entête

Sybil 1997

Gospel text

John 1: 35-42

35 The next day John was again in the same place, along with two of his disciples. 36 Fixing his gaze on Jesus who was walking, he cried out, "Behold the lamb of God". 37 Two of his disciples heard him say this, and began to follow Jesus. 38 Turning around and seeing them following him, Jesus said to them, "What are you looking for?" They replied: "Rabbi" - which means: master - "where do you live?" 39 He said to them, "Come and you will see." So they went and saw where he was staying, and they stayed with him that day. It was about four in the afternoon. 40 Andrew, Simon Peter's brother, was one of two disciples who listened to John and followed Jesus. 41 He goes first to find his own brother, Simon, and says to him, "We have found the messiah", which means "anointed" or "Christ". 42 He brought him to Jesus. Fixing his gaze on Simon, Jesus said to him, "You are Simon, son of John. From now on, you will be called Cephas", which means Peter.

Studies

How far will these words go?


Gospel commentary - Homily

Speak, never shut up

It's a story one usually hesitates to talk about. It is a mother who dares to say in the newspaper: we have a son who has become a criminal. The situation is not easy to live with. She and her husband have lost many friends, not to mention those who frequent them with some embarrassment. Yet what more could these parents do? Numerous meetings with doctors, social workers, psychiatrists, youth center and addiction center workers, lawyers, Crown attorneys, judges, police.

This son was born like many other children in an affluent environment. He knew all the possible opportunities, received all the services offered by public and private establishments, had educated parents. But, from the youngest age of her son, says the mother, she lived through his tantrums, his destructive behavior, his hateful words which, accompanied by chronic lies, gave way to theft, to alcohol consumption, drugs, driving unlicensed vehicles and unsafe behavior, only to end up with street gang traffic. She struggled to hope that her son would return to the right path one day and that he would earn an honorable living. But in vain. How not to sink into depression and despair, if your son means anything to you? The heart remains broken forever.

I wanted to try to read again the gospel of this day with this heartbreaking situation in mind. Because if there are situations that the gospel cannot enlighten and bring some hope to, then it is not the good news that we proclaim. However, today's gospel with its narrative of the first disciples who join Jesus seems so far from our daily miseries. Let's take the time to listen to what it says.

There are not many words in this narrative from the evangelist John, but they are strong and heavy. "Here is the lamb of God". For us, that means almost nothing, apart from designating herd behavior. It is only by going through biblical history that we discover that this symbol is far from representing someone who has no personality and who follows others. Did you know that, in Jewish tradition, the lamb of God could represent Moses, because of the pun with the Aramaic word "talya" which can mean both servant and lamb? Moses was considered the servant of God, his leader in the liberation of Egypt. Speaking of liberation from Egypt, it is still the lamb that plays an important role, because by sprinkling the lintels of the door with its blood, the Hebrews escaped the angel of death who roamed Egypt. So to say of someone that he is the lamb of God is to say that he is the new Moses, the leader of a new liberation, the one who will allow the forces of death to be crossed. Hearing this, what would you have done?

In our story, two disciples, including Andrew, listen to these words of John the Baptist and begin to follow Jesus. Why do you think? Their hearts are in search. They want a better reality. Otherwise, the words of John the Baptist would have had no echo in them. The story continues as follows: having turned around and seen them following him, Jesus said to them, "What are you looking for?" Someone who reads this sentence in its Greek original will have noticed that the word "having turned around" (strephō) is used to speak of conversion, of awareness generating a new look (see Jn 12: 40; Jn 20: 14.16). In other words, the very fact that the disciples want to follow him makes Jesus realize that he is called to be a master, a leader. All this domino effect triggered by a simple word from John the Baptist.

Let's continue with the rest of the story. The dialogue of the two disciples with Jesus may seem confusing, "Master, where do you live?"; "Come and you'll see". The question of the two disciples means: who are you? The answer: walk with me, experience a community of life with me and you will have your answer at the end. In fact, this answer is only obtained at the end of a lifetime. But the evangelist schematizes things, so much so that the next day Andrew will say to his brother Simon, "We have found the messiah". To speak of the Messiah is to speak of an answer to all our prayers, it is to speak of hope fulfilled, it is to speak of problems resolved. You can understand Simon's reaction to go to Jesus where he will be told that he will be the rock, the foundation of this group that believes in this messiah.

