Raymond E. Brown, The Death of the Messiah,
v.1, Act 2, scene 2 - #23. End of the Sanhedrin Proceedings; Transfer to Pilate, pp 627-635

(detailed summary)


End of the Sanhedrin Proceedings; Transfer to Pilate
(Mk 15: 1; Mt 27: 1-2; Lk 23: 1; Jn 18: 28a)


Summary

We are witnessing the early hours of the morning of the end of the Jewish trial that took place at night. The decision is taken by the representatives of the Jewish authorities to condemn him to death, and therefore to hand him over to the pagan Pilate. One may be surprised that one goes to Pilate's house so early in the morning, but this is in accordance with Roman custom. So Mark, followed by Matthew, tells that they then bind Jesus, which Luke ignores out of respect for him. With John, since the Jewish trial had taken place several days before, Jesus was bound as soon as he was arrested. By mentioning that Jesus was handed over to Pilate, the Gospels evoke the fulfillment of the last part of Jesus' prediction, that of being handed over to the Gentiles. Finally, John is the only one to specify that the interrogation of Jesus takes place in the praetorium, Herod's palace on the western hill of Jerusalem.


  1. Translation
  2. Comment
    1. Time
    2. The Meeting
    3. The Participants
    4. Transfer to Pilate

  1. Translation

    Words of Mark shared by the other evangelists are underlined. In red are words of John shared by other evangelists.

    Mark 15Matthew 27Luke 23John 18
    1 And immediately, early, having made their consultation, the chief priests with the elders and scribes and the whole Sanhedrin, having bound Jesus, took him away and gave him over to Pilate.1 And when the early hour had come, all the chief priests and the elders of the people took a decision against Jesus that they should put him to death. 2 And having bound him, they led him away and gave him over to Pilate the governor.1 And the whole multitude of them, having stood up, led him to Pilate.28a Then they lead Jesus from Caiaphas to the praetorium. Now it was early.

  2. Comment

    1. Time

      When was Jesus brought to Pilate? Mark writes, "And immediately". This term does not necessarily express simultaneity with the above, but rather means: "As soon as it was daylight". The word prōi sometimes refers to the 4th watch of the night (3-6am), but most often it means "early (in the morning)". The feminine form prōia in Matthew means: "the early hour". Luke has no indication of the time for the reference to Pilate, but earlier he had told us that the session of the Sanhedrin began when it was daylight (Lk 22:66). In the Gospel of John we have the same expression as Mark: prōi (early in the morning).

      It must be recognized that the Gospels do not agree on the place where Jesus was at certain specific times. For example, at noon Jesus was still before Pilate with John, while with Mark he was on the cross. In referring to Pilate, tradition seems to have associated him with the "early morning" form. Thus, Peter's denial would have taken place during the period from 3 to 5 a.m. (crowing of the cock). Shortly afterwards, Jesus would have been brought to Pilate. It may come as a surprise that Pilate could start his working day so early, but this seems to be a widespread practice in the Roman world (see Seneca, De ira, 2.7.3; Emperor Vespasian finishing his office work before dawn, Pliny finishing his office work before 10 a.m., and Agrippa I going to the theatre show at Caesarea before the first sun's rays).

    2. The Meeting

      Here are the three main readings to describe the meeting.

      • Symboulion hetoimasantes (a consultation having prepared): Codex Sinaiticus, Ephraemi Rescriptus
      • Symboulion poiēsantes (a consultation having made): Codex Vaticanus, Alexandrinus and Koine texts;
      • Symboulion epoiēsan (a consultation they made): Codex Bezae, Koridethi, Old Latin, Origen

      Before determining which reading is the oldest, we must agree on the meaning of symboulion. On the one hand, it means: council, consultation, meeting. On the other hand, it also means the result of this meeting: counsel, plan, decision. Sometimes it is difficult to choose between the two meanings, as in Mk 3:6, which can be translated as "the Pharisees held a council against him with the Herodians" as well as "the Pharisees made a decision against him with the Herodians".

