entête

Sybil 2001

Gospel text

Luke 3: 1-6

1 In the year fifteen of the reign of Tiberius Caesar, while Pontius Pilate was governor of Judea, Herod tetrarch of Galilee, his brother Philip tetrarch of the region of Iturea and Trachonitis, Lysanias tetrarch of Abilene, 2 at the time of the high priest Annas and Caiaphas, a word of God was heard in the desert in the person of John, son of Zechariah. 3 And he was walking around the Jordan, preaching a baptism which would involve a new direction to one's life and a liberation from all his faults. 4 As it is written in the Bible where these words of the prophet Isaiah are found:

A voice cries in the desert: "Prepare the way of the Lord, make the paths that lead to him straight. 5 one will fill any ravine and one will level out any mountain or hill, just as one will make right what is sinuous and smooth the rugged roads. 6 So every human being can see the liberation brought by God. "

Time for dishes


Gospel commentary - Homily

Here and now is what is at stake

From the outset, I ask the question: have you ever experienced some "moments of grace"? By that, I mean moments that you would like to live every second of your life and, if it were totally in your power, you would organize your existence so that it is constantly present from your birth to your death? I imagine a lot of answers, from ecstasy to the beauty of a landscape up to fiery love embraces.

When I try to answer this question personally, I come up with a slightly different result, at least a bit more generic: I live a moment of grace when I am totally open to the "here and now", when I am successful in being fully sensitive and receptive to all that constitutes the events of a day, when I let myself be taught by the beings that I meet and their stories, when I am listening to all the emotions, feelings, concerns, questions, ideas that inhabit me. At the risk of surprising many, this is the moment of grace that I would like to live in every second of my life and that, unfortunately, I live so little ...

What I am presenting here is not a small essay of practical philosophy or wisdom of life, but is directly inspired by this Sunday's Gospel story: "The year fifteen of the reign of Tiberius Caesar, Ponce Pilate being governor of Judea ... the word of God was sent to John the son of Zechariah, in the wilderness .... He came to all the regions of the Jordan." Where is this famous word of God? It is in time (the year fifteen of the reign of Tiberius Caesar), it is in a place (in all the regions of the Jordan), it is through a person (John, son of Zechariah).

It is no coincidence that Luke presents the word of God in this setting. We do not deny here the role of meditation, contemplation or prayer. Besides, is not it the same Luke who insists so much on prayer throughout his gospel and places the important decisions of Jesus after moments of prayer? But these moments of prayer are only intended to open up better to the reality of the present, to history, to people, to events, where God speaks.

We touch here at the heart of the Christian mystery represented by Christmas. To speak of incarnation, is it not to speak of the place where God reveals himself? To say "the Word became flesh", is not it pointing to our daily life? And where was Jesus able to draw this wisdom that astonished the crowds, if not through his incredible ability to open up himself to the whole of reality, to be excited, to listen, to cry, to question himself?

The surprising number of conversions in England of people leaving one religious denomination for another was recently reported in the newspaper, and the testimony of a young woman converted to Islam was quoted: "It's so much clearer, simpler, this emphasis on the transcendence and oneness of God". This type of testimony to Islam is not new and highlights what is difficult, paradoxical, even scandalous in the Christian faith: it is in the flesh and in history that God lets himself be seen and heard.

Having said that, what is expected of me? That I comply with a law, a rule? No! It is both simpler and more difficult: "Prepare the way of the Lord, make his paths straight, every ravine will be filled, and every mountain or hill will be lowered ....". In a word, it is not a question of performing heroic acts of virtue, but rather of removing all obstacles to this limitless opening to life and the whole of reality. And that, everyone must answer for himself.

It reminds me of the response of a drug user who was asked, "What scares you?" His response was not long in coming, "Life, reality, I can not see it!" Today, my prayer for me and for this humanity that I love, is to say, "Lord, lower my hills that hide reality, even if it sometimes makes me shiver, and so I will be a liberated being ".

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, September 2000

Themes

Sybil 2001

 

Le texte évangélique

Lc 3, 1-6

1 En l'an quinze du règne de Tibère César, alors que Ponce Pilate était gouverneur de la Judée, Hérode tétrarque de Galilée, son frère Philippe tétrarque de la région d'Iturée et de Trachonitide, Lysanias tétrarque d'Abilène, 2 au temps du grand prêtre Anne et Caïphe, une parole de Dieu se fit entendre au désert dans la personne de Jean, fils de Zacharie. 3 Et lui se promenait dans les environs du Jourdain en prêchant un baptême qui impliquerait une réorientation de sa vie et une libération de toutes ses fautes. 4 Comme c'est écrit dans la Bible où on trouve ces paroles du prophète Isaïe:

Une voix crie dans le désert:
«Préparez le chemin du Seigneur,
rendez droits les sentiers qui mènent à lui.
5 On comblera tout ravin
et on nivellera toute montagne ou colline,
tout comme on rendra droit ce qui est sinueux
et lisses les chemins raboteux.
6 Ainsi tout être humain pourra voir la libération apportée par Dieu.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

L'heure de la vaisselle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Tout se joue ici et maintenant

D'entrée de jeu, je pose la question: avez-vous déjà vécu certains "moments de grâce"? Par là, je veux dire des moments que vous souhaiteriez vivre à chaque seconde de votre vie et, si cela était totalement en votre pouvoir, vous organiseriez votre existence pour qu'il en soit sans cesse ainsi de votre naissance à votre mort? J'imagine un tas de réponses, de l'extase devant la beauté d'un paysage aux échanges amoureux enflammés.

Quand j'essaie de répondre personnellement à cette question, j'arrive à un résultat un peu différent, du moins un peu plus générique: je vis un moment de grâce quand je suis totalement ouvert au "ici et maintenant", quand j'arrive à être pleinement sensible et receptif à tout ce qui constitue les événements d'une journée, quand je me laisse enseigner par les êtres que je rencontre et par leurs récits, quand je laisse monter en moi l'ensemble des émotions, sentiments, préoccupations, questions, idées qui m'habitent. Au risque d'en étonner plusieurs, voilà le moment de grâce que j'aimerais vivre à chaque instant de ma vie et que, malheureusement, je vis si peu...

Ce que je présente ici n'est pas un petit essai de philosophie pratique ou de sagesse de vie, mais est directement inspiré par le récit évangélique de ce dimanche: "L'an quinze du principat de Tibère César, Ponce Pilate étant gouverneur de Judée... la parole de Dieu fut adressée à Jean, fils de Zacharie, dans le désert.... il vint dans toute la région du Jourdain". Où est-elle cette fameuse parole de Dieu? Elle est dans le temps (L'an quinze du principat de Tibère César), elle est dans un lieu (dans toute la région du Jourdain), elle est à travers une personne (Jean, fils de Zacharie).

Ce n'est pas un hasard si Luc présente le parole de Dieu dans ce cadre. On ne nie pas ici le rôle de la méditation, de la contemplation ou de la prière. D'ailleurs n'est-ce pas le même Luc qui insiste tant sur la prière tout au long de son évangile et situe les décisions importantes de Jésus après des moments de prière? Mais ces moments de prière ne visent qu'à mieux s'ouvrir à la réalité du présent, à l'histoire, aux gens, aux événements, là où Dieu parle.

On touche ici au coeur du mystère chrétien représenté par Noël. Parler d'incarnation, n'est-ce pas parler du lieu où Dieu se révèle? Dire "le Verbe s'est fait chair", n'est-ce pas pointer vers notre vie quotidienne? Et où Jésus a-t-il pu puiser cette sagesse qui étonnait les foules, sinon à travers sa capacité inouïe de s'ouvrir à l'ensemble du réel, à vibrer, à écouter, à pleurer, à s'interroger?

On rapportait récemment dans le journal l'étonnant nombre de conversions en Angleterre de gens quittant une dénomination religieuse pour une autre, et on citait le témoignage d'une jeune femme convertie à l'Islam: "C'est tellement plus clair, plus simple, cet accent sur la transcendance et l'unicité de Dieu". Ce type de témoignage vis-à-vis de l'Islam n'est pas nouveau et met en relief ce qu'il y a de difficile, paradoxal, voire scandaleux dans la foi chrétienne: c'est dans la chair et dans l'histoire que Dieu se laisse voir et entendre.

Une fois tout cela dit, qu'attend-on de moi? Que je me conforme à une loi, à une règle? Non! C'est à la fois plus simple et plus difficile: " Préparez le chemin du Seigneur, rendez droits ses sentiers; tout ravin sera comblé, et toute montagne ou colline sera abaissée.... ". En un mot, il ne s'agit pas de poser des gestes héroïques de vertu, mais plutôt d'enlever tout obstacle à cette ouverture sans limite sur la vie et l'ensemble de la réalité. Et cela, chacun doit y répondre pour lui-même.

Il me revient à la mémoire la réponse d'un consommateur de drogue à qui on posait la question: "Qu'est-ce qui te fait peur?" Sa réponse ne s'est pas fait attendre: "La vie, la réalité! Je ne peux pas la voir!" Aujourd'hui, ma prière pour moi et pour cette humanité que j'aime, est de dire: "Seigneur, abaisse mes collines qui masquent la réalité, même si celle-ci me fait parfois frisonner, et que je sois ainsi un être libéré".

 

-Septembre 2000