entête

What Does It Mean To Actualize the Gospels?


To answer this question, I prefer to take a negative approach first: gospel comments that are not actualizations. There are, in my opinion, two approaches that are really not actualizations of the gospel.

A simple resumption of the gospel scene

It is good to take certain gestures or words from Jesus to highlight them, to better understand what they mean. For example, we could say something like this when reading the story of passion:
Jesus, of whom we already know that he is the Son of God, gives here the ultimate testimony of his total participation in our human condition. He did not shy away from our suffering and death. The Scriptures, he said, and the benevolent will of his Heavenly Father had to be fulfilled. In humility, patience, Jesus chooses to be perfectly faithful to the love of the Father that He has the mission to reveal to all. (Extract from French website Spiritualité 2000)

You cannot actualize the gospel if you do not understand what is written. But here, there is a trap to avoid: forgetting that we are facing a writing of an author who presents a catechesis to us, and not the report of a journalist telling what he saw and heard. It is therefore important to know well the theology of Mark, Matthew, Luke and John, and in what context these gospels were written. For example, Mark probably wrote his gospel initially for Christians who were going through a dark period of great persecution, and then the evangelist emphasizes that one cannot understand Easter if one does not understand first suffering, opposition and death, so much so that his Jesus will experience great distress to the point of shouting Psalm 22: "My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?".

But if understanding the evangelical passage is the starting point for actualization, it is not enough: it lacks the contemporary situation that this passage can shed light on.

Use a gospel passage to support a theological point

It is typical of papal documents to embellish their assertion with scriptural quotes. Take for example Amoris Laetitia of Pope Francis.
The Gospel goes on to remind us that children are not the property of a family, but have their own lives to lead. Jesus is a model of obedience to his earthly parents, placing himself under their charge (cf. Lk 2:51), but he also shows that children's life decisions and their Christian vocation may demand a parting for the sake of the Kingdom of God (cf. Mt 10:34-37; Lk 9:59-62). Jesus himself, at twelve years of age, tells Mary and Joseph that he has a greater mission to accomplish apart from his earthly family (cf. Lk 2:48-50). (#18)

One uses the gospel not to actualize it, but to show that it is in agreement with the point that one intends to support, and which, at the beginning, does not come from the gospel. It's not bad, but it's not gospel actualization.

In this line, some go so far as to use specific words or phrases from the gospel to support personal ideas. Their starting point is a way of seeing a contemporary situation, and the gospel has no other interest for them than to support their point of view. A typical example concerns the question of divorce, where one will seek the sentence of Mt 19: 6: "What God has united, man must not separate", without trying to understand the meaning given to it by Matthew, the context in which this is said, and why the Christian community has introduced exceptions, ie the case of promiscuity (Matthew 19: 9), or when peace is no longer possible (1 Corinthians 7: 15).

Actualization of the Gospels

As the verb "actualize" suggests, there are two elements in actualization: what the gospel intends to say, and our contemporary situation. And the art of actualization is to bridge the two. And it is a difficult art, because on the one hand, you have to understand the point of view of the evangelist, and, on the other hand, you have to understand what is happening today and to interpret it well. In my opinion, there are two possible approaches.
  1. Start from the Gospel story and its symbols This approach was favored by the biblical scholar Xavier-Léon Dufour in courses that I had the privilege of attending in Paris in 1982. First of all, one must understand the evangelist. That's why I apply the rigorous method of scientific exegesis,

    • analyzing each word by comparing it to how it is used elsewhere, identifying what the author has borrowed from tradition,
    • what he added of his own to impose his understanding of things (his typical vocabulary),
    • how he structured his story (study of its structure),
    • how he shed light to his story by the way he inserts it into his work (study of the near and far context),
    • and finally, how it differs from other evangelists by taking up a similar tradition (study of parallels)
    .

    All this effort has one goal: to clarify the intention of the evangelist by writing this text.

    Once we have a good understanding of what the evangelist meant, there remains a daunting task: how to bridge the gap with our modern era. Let's not forget: these are stories written over two thousand years ago, in a context different from ours, facing problems that were specific to them? And the solution is not to simply say, as some preachers do after reading the Gospel story: "Today the Lord tells us..."; or even: "The lesson of this story...". These preachers are not doing actualization, they are moralizing.