      But when the translation "council" is chosen, does this imply that the Sanhedrin held a second meeting in the early morning after the night meeting? Many biblical scholars think so, referring in particular to Mishna Sanhedrin 4.1 which required a second meeting in a capital case; such an option would help to harmonize Mark's version with Luke's where the Sanhedrin meeting is held in the morning. Unfortunately, this option must be rejected for a number of reasons:

      • The Sanhedrin meeting in Luke is identical to Marc's night meeting, and we must attribute to his editorial work the fact that it was moved to the early morning.

      • The rule of the Mishna (2nd century) does not apply to the time of Jesus as we have already shown (see background of the Jewish trial); moreover, the rule required that the 2nd meeting be held on a different day, which is not the case in the passion narrative.

      • Biblical scholars who try to explain the need for a 2nd meeting, whatever their motive, make the mistake of confusing history with Mark's account; in the latter, it is clear that the decision to execute Jesus is taken at the beginning of the meeting, and never does it speak of a need to examine further the legality of the gesture or the need to write a charge against Jesus to be passed on to Pilate.

      So if we opt for a single meeting, the night meeting, what does Mark's statement that the Sanhedrin "prepared/made a council/counsel" in the morning mean? First of all, an impressive number of biblical scholars opt for the "having prepared" (hetoimasantes) reading, understood in the sense of "having prepared their decision". In this case, the expression recalls that the Sanhedrin has already held its meeting. On the other hand, some biblical scholars prefer the review "having made or held a council" because it is better attested and is the most difficult reading, and it avoids the ambiguity that there has been a second meeting. In this case, Mark would present us with a recapitulation of what happened, a recapitulation all the more necessary since the meeting of the Sanhedrin was interrupted by Peter's denial (and the recapitulation belongs to Mark's style, e.g., see 14:66-67 after 14:54).

      On Matthew's side, Matthew 27:1 offers no objection to seeing Mk 15:1 as a recapitulation. Here again Matthew does not present a second meeting, but concludes the first one: they held a council (symboulion elabon)... in order to put him to death, i.e. they made a decision against Jesus, an expression equivalent to Mark 14: 64 which speaks of katekrinan (they condemned). His account is smoother than Mark's and allows him to introduce the following, the story of Judas, which refers to katakrinein (to condemn) against Jesus. As for Luke's story, it is hard to understand his decision to move the meeting to the early morning.

    3. The Participants

      1. Mark

        Much of the account of Jesus' trial in Mk 14 comes from an earlier tradition, even though Mark modified and reinterpreted it, placing it on the eve of Jesus' death. Mk 15:1, on the other hand, is totally one of his creations. We find his vocabulary with the list of participants (high priests, elders, scribes and the whole Sanhedrin). Adding the Sanhedrin at the end of this list may seem like a tautology, but it is a way for him to insist, not on individual participation, but on the fact that these individuals represent the Jewish religious government.

      2. Matthew

        In speaking of "all" the chief priests and the elders "of the people", Matthew translates the same idea of representatives of the Jewish community, but avoiding the appearance of tautology. In the background, there is the biblical evocation of the righteous man who stands alone before all his adversaries.

      3. Luke

        If we remember correctly, the Sanhedrin session ended with the phrase, "What more testimony do we need? For we ourselves have heard it from his mouth" (22:71). No explicit decision was made. It is by the fact that they stand up and lead Jesus to Pilate that we can guess that a decision has been made. Standing up in court probably has a legal nuance, indicating a decisive moment. Those who make this decision are the elders of the people, the chief priests and the scribes (Lk 22:66), who will be joined a little further on by the crowds (Lk 23:3).

      4. John

        Participants are named by "they". They are the guards present during the interrogation by Annas (18: 22), then Annas himself when he sends Jesus bound to Caiaphas. Thus, under the expression "they" the reader sees the guards and the high priests.

