Retour à En Marge