    For example, I have the memory of a priest in the parish who thus concluded the story of the ten lepers, where only one of whom gave glory to God (Luke 17: 11-19): "In life, you must know how to say thank you". How can one imagine that an evangelist would simply give us a lesson in decency? Fortunately, the usual preaching goes deeper than that, as the following example shows:

    From now on they will be for us winning values (the attitude of Jesus before his death), these very difficult moments of our life. We can see in it a life path, in the fruitfulness of a life of love, of a given life, an offered life that saves the world. Christ thus draws us to him in his extreme love. He takes us with him to the Father so that we too can live with him in the glory of the Father, in his house, forever (5th Sunday of Lent, year B: extract from the website Spiritualité 2000)

    Even though this exhortation is very spiritual, it does not constitute actualization.

    Pay attention to the language

    Actualizing means shedding new light on a contemporary situation. First of all, it means that we are immersed in today's world, that we understand its language and its problems, that we are sensitive to the drama that is playing out there and that we understand the issues well. Because we cannot bridge the period between the first Christian communities and that of today if we do not speak the language of current culture. This is a stumbling block for many Christians: one is so marked by religious language that one is unable to name things differently.

    I remember a conversation with Marie-Dominique Chenu, this Dominican who played an important role at Vatican Council II, in particular in the Pastoral Constitution on the Church in the Modern World (Gaudium et Spes), who had composed a letter addressed to the world of today in the name of the Church, and who had seen this letter watered down by a bishop's commission; "These pigs of bishops," he told me, ulcerated, "they put my kid in holy water." We cannot actualize by confining ourselves to religious, pious or theological language.

    Another conversation several years ago comes to my mind, that with my German teacher at the University of Munich, who was back from California where he joined a group of transcendental meditation: while this man was in search, tempted by esoteric writings and knowing my biblical training, he inquired about the inspiration for the holy books. Thinking well, I replied by speaking of the Holy Spirit; I was unable to get out of religious language. Dumbfounded, the man asked me what I was talking about.

    The value of symbolic language

    This is where symbolic language comes to the rescue: not only does it make the leap between the distant past and modern times, it also allows the use of universal language. Let us take the example of Matthew 23: 1-12 where Jesus curses the scribes and Pharisees, accuses them of overburdening people with obligations, and concludes by inviting people to avoid calling themselves "master", "father" or "leader", and rather to become a servant of each other. Several symbols appear in this passage:

    • there is the symbol of "the expert" represented by the scribes and the Pharisees, and which echoes all the experts of the modern world (when one is an expert, one has unique knowledge that others trust)

    • there is also the symbol of "obligations", which are not necessarily the same over the course of two thousand years of history (those which life naturally imposes on us as opposed to those which are particular to us, for instance the care of children)

    • The "religious signs" represent powerful symbols, formerly in the Jewish world it could be phylacteries or fringes at the bottom of the garment, today it can be the crucifix or a church or a synagogue or mosque

    • The "place of honor" also belongs to the world of important symbols. If in Jesus' time being able to sit in the first place at the synagogue or to be greeted in a public place constituted a place of honor, today to become mayor, or senator or minister or judge, to receive the Nobel Prize or the Pulitzer Price fall under the place of honor

    • Conversely, the role of "servant" is also an evocative symbol which takes on different dimensions according to the times, situations and ages of life. Someone like Paul saw himself as a servant of the Word, just as "Doctors without borders" saw themselves as servants of humanity in distress zones, or as a mother considered herself a servant of her disabled child so that he can grow like the others

    Thus, symbolic language makes it possible to take a leap of two thousand years. But beware! We must not forget what the evangelist intends to say when speaking, for example, of the expert, and start to display our own vision of the expert; our role is to translate into contemporary terms what the evangelist said to his own community. Two thousand years ago, in the Jewish world, the law could have become an end in itself, and the experts used it to assert or keep their privileges, and not to help people to live better and to grow. And today, we can identify similar situations, whether it be religious or civil laws. Until you have made this identification, you cannot actualize.

  2. Starting from what we live or from a contemporary situation

    While doing the analytical work to understand what the evangelist meant, we can use, as a starting point for our reflection, a contemporary event, a situation that is close to us or that we have just experienced. Take again the example of Matthew 23: 1-12. As I reflected on this gospel, here are two events that caught my attention:

    • Catalonia was preparing to hold a referendum on its independence, leading the central government to declare the move illegal, and to use the police to prevent it. This questioned me: in a situation like this, what is the value and wisdom of simply resorting to a law? Aren't there other, more productive ways? In such a context, what light does the Gospel of Matthew throw that speaks precisely of the role of the law, and when it can be destructive or productive?