    4. The Transfer to Pilate

      1. Jesus Is Bound

        Mark mentions abruptly "having bound Jesus". By adding "and", Matthew presents a smoother transition. This is the first time that Jesus has been bound in both evangelists, since he is now declared a criminal. Luke, on the other hand, refuses this presentation of a bound Jesus, which would be unworthy of him, especially since he insists that Jesus moves freely throughout his passion. In John, since there is no formal trial on the night of his arrest, as it actually took place earlier (11:47-53), Jesus is bound as a criminal from the moment of his arrest.

      2. They took him away / led him away / led him

        While Mark speaks of taking away (apopherein) and Matthew speaks of leading away (apagein), Luke and John use the simple form: leading (agein). The latter case is not unusual in the context of a criminal being handed over, since Josephus uses it (Jewish War, 6.5.3; #303).

      3. He Is Given Over (paradidonai)

        In Mark, the fact that Jesus was given over fulfils the prediction of 10:33 ("The Son of Man will be given over to the chief priests and scribes, and they will condemn him to death and give him over to the Gentiles"). The account of the trial before the Sanhedrin has fulfilled the first part of the prediction, and it is now the fulfillment of the second part, that of being given over to the Gentiles. Matthew here follows Mark perfectly. John does not speak of "giving over", but he does it with Judas as the subject (18: 2.5), and further with the Jews who gave over Jesus to Pilate (18: 30.35), and also with Pilate as the subject who gives Jesus over to be crucified (19: 16). Luke restricts this verb to Judas and Pilate as subject, and does not use it with the Jewish authorities.

      4. To Pilate

        It's our first Pilate reference. Mark introduces this name without attributes, assuming it is well known. Matthew specifies that he is a governor (hēgemōn), a title that seems equivalent to the title of procurator or prefect used by Josephus (Jewish Antiquities, 18.3.1; #55). Luke already mentioned earlier that Pilate ruled (hēgemoneuein) Judea (2: 2). John only mentions it later (18: 29), and like Mark he does it without introduction.

      5. Praetorium

        John is the only one who specifies where Pilate is: in the praetorium. For this place plays an important role in his story because of its scenario around the interior and exterior of the building. In the Synoptics, there is no indication of the place before the moment when Jesus is handed over to the soldiers for crucifixion, who will take him to the praetorium; it seems that Jesus' interrogation took place outside the praetorium, a scenario very different from that of John. It should be noted that this praetorium is probably Herod's palace, with its three great towers on top of the western hill of Jerusalem, and not the fortress Antonia on the medieval and modern "Way of the Cross" (see the map of Jerusalem).

Next chapter: Judas, the Chief Priest, and the Price of Innocent Blood

List of chapters

La fin du procès devant le Sanhédrin; le renvoi à Pilate
(Mc 15, 1; Mt 27, 1-2; Lc 23, 1; Jn 18, 28a)


Sommaire

Nous assistons au petit matin à la fin du procès juif qui s’est déroulé de nuit. La décision est prise par les représentants des autorités juives de le condamner à mort, et donc de le livrer au païen Pilate. On peut être surpris qu’on aille chez Pilate si tôt le matin, mais cela correspond aux habitudes romaines. Aussi Marc, suivi de Matthieu, raconte qu’on lie alors Jésus, ce qu’ignore Luc par respect pour lui. Chez Jean, comme le procès juif a eu lieu plusieurs jours auparavant, Jésus a été lié dès son arrestation. En mentionnant que Jésus est livré à Pilate, on évoque l’accomplissement de la dernière partie de la prédiction de Jésus, celle d’être livré aux païens. Enfin, Jean est le seul à préciser que l’interrogatoire de Jésus a lieu au prétoire, le palais d’Hérode sur la colline ouest de Jérusalem.