There are many incredible things in this story. A single word from John the Baptist, and two disciples begin to follow Jesus, and the latter somehow discovers his mission. Andrew says a simple sentence, a sentence that will transform his brother Simon into a pillar of community. What would have happened if John the Baptist had not spoken, if the two disciples had not said, "where are you staying?" What if Andrew hadn't spoken to his brother? We would live in a different world. However, John the Baptist was only an exalted little Jew who ended his days in prison, Andrew quickly fell into oblivion, and Simon was just an uneducated fisherman. But the transformations effected by their word remain. Finally, what to do with this word that Jesus is the messiah after a few hours spent with him. The evangelist schematizes, because it is after his crucifixion and his death that this word will be really proclaimed.

Let's go back to this mother who is crying for her son in prison. What courage to have spoken in public, to have overcome any feeling of shame or guilt. It is important that this word be said, because it will make its way into hearts ready to receive it. These words have already helped solidify her relationship. She will support other families. It will also help us to dare to speak, not to be silent. In this, it is on the same level as that of John the Baptist and Andrew. In its own way, it is a cry for the coming of a messiah. This messiah cannot come if he has not been called with all our might first.

 

-André Gilbert, Gatineau, December 2014

Themes

Sybil 1997

Le texte évangélique

Jean 1, 35-42

35 Le lendemain, Jean se trouvait de nouveau au même endroit ainsi que deux de ses disciples. 36 Fixant son regard sur Jésus qui déambulait, il s’écria : « Voici l’agneau de Dieu ». 37 Deux de ses disciples l’entendirent ainsi parler et se mirent à suivre Jésus. 38 S’étant retourné et les ayant aperçu en train de le suivre, Jésus leur dit : « Que cherchez-vous? » Ceux-ci lui répondirent : « Rabbi – ce qui veut dire : maître – où demeures-tu? » 39 Il leur dit : « Venez et vous verrez ». Ils allèrent donc et virent où il demeurait, et ils demeurèrent auprès de lui cette journée-là. C’était environ quatre heures de l'après-midi. 40 André, le frère de Simon Pierre, était l’un des deux disciples qui avaient été à l’écoute de Jean et avaient suivi Jésus. 41 Il va d’abord trouver son propre frère, Simon, et lui dit : « Nous avons trouvé le messie », ce qui signifie « oint » ou Christ. 42 Il l’amena à Jésus. Fixant son regard sur Simon, Jésus lui dit : « Tu es Simon, fils de Jean. Désormais, on t’appellera Céphas », ce qui signifie Pierre.


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jusqu'où ira cette parole?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commentaire d'évangile - Homélie

Parler, ne jamais se taire

C’est une histoire dont on hésite à parler. Il s’agit d’une mère qui ose dire dans le journal : nous avons un fils qui est devenu un criminel. La situation n’est pas facile à vivre. Elle et son mari ont perdu beaucoup d’amis, sans parler de ceux qui les fréquentent avec une certaine gêne. Pourtant, qu’est-ce que ces parents pouvaient faire de plus? Nombreuses rencontres avec des médecins, des travailleurs sociaux, des psychiatres, des intervenants en centre jeunesse et en centre de désintoxication, des avocats, des procureurs de la Couronne, des juges, des policiers.

Ce fils est né comme beaucoup d’autres enfants dans un milieu aisé. Il a connu toutes les opportunités possibles, a reçu tous les services offerts par les établissements publics et privés, avait des parents éduqués. Mais, depuis le plus jeune âge de son fils, raconte la mère, elle a vécu ses crises de colère, ses comportements destructeurs, ses propos haineux qui, accompagnés de mensonges chroniques, ont fait place à des vols, à la consommation d’alcool, de drogues, de conduite de véhicules sans permis et de comportements dangereux, pour finalement arriver à la fréquentation des gangs de rues. Elle s’est battue à espérer que son fils reprenne un jour le droit chemin et qu’il gagne sa vie honorablement. Mais en vain. Comment ne pas sombrer dans la dépression et le désespoir, si on tient un tant soit peu à son fils? Le cœur reste brisé à jamais.

J’ai tenu à essayer de relire l’évangile de ce jour avec cette situation crève-cœur en tête. Car s’il existe des situations que l’évangile de ne peut pas éclairer et y apporter un peu d’espoir, alors il n’est pas la bonne nouvelle qu’on proclame. Pourtant, l’évangile de ce jour avec son récit des premiers disciples qui se joignent à Jésus semble si éloigné de nos misères quotidiennes. Prenons le temps d’écouter ce qu’il raconte.

Il n’y a pas beaucoup de paroles dans ce récit de l’évangile selon Jean, mais ce sont des paroles qui portent. « Voici l’agneau de Dieu ». Pour nous, cela ne veut presque rien dire, à part de désigner un comportement de troupeau. Ce n’est qu’en parcourant l’histoire biblique qu’on découvre que ce symbole est loin de représenter quelqu’un qui n’a pas de personnalité et qui suit les autres. Saviez-vous que, dans la tradition juive, l’agneau de Dieu pouvait représenter Moïse, en raison du jeu de mot avec le mot araméen « talya » qui peut signifier à la fois serviteur et agneau; Moïse a été considéré comme le serviteur de Dieu, son leader dans la libération d’Égypte. Parlant de libération d’Égypte, c’est encore l’agneau qui joue un rôle important, car en aspergeant les linteaux de la porte de son sang, les Hébreux échappaient à l’ange de la mort qui parcourait l’Égypte. Alors dire de quelqu’un qu’il est l’agneau de Dieu, c’est dire qu’il est le nouveau Moïse, le leader d’une nouvelle libération, celui qui permettra de traverser les forces de la mort. En entendant cela, qu’auriez-vous fait?

Dans notre récit, deux disciples, dont André, écoutent cette parole de Jean Baptiste et se mettent à suivre Jésus. Pourquoi, pensez-vous? Leur cœur est en recherche. Ils désirent une réalité meilleure. Autrement, la parole de Jean Baptiste n’aurait eu aucun écho en eux. Le récit se continue ainsi : s’étant retourné et les ayant aperçu en train de le suivre, Jésus leur dit : « Que cherchez-vous? ». Quelqu’un qui lit cette phrase dans son original grec aura remarqué que le mot « s’étant retourné » (strephô) est utilisé pour parler de conversion, de prise de conscience engendrant un regard nouveau (voir Jn 12, 40; Jn 20, 14.16). En d’autres mots, le fait même que des disciples veulent le suivre fait prendre conscience à Jésus qu’il est appelé à être un maître, un leader. Tout cet effet domino déclenché par une simple parole de Jean Baptiste.

Continuons avec la suite du récit. Le dialogue des deux disciples avec Jésus peut paraître déroutant : « Maître, où demeures-tu? »; « Venez et vous verrez ». La question des deux disciples signifie : qui es-tu? La réponse : cheminez avec moi, faites l’expérience d’une communauté de vie avec moi et vous aurez au terme votre réponse. En fait, cette réponse n’est obtenue qu’au terme de toute une vie. Mais l’évangéliste schématise les choses, si bien que dès le lendemain André va dire à son frère Simon : « Nous avons trouvé le messie ». Parler de messie, c’est parler de réponse à toutes nos prières, c’est parler d’espoir comblé, c’est parler de problèmes résolus. Vous pouvez comprendre la réaction de Simon de se rendre auprès de Jésus où il se fera dire qu’il sera le rocher, le fondement de ce groupe qui croit en ce messie.

Il y a beaucoup de choses incroyables dans ce récit. Une seule parole de Jean Baptiste, et deux disciples se mettent à suivre Jésus, et ce dernier découvre en quelque sorte sa mission. André dit une simple phrase, une phrase qui transformera son frère Simon en un pilier de communauté. Qu’est-ce qui se serait passé si Jean Baptiste n’avait pas parlé, si les deux disciples n’avaient pas dit : « où demeures-tu? » et si André n’avait pas parlé à son frère? Nous vivrions dans un monde différent. Pourtant, Jean Baptiste n’était qu’un petit juif exalté qui a fini ses jours en prison, André est vite tombé dans l’oubli, et Simon n’était qu’un simple pêcheur sans instruction. Mais les transformations opérées par leur parole demeurent. Enfin, que faire avec cette parole que Jésus est le messie au terme de quelques heures passés auprès de lui. L’évangéliste schématise, car c’est après sa crucifixion et sa mort que cette parole sera vraiment proclamée.

Revenons à cette mère qui pleure son fils en prison. Quel courage d’avoir pris la parole en public, d’avoir surmonté un quelconque sentiment de honte ou de culpabilité. Il est important que cette parole soit dite, car elle fera son chemin dans les cœurs prêts à la recevoir. Cette parole a déjà aidé solidifié son couple. Elle soutiendra d’autres familles. Elle nous aidera aussi à oser parler, à ne pas nous taire. En cela, elle est du même niveau que celle de Jean Baptiste et André. À sa façon, elle est un cri pour la venue d’un messie. Ce messie ne peut venir si on ne l’a pas d’abord appelé de toutes ses forces.

 

-Décembre 2014