    • In the United States, several members of the Republican Party have been trying to find ways to reduce access to abortion. One of them, a member of Congress from Pennsylvania, an ardent promoter of Pro-Life, was caught asking his mistress to terminate her pregnancy after an extramarital affair. What does it mean that a law only applies to others, not to yourself? Why do you want a law that you don't apply to yourself? Paradoxically, is this not a law that is far from life, as evidenced by Matthew 23, 1-12.

    A secular gospel?

    Some may feel confused by my approach and speak of a secular gospel. It is to misunderstand the role of faith and the gospel. Let me once again quote Marie-Dominique Chenu o.p. who once said to me, "Christ did not come make the world sacred, but to sanctify it". This distinction is essential.

    • In a world of sacred and profane, the religious dimension is in a way autonomous, with its own rules, its language, its rites, and in a parallel way, and the profane dimension has its own rules, its language and its rites; the two dimensions are independent. In such a world, the religious shows similarity with the political world: just as there is a party line to follow, there is a leader to please, there is a hierarchy to follow, and very clear criteria of success and a consequent recognition, so in the religious world there are things to do to be in good standing, there are gestures of piety to be made which strengthen the feeling of belonging and one's identity, there is a vision of the world centered on the afterlife, and there is the confidence to inherit the final promise.

    • But to say that Christ came to sanctify the world is to refuse this dichotomy: just as in the scene of the burning bush where God said to Moses: "The place where you stand is holy ground" (Exodus 3: 5 ), so the place where we toil every day is a holy place, ie inhabited by the infinite mystery that is God; wherever we breathe, whatever we do, this environment is holy. According to biblical scholars, Jesus lived about 36 years, having been born around the year -6, two years before the death of Herod the Great in the year -4, and probably executed on April 7 of the year 30 , on the eve of the rare event where the Jewish Passover falls on Sabbath. Now, over 36 years of life, 33 and a half years have been spent in the humble hamlet of Nazareth, exercising the same profession as his father, called tektōn in Greek in the Gospels, translated as carpenter in most English translations; it is a manual worker who touches almost everything: lumber if he is involved in building construction, but more often in carving wood for objects of the everyday life or their repair; metal to make tools or objects related to the building, such as locks, or pieces of goldsmithery; stone for certain masonry work or engraving on steles or seals. So he was a handyman. Of course, one can imagine that he attended the synagogue and had to make his annual pilgrimages to the temple in Jerusalem, but the core of his life was to make or repair objects, and this life is holy, and it is where the human drama is played out. To separate the religious from the profane is to deny what Jesus was, it is to deny what is called in the Church the mystery of the incarnation.

Conclusion

Karl Barth is credited with this phrase: "You must read the gospel with one hand and the newspaper with the other." This is actualization. And it's not easy. One cannot be satisfied with beautiful pious sentences. On the one hand, we have to accept to be bitten by life, to be hurt sometimes by it, to dare to mourn our dead, to somehow experience Jesus on the cross: "My God, my God, why did you abandon me?"; we often resort too quickly to the morphine of religious consolation. On the other hand, we must go deep into the thought of the evangelist when he wrote to his community between the 70s and 90s, seeking to illuminate the drama of their community with the help of a tradition that seeks to transmit what Jesus did and said. This marriage of the two goes through the bridge of symbolic language. A gospel that does not shed light on our daily drama of the 21st century is irrelevant and deserves to be archived. It is possible that the universe is there to last for billions of years, not to say forever, even if the lifespan of our sun is five billion years, but it is my conviction that human history, to succeed and bear all its fruits, must pass by the same way as that of Jesus of Nazareth, if it wants experience Easter. Hence the relevance of the gospels.

Qu’est-ce qu’actualiser les évangiles?

Pour répondre à cette question, je préfère d’abord adopter une approche négative : les commentaires d’évangile qui ne sont pas des actualisations. Il y a, à mon avis, deux approches qui ne sont vraiment pas des actualisations de l’évangile.

