entête

Sybil 2000

Gospel text

John 18: 33-38

33 Then Pilate entered the courtroom again. He called Jesus and said to him, "Are you the king of the Jews?" 34 Jesus answered him, "Are you saying this about me on your own or did someone else tell you this about me?" 35 Pilate retorted, "Am I a Jew? Your own nation and the high priests have put you in my hands. What did you do?"

36 Jesus answered him, "The kingdom which is mine is not from this world. If my kingdom was from this world, my subordinates would have fought to keep me from being handed over to the Jews. No, my kingdom is not from this side". 37 Pilate then said to him, "So then you are after all a king!" Jesus replied, "You say that I am a king. For my part, know that I was born and came into this world to testify in favor of the truth. Every being who is inhabited by the truth is receptive to what I say". 38 Pilate said to him, "What is truth?"

Studies

Searching, digging, finding


Gospel commentary - Homily

Seekers of truth

The feast of Christ the King, at the end of the liturgical year, easily directs our imagination towards this moment of triumph: the Christianized world, surrounding its king, in the midst of joyful songs and cheers. No matter how quickly we "spiritualize" all of this, the fact remains that there is a fundamental force within each of us which would like to see "his world" imposes itself. John Paul II, at the beginning of his pontificate, during his trip to Santiago de Compostela, clearly expressed the wish for a re-christianization of Europe, and this for extremely noble, even touching reasons.

However, I have the clear perception that the Gospel according to John of this celebration, through the dialogue of Jesus and Pilate, takes us in another direction, almost the opposite.

Unlike the encounter of Jesus with the Samaritan woman, the encounter of Jesus and Pilate was a failure: Jesus could not give anything to the Roman procurator and, for the latter, Jesus was a source of embarrassment. Why such a failure? In my opinion, the first reason is his refusal to assume personally the question on the identity of Jesus: to the question of Jesus (Do you say that on your own...), he replies: "Am I a Jew?". In fact, he shifts, he refuses to take a stand, he dismisses great existential concerns, and this moment probably sums up so many other moments of his life. It is all the more disturbing that Pilate can represent certain aspects of ourselves.

There is, in my opinion, a second, probably more important reason for the failure of the dialogue. Jesus says, "Every being who is inhabited by the truth is receptive to what I say." In other words, only a person who seeks the truth with his whole life can be open to what Jesus says. What does Pilate answer? "What is the truth?", implied: what is this nonsense?

What is this truth, of which John speaks? Describing it is so unclear that it is better to start by saying what it is not: "The kingdom which is mine is not from this world". We are not talking here about what the investigator is looking for who wants to shed light on the facts or about the scientist who is trying to understand complex physical or chemical processes. It is much more inclusive than that and deeply engages the whole person. Likewise, it cannot be forced. "If my kingdom was in this world, my subordinates would have fought to prevent me from being handed over to the Jews. No, my kingdom is not from this side", said Jesus. The medieval inquisitors wanted to establish doctrinal truth, but they were not seekers of truth.

There is another negative description of the truth: it is not fixed, tied up once and for all. This is because it is constantly on the move, constantly confronted with realities that are sometimes difficult to understand, with questionns without answers. What did Jesus, who once marveled at the Providence of God (birds in the sky, lilies in the fields), experience now that he is confronted with the mystery of evil and his personal social degradation? The evangelist Mark presents us a Jesus who dies with a question: "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?" This is probably where we, with all the Pilates in the world, stumble: as we do not control it, it appears unattainable.

Despite the difficulty of speaking about it, we nevertheless have the feeling of being discreetly seekers of truth, if only by the internal conflicts that we are experiencing, where we awkwardly seek a little light. I pondered this question for a long time, until the evangelist himself reminded me of this incredible reality: the truth escapes all definition, because it identifies itself ultimately with the being of God, or in the words of John, to Jesus himself. We are engaged in a quest that has an infinite horizon, where each answer calls for several other questions, because it is a long walk towards God. To become aware of one's own quest for truth is to discover the deepest presence of the one who said: "I was born and came into this world to testify in favor of the truth", or even: "I am the Way, the Truth and the Life ".

This is the kingdom of which Jesus speaks. A kingdom often very unpopular, very little frequented. What a paradox! However, here is the most powerful seed to transform the world, because it initiates an endless movement. But you should know that this seed is here at work when we agree to no longer control everything (Your own nation and the high priests put you in my hands).

The feast of Christ the King is addressed to all seekers of truth. It celebrates not the anticipated triumph of Christianity, but the faith that we are mysteriously advancing towards the person of Christ Jesus, because a part of him dwells in us, and we will have no rest except in him.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, August 2000

Themes

Sybil 2000

 

Le texte évangélique

 

Jn 18, 33-38

33 Alors Pilate entra de nouveau dans la salle d'audience. Il fit appeler Jésus et lui dit: «Tu est le roi des Juifs?» 34 Jésus lui répondit: «Dis-tu cela de toi-même ou un autre t'a dit cela à mon sujet?» 35 Pilate lui rétorqua: «Suis-je Juif, moi? Ta propre nation et les grands prêtres t'on remis entre mes mains. Qu'as-tu fait?»

