entête

Sybil 1997

Gospel text

Luke 17: 5-10

5 Then the apostles said to the Lord, "Increase faith in us". 6 The Lord answers them, "If you have faith at this time as big as a mustard seed, you could say to this mulberry tree: uproot yourself and plant yourself in the sea, and it would have listened to you.

7 Who among you, having a servant who plows the fields and grazes the animals, will tell him when he returns from the fields, 'Quickly go for dinner'? 8 Will he not rather say to him, 'Prepare something so that I may eat, and after having having girded yourself about, you will serve me until I have finished eating and drinking, and afterwards you will eat and drink your turn?' 9 Should he express gratitude to his servant because he did what was in the order of things? 10 In the same way, you too, when you have done all that was in the order of things, say, 'We are not indispensable servants, we did only what we had to do'."

How can a flower grow in the desert?


Gospel commentary - Homily

To stay young forever

The evangelical text proposed for Sunday's liturgy contains elements that are difficult to accept and can easily put us off. Let us begin with the story of this servant who has no gratitude to receive from his master for having done his work well, for it was part of the order of things; it is thus intended to affirm that a Christian is not doing something exceptional by his faithful life and should not expect the recognition of God. One way to tame such a harsh statement is to listen to saint Paul: "To proclaim the Gospel indeed is not for me a title of glory; it is a necessity that falls to me ... If I had the initiative of this task, I would be entitled to a reward; if I do not have it, it is a charge entrusted to me" (1 Corinthians 9: 16-17). Thus, the Christian life is not a personal achievement, but the openness and fidelity to a stream that has its source in God; our reward is what this current produces in us.

Let's come to the question of faith that begins today's text. The role Jesus assigns to faith continues to intrigue me: why such a fundamental role? And the image used by our passage has something excessive: a mulberry tree that uproots itself and will be planted in the sea. To have known the cultural world of the Middle East, I know that this text should not be read literally. But the idea is that faith has the power to shatter the order of things and open up to a new world. How is it possible?

It all begins with a request from the disciples, "Increase faith in us!" Unfortunately, the liturgical text does not give the context of their request. Previously, Jesus said, "And if seven times in the day he sins against you and seven times he comes back to you, saying, 'I repent', you will forgive him". Why do the disciples then start talking about faith? But this is it, everything depends on faith, on the belief that people can change and will change, that what is part of our humanity is greater than what we see. Let's put the demand of the disciples back in our context, for instance the insoluble conflict between Israelis and Palestinians where, of course, everyone is right; these incessant conflicts which starve the poorest countries and keep whole populations homeless; all these ghettos that reveal what is the worst in the human heart; the scavengers who profit from the misfortune of others; in all these situations, each one could graft his own dramas on a reduced scale. Tell me, what does it mean exactly, "If seven times a day your brother sins against you and say to you, 'I repent', you will forgive him?" Yes, increase faith in me, Lord. For to forgive means to believe that a relationship imbued with life and love can resume.

In a few words, let's say it: without faith, there is no future for our humanity. Karl Marx had spoken of religion as opium of the people. I say: only faith enables our humanity to be on the move. Only faith allows me not to be paralyzed by what I see. Only faith allows me to overcome my fears. I have personally reached the age when people ask the question, "What will be my life when I won't be able to work anymore? What if my savings were not enough?" Without faith, one may want to look stupidly for security wall to wall, in defiance of solidarity.

Some identify faith with an obstinacy to believe that everything will be fine despite the denials of reality. I maintain that it is quite the opposite. It is faith that allows us to welcome events as a word and makes it change our mind, just as it is faith that makes us act, in the hope that life can come from death. It is faith that leads us to look at the next day as a dawn, not as a twilight. It is faith that keeps us always young.

It is very likely that I would not be a believer without welcoming Jesus and his testimony in my life. When he speaks of faith and the role that it plays, he speaks of his own experience. It is this faith that has enabled him to put human beings back on their feet. It is this faith that allowed him to face death as he did. Ultimately, the resurrection is the result of faith. That's why it's so fundamental every single day of our life.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, June 2004

Themes

Sybil 1997

 

Le texte évangélique

Lc 17, 5-10

5 Alors les apôtres dirent au au Seigneur: « Augmente en nous la foi. » 6 Le Seigneur leur répond: « Si vous avez en ce moment la foi gros comme une graine de moutarde, vous pourriez dire à ce mûrier: déracine-toi et plante-toi dans la mer, et il vous aurait écouté.