Une simple reprise de la scène de l’évangile

Il est bien de reprendre certains gestes ou paroles de Jésus pour les mettre en lumière, pour mieux comprendre ce qu’ils signifient. Par exemple, on pourra dire quelque chose comme ceci en lisant le récit de la passion :
Jésus, dont nous savons déjà qu’il est le Fils de Dieu, donne ici le témoignage ultime de sa participation totale à notre condition humaine. Il ne s’est pas dérobé devant nos souffrances et notre mort. Il fallait que s’accomplisse l’Écriture, précise-t-il, et la volonté bienveillante de son Père des cieux. Dans l’humilité, la patience, Jésus choisit d’être parfaitement fidèle à l’amour du Père qu’il a mission de révéler à tous. (Spiritualité 2000)

On ne peut actualiser l’évangile si on ne comprend pas bien ce qui est écrit. Mais ici, il y a un piège à éviter : oublier que nous sommes devant l’écrit d’un auteur qui nous présente une catéchèse, et non le reportage d’un journaliste racontant ce qu’il a vu et entendu. Il est alors important de bien connaître la théologie de Marc, Matthieu, Luc et Jean, et dans quel contexte ces évangiles ont été écrits. Par exemple, Marc a probablement écrit initialement son évangile pour les chrétiens qui vivaient une période noire de grande persécution, et alors l’évangéliste met l’accent sur le fait qu’on ne peut comprendre Pâques, si on ne comprend pas d’abord la souffrance, l’opposition et la mort, si bien que son Jésus vivra une grande détresse au point de reprendre le psaume 22 : « Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m’as-tu abandonné? ».

Mais si comprendre le passage évangélique est le point de départ de l’actualisation, il n’est pas suffisant : il manque la situation contemporaine que ce passage peut éclairer.

Utiliser un passage d’évangile pour soutenir un point théologique

C’est typique des documents pontificaux d’agrémenter leur affirmation de citations scripturaires. Prenons par exemple Amoris Laetitia du pape François.
L’Évangile nous rappelle également que les enfants ne sont pas une propriété de la famille, mais qu’ils ont devant eux leur propre chemin de vie. S’il est vrai que Jésus se présente comme modèle d’obéissance à ses parents terrestres, en se soumettant à eux (cf. Lc 2, 51), il est aussi vrai qu’il montre que le choix de vie en tant que fils et la vocation chrétienne personnelle elle-même peuvent exiger une séparation pour réaliser le don de soi au Royaume de Dieu (cf. Mt 10, 34-37 ; Lc 9, 59-62). Qui plus est, lui-même, à douze ans, répond à Marie et à Joseph qu’il a une autre mission plus importante à accomplir hors de sa famille historique (cf. Lc 2, 48-50). (#18)

On se sert de l’évangile non pas pour l’actualiser, mais pour montrer qu’elle est en accord avec le point qu’on entend soutenir, et qui, au point de départ, ne provient pas de l’évangile. Ce n’est pas mauvais, mais ce n’est pas de l’actualisation d’évangile.

Dans cette ligne, certains vont jusqu’à utiliser certains mots ou certaines phrases de l’évangile pour soutenir certaines idées personnelles. Leur point de départ, c’est une façon de voir une situation contemporaine, et l’évangile n’a d’autre intérêt que de soutenir leur point de vue. Un exemple typique concerne la question du divorce, où on va chercher la phrase de Mt 19, 6 : « ce que Dieu a uni, l'homme ne doit point le séparer », sans essayer de comprendre la signification que lui donne Matthieu, le contexte dans lequel cela est dit, et pourquoi la communauté chrétienne a introduit des exceptions, i.e. le cas de promiscuité (Mt 19, 9), ou quand la paix n’est plus possible (1 Corinthiens 7, 15).

Actualiser les évangiles

Comme le suggère le verbe « actualiser », il y a deux éléments dans l’actualisation : ce que cherche à dire l’évangile, et notre situation contemporaine. Et l’art de l’actualisation, c’est de faire le pont entre les deux. Et c’est un art difficile, car il faut, d’une part, bien comprendre le point de vue de l’évangéliste, et, d’autre part, bien comprendre ce qui se passe aujourd’hui et bien l’interpréter. À mon avis, il y a deux approches possibles.