36 Jésus lui fit cette réponse: «Le royaume qui est le mien ne se trouve pas dans ce monde. Si mon royaume se trouvait dans ce monde, mes subalternes se seraient battus pour empêcher que je sois livré aux Juifs. Non, mon royaume n'est pas de ce côté-ci.» 37 Pilate lui dit alors: "Ainsi donc tu es tout de même roi!" Jésus répondit: «C'est toi qui dit que je suis roi. Pour ma part, sache que je suis né et venu dans ce monde pour témoigner en faveur de la vérité. Tout être qui est habité par la vérité est réceptif à ce que je dis.» 38 Pilate lui dit: «Qu'est-ce que la vérité?»

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chercher, fouiller, trouver

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Les chercheurs de vérité

La fête du Christ Roi, en fin d'année liturgique, oriente facilement notre imaginaire vers ce moment de triomphe: le monde christianisé, entourant son roi, au milieu de chants joyeux et d'acclamations. On a beau s'empresser de "spiritualiser" tout cela, il reste qu'il y a en chacun de nous une force de fond qui aimerait voir "son monde" s'imposer. Jean Paul II, au début de son pontificat, lors de son voyage à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, a clairement formulé le voeu d'une rechristianisation de l'Europe, et cela pour des motifs extrêmement nobles, voire touchants.

J'ai cependant la nette perception que l'évangile selon Jean de cette célébration, à travers le dialogue de Jésus et Pilate, nous amène dans une autre direction, presqu'à l'opposé.

Contrairement à la rencontre de Jésus avec la Samaritaine, la rencontre de Jésus et de Pilate est un échec: Jésus ne pourra rien donner au procurateur romain et, pour ce dernier, Jésus est une source d'embarras. Pourquoi un tel échec? A mon avis, la première raison est son refus d'assumer personnellement la question sur l'identité de Jésus: à la question de Jésus (Dis-tu cela de toi-même...), il répond: «Suis-je Juif, moi?». En fait, il se défile, il refuse de prendre position, il écarte certaines grandes préoccupations existentielles, et ce moment résume probablement tant d'autres moments de sa vie. C'est d'autant plus troublant que Pilate peut représenter certains aspects de nous-mêmes.

Il y a à mon avis une deuxième raison, sans doute plus importante encore, à l'échec du dialogue. Jésus dit: «Tout être qui est habité par la vérité est réceptif à ce que je dis.» En d'autres mots, seulement une personne qui cherche la vérité par toute sa vie peut s'ouvrir à ce que dit Jésus. Que répond Pilate? «Qu'est-ce que la vérité?», sous-entendu: qu'est-ce que cette baliverne?

Qu'est-ce donc que cette vérité, dont parle Jean? La décrire est si peu évident qu'il vaut mieux commencer par dire ce qu'elle n'est pas: «Le royaume qui est le mien ne se trouve pas dans ce monde». En effet, on ne parle pas ici de ce que cherche l'enquêteur qui veut faire la lumière sur les faits ou du savant qui essaie de comprendre des processus physiques ou chimiques complexes. C'est beaucoup plus englobant que cela et engage profondément toute la personne. De même, on ne peut l'imposer de force. «Si mon royaume se trouvait dans ce monde, mes subalternes se seraient battus pour empêcher que je sois livré aux Juifs. Non, mon royaume n'est pas de ce côté-ci.» dit Jésus. Les inquisiteurs du Moyen Âge voulaient instaurer la vérité doctrinale, mais ils n'étaient pas des chercheurs de vérité.

Il y une autre description négative de la vérité: elle n'est pas fixe, ficelée un fois pour toute. C'est qu'elle est sans cesse en cheminement, sans cesse confrontée à des réalités parfois difficiles à comprendre, qui interrogent sans offrir de réponses. Que vit Jésus, lui qui autrefois s'émerveillait de la Providence de Dieu, maintenant qu'il est confronté au mystère du mal et de sa déchéance sociale? C'est probablement ici que nous, avec tous les Pilates du monde, nous achoppons: comme on ne la maîtrise pas, elle apparaît inatteignable.

Malgré la difficulté d'en parler, nous avons pourtant le sentiment d'être discrètement des chercheurs de vérité, ne serait-ce que par les conflits intérieurs que nous vivons, où nous cherchons gauchement un peu de lumière. J'ai longuement médité cette question, jusqu'à ce que l'évangéliste lui-même me rappelle cette réalité inouïe: la vérité échappe à toute définition, car elle s'identifie ultimement à l'être de Dieu, ou dans les mots de Jean, à Jésus lui-même. Nous sommes engagés dans une quête qui a un horizon infini, où chaque réponse appelle plusieurs autres questions, car il s'agit d'une longue marche vers Dieu. Prendre conscience de sa propre quête de vérité, c'est découvrir la présence au plus profond de soi de celui qui a dit: «Je suis né et venu dans ce monde pour témoigner en faveur de la vérité», ou encore: «Je suis le Chemin, la Vérité et la Vie».

Voilà le royaume dont parle Jésus. Un royaume souvent très peu populaire, très peu fréquenté. Quel paradoxe! Il y a pourtant ici le germe le plus puissant pour transformer le monde, car il amorce un mouvement sans fin. Mais il faut savoir que ce germe est ici à l'oeuvre au moment où on accepte de ne plus tout contrôler (Ta propre nation et les grands prêtres t'on remis entre mes mains).

La fête du Christ roi s'adresse à tous les chercheurs de vérité. Elle célèbre non pas le triomphe anticipé du christianisme, mais la foi que nous avançons mystérieusement vers la personne du Christ Jésus, parce qu'une parcelle de lui nous habite, et que nous n'aurons de repos qu'en lui.

 

-Août 2000