7 Qui parmi vous, ayant un serviteur qui s'occupe de labourer les champs et de paître les animaux, lui dira-t-il quand il rentrera des champs: « Vite passe à table »? 8 Ne lui dira-t-il pas plutôt: « Prépare quelque chose pour que je puisse manger, puis après t'être accoutré, tu me serviras tant que je n'aurai pas fini de manger et de boire, et après tu mangeras et boiras à ton tour »? 9 Doit-il exprimer de la reconnaissance à son serviteur parce qu'il a fait ce qui était dans l'ordre des choses? 10 De la même manière, vous aussi, quand vous aurez fait tout ce qui était dans l'ordre des choses, dites: « Nous ne sommes pas des serviteurs indispensables, nous n'avons fait que ce que nous devions faire. »


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comment une fleur peut-elle pousser dans le désert?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Pour rester éternellement jeune

Le texte évangélique proposé pour la liturgie de ce dimanche comporte des éléments difficiles à accepter et peut facilement nous rebuter. Commençons par le récit de ce serviteur qui n'a aucune reconnaissance à recevoir de son maître pour avoir bien accompli son travail, car cela faisait partie de l'ordre des choses; on entend ainsi affirmer qu'un chrétien n'a pas à s'imaginer qu'il fait quelque chose d'exceptionnel par sa vie croyante et attendre ainsi la reconnaissance de Dieu. Une façon d'apprivoiser une affirmation si rude est d'écouter saint Paul: « Annoncer l'Évangile en effet n'est pas pour moi un titre de gloire; c'est une nécessité qui m'incombe... Si j'avais l'initiative de cette tâche, j'aurais droit à une récompense; si je ne l'ai pas, c'est une charge qui m'est confiée. » (1 Co 9, 16-17) Ainsi, la vie chrétienne n'est pas un accomplissement personnel, mais l'ouverture et la fidélité à un courant qui prend sa source en Dieu; notre récompense, c'est ce que ce courant produit en nous.

Venons-en à la question sur la foi qui amorce le texte de ce jour. Le rôle que Jésus fait jouer à la foi ne cesse de m'intriguer : pourquoi un rôle si fondamental? Et l'image utilisée par notre passage a quelque chose d'excessif: un mûrier qui se déracine lui-même et va se planter dans la mer. Pour avoir connu le monde du Moyen-Orient, je sais qu'il y a ici un texte qu'il ne faut pas prendre à la lettre. Mais l'idée est quand même que la foi a la puissance de faire éclater l'ordre des choses et d'ouvrir sur un monde nouveau. Comment est-ce possible?

Tout commence par une demande des disciples: «Augmente en nous la foi! » Malheureusement le texte liturgique ne donne pas le contexte de leur demande. Auparavant, Jésus a affirmé: « Et si sept fois le jour il pèche contre toi et que sept fois il revienne à toi, en disant: "Je me repens", tu lui remettras."» Pourquoi les disciples se mettent-ils alors à parler de foi? Eh bien, justement, tout repose sur la foi, la foi que les gens peuvent changer et vont changer, que ce qui habite notre humanité est plus grand que ce qu'on voit. Replaçons la demande des disciples dans notre contexte à nous, i.e. le conflit insoluble entre Israéliens et Palestiniens où, bien sûr, chacun a raison; ces conflits incessants qui affament les pays les plus pauvres et maintiennent dans l'itinérance des populations entières; tous ces ghettos qui révèlent ce qu'il y a de pire en l'homme; et ces charognards qui tirent profit du malheur des autres; à toutes ces situations, chacun pourrait y greffer ses propres drames à échelle réduite. Dites-moi, que veut dire exactement: « Si sept fois le jour ton frère pèche contre toi et te dis: 'Je me repents', tu lui pardonneras »? Oui, augmente en moi la foi, Seigneur. Car pardonner signifie croire qu'une relation empreinte de vie et d'amour peut reprendre.

En peu de mots, disons-le: sans la foi, il n'y a plus d'avenir pour notre humanité. Karl Marx avait parlé de la religion comme opium du peuple. Je dis: seule la foi permet de faire agir notre humanité. Seule la foi me permet de ne pas être paralysé par ce que je vois. Seule la foi me permet de vaincre mes peurs. J'ai personnellement atteint l'âge où les gens posent la question : « De quoi vivrai-je, quand je ne pourrai plus travailler? Et si mon bas de laine n'était pas suffisant?» Sans la foi, on peut vouloir chercher stupidement une sécurité mur à mur, au mépris de toute solidarité.

Certains identifient la foi à une obstination à croire que tout ira bien malgré les démentis de la vie. Je maintiens que c'est tout à fait le contraire. C'est la foi qui nous permet d'accueillir les événements comme une parole et le fait changer d'idée, tout comme c'est la foi qui nous fait agir, dans l'espérance que la vit peut naître de la mort. C'est la foi qui nous amène à regarder le lendemain comme une aube, et non pas comme un crépuscule. C'est la foi qui nous garde toujours jeune.

Il est fort probable que je ne serais pas croyant sans l'accueil de Jésus et de son témoignage de vie. Quand il parle de foi et du rôle qu'elle joue, il parle de sa propre expérience. C'est cette foi qui lui a permis de remettre debout des êtres humains. C'est cette foi qui lui a permis d'affronter la mort comme il l'a fait. Ultimement, la résurrection est le résultat de la foi. Voilà pourquoi celle-ci est si fondamentale chaque jour d'une vie.

 

-Juin 2004