  1. Partir du récit évangélique et de ses symboles

    Cette approche était privilégiée par le bibliste Xavier-Léon Dufour dans des cours que j’ai eu le privilège de suivre à Paris en 1982. Il faut d’abord bien comprendre l’évangéliste. Voilà pourquoi j’applique la méthode rigoureuse de l’exégèse scientifique,

    • analysant chaque mot grec, repérant ce que l’auteur a emprunté à la tradition,
    • ce qu’il a ajouté de son cru pour imposer sa compréhension de choses (son vocabulaire typique),
    • comment il a structuré son récit (étude de sa structure),
    • l’éclairage qu’il donne à son récit par la façon dont il l’insère dans son œuvre (étude du contexte proche et éloigné),
    • et enfin, comment il se distingue des autres évangélistes en reprenant une tradition semblable (étude des parallèles).

    Tout cet effort vise un seul but : préciser l’intention de l’évangéliste en écrivant ce texte.

    Une fois qu’on a une bonne compréhension de ce que l’évangéliste a voulu dire, il reste une tâche colossale : comment faire le pont avec notre période moderne. N’oublions pas : ce sont des récits écrits il y a plus de deux milles ans, dans un contexte différent du nôtre, faisant face à des problèmes qui leur étaient particuliers? Et la solution n’est pas de se contenter de dire, comme le font certains prédicateurs après la lecture du récit évangélique : « Aujourd’hui, le Seigneur nous dit… »; ou encore : « La leçon de ce récit… ». Ces prédicateurs ne font pas de l’actualisation, ils font de la morale. Par exemple, j’ai le souvenir d’un prêtre en paroisse qui concluait ainsi le récit des dix lépreux, dont un seul rendit gloire à Dieu (Luc 17, 11-19) : « Dans la vie, il faut savoir dire merci ». Comment peut-on imaginer qu’un évangéliste voudrait nous donner simplement une leçon de bienséance? Heureusement, les prédications habituelles sont plus profondes que cela, comme le montre l’exemple suivant :

    Désormais ils seront pour nous des valeurs gagnantes (l’attitude de Jésus devant sa mort), ces moments si difficiles de notre vie. Nous pouvons y voir un chemin de vie, dans la fécondité d’une vie d’amour, d’une vie donnée, vie offerte qui sauve le monde. Le Christ nous attire ainsi vers lui dans son amour extrême. Il nous entraîne avec lui vers le Père pour que nous puissions vivre avec lui nous aussi dans la gloire du Père, en sa maison, pour toujours (Spiritualité 2000)

    Même si cette exhortation est très spirituelle, elle n’en constitue pas pour autant de l’actualisation.

    Attention à notre langage

    Actualiser signifie qu’on apporte un éclairage nouveau sur une situation contemporaine. Cela signifie d’abord qu’on est plongé dans le monde d’aujourd’hui, qu’on comprend son langage et ses problèmes, qu’on est sensible au drame qui s’y joue et qu’on saisit bien les enjeux. Car on ne peut faire le pont entre la période des premières communautés chrétiennes et celle d’aujourd’hui si on ne parle pas le langage de la culture actuelle. C’est ici une pierre d’achoppement pour beaucoup de chrétiens : on est tellement marqué par le langage religieux qu’on est incapable de nommer les choses autrement. J’ai le souvenir d’une conversation avec Marie-Dominique Chenu, ce dominicain qui a joué un rôle important au concile Vatican II, en particulier dans la Constitution pastorale sur l'église dans le monde de ce temps (Gaudium et Spes), qui avait composé une lettre adressée au monde d’aujourd’hui au nom de l’Église, et qui avait vu cette lettre édulcorée par une commission d’évêque; « ces cochons d’évêques, m’a-t-il confié, ulcéré, ils ont foutu mon gosse dans l’eau bénite ». On ne peut actualiser en se cantonnant dans le langage religieux, pieux ou théologique. Une autre conversation me monte à l’esprit, celle avec mon prof d’allemand à l’université de Munich, il y a plusieurs années : alors que cet homme était en recherche, tenté par les écrits ésotériques et connaissant ma formation biblique, me posa des questions sur l’inspiration des livres saints. Pensant bien faire, j’ai répondu en parlant de l’Esprit Saint; j’étais incapable de sortir du langage religieux. Éberlué, l’homme me demanda de quoi je parlais.