  1. Traduction
  2. Commentaire
    1. Le temps
    2. La rencontre
    3. Les participants
    4. Le renvoi à Pilate

  1. Traduction

    Marc 15Matthieu 27Luc 23Jean 18
    1 Et aussitôt, le matin, ayant fait un conseil, les grands prêtres avec les anciens et les scribes et tout le Sanhédrin, ayant lié Jésus, (l’)emportèrent et (le) livrèrent à Pilate.1 Mais le matin étant arrivé, tinrent un conseil contre Jésus tous les grands prêtres et les anciens du peuple afin de le faire mourir. 2 Et, l’ayant lié, ils (l’)emmenèrent et (le) livrèrent à Pilate, le gouverneur.1 Et toute leur assemblée s’étant levée, ils le menèrent devant Pilate.28a Ils mènent donc Jésus de chez Caïphe au prétoire. Puis, c’était le matin.

  2. Commentaire

    1. Le temps

      Quand a-t-on amené Jésus chez Pilate ? Marc écrit : « Et aussitôt ». Ce terme n’exprime pas nécessairement la simultanéité avec ce qui précède, mais signifie plutôt : « Aussitôt qu’il fit jour ». Le mot prōi (le matin) désigne parfois la 4e veille de la nuit (3 à 6 h du matin), mais le plus souvent : « tôt le matin ». La forme féminine prōia chez Matthieu signifie : de bonne heure. Luc n’a pas d’indication de temps pour le renvoi à Pilate, mais plus tôt il nous avait dit que la session du Sanhédrin a commencé quand il fit jour (Lc 22, 66). Dans l’évangile de Jean on a la même expression que Marc : prōi (le matin).

      Il faut reconnaître que les évangiles ne concordent pas sur le lieu où se trouvait à certaines heures spécifiques. Par exemple, sur l’heure du midi, Jésus était encore devant Pilate chez Jean, alors que chez Marc il était en croix. Pour le renvoi à Pilate, la tradition semble lui avoir associé la forme « tôt le matin ». Ainsi, le reniement de Pierre aurait eu lieu au cours de la période de 3 à 5 heures du matin (chant du coq). Peu de temps après, Jésus aurait été amené à Pilate. On peut être surpris que Pilate puisse commencer si tôt sa journée de travail, mais cela semble une pratique généralisée dans le monde romain (voir Sénèque, De ira, 2.7.3, l’empereur Vespasien qui finissait son travail de bureau avant l’aurore, Pline pour sa part qui le finissait avant 10 h, et Agrippa I qui se rendait au spectacle du théâtre de Césarée avant les premiers raisons du soleil).

    2. La rencontre

      Voici les trois principales recensions pour décrire la rencontre.
        >
      • Symboulion hetoimasantes (un conseil ayant préparé): Codex Sinaïticus, Ephraemi Rescriptus
      • Symboulion poiēsantes (un conseil ayant fait): Codex Vaticanus, Alexandrinus et les textes de la koinè
      • Symboulion epoiēsan (un conseil il firent): Codex Bezae et Koridethi, les vieilles latines, Origène

      Avant de déterminer quelle recension est la plus ancienne, il faut s’entendre sur la signification de symboulion. D’une part, il signifie : conseil, consultation, rencontre. D’autre part, il signifie aussi le résultat de cette rencontre : avis, plan, décision. Il est parfois difficile de choisir entre les deux significations, comme en Mc 3, 6 qui peut aussi bien se traduire par « les Pharisiens tenaient un conseil contre lui avec les Hérodiens » que par « les Pharisiens prenaient une décision contre lui avec les Hérodiens ».

      Mais quand on choisit la traduction « conseil », cela implique-t-il que le Sanhédrin a tenu une deuxième réunion au petit matin après celle de nuit ? Beaucoup de biblistes le pensent, en se référant en particulier à la Mishna Sanhedrin 4.1 qui exigeait une deuxième réunion dans un cas de sentence capitale ; une telle option aiderait à harmoniser la version de Marc avec celle de Luc où la réunion du Sanhédrin a lieu le matin. Malheureusement, il faut rejeter cette option pour un certain nombre de raisons :
      • La réunion du Sanhédrin chez Luc est identique à celle de Marc qui a lieu de nuit, et il faut attribuer à son travail éditorial le fait de l’avoir déplacée au petit matin
      • La règle de la Mishna (2e siècle) ne s’applique pas à l’époque de Jésus comme nous l’avons déjà démontré (voir arrière plan du procès juif) ; de plus, la règle exigeait que la 2e réunion se tienne un jour différent, ce qui n’est pas le cas dans le récit de la passion
      • Les biblistes qui tentent d’expliquer le besoin d’une 2e réunion, quelque soit leur motif, commettent l’erreur de confondre histoire et récit de Marc ; dans ce dernier, il est clair que la décision d’exécuter Jésus est prise dès le début de la réunion, et jamais il ne parle d’un besoin d’examiner plus avant la légalité du geste ou du besoin d’écrire une charge contre Jésus à transmettre à Pilate

      Si on opte donc pour une seule réunion, celle de nuit, que signifie l’affirmation de Marc que le Sanhédrin « a préparé/fait un conseil » le matin? Tout d’abord, un nombre impressionnant de biblistes optent pour la recension « ayant préparé » (hetoimasantes). Dans ce cas, l’expression rappelle que le Sanhédrin a déjà tenu sa réunion. Par contre, certains biblistes préfèrent la recension « ayant fait ou tenu un conseil », car elle est mieux attestée et constitue la lecture la plus difficile, et elle permet d’éviter l’ambiguïté qu’il y ait eu une deuxième réunion. Dans ce cas, Marc nous présenterait une récapitulation de ce qui s’est passé, une récapitulation d’autant plus nécessaire que la réunion du Sanhédrin a été interrompue par le reniement de Pierre (et la récapitulation appartient au style de Marc, par exemple voir 14, 66-67 après 14, 54).

      Du côté de Matthieu, Mt 27,1 n’offre aucune objection à voir Mc 15, 1 comme une récapitulation. Encore ici, Matthieu ne présente pas une 2e réunion, mais conclue la première : ils tinrent conseil (symboulion elabon)… afin de le faire mourir, i.e. ils ont pris une décision contre Jésus, expression équivalente à celle Marc 14, 64 qui parle de katekrinan (condamner). Son récit est plus lisse que celui de Marc et lui permet d’introduire ce qui suit, l’histoire de Judas qui fera référence au katakrinein contre Jésus. Quant au récit de Luc, on comprend mal sa décision de déplacer la réunion au petit matin.

    3. Les participants

      1. Marc

        Une grande partie du récit du procès de Jésus en Mc 14 provient d’une tradition antérieure, même si Marc l’a modifié et réinterprété, le plaçant la veille de la mort de Jésus. Par contre, Mc 15, 1 est totalement une de ses créations. On y retrouve son vocabulaire avec la liste des participants (grands prêtres, anciens, scribes et tout le Sanhédrin). Ajouter le Sanhédrin à la fin de cette liste peut sembler une tautologie, mais c’est une façon pour lui d’insister, non pas sur une participation individuelle, mais sur le fait que ces individus représentent le gouvernement religieux juif.

      2. Matthieu

        En parlant de « tous » les grands prêtres et les anciens « du peuple », Matthieu traduit la même idée de représentants de la communauté juive, mais en évitant les apparences de tautologie. À l’arrière plan, il y a l’évocation biblique du juste qui se tient seul devant tous ses adversaires.

      3. Luc

        Si on se souvient bien, la séance du Sanhédrin s’était terminée avec la phrase : « Qu'avons-nous encore besoin de témoignage? Car nous-mêmes l'avons entendu de sa bouche » (22, 71). Aucune décision explicite n’a été prise. C’est par le fait qu’ils se lèvent et mènent Jésus à Pilate qu’on devine qu’une décision a été prise. Le fait de se lever à la cour a probablement une nuance légale, indiquant un moment décisif. Ceux qui prennent cette décision sont les anciens du peuple, les grands prêtres et les scribes (Lc 22, 66), auxquels se joindront un peu plus loin les foules (Lc 23, 3).

      4. Jean

        Les participants sont nommés par « ils ». Il s’agit des gardes présents lors de l’interrogatoire par Anne (18, 22), puis Anne lui-même quand il envoie Jésus lié à Caïphe. Ainsi, sous l’expression « ils » le lecteur voit les gardes et les grands prêtres.

    4. Le renvoi à Pilate

      1. Jésus est lié

        Marc mentionne abruptement « ayant lié Jésus ». En ajoutant « et », Matthieu présente une transition plus douce. Chez les deux évangélistes, c’est la première fois que Jésus est lié, puisqu’il est maintenant déclaré être un criminel. Luc, par contre, refuse cette présentation d’un Jésus lié, ce qui serait indigne de lui, d’autant plus qu’il insiste pour dire que Jésus se déplace librement tout au long de sa passion. Chez Jean, comme il n’y a aucun procès formel la nuit de son arrestation, puisqu’il a eu lieu en fait auparavant (11, 47-53), Jésus est lié comme criminel dès son arrestation.

      2. On l’emporte / l’emmène / le mène

        Alors que Marc parle d’emporter (apopherein) et Matthieu d’emmener (apagein), Luc et Jean utilisent la forme simple : mener (agein). Ce dernier cas n’est pas inusité dans le cadre d’un criminel qu’on livre, puisque Josèphe l’emploie (Guerre juive, 6.5.3 ; #303).

      3. Il est livré (paradidonai)

        Chez Marc, le fait que Jésus soit livré accompli la prédiction de 10, 33 (« le Fils de l'homme sera livré aux grands prêtres et aux scribes; ils le condamneront à mort et le livreront aux païens »). Le récit du procès devant le Sanhédrin a accompli la première partie de la prédiction, et c’est maintenant l’accomplissement de la deuxième partie, celle d’être livré aux païens. Matthieu suit ici parfaitement Marc. Jean ne parle pas ici de « livrer », mais il le fait avec Judas comme sujet (18, 2.5), et plus loin avec l’évocation des Juifs qui ont livré Jésus à Pilate (18, 30.35), et aussi avec Pilate comme sujet qui livre Jésus pour être crucifié (19, 16). Luc restreint ce verbe à Judas et Pilate comme sujet, et ne l’emploie pas avec les autorités juives.

      4. À Pilate

        C’est notre première référence à Pilate. Marc introduit ce nom sans attribut, assumant qu’il est bien connu. Matthieu précise qu’il est gouverneur (hēgemōn), un titre qui semble équivalent à celui de procurateur ou préfet utilisé par Josèphe (Antiquités judaïques, 18.3.1 ; #55). Luc a déjà mentionné plus tôt que Pilate gouvernait (hēgemoneuein) la Judée (2, 2). Quant à Jean, il ne le mentionne que plus loin (18, 29), et comme Marc, il le fait sans introduction.

      5. Prétoire

        Jean est le seul à préciser où se trouve Pilate : au prétoire. Car ce lieu joue un rôle important dans son récit à cause de son scénario autour de l’intérieur et de l’extérieur de l’édifice. Dans les Synoptiques, on n’a pas d’indication de lieu avant le moment où on remet Jésus aux mains des soldats pour la crucifixion, qui l’amèneront au prétoire ; on a alors l’impression que l’interrogatoire de Jésus a eu lieu à l’extérieur du prétoire, un scénario bien différent de celui de Jean. Notons que ce prétoire est probablement le palais d’Hérode, avec ses trois grandes tours au sommet de la colline ouest de Jérusalem, et non pas la forteresse Antonia sur le « chemin de la croix » médiéval et moderne.

 

Brown v.1: Acte 2, scène 2 - #23 La fin du procès devant le Sanhédrin; le renvoi à Pilate, pp 627-635 (version anglaise).


   Sujet suivant: Judas, le chef des prêtres, et le prix du sang innocent

Retour à la table des matières Raymond E. Brown, La mort du Messie. De Gethsémani au tombeau. Un commentaire de la Passion dans les quatre évangiles. v. 1