    La valeur du langage symbolique

    C’est ici que le langage symbolique vient à la rescousse : il permet non seulement de faire le saut entre le passé lointain et les temps modernes, mais il permet d’utiliser un langage universel. Prenons l’exemple de Matthieu 23, 1-12 où Jésus invective les scribes et Pharisiens, les accuse de surcharger les gens d’obligations, et conclut en invitant les gens à éviter de se faire appeler « maître », « père » ou « leader », et à plutôt à se faire serviteur les uns des autres. Plusieurs symboles apparaissent dans ce passage :
    • il y a le symbole de « l’expert » que représentent les scribes et les Pharisiens, et qui fait écho à tous les experts du monde moderne (quand on est un expert, on a des connaissances uniques sur lesquelles les autres se fient)
    • il y a aussi le symbole des « obligations », qui ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes au cours de deux milles ans d’histoire (celles que nous imposent naturellement la vie, comme celles qui nous sont particuliers, comme le soin des enfants)
    • Les « signes religieux » représentent des symboles puissants, autrefois dans le monde juif il pouvait s’agir des phylactères ou des franges au bas du vêtement, aujourd’hui il peut s’agir du crucifix ou d’une église ou d’une synagogue ou d’une mosquée
    • La « place d’honneur » appartient également au monde des symboles importants. Si au temps de Jésus pouvoir s’asseoir à la première place à la synagogue ou être salué sur une place publique constituait une place d’honneur, aujourd’hui devenir maire, ou sénateur ou ministre ou juge, recevoir le prix Nobel ou le prix Goncourt relèvent de la place d’honneur
    • À l’inverse, le rôle de « serviteur » est également un symbole évocateur qui prend des dimensions différentes selon les époques, les situations et les âges de la vie. Quelqu’un comme Paul se considérait comme un serviteur de la Parole, tout comme « Médecins sans frontières » se considèrent comme serviteurs de l’humanité dans les zones de détresses, ou comme une maman se considère servante de son enfant handicapé afin qu’il grandisse comme les autres

    Ainsi, le langage symbolique permet de faire un saut de deux mille ans. Mais attention! Il ne faut pas oublier ce que l’évangéliste cherche à dire en parlant, par exemple, de l’expert, et se mettre à étaler notre propre vision de l’expert; notre rôle est de traduire en termes contemporains ce que l’évangéliste disait à sa propre communauté. Il y a deux mille ans, dans le milieu juif, la loi a pu devenir une fin en soi, et les experts s’en sont servis pour se faire valoir ou garder leurs privilèges, et non pas pour aider les gens à mieux vivre et à grandir. Et aujourd’hui, on peut identifier des situations similaires, qu’il s’agisse des lois religieuses ou civiles. Tant qu’on n’a pas fait cette identification, on ne peut faire de l’actualisation.

  2. Partir de ce que nous vivons ou d’une situation contemporaine

    Tout en faisant le travail d’analyse pour comprendre ce que l’évangéliste voulait dire, on peut se servir comme point de départ de notre réflexion un événement contemporain, une situation qui nous est proche ou que nous venons de vivre. Prenons encore une fois l’exemple de Matthieu 23, 1-12. Au moment où je réfléchissais sur cet évangile, voici deux événements qui ont retenu mon attention :

    • La Catalogne se préparait à faire un référendum sur son indépendance, amenant le gouvernement central a déclaré illégal ce geste, et à recourir aux forces de l’ordre pour l’empêcher. Cela m’a interrogé : dans une situation comme celle-là, quelle est la valeur et la sagesse de simplement avoir recours à une loi? N’y a-t-il d’autres voies plus productives? Dans un tel contexte, quel éclairage jette l’évangile de Matthieu qui parle justement du rôle de la loi, et quand elle peut être destructrice ou productive?

    • Aux États-Unis, plusieurs membres du parti républicain essayaient de trouver des moyens pour réduire l’accès à l’avortement. L’un d’eux, un membre du Congrès de Pennsylvanie, un ardent promoteur Pro-Vie, s’est fait prendre à demander à sa maîtresse d’interrompre sa grossesse après une affaire extraconjugale. Que signifie le fait qu’une loi ne s’applique qu’aux autres, et non à soi-même? Pourquoi vouloir une loi qu’on n’applique pas à soi-même? Paradoxalement, n’est-ce pas une loi qui est loin de la vie, tout comme en témoigne Matthieu 23, 1-12.

    Un évangile séculier?

    Certains pourront se sentir déroutés par mon approche et parleront d’un évangile séculier. C’est se méprendre sur le rôle de la foi et de l’évangile. Permettez-moi encore une fois de citer Marie-Dominique Chenu o.p. qui m’a dit un jour : « Le Christ n’est pas venu pour sacraliser le monde, mais le sanctifier ». Cette distinction est essentielle.
    • Dans un monde de sacré et de profane, la dimension religieuse est en quelque sorte autonome, avec ses propres règles, son langage, ses rites, et de manière parallèle, et la dimension profane a ses propres règles, son langage et ses rites; les deux dimensions sont indépendantes. Dans un tel monde, le religieux fait penser au monde politique : tout comme il y une ligne de parti à suivre, il y a un chef à qui plaire, il y a une hiérarchie à suivre, et des critères de succès très clairs et une reconnaissance conséquente, ainsi dans le monde religieux il y a des choses faire pour être en règle, il y a des gestes de piété à poser qui renforcent le sentiment d’appartenance et son identité, il y a une vision du monde centré sur l’au-delà, et il y la confiance d’hériter de la promesse finale.

    • Mais dire que le Christ est venu sanctifier le monde, c’est refuser cette dichotomie : tout comme dans la scène du buisson ardent où Yahvé dit à Moïse : « Le lieu où tu te tiens est une terre sainte » (Exode 3, 5), ainsi le lieu où nous peinons chaque jour est un lieu saint, i.e. habité par le mystère infini qu’est Dieu; où que nous respirions, quoi que nous fassions, ce milieu est saint. D’après les biblistes, Jésus aurait vécu environ 36 ans, étant né vers l’an -6, deux ans avant la mort d’Hérode le Grand en l’an -4, et exécuté probablement le 7 avril de l’an 30, à la veille de l’événement rare où la Pâque juive tombe un sabbat. Or, sur 36 ans de vie, 33 ans et demie ont été passés dans l’humble hameau de Nazareth, à exercer le même métier que son père, appelé tektōn en grec dans les évangiles, traduit par bûcheron dans la Bible de Jérusalem et la Traduction Œcuménique de la Bible, et par charpentier dans la Nouvelle Traduction de la Bible. Peu importe la traduction, il s’agit d’un travailleur manuel qui touche à peu prêt à tout : le bois de charpente s’il est impliqué dans la construction de bâtiment, mais plus souvent dans la sculpture du bois pour des objets de la vie courante ou leur réparation; le métal pour fabriquer des outils ou des objets liés au bâtiment, comme les serrures, ou encore des pièces d’orfèvrerie; la pierre pour certains travaux de maçonnerie ou de gravure sur des stèles ou des sceaux. C’était donc un homme à tout faire. Bien sûr, on peut imaginer qu’il a fréquenté la synagogue et a dû faire ses pèlerinages annuels au temple de Jérusalem, mais le cœur de sa vie était à fabriquer ou à réparer des objets, et cette vie est sainte, et c’est là que se joue le drame humain. Séparer le religieux du profane, c’est renier ce qu’a été Jésus, c’est renier ce qu’on appelle dans l’Église le mystère de l’incarnation.

Conclusion

On prête à Karl Barth cette phrase : « Il faut lire l’évangile d’une main, et le journal de l’autre ». C’est ça l’actualisation. Et ce n’est pas facile. On ne peut se contenter de belles phrases pieuses. D’une part, il faut accepter de se laisser mordre par la vie, d’être blessé parfois par elle, d’oser pleurer ses morts, de faire en quelque sorte l’expérience de Jésus en croix : « Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m’as-tu abandonné? »; souvent, on recourt trop vite à la morphine de la consolation religieuse. D’autre part, il faut entrer en profondeur dans la pensée de l’évangéliste quand il écrit à sa communauté entre les années 70 à 90, cherchant à éclairer le drame de leur communauté à l’aide d’une tradition qui cherche à transmettre ce que Jésus a fait et dit. Ce mariage des deux passe par le pont du langage symbolique. Un évangile qui n’éclairerait pas notre drame quotidien du 21e siècle ne serait pas pertinent et mériterait d’être archivé. Il est possible que l’univers soit là pour durer encore des milliards d’années, pour ne pas dire pour toujours, même si la durée de vie de notre soleil est de cinq milliards d’années, mais c’est ma conviction que l’histoire humaine, pour réussir et porter tous ses fruits, doit passer par le même chemin que celui de Jésus de Nazareth, s’il veut connaître sa Pâques. D’où toute la pertinence des